5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Malaysia Airline Enrich Miles, Get the best bang from your CC points :)

TSGen-X
post Dec 7 2013, 09:43 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(pspfan @ Dec 5 2013, 04:36 PM)
thks bro.. just called them.. apparently one way cathay pacific business class ticket from kk-LA is 72k enrich miles+rm780 tax n surcharges on business class.. i rather use my marco polo points(much lower).. btw my flight to cdg is mid of may .. might bump into u smile.gif
Bro fly to KL first for few days and then to LA smile.gif

When I get on the plane sometime mid May 2014 to CDG, I will yell out pspfan, pspfan.... hahaha

To ALL:

Enrich sale ending this Sunday... 8th December, 2 more days to go.

Part of below posted at MBB2 Thread, but thought I repeat here.

We all know that our nowadays our Treats Points has validity period of 3 years. One way to stretch it to 6 years is convert it to Enrich Miles (validity period 3 years too).

Previously in my article My Son Is Going to The USA Again on Business Class, I have shown that we get equivalent cash back up to 19.19% and 12.33% when we redeem Malaysia Airline Business Class ticket using the Enrich Miles converted from the Treats Points earned with the Maybank Visa Infinite and Maybankard 2 Cards respectively.

MAS is currently have a promo and so is Enrich Miles offering 50% discount until 8th December 2013. With the Enrich Miles 50% discount, the equivalent "cash back" we earn from using the Maybank Visa Infinite and Maybankard 2 Cards AMEX increases to 30.88% and 19% respectively. To learn more about how to maximize utilizing your credit cards Rewards Points, click on the link below:

Enrich Miles Sale Is Fantastic With Maybank Visa Infinite.

Actually, as most of you guys know, few months back there were 2 promotions for Enrich Miles. One was offered by Maybank where we get 10% Extra Enrich Miles at 1U and the other was offered directly by Enrich Miles. So in other words, I can say for the Enrich Miles converted from my MBB VI TP, I got more than 30.88% equivalent cash back for my trip to Europe. Or looking from another angle, I earned FREE RM30K for the 2 pax return trip to Europe on Business Class. I love my 5X Reward credit cards. Using credit cards beats the heck out compared to cash.

I used to redeem cash vouchers only; but since last year I started to use my Treats Points for Enrich Miles redemption only. Same goes for the UNIRinggit earned with my UOB VI - because I want to shiok sendiri owning the Privilege Banking UOB VI, I had to charge RM50K overseas with the stupid card (to get the RM1.8K annual fee auto waived - one still can go beg for waiver if spend less than RM50K) and get less Enrich Miles and pay higher conversion rate compared to the MBB VI.

And I would like to say a BIG THANK YOU to hye as it was his previous postings on Enrich Miles that got me researching Enrich Miles for my articles and discovered the wonderful benefit of FREE air tickets with credit cards' reward points.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 7 2013, 09:48 AM
TSGen-X
post Jan 8 2014, 12:21 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(pspfan @ Jan 8 2014, 11:58 AM)
bro... have they charged your credit card for the flight redemption for ya CDG trip yet?
Yes they did... on the spot as a matter in fact (received sms for both MYR and GBP transactions). As for my return from London, when I printed the itinerary, there was an ERROR message! Got me worried, so called Enrich immediately and they said my booking is confirm sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 8 2014, 12:22 PM
TSGen-X
post Jan 8 2014, 01:36 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(pspfan @ Jan 8 2014, 01:02 PM)
thats' funny, my wife received the itenary via email and also sms on the spot. but till now no charges on her cards..
Bro, I charged the trip to CDG with my MBB 2 AMEX and return via LHR with MBB VI. I recheck my statements and both have been posted and it's due soon.
TSGen-X
post Jan 14 2014, 11:51 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jan 14 2014, 07:13 PM)
Damn I missed that Citibank bonus, was traveling and didn't see it on time. Argh sad.gif

Time to apply for the Maybank VI I guess, need to bring up my Enrich balance again.
Remember my facebook account - www.facebook.com/GenXGenYGenZ and check it every week tongue.gif

