I bricked my ipad, help!!

TSKuzumiTaiga
post Dec 21 2012, 09:31 AM, updated 14y ago

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,317 posts

Hey guys, I was trying to install Siri using Spite 3.0.2 yesterday on my jailbroken 5.1.1 iPad 2 WIFI. I ended up going into a boot loop!!

I've been trying to restore back to 5.1.1 using the SHSH blob I saved into my Tiny Umbrella (5.1.1)

But I keep getting so many errors from iTunes and stuff like that. Spent 4 hours and still no avail.

Then I just found out that A5 devices will not be able to downgrade to 5.1.1 because I don't have a 4.x SHSH? Is this true? does this mean I have no more hope to restore my iPad back to 5.1.1?

The current error I get from iTunes when I'm trying to restore is Error 1600

Please help!!!! cry.gif cry.gif
johnny82
post Dec 21 2012, 09:35 AM

831 posts

try using redsnow to restore..
should have option to restore under extra..and point the SHSH to the blob u saved
TSKuzumiTaiga
post Dec 21 2012, 10:53 AM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(johnny82 @ Dec 21 2012, 09:35 AM)
try using redsnow to restore..
should have option to restore under extra..and point the SHSH to the blob u saved
hi! So I'm trying to restore from 5.1.1 to 5.1.1 on Redsn0w using the Restore function.

It keeps telling me that Re-restore failed. you might have guessed the current FW incorrectly, and it may not really be iPad2,1_5.1.1_9B206

help?
sugen
post Dec 21 2012, 10:55 AM

1,358 posts

read here bro.. u will find you answer..Worst case scenario, turn it to IOS 6.0.1.. not jailbreakable yet..

http://blog.iphone-dev.org/

4. iPad2 owners (all three models) with saved 4.x blobs can use those instead, even from 6.x

if you have both 4.x and 5.x iPad2 blobs, you can always get to 5.x via the 4.x blobs, even if you’re currently on 6.x
you cannot get to 5.x from 6.x without the 4.x blobs (but you may still qualify for the iOS5-to-iOS5 restore described above)
if somehow you have 4.x blobs but no 5.x blobs, you can still go down to 4.x from 6.x
this only applies to iPad2 owners (they’re the only A5+ devices that ever had a public 4.x FW)
redsn0w still supports (but doesn’t require) jailbreaking A5+ devices at 5.0.1 and 5.1.1. Just head back to the first page after re-restoring to 5.x. It’s always much faster to jailbreak those FW versions with a freshly-restored device, before letting iTunes restore from a saved userland backup.

This post has been edited by sugen: Dec 21 2012, 10:57 AM
johnny82
post Dec 21 2012, 11:02 AM

831 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Dec 21 2012, 10:53 AM)
hi! So I'm trying to restore from 5.1.1 to 5.1.1 on Redsn0w using the Restore function.

It keeps telling me that Re-restore failed. you might have guessed the current FW incorrectly, and it may not really be iPad2,1_5.1.1_9B206
help?
did u do an OTA update last time? else i cant see why it would fail
make sure its the correct 1 ..
like iphone4 5.1.1 got two diff version (but dont think it would affect to be honest..heh)
anyway i think better just redownload a new ipad2,1_5.1.1 file.. who knows the 1 u have is corrupted or sth
if all fails..i suppose u just have to get it to update ios 6 and wait like the rest of us sad.gif

TSKuzumiTaiga
post Dec 21 2012, 11:05 AM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(sugen @ Dec 21 2012, 10:55 AM)
read here bro.. u will find you answer..Worst case scenario, turn it to IOS 6.0.1.. not jailbreakable yet..

http://blog.iphone-dev.org/

4. iPad2 owners (all three models) with saved 4.x blobs can use those instead, even from 6.x

if you have both 4.x and 5.x iPad2 blobs, you can always get to 5.x via the 4.x blobs, even if you’re currently on 6.x
you cannot get to 5.x from 6.x without the 4.x blobs (but you may still qualify for the iOS5-to-iOS5 restore described above)
if somehow you have 4.x blobs but no 5.x blobs, you can still go down to 4.x from 6.x
this only applies to iPad2 owners (they’re the only A5+ devices that ever had a public 4.x FW)
redsn0w still supports (but doesn’t require) jailbreaking A5+ devices at 5.0.1 and 5.1.1.  Just head back to the first page after re-restoring to 5.x.  It’s always much faster to jailbreak those FW versions with a freshly-restored device, before letting iTunes restore from a saved userland backup.
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Hey bro, thanks for your reply.

