Hair question, not sure what is up with my hair.
TSChocChristy
Dec 22 2012, 05:57 PM, updated 13y ago
I need help  So lately, my hair suddenly looks very messy, there are many strands of hair that curl up in weird ways (some even look like branches of trees that are broken at a few places) and they are popping up everywhere on my head. I think the closest description of how my hair looks like is those shampoo advertisement where the model has dried hair? You see the hair popping up everywhere and curling in weird ways. But I am not sure if mine is because it's dry? But I do know that for the past few weeks, I was using hair blower almost everyday, and sometimes, I was so impatient that I used the highest temperature on the hair blower. I stopped now, but could that be a cause? I do a lot of walking too and being exposed to the sun when I travel to classes and work. If it's dried hair, any recommendations of how to fix it? Edit: Frizzy hair is the word, I think This post has been edited by ChocChristy: Dec 22 2012, 05:58 PM
wei.wei
Dec 22 2012, 08:17 PM
I believe it could be about the high temperature + daily exposure to sunlight. I used to have those kind of hair problems where I occasionally digital perm/straighten my hair. The worst occasion was when the saloon misunderstood my intention of hairstyle and had my whole hair 'frizzed'. You know the kind of style that goes 'zig zag zig zag'. Yeah that's bad. What I did was that I waited for the new bunch of hair to grow and have the rest of the ugly ones cut off. Yeah the wait was excruciating but I couldn't do anything to help it. Not even shampoos help. I guessed the 'broken' once are just 'dead' and you'll have to wait for fresh ones to grow. Just from experience, even though I do still blow-dry and straighten my hair, I make sure that it is at the right temperature. Better do it right then to have unhealthy hair later on.  However, I do have one problem with my hair that just happened recently. My hair ended up looking 'oily' after having no choice but to use a dandruff-free shampoo. Tried shampooing it 'off' with my regular shampoo but still it persists. I was about to start a new topic but now that I find it relevant to yours, I figure that I could ask for advise here. I am sorry if I trespassed.
SerenaCute
Dec 23 2012, 11:49 PM
That's better than mine. Having hair fall problem very serious.
alicemar
Dec 26 2012, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(SerenaCute @ Dec 24 2012, 12:49 AM) That's better than mine. Having hair fall problem very serious.  i had experienced the hair loss problem too, and i had tried few type of hair shampoo before which recomended frens and saloon. But not work. I am so worry, even i take scalp treatment at saloon. It not really help too. Untill i found this hair loss control shampoo, "Bosley" it really help. Attached thumbnail(s)
alicemar
Dec 26 2012, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Dec 22 2012, 06:57 PM) I need help  So lately, my hair suddenly looks very messy, there are many strands of hair that curl up in weird ways (some even look like branches of trees that are broken at a few places) and they are popping up everywhere on my head. I think the closest description of how my hair looks like is those shampoo advertisement where the model has dried hair? You see the hair popping up everywhere and curling in weird ways. But I am not sure if mine is because it's dry? But I do know that for the past few weeks, I was using hair blower almost everyday, and sometimes, I was so impatient that I used the highest temperature on the hair blower. I stopped now, but could that be a cause? I do a lot of walking too and being exposed to the sun when I travel to classes and work. If it's dried hair, any recommendations of how to fix it? Edit: Frizzy hair is the word, I think Hmm...i think this " Beaver" Leave in conditioner is quite effective.... u May try it out:) Attached image(s)
TSChocChristy
Dec 26 2012, 10:49 AM
Thanks, I shall! Luckily I have thick hair, so hair loss doesn't affect me that bad yet, but I am still kind of young, so hoping it won't be an issue when i grow older
SerenaCute
Dec 27 2012, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(alicemar @ Dec 26 2012, 10:30 AM) i had experienced the hair loss problem too, and i had tried few type of hair shampoo before which recomended frens and saloon. But not work. I am so worry, even i take scalp treatment at saloon. It not really help too. Untill i found this hair loss control shampoo, "Bosley" it really help. Never heard of this brand.  Added on December 27, 2012, 10:30 pmQUOTE(ChocChristy @ Dec 26 2012, 10:49 AM) Thanks, I shall! Luckily I have thick hair, so hair loss doesn't affect me that bad yet, but I am still kind of young, so hoping it won't be an issue when i grow older I'm not that old too, just the hair fall is worrying especially when I shampoo my hair or when I blow it. one time fall more than 10 I think. This post has been edited by SerenaCute: Dec 27 2012, 10:30 PM
alicemar
Dec 28 2012, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(SerenaCute @ Dec 27 2012, 11:28 PM) Never heard of this brand.  Added on December 27, 2012, 10:30 pmI'm not that old too, just the hair fall is worrying especially when I shampoo my hair or when I blow it. one time fall more than 10 I think.  Ya u are right "Bosley" brand shampoo is not easy can be found in local market, as this is an US product. I found it from a saloon and the selling price is quite high. After that i source it from an international website and manage to buy online, it is cheaper if compare with the saloon price. if u are interested do PM me, i can give u the website or the saloon addresss if u wish to buy local.
KohSin
Dec 28 2012, 04:06 PM
For frizzled hair maybe u can try to apply crystal oil on ur hair? How bout hair conditioner?
I use hair blower daily at the max speed n temperature becuz i lazy to blow for long time. Has continue doing this for almost a yr, but my hair still oily...so i guess it might not be the main reason gua...
I think sunlight got an impact on it...maybe try to wear cap to avoid direct sunlight for too long?
Another thing, do u colour ur hair frequently? Cuz once a hairstylist told me coloring ur hair will make it a bit dry.
TSChocChristy
Dec 28 2012, 06:26 PM
Nope, never color my hair, and I guess my hair was never oily, it was dry, just not as dry as now >.<
Started using conditioner, planning to get oil too. Any recommendations for crystal oil brands?
SerenaCute
Dec 28 2012, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Dec 28 2012, 06:26 PM) Nope, never color my hair, and I guess my hair was never oily, it was dry, just not as dry as now >.< Started using conditioner, planning to get oil too. Any recommendations for crystal oil brands? Try apply those leave on conditioner. Let it overnight and wash it the next morning. See if there is improvement.
StarCandy
Dec 29 2012, 12:43 AM

I think your hair is too dry already.... Last time my hair are also very dry, the hair is very messy and hair become hard to comb.. Maybe you should cut off a bit those dry hair and apply crystal oil everyday on your hair especially bath (when your hair is still wet) Just go to your regular hair saloon and buy those cheap but good quality crystal oil.. Hope this helps
KohSin
Dec 29 2012, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Dec 28 2012, 06:26 PM) Nope, never color my hair, and I guess my hair was never oily, it was dry, just not as dry as now >.< Started using conditioner, planning to get oil too. Any recommendations for crystal oil brands? If u r at kl area, maybe u can try to go sg wang, the mines, ioi mall oso got, go find the shops specialized in selling hair related stuffs like shampoo, oil, etc n ask them to recommend. I oni bought 1 oil before cuz my hair is oily at top, but dry at bottom, so different case from u.