Posted Citibank Promo on 1st October 2013 - https://www.facebook.com/GenXGenYGenZ/posts...5?stream_ref=10
TSGen-X
post Mar 20 2014, 11:40 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Mar 20 2014, 10:36 AM)
finally biggrin.gif [attachmentid=3897567]

i spent like 1.4k return flight with Qantas domestic and guess what, fare not eligible for reward point. wtf moment for me.
Bro, the image got nothing to do with what you mentioned. But glad to know you earned 30K FREE Enrich Miles smile.gif

I have few thousand Qantas miles earned from using my Woolworth's Rewards card but not enough to redeem for a domestic flight, haha.

Anyway, I just posted at my blog - Maybank 2 Cards Premier - Comprehensive Review of The No.1 Best Credit Card in Malaysia and Possibly The World too.

The new AMEX RESERVE is the best credit card for local spending to earn Enrich Miles.

In my article, I also mentioned that we are unable to redeem Malaysia Airlines ticket to LA anymore sad.gif But we can do so with other airlines under the One World umbrella by simply calling Enrich Miles.
TSGen-X
post Mar 21 2014, 10:46 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(herc @ Mar 21 2014, 08:36 AM)
The other day I play with the EM ticket redemption section, they said can use MH to redeem oneworld alliance ticket too, but no matter how i try, it only show MAS operate. So EM only applicable to MAS operate flight?
If you had read my article mentioned above where I gave an example (and even in the post/reply above, read "carefully"), you would have gotten the answer to your question.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 21 2014, 10:52 AM
TSGen-X
post May 1 2014, 10:04 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Below is part of what I just posted in my Facebook Page:

I have like 30,000 Reward Points with my HSBC VS. HSBC claim they have the best Enrich Miles Redemption at 3000 Reward Points = 1000 Enrich Miles. Therefore, based on these figures, I should be able to redeem for 10,000 Enrich Miles.

I asked the CS rep to redeem all the points to Enrich Miles, I was told that I could only redeem for 1000 Enrich Miles (and got to do it online)!!!

I am really pissed off with HSBC and I am seriosuly considering to cancel my HSBC VS soon.

On another note: will there be an Enrich Mid Year Sale this year?

TSGen-X
post May 6 2014, 08:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Today, I published my article I Earned 15000 FREE Enrich Miles for Purchasing American Airlines Tickets Which Also Earn Enrich Miles where I bought American Airlines tickets using my Maybank 2 Cards Premier AMEX Reserve.

In the Foreign Exchange Thread I posted below:

Transaction Date: 30 April 2014
Posting Date: 5 May 2014 (Monday)
USD4,320.64
RM14,342.60
USD/MYR Conversion Rate = 3.3195545
USD/MYR Spot Rate on 2nd May 2014 (based on Friday's Closing Rate) = 3.2661 (BNM website states 3.2690).

The conversion works out to be less than 2% which is pretty good compared to my other Visa Infinite cards.

American Airlines and Malaysia Airlines are both part of the One World Alliance, and therefore we can earn Enrich Miles with AA too.

Initially when I entered the Enrich Miles Account in AA website, it was accepted but somehow they requested for it again after I made payment and is was then I kept getting an error message. Therefore finally had to call American Airlines Malaysia Contact Number to have the Enrich Miles keyed into the system manually by AA staff.
TSGen-X
post May 7 2014, 02:40 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(shahr04360 @ May 7 2014, 12:28 PM)
World of Enrich May - July 2014 is out.

http://www.malaysiaairlines.com/content/da...may-jul2014.pdf

Two-promotions on-going until 31-July-2014:
1. 2x Enrich Miles - KL to Paris OR Sydney.
2. 30% off miles redemption to Southeast- & North-Asia.
Thanks for the info. Too bad the 30% discount this time is only for Asia sad.gif

Another thing is travel period must be on or before 31 July 2014 shakehead.gif
TSGen-X
post May 8 2014, 12:04 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ May 7 2014, 11:46 PM)
i tried transfer using my family member acc (cc) to my enrich acc. it works.
Bro, Enrich to Enrich or your relative credit card Reward Points to your Enrich Account?