I don't quite get it... I know I am trying to re-restore from 5.1.1 to 5.1.1 (My 5.1.1 was jailbroken by Absinthe)

I have the shsh for the 5.1.1 in TinyUmbrella.

Even if I am trying to re-restore from 5.1.1 to 5.1.1, I still need the 4.x shsh? My iPad 2 came with 5.1.1, so I couldn't save the 4.x ver.

Now my problem is, when I select the 5.1.1 IPSW on RedSn0w, and then take the local blobs, click next, it will start working with the iBec, then the ramdisk thing.. and then it will say RE-RESTORE FAILED: YOU MIGHT HAVE GUESSED THE FW WRONG (something like that)

what should I do?

Added on December 21, 2012, 11:06 am
QUOTE(johnny82 @ Dec 21 2012, 11:02 AM)
did u do an OTA update last time? else i cant see why it would fail
make sure its the correct 1 ..
like iphone4 5.1.1 got two diff version (but dont think it would affect to be honest..heh)
anyway i think better just redownload a new ipad2,1_5.1.1 file.. who knows the 1 u have is corrupted or sth
if all fails..i suppose u just have to get it to update ios 6 and wait like the rest of us sad.gif
OTA meaning update from the device itself without connecting to iTunes, right? I didn't do that.. sad.gif

This post has been edited by KuzumiTaiga: Dec 21 2012, 11:06 AM
sugen
post Dec 21 2012, 11:15 AM

1,358 posts

No.. the 4.x SHSH is needed if you are downgrading from IOS 6 to IOS 5.x.x. That is what the statement mean. Also, can u try remote blob in redsnow instead of local blob.. Let redsnow seach it for you. Some official guide for you to follow,
http://iclarified.com/25274/how-to-downgra...-ios-5x-windows

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Dec 21 2012, 11:05 AM)
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

Hey bro, thanks for your reply.

I don't quite get it... I know I am trying to re-restore from 5.1.1 to 5.1.1 (My 5.1.1 was jailbroken by Absinthe)

I have the shsh for the 5.1.1 in TinyUmbrella.

Even if I am trying to re-restore from 5.1.1 to 5.1.1, I still need the 4.x shsh? My iPad 2 came with 5.1.1, so I couldn't save the 4.x ver.

Now my problem is, when I select the 5.1.1 IPSW on RedSn0w, and then take the local blobs, click next, it will start working with the iBec, then the ramdisk thing.. and then it will say RE-RESTORE FAILED: YOU MIGHT HAVE GUESSED THE FW WRONG (something like that)
what should I do?

Added on December 21, 2012, 11:06 am
OTA meaning update from the device itself without connecting to iTunes, right? I didn't do that.. sad.gif
TSKuzumiTaiga
post Dec 21 2012, 11:15 AM

3,317 posts

UPDATE:

According to what I read on the RedSn0w guide:

redsn0w detects an OTA/normal-restore APticket mismatch very early, so if you don’t know your status there should be no harm in trying. Any device in recovery mode after such a mismatch can boot normally again just by going back to “Even More” screen from the “Restore” screen (or use “Recovery Fix” if you quit redsn0w before doing that).

After failing to re-restore, my iPad would go back to the Apple logo instead of the Recovery Mode screen. Does this mean my iPad 2 5.1.1 was OTA update? Does this mean I'm forced to use 6.0 from now on?

Added on December 21, 2012, 11:17 am
QUOTE(sugen @ Dec 21 2012, 11:15 AM)
No.. the 4.x SHSH is needed if you are downgrading from IOS 6 to IOS 5.x.x. That is what the statement mean. Also, can u try remote blob in redsnow instead of local blob.. Let redsnow seach it for you. Some official guide for you to follow,
http://iclarified.com/25274/how-to-downgra...-ios-5x-windows
tried using remote, also failed. cry.gif

This post has been edited by KuzumiTaiga: Dec 21 2012, 11:17 AM
johnny82
post Dec 21 2012, 11:47 AM

831 posts

but u said u dint use itunes? OTA means over the air..u just update straight from the device itself.. well, i think best advise is to follow the iclarified steps.. if still fail..sorry to say man but u have to use 6.0 already :/
TSKuzumiTaiga
post Dec 21 2012, 01:01 PM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(johnny82 @ Dec 21 2012, 11:47 AM)
but u said u dint use itunes? OTA means over the air..u just update straight from the device itself.. well, i think best advise is to follow the iclarified steps.. if still fail..sorry to say man but u have to use 6.0 already :/
SHIT!

then... how do I restore to the latest iOS? 'cuz when I try to restore using itunes it'll keep on retrying to restore to 5.1.1.

