7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Malaysia Airline Enrich Miles, Get the best bang from your CC points :)

tishaban
post Jun 22 2014, 08:09 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Jun 22 2014, 06:42 PM)
HSBC does Asia Miles too. And there's always American Express Membership Rewards... (people who have the charge cards give little shits about weekend 5% cashbacks laugh.gif)
Earn/burn ratio on AM/Cathay is horrid (except for Economy). 125% on J, and no tier benefits? Kedekut la.

None of the Asian FFPs are that great with mileage (compared to AAdvantage or the old MileagePlus), but you live with what you get.
I've never done Asia Miles, only Avios and that's painful as well although 125k miles to redeem CX F was awesome!

If you actually fly a lot then it's possible to book your MH/SQ flights on AAdvantage or MileagePlus but there's no convenient way to spend on Malaysian cards for example and easily get more AA/UA miles that way. I'm lucky enough to have options so I'm still sitting on huge amounts of miles but I guess with devaluations going on I'll eventually switch to revenue flights as well sad.gif

tishaban
post Jul 7 2014, 01:48 PM

3,615 posts

Anyone know when the next bonus (ie. 4.5TP to 1 mile) round of TP to Enrich conversion will happen? Or will it ever happen?

I still have too many regular TP and not enough Premiere TP biggrin.gif

tishaban
post Jul 7 2014, 03:34 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 7 2014, 02:49 PM)
Bro, there was never a 4.5TP = 1 Mile Promo for TP. But there have been promos where we can get 10% extra Enrich Miles (Maybank promo) and preciously Enrich promo for most credit cards.
I could've sworn I got a call from @tinkerbel to go to an event where they were converting platinum TP to Enrich at 4.5TP per mile. This was sometime in 2013, not a normal public event.

Let me try your "method" too biggrin.gif

tishaban
post Jul 7 2014, 06:39 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 7 2014, 04:38 PM)
Last time I know Tinkerbel got the useless SCB VI that requires ridiculous reward points to redeem for Enrich Miles. So finally she got a Maybank credit card? Go call/sms her and say I making fun of her SCB VI so that she will come and visit us here once a while  tongue.gif
Ha ha, ya I think she did cancel the useless SCB VI card finally and got her Maybank VI last I had dinner with her. I think her NYC trip was also done through that Maybank TP to Enrich/KF conversion although I could be wrong.

Thanks again for the tip Gen-X, I need to find time to go to 1U and do the conversion sometime. Not sure if I want to do Enrich or KF though. Enrich is only good during the 50% off sale, otherwise I prefer KF... decisions biggrin.gif

tishaban
post Sep 30 2014, 10:46 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(DRBS @ Sep 26 2014, 12:11 AM)
My apologies. I am sure this has been asked before, but I found it difficult to get any answer.
I have accumulated quite a bit of enrich points but never redeemed it before. Is it more cost effective to redeem for upgrades to business class or for redemption of economy tickets?
Though I enjoy business class a lot when I travel alone, I do plan to take my young children to UK one day and I am thinking that getting them business class is probably too indulgent.
What do you guys think?
If you're redeeming directly for business, UK is the worst possible place to fly to simply because you pay significantly more for airport tax to London compared to Paris or Amsterdam.

If you're upgrading from economy do note that you can't buy the deep discount economy flights, only higher fare classes allow upgrades using Enrich miles.

Whether or not it's indulgent is definitely your call but I like that you're at least thinking about it. I personally think it is indulgent, but I'm equally guilty, I already booked CX business class tickets for my kids to the US for end of the year. I make sure they're aware that it's not normal though biggrin.gif

tishaban
post Sep 30 2014, 10:51 PM

3,615 posts

Promos are far more limited now, KUL to Europe does not include Amsterdam or London anymore. Australia is limited to Perth, Adelaide and Darwin only.

Oh well, the good days are over. Bye bye Enrich for me.

QUOTE(HappyGuy @ Sep 30 2014, 10:35 PM)
Actually redemption start 1st Oct, therefore not available to book online yet. When you click on the text/image of each region, a pop-up page will display and showing the promotion miles.  smile.gif

Malaysia
http://www.malaysiaairlines.com/content/da...ch/Malaysia.pdf

Asian
http://www.malaysiaairlines.com/content/da...nrich/ASEAN.pdf

China, Taiwan, Japan
http://www.malaysiaairlines.com/content/da...and%20Japan.pdf

Europe
http://www.malaysiaairlines.com/content/da...rich/Europe.pdf

Indian subcontinent
http://www.malaysiaairlines.com/content/da...ubcontinent.pdf

Other
http://www.malaysiaairlines.com/content/da...rich/Others.pdf
tishaban
post Oct 30 2014, 01:47 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(negayem @ Oct 30 2014, 12:32 PM)
I need to fly to San Francisco in the middle of November but MAS doesn't fly there anymore.
What is the best option? Is it possible to use Enrich Miles for Cathay Pacific under One World?
Any other possibilities?
Yes you can use Enrich on Oneworld partners. Please google up the Enrich award chart for Oneworld redemption amounts. Cathay is one partner, alternatively there's Japan Airlines as well.