If Enrich to Enrich, any fees?

If CC Reward Points to your Enrich Account, which bank? Maybank previously allowed us to do so but nowadays no.

QUOTE(Wongchoy @ May 7 2014, 11:22 PM)
Hmm Let me try transfer miles to my missus. Will update once i got the results. If its true, things will be much easier then  biggrin.gif
Please let me know the result and if you were imposed any fee(s).

My bother in-law did upgrade his wife ticket to Business Class using his Enrich Miles but I did not asked if he had to pay transfer fee or how he did it.
TSGen-X
post May 9 2014, 05:34 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ May 9 2014, 03:43 PM)
taiko sekalian - not related to MAS Enrich but please advise.

I have some Skyward miles expiring in a month but as i do not fly frequently with Emirates i was thinking of getting some stuff of their high street. Originally aiming for some portable luggage scale which is useful for budget travel with AA but the shipping and tax is killing it (USD20 to pay)

Stumble upon this Cerruti 1881 pen, worth to get? I don't have to pay a single cent for this.
The pen it's FREE, better than burning away your points right. If you don't use the pen, give it away as a birthday gift, hahahaha

As for the luggage scale, you could get one for about less than RM100 at our malls.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 9 2014, 05:34 PM
TSGen-X
post Jul 7 2014, 02:49 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jul 7 2014, 01:48 PM)
Anyone know when the next bonus (ie. 4.5TP to 1 mile) round of TP to Enrich conversion will happen? Or will it ever happen?

I still have too many regular TP and not enough Premiere TP biggrin.gif
Bro, there was never a 4.5TP = 1 Mile Promo for TP. But there have been promos where we can get 10% extra Enrich Miles (Maybank promo) and previously Enrich promo for most credit cards.

You may have mistaken the 4.5TP=1 Enrich Mile based on my previous post below:

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 2 2013, 10:32 AM)
Yesterday I did go to 1U to convert both my MBB and VI points to Enrich Miles.

However the young man at the counter told me that

1. By keying any of the card number, the system will summarized the total points of all my cards.

2. So if he was to key in my MBB 2 AMEX and perform the redemption, then 7000TP = 1100 Enrich will be applied to my VI points.

3. And if he was to key in my VI number, then 4500TP = 1100 Enrich Miles including the TP earned for my AMEX 2  thumbup.gif

So all my TP including those in my AMEX 2 account were converted at 4500TP = 1100 Enrich Miles   thumbup.gif  rclxm9.gif

I believe MBB will eventually note this "error" and rectify it in the future by deducting my AMEX 2 TP later  sweat.gif

The last two time I used my TP converted to Enrich Miles and got my son return flight to US on Business Class. So with yesterday conversion plus me recently used my UOB UNIRINGGIT to convert to Enrich, I have enough for a return flight to US on Business Class again  smile.gif This time not giving my son the Business class ticket but to my wife as she wants to go to the US next year to visit him and I guess I have to fly economy again if I follow her  sad.gif
From above, you see, that time when MBB was having Enrich Promo, MBB's system was so stupid that they allowed my MBB 2 Platinum Treats Points to be added to my Visa Infinite account;and as such, I could redeem all my TP with conversion rate 4500TP = 1000 Enrich PLUS 10% extra Enrich Miles!

QUOTE(@secret@ @ Jun 30 2014, 01:45 PM)
Maybank no longer credit Enrich Miles into other's Enrich account?
I used to credit them from my mother's CC to my Enrich acc, coz I'm only a supplementary card holder.... Don't know if my case will be an exception.

else wasted for those I accrued, I'm waiting to redeem Europe flight
Yes, Maybank now only allow us to credit Enrich Miles into our own account. But we still can redeem tickets for others.

To ALL:

Click here to my latest article A Little Bit Of This and A Little Bit Of That Vo.1, Chapter V. In this said articles, the matters I touched relating to Enrich Miles are as follows:

1. You can upgrade your Economy Class ticket with Malaysia Airlines to Business Class. This article will show you how many Enrich Miles I used to Upgrade my son's and sister's tickets to/from Paris and the additional amount I paid.