And... any ETA on when iOS 6's jb is coming out?
johnny82
post Dec 21 2012, 01:14 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Dec 21 2012, 01:01 PM)
SHIT!

then... how do I restore to the latest iOS? 'cuz when I try to restore using itunes it'll keep on retrying to restore to 5.1.1.
And... any ETA on when iOS 6's jb is coming out?
make sure u try all methods before restoring to the newest 1
to restore to newest iOS..go download it .. then at itunes.. press shift + click restore..point it to the newest file and it will restore using it
TSKuzumiTaiga
post Dec 21 2012, 01:20 PM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(johnny82 @ Dec 21 2012, 01:14 PM)
make sure u try all methods before restoring to the newest 1
to restore to newest iOS..go download it .. then at itunes.. press shift + click restore..point it to the newest file and it will restore using it
i dunno why, RedSn0W can't identify my ipad's FW. And it thinks I chose the wrong FW. It can't be OTA as well.. I really remember it not being OTA.

Added on December 21, 2012, 7:39 pmhelp??

This post has been edited by KuzumiTaiga: Dec 21 2012, 07:39 PM
mastering89
post Dec 21 2012, 07:41 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

try these
1) download the firmware from iClarified
2) cook the CFW with ur shsh with iFaith or dont need if with tinyumbrella
3) make ur device go to Boot Tethered with redsnow or iFaith or some other app

*i recommend u try 1-3, last time i tried loading the firmware from other than iClarified most of the time get error...
TSKuzumiTaiga
post Dec 21 2012, 08:17 PM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Dec 21 2012, 07:41 PM)
try these
1) download the firmware from iClarified
2) cook the CFW with ur shsh with iFaith or dont need if with tinyumbrella
3) make ur device go to Boot Tethered with redsnow or iFaith or some other app

*i recommend u try 1-3, last time i tried loading the firmware from other than iClarified most of the time get error...
hi! appreciate your reply, man. I dled the 5.1.1 firmware from iClarified.

Where can I get iFaith? Is it iFaith 1.4.2 by iH8Sn0w? 'cuz it's written there it's for 3.x.x to 5.0.1 cry.gif how do I COOK a CFW? (CFW is the one from iClarified?)

Added on December 21, 2012, 8:34 pmis there no other option? I think I'm gonna have to restore back to iOS 6 if this is the case...

EDIT: Tried cooking/stitching with Redsn0w, but it says stitching isn't available for this IPSW.

This post has been edited by KuzumiTaiga: Dec 21 2012, 08:34 PM
mastering89
post Dec 21 2012, 10:29 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

if cannot cook cfw then directly use TinyUmbrella .

connect u phone, start TSS server then put ur phone to pwned DFU then try restore with 5.1.1...
if not the other way is to restore to ios6 sweat.gif
TSKuzumiTaiga
post Dec 21 2012, 10:36 PM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Dec 21 2012, 10:29 PM)

connect u phone, start TSS server then put ur phone to pwned DFU then try restore with 5.1.1...
should I check the box for setting host to Cydia?

Added on December 21, 2012, 10:40 pm
QUOTE(mastering89 @ Dec 21 2012, 10:29 PM)

pwned DFU isn't supported on iPad 2 cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by KuzumiTaiga: Dec 21 2012, 10:40 PM
mastering89
post Dec 21 2012, 10:55 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

I tot i did pwned DFU on iPad 2 couple times last time, not sure.... hmm.gif
try with redsnow or iFaith (iReb) all oso kenot?

This post has been edited by mastering89: Dec 21 2012, 10:56 PM
TSKuzumiTaiga
post Dec 22 2012, 11:37 AM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Dec 21 2012, 10:55 PM)
I tot i did pwned DFU on iPad 2 couple times last time, not sure....  hmm.gif
try with redsnow or iFaith (iReb) all oso kenot?
pwned DFU is not for iPad 2... sad.gif cry.gif
annoymous1234
post Dec 22 2012, 02:30 PM

7,617 posts

This reminds me.. Never mess with my ipad
jhonsonlee
post Dec 22 2012, 10:40 PM

357 posts

Try right click Redsnow run it in win xp compatibility mode and administrator mode.

0.0180sec    1.15    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:25 AM