PC Audio HTPC, anyone doing this?

terencey
post Oct 5 2006, 12:25 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(ryansia @ Oct 5 2006, 12:22 PM)
as you mentioned xbox360 & PS3, it is essential to get an AV amp with HDMI. you only have 1 HDMI port on R7....... unless you wanna settles with component.

i remember saw sme one was bulking Sony AV receiver with HDMI passthrough which costs RM8xx.
Xbox360 no HDMI output. only component. But I will try to check out the sony AV receiver on bulk sales. Any tips to look out when buying an AV receiver? Thanks.
terencey
post Oct 6 2006, 09:54 AM

119 posts

Managed to try out post proccessing Astro video yesterday. Result not that good. Overall image quality is ok but got pixelation when watching high speed shows like sports.

I used blur NR + resizing only. Even with all the post processing turned off I still get pixelation of high speed shows. Did I miss something here? Anybody can give me some tips? rclxub.gif

Thanks you. notworthy.gif
terencey
post Oct 6 2006, 05:31 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(ryansia @ Oct 6 2006, 03:59 PM)
what's the connection from astro? composite or S Video? about pixelation you might want to test direct from astro to Tv if the this persists. the problem might be the TV scaler or source and not your HTPC.

How about upscaling the dvd or divx?

you need to do some registry heck inorder to run ffdshow on MCE right? what's the CPU load when you enable blur NR with resize? what's the size you set in resize?
The connection is composite. Haven't had the chance to go get a S-Video cable.

I think its definately FFDShow problem because when I disable FFDShow post processing (disable as in revert back the hack windows Registry), it goes back to normal smooth image.

I going to google some FFDShow tutorials and meddle with other options. Will keep u guys updated.

No I haven't tested dvd or divx post processing.

Yup I hacked the registry to run ffdshow on MCE Live TV. The CPU load never go above 50% usually around 10-20%. I resize to 1360x768.

QUOTE(Matrix @ Oct 6 2006, 04:06 PM)
I noticed u used the ASUS mobo with the built-in 6150 card. Did u install Nvidia Purevideo??

After Installing Purevideo, the DVD movie quality seems much better than the codec that comes with PowerDVD. btw, i still find it hard to believe MCE didn't at least give some cheap free codecs for DVD playing...it can't even play DVD by default!!! doh.gif

Also, i'm starting to hate the online spotlight which is nothing more than gimmick to sell u rubbish online.

I think my XBMC on the XBOX has a far superior interface(and looks nicer) than MCE!!!

PS: PureVideo isn't free...it is only 30 days trial....Nvidia is greedy...but u can always look for the ahem ahem "pecah" file....

hee-hee.
Yes, I am using Purevideo Decoder. And its definately better than powerDVD decoder.

Yeah, its strange that MCE did not bundle the necessary or basic codec just to play DVD.

XBMC on XBOX rocks!!! All my downloaded videos looks so good on it. Felt very sad when I sold it off to fund my xbox360.

PS: PureVideo it not free but.... can "acquire" from B *cough* T *cough*

terencey
post Oct 6 2006, 09:14 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(syazone @ Oct 6 2006, 07:39 PM)
is this the only tv card that can be use wif astro? Hauppauge PVR-150MCE TV Tuner Card with IR Blaster and Remote
Another 1 I know is PVR-500MCE. Cost around RM800 rclxub.gif
terencey
post Oct 8 2006, 12:38 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Oct 7 2006, 04:21 AM)
you guys think i should really fork out the extra for a 3800 X2 instead of a 3500+? unsure.gif i just noticed that there's a 65W version of the 3800 X2..only suck up as much power as the 3500+...heat shouldnt be an issue then biggrin.gif
Not very sure whether the power consumption of 3800 x2 is the same as 3500+. For me, I took 3800+ X2 because for RM230 more (compuzone price), I sort of get an "extra" CPU with another 512kb L2 cache. This will seriously boost multithreading apps. And I want to jump onto the dual core bandwagon long time ago already. laugh.gif

QUOTE(vey99 @ Oct 7 2006, 04:42 PM)
Hi guys I finally managed to setup a dedicated (HT)PC. Its a Gigabyte GoPC :
P4 2.8 | 512MB ram | 200GB HDD | Ati 9600Pro | Panasonic 29" Tau Giga | Philips MCD700 micro hifi

PICs here
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...=48191&st=2247#

I don't have Astro or watch TV, mainly for DVD and downloaded Vids, but my Rig can only support external USB tuner cos no PCI slot.

Super silent 1 PSU fan, and 1 HSf fan only.
Nice. thumbup.gif

If you watching downloaded vids, save $$$ for a new widescreen tv or plasma. Super nice watching HDTV quality shows on it. Although its compressed, but quality still way better than watching astro on my new LCD TV.

Quite sad to find out that my new Samsung R7 LCD TV can't play Astro ok a decent level. I already tried S-Video connection btw, still not satisfactory.

QUOTE(Matrix @ Oct 8 2006, 08:31 AM)
Haiya...waster man...the XBOX is solid Media Center material.

In fact, the only reason i'm building another HTPC is becoz of the better sound card of the PC, (prodigy LT - full 24-bit) which i hope gives better music than the xbox.

I'm gonna do some extensive testing with the music after i finish setup. If the music is not much better, than i don't think i'll even want to keep the HTPC as the XBOX can do everything else and it comes in a small box + remote + fast boot up + play emulator games + great user interface.

Also, i think  a PC will have a hardtime matching the boot up time of the XBOX, even a powerful PC.
I know. Feel dam sakit now.