2. What type of ticket to purchase if you want to upgrade to Business Class and what you should do before booking your ticket.

3. How many Enrich Miles I used to redeem for Business Class tickets for my parents to Paris and from London plus the total amount I paid for surcharges and taxes.

4. You get 15% discount if you redeem using Enrich Miles for flights online with Malaysia Airlines versus over the phone redemption.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 7 2014, 04:31 PM
TSGen-X
post Jul 7 2014, 04:38 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jul 7 2014, 03:34 PM)
I could've sworn I got a call from @tinkerbel to go to an event where they were converting platinum TP to Enrich at 4.5TP per mile. This was sometime in 2013, not a normal public event.

Let me try your "method" too biggrin.gif
Last time I know Tinkerbel got the useless SCB VI that requires ridiculous reward points to redeem for Enrich Miles. So finally she got a Maybank credit card? Go call/sms her and say I making fun of her SCB VI so that she will come and visit us here once a while tongue.gif
TSGen-X
post Jul 7 2014, 06:56 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jul 7 2014, 06:39 PM)
Ha ha, ya I think she did cancel the useless SCB VI card finally and got her Maybank VI last I had dinner with her. I think her NYC trip was also done through that Maybank TP to Enrich/KF conversion although I could be wrong.

Thanks again for the tip Gen-X, I need to find time to go to 1U and do the conversion sometime. Not sure if I want to do Enrich or KF though. Enrich is only good during the 50% off sale, otherwise I prefer KF... decisions biggrin.gif
Bro, don't go to 1U because there is no Enrich promo now. That promo I quoted was in September 2013 last year and over the weekend only.

And lucky you that Tinkerbel actually have time for you tongue.gif
TSGen-X
post Jul 10 2014, 11:32 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(@secret@ @ Jul 9 2014, 03:52 PM)
thanks man
but gosh! i was close to be able to redeem one business ticket to Europe during year end 50% miles promo
now need to re-accumulate under my mom's enrich
Bro, that was last year. 50% discount to Europe = 27500 Enrich Miles. If they offer 50% discount again this year, then you be able to redeem for a Business Class ticket to or from Europe tongue.gif

Currently, if you redeem online (offer suppose to be all year round), there is a 15% discount. Therefore, we now need 46750 Enrich Miles; but, there is another way to get Business Class ticket to/from Europe with less Enrich Miles.

Once again, click here to my latest article A Little Bit Of This and A Little Bit Of That Vol.1, Chapter V where I shared the followings:

1. You can upgrade your Economy Class ticket with Malaysia Airlines to Business Class. You only need 35K Enrich Miles, i.e. that's like 36% discount (off 55K).

2. This article will show you how many Enrich Miles I used to Upgrade my son's and sister's tickets to/from Paris and the additional amount I paid. And to my surprise, I paid nothing (zero, nil, zip) in extra to upgrade my daughter's ticket from Paris to KL??!!

2. What type of ticket to purchase if you want to upgrade to Business Class and what you should do before booking your ticket.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 10 2014, 11:33 AM
TSGen-X
post Jul 10 2014, 04:14 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(digitalcode @ Jul 10 2014, 12:10 PM)
Gen-X. I love your articles. Very helpful. I was just wondering 1 thing. Is it cheaper to book Business class directly with full Enrich miles, or is it cheaper to book Economy class, then upgrade with Enrich miles? Thanks!
Bro, good question.

I can't give you a direct answer because I don't know as it depends where you fly to and fly out from AND also I guess you will pay less if you choose return trip.

If you read the article I gave the link above, you will note that it cost me about RM2.8K in surcharges and taxes to redeem flight KL to Paris and then London to KL using 93500 Enrich Miles VERSUS I paid RM2.9K for my daughter's return Economy ticket KL/Paris where I only had enough Enrich Miles remaining to upgrade her flights from Paris to KL. I did not need to pay an extra sen for my daughter's upgrade. However, from the article you will note I had to pay additional taxes for my son's and sister's upgrade.