Mid november is heavy travel period though, business and first class is mostly gone and for some dates even economy class is all sold out. Best to book quickly or better still buy with cash.

tishaban
post Oct 30 2014, 06:38 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 30 2014, 02:04 PM)
http://www.malaysiaairlines.com/my/en/enri...r-airlines.html
You referring to this? Looks like not that attractive hmm.gif
Especially on non MAS redemption sweat.gif
Yes the Enrich redemption is definitely not very worthwhile for partner redemption. It's a bit retarded to charge 100k Enrich miles one way to book an economy class ticket to Europe.

I book my MH flights to AAdvantage nowadays, far more options for me for the future. At least I can redeem on Cathay or JAL first class without going crazy (67.5k miles one way to US/Europe)

tishaban
post Oct 30 2014, 06:41 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(louyit @ Oct 30 2014, 05:38 PM)
Is it better to redeem business class straight from Enrich online+pay taxes or buy economy class then call to upgrade to business class with Enrich miles? Which method is more worthy?
Not all economy class tickets on MH are treated equally, you need to buy a more expensive economy class which allows upgrades using Enrich miles.

Neither are worth it though, I only wait for promo/bonus redemptions now to get anything.

tishaban
post Oct 31 2014, 11:21 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(tigaxxx @ Oct 30 2014, 10:21 PM)
Looks like AAdvantage is another  travel awards program to join... got to explore more..
BYW, any idea how many miles required to redeem business class to LA ?
I join AAdvantage because I have US based cards that give me miles on AAdvantage. If you fly a lot on Oneworld though it's definitely worth crediting your miles there though.
AAdvantage redemptions from KL to US is 35k for economy, 55k biz and 67.5k first each way. You can only fly via the Pacific though so that limits your choices to JL and CX.

tishaban
post Oct 31 2014, 11:26 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 30 2014, 08:02 PM)
Bro, one of these day I must invite you for lunch and hopefully you can teach me about other airlines' airmiles.

In the meantime, I am more than happy with Enrich because to me it's like FREE, compliments of Maybank.
I'm open to lunch. If you can get tinkerbel to join all the better biggrin.gif

I'm a bit different in the sense that I have access to US based credit cards that give me miles on US based airlines. There's a lot more competition and lots of opportunities. Enrich used to be a lot better back in the day but I've definitely enjoyed the J/F flights I had on MH.

tishaban
post Dec 28 2014, 01:11 PM

3,615 posts

For folks with Citibank points, transferring those points to Avios may make more sense than Enrich for a handful of routes. Avios is a distance based redemption so short distance flights eg. to Saigon, Phnom Penh and Phuket are only 4,500 Avios + ~RM70 tax one way compared to 10k Enrich + RM265.

Not very useful for people already with Enrich or Maybank points though.

tishaban
post Jan 15 2015, 10:55 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(maiself @ Jan 14 2015, 09:46 PM)
Sometimes MAS only deduct 35k EM (No TAX) for 1 way ticket
Sometimes 35k EM + RM300 CDG-KUL (NOV 2014)
Sometimes 35k EM + RM475 CDG-KUL (DEC 2014)

not sure how they calculate the tax
The taxes are dependent on what's charged at both airports. Taxes change, and exchange rate changes but I'm not sure why it's wildly different.

Have never seen an award flight that wasn't charged tax unless it was an upgrade from a paid ticket, you already paid the taxes on your paid ticket.

tishaban
post Jan 20 2015, 02:03 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(betamon @ Jan 16 2015, 11:52 AM)
recently i saw maybank have put on the Asia Mile redemption which equivalent to enrich mile redemption too.May i know any review on which one more worth to redeem using maybank premier 2 card treatpoint?and which mile got more promotional offer when using mile to redeem ticket?Thanks ya.
I've followed SQ Krisflyer and MH Enrich for awhile, Asia Miles only recently.

Enrich used to have excellent promos but I've seen only bits and pieces here and there recently. Worth it if you're aiming for the places they aim for eg. Australia most recently.

AM has some promotions but I've only seen it on Dragonair, never on Cathay Pacific. I don't fly Dragonair, only Cathay so I've never really used it before.

KF also has some promotions but again the last few I saw were on Silk Air. They still have their standard 15% off online bookings so you can do KUL-JFK on Singapore Suites for ~95k miles one way though.

Which is one is worth it? If you're aiming for promos none, it depends on where you want to go and when the promos start. Too bad Maybank transfer take several days to complete...

tishaban
post Jan 22 2015, 07:32 PM

3,615 posts

[quote=kinabalu,Jan 22 2015, 12:18 PM]
Hi Bro Gen-X

Here are the comparison I did for EM vs Krisflyer vs AsiaMiles (KUL - LHR Roundtrip business class)

Frequent FlyerMiles Required
Enrich Miles88,000
Krisflyer160,000
Asia Miles120,000
FromTo
Kuala LumpurLondon Heathrow

Conclusion : EM is more worth for our buck.