Totally agree that no HTPC can match XBOX boot up time. Because XBMC itself is the OS so no need to load windows and run on top of it.
terencey
post Oct 8 2006, 01:19 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Oct 8 2006, 01:03 PM)
actually i got the dual core after i posted that. there are a couple version, the one on newegg is rather the same power as 3500+ so why not biggrin.gif

u want ur pc to boot up as fast as xbox? keep it in standby mode when you dont use it smile.gif
good choice thumbup.gif

Standby mode still takes power ma. But I know sure how much the pc consume during standby mode. Nowadays electricity dam expensive. I staying in service apt some more. Commercial rates. sad.gif
terencey
post Oct 19 2006, 01:20 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(tong1774 @ Oct 19 2006, 12:23 PM)
Mind to tell me how you guys connect your Astro into the PC and use ffshow to upscale it? Do u need a tv tuner card to do it? Or a normal graphic card like 6800GS will do? Haven't got my Astro set up yet, but i will like to try from tv antenna to PC--> LCD TV. Is that possible?
You will need a TV tuner card to feed TV/Astro signal into the PC and a graphics card with TV-out to output to TV. Since you are using LCD TV, you can use the monitor cable to connect to your lcd tv if your LCD tv accepts monitor input.

For normal antenna tv and astro to non media center (MCE) windows xp most tv tuner card can do it but if you want to control astro decoder using windows xp mce then you need hauppauge PVR150MCE tv tuner card.

Check my sig for a rough guide.
terencey
post Oct 19 2006, 02:48 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(tong1774 @ Oct 19 2006, 02:43 PM)
Ok thanks. So which tv tuner are u currntly using and how bout the price? May be interested to get one. Problem with that is everytime i need to watch tv i need to on my PC also. Or may be a signal booster would be better for me? Since tuner card cant help also when the signal is low right?
I'm using Hauppauge PVR-150MCE. Bought it for RM499. Its pricier than normal tuner because it comes with a Windows XP MCE remote (Can be use for Xbox360 remote as well) and a IR Blaster to control Astro Decoder.

I never try to use on normal TV so can't really comment on the signal but yeah signal low tuner also cannot help.

You can check out the features of my tuner card from here:
http://www.terencey.net/blog/?p=65
terencey
post Oct 29 2006, 03:29 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Oct 29 2006, 03:50 AM)
got my HFPC (yes...hifi poc...not ht pc tongue.gif) assembled yesterday:
*I wish I was a plug brows.gif*

The emu anlog card has no support so it was bending upwards (downwards after I terbalik the casing) which would hack shorted and get killed if one didnt pay attention....some electrical tape did the trick.

The stupid pci locking mechanism was totally F up..I spent almost 30 mins trying to align the pci cards properly.
rclxms.gif nice! thumbup.gif

Post pics of the finished product la. And the entire setup with your receiver and speakers.

What casing you using?
terencey
post Oct 30 2006, 06:12 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Oct 30 2006, 05:47 PM)
Asus M2NPV-VM came with component video output?  drool.gif
Or u r using additional card?
Comes package with the mobo.

Had some issues with my RAM on this mobo. Using 2x 512mb kingston 667 DDR2 RAM, kept getting BSOD. But I manually up the voltage to higher value then problem solved.

All in all a great feature packed and value for money AM2 mobo.
terencey
post Oct 31 2006, 12:00 PM

119 posts

Wow, traveler. Thats some super high end specs you got there. drool.... Yahama RX2600.... wish I have that. The entire setup should cost close to 20k .... *faint*

PVR-500MCE cost RM800 man. Buy astro max straight la. Dual tuner needs 2 decoder. You will be paying double for astro as well. Not worth it. Astro max you still pay for 1 decoder but can record 1 channel while watching another.
terencey
post Oct 31 2006, 11:37 PM

119 posts

AlamakLor,

what's so important about finding native english software for soundmax? I didn't realize that the software is not native english.

I manage to get my hands on a receiver and a set of speakers but I dunno how to connect both the front and rear jack speaker output from the mobo to the RCA left right input on the receiver. Any idea?
terencey
post Nov 1 2006, 12:18 AM

119 posts

Unfortunately, my receiver don't have digital input. Its a Yamaha RX-393 receiver.

Yes i'm currently using a RCA -> stereo 3.5mm cable to connect my HTPC to my receiver. But that is for the front channel. When I tried set in xp to enable 5 speakers, the sound driver indicates that I need to connect the rear channel output as well.

I'm thinking of getting another RCA to stereo 3.5mm cable and 2 x 2RCA to 1 RCA converter to input into the receiver. Means the front and rear channel from the mobo will both go into the receiver through the 2x 2RCA to 1RCA converter. Hope you understand what I'm saying here. I'm not sure if this is a workable solution though.
terencey
post Nov 1 2006, 09:55 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 1 2006, 06:07 AM)
Yes, it'll do the job. Tested before. smile.gif

IMO, if u want all the fancy effects of ur soundcard, (EAX, QSound, yadda yadda), this is the only way to go as digital connection is only good for sending DD5.1/DTS signal to receiver. Music will only get 2channel via digital connections.
Thanks for confirming it matrix. rclxms.gif notworthy.gif thumbup.gif

QUOTE(shinigamicpt @ Nov 1 2006, 09:05 AM)
erm window media center kenot accept 2 diffrent signal..
Even with dual decoder also cannot? Tested before?

terencey
post Nov 4 2006, 09:29 AM

119 posts

I'm using ASUS M2