And like I said, I was told it also depends on which airport you depart from and I shared this with all. And in the article I did say how much I was told it will cost to upgrade flight from London to KL.

So how to determine which is cheaper:

1. Go to MAS online and check price of ticket(s) - one way or return and then

2. Go login Enrich and perform flight redemption and see how much is the surcharges and taxes (once again one way or return).

My guess is that it will be cheaper to redeem for full BUT you will need more Enrich Miles. Upgrade option is good as my wife and I will need less Enrich Miles to fly Business Class (for the price of Economy ticket) and add a little bit more for surcharges and taxes is applicable. Only set back is limited seats for upgrade.

TSGen-X
post Oct 11 2014, 09:18 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Enrich Miles up to 50% discount not for flights to London and Melbourne sad.gif

But we can get 50% discount for return to Paris. Those who want to get luxury handbags, now it's a good time (before 15 Oct) to redeem a ticket to Paris, hahaha. Click here to read my article Paris, New York and London to see Boy Chanel and Lady Dior handbags prices. Took more than a month for my tax rebate to be credited into my credit card.
TSGen-X
post Oct 30 2014, 08:02 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(louyit @ Oct 30 2014, 05:38 PM)
Is it better to redeem business class straight from Enrich online+pay taxes or buy economy class then call to upgrade to business class with Enrich miles? Which method is more worthy?
Bro, it is very easy to work it out.

1. Go check how much you must pay for taxes and surcharges if you redeem in full.
2. Then go compare to total cost for Economy ticket and add maybe USD100 max.

Now, as for upgrading, click here to my article A Little Bit Of This and A Little Bit Of That Vol.1, Chapter V, where I mentioned I paid between USD30 to 45 to upgrade my son's and sister's ticket from Paris. And I also mentioned that upgrading is not guaranteed and subjected to availability; so make sure you check before getting the Economy Class ticket.

And like tishaban mentioned below, make sure you check which type of Economy class ticket can upgrade. Few months back, I bought MAS return tickets KL/MEL for next year because it was freaking cheap at RM1.3K+, but since it was a promo ticket, I cannot upgrade using Enrich Miles.

QUOTE(tishaban @ Oct 30 2014, 06:41 PM)
Not all economy class tickets on MH are treated equally, you need to buy a more expensive economy class which allows upgrades using Enrich miles.

Neither are worth it though, I only wait for promo/bonus redemptions now to get anything.
Bro, one of these day I must invite you for lunch and hopefully you can teach me about other airlines' airmiles.

In the meantime, I am more than happy with Enrich because to me it's like FREE, compliments of Maybank.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 30 2014, 09:15 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 31 2014, 12:50 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Oct 31 2014, 11:26 AM)
I'm open to lunch. If you can get tinkerbel to join all the better biggrin.gif

I'm a bit different in the sense that I have access to US based credit cards that give me miles on US based airlines. There's a lot more competition and lots of opportunities. Enrich used to be a lot better back in the day but I've definitely enjoyed the J/F flights I had on MH.
If the forever busy tinkerbel can join for us lunch is like kena lottery, hahaha

Noted, I no longer have any US credit card. And the only Frequent Flyer Card I have is with UA. However, I must add, this year when my son wanted to fly back to KL from New York, AA one way ticket to Paris was USD2K whereas with MAS JFK to KL less than USD1K! Wrote above this in the article I gave link in earlier post.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 31 2014, 12:51 PM
TSGen-X
post Jan 7 2015, 06:16 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jan 7 2015, 11:31 AM)
50% to Adelaide or darwin, melb I think 30%

Only for Aussie route, no Osaka sadly sad.gif
Yah Melbourne only 30% and Brisbane 40%

Too bad I have bought my tickets until mid this year. But then again, even if I had not bought my tickets to Melbourne, I would still not redeem with the 30% discount as I am saving my Enrich Miles for Europe next year smile.gif Question is - next year still got Enrich Miles Program? hahahaha

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0345sec    1.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:15 PM