Source :

https://www.asiamiles.com/am/en/redeem/flightawardfinder
http://www.singaporeair.com/en_UK/ppsclub-...age-calculator/
http://www.malaysiaairlines.com/my/en/enri...a-airlines.html

[/quote

Where do you get 88k Enrich miles to fly KUL-LHR return in business? I looked at the link and it specifically says 110k miles for Business Basic KUL-LHR return but that's before the 15% online discount so it's actually 93.5k. 93.5k is fantastic value if you're flying on the MH A380 but pretty sucky if you're stuck on the old 772 with angle flat business class.

SQ KF is always quite a bit more expensive when compared to MH but they have the same 15% discount plus their ability to book on Star Alliance is much more reasonable compared to Enrich and OneWorld. I don't mind splurging on SQ KF once in awhile, SQ suites/first class is awesome.

The biggest advantage of Asia Miles/Cathay is availability. I have gotten 5 business class seats on Cathay using miles personally, useful when I'm flying with family; and between slightly to significantly lower taxes depending on where you fly.

To me it's not so clear cut and depends a lot on where I want to fly and how many people are flying with me.

tishaban
post Jan 24 2015, 10:51 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(iamWill @ Jan 24 2015, 08:49 AM)
Los Angeles (LAX) to Singapore via Tokyo: 182,750 miles roundtrip, 91,375 miles one way << That's Saver miles and no stopover is allowed
Standard miles allow stopover but cost 2x more. eg 400k miles roundtrip, 200k miles one way
Krisflyer saver awards if round trip does allow one stopover. The Krisflyer program guide has details.

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jan 23 2015, 12:16 PM)
Direct to London also 9x k miles, if MAS no more 50% promo SQ sounds like a better choice. Maybe except the part where you need to get to Changi in the first place. But 4 seats a row business class, i am sold!
If you have a Krisflyer account you can poke around and select KUL as your originating airport. I think they require slightly more miles leaving from KUL compared to SIN, have to look at my previous KF redemption to see the difference.

The biggest problems with Krisflyer is it's really really hard to get availability on some routes eg. to/from JFK. YQ + tax also tends to be more expensive, Enrich KUL-LHR on business costs ~RM2400 in YQ + taxes, SQ KF KUL-SIN-LHR return on business is closer to RM3200.

For me SQ KF is definitely worth it simply because they fly to so many more places than MH, especially LAX/IAH/JFK for me.

tishaban
post Jan 24 2015, 01:39 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(iamWill @ Jan 24 2015, 11:47 AM)
has anyone done research on round the world trip oneworld(mas enrich) vs star alliance(kris flyer) using miles?
I've done some preliminary research on KF at least. 7 stops, max distance of 35k miles. You can look for standard award availability but you need to call the Krisflyer phone line to book. All for 240k KF miles in business class. Totally worth it IMO despite the high YQ+tax.

I'm only at 390k miles roughly, still short for two people. Not to mention I don't have a whole lot of cash and time off.

tishaban
post Jan 27 2015, 02:50 PM

3,615 posts

I'm guessing our user and passwords most likely got compromised after the hack. Even if that's not true it's best to change it.

Thankfully I only have 1600 miles in my Enrich account, haven't transferred everything else over yet.

http://www.wsj.com/articles/malaysia-airli...hate-1422238358

This post has been edited by tishaban: Jan 27 2015, 02:54 PM
tishaban
post Jan 27 2015, 03:15 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Tymeslot @ Jan 27 2015, 03:01 PM)
I thought it just a dns poisoning.. not really server hack.

I still got around 200k miles.. hopefully nothing serious.. hehe
herc is right, there's more to it than was announced.

If you can login I suggest you change your password now. Hopefully nobody installed a back door.

tishaban
post Feb 4 2015, 09:15 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 4 2015, 06:16 PM)
Sifu tishaban, say I now have 1,000,000 TP and I want to fly to Europe on Business Class. I can convert the TPs to Enrich and get 2 pax KUL/LHR and back CDG/KUL tickets. What options I have with Asia Miles?
I'm far from being a sifu biggrin.gif But for Cathay Pacific, the best way to check availability is via the British Airways Executive Club website.

1. If you haven't yet, sign up for Executive Club
2. Login, under Avios, select Book with Avios
3. choose your segments. Obviously for CX you want to check KUL-HKG and HKG-LHR separately.
4. As an aside, booking far ahead using CX and Asia Miles is a hit and miss for popular locations eg. LHR and CDG
4a. CX will open up award availability closer to departure date, usually you'll find much better availability less than 3 weeks out and this includes first class
4b. Asia Miles also allows you to waitlist if there's no availability
4c. When it says "Available" that means there's more than 4 seats open I think. As I've mentioned I've booked 5 business class on JFK-HKG-KUL and LAX-HKG-KUL previously.
5. Once you have availability from #4 call Asia Miles and book. I have never done this part using Asia Miles, but have used it with Avios and AAdvantage miles. Tell them the specific segments you want.

Hope this helps.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:25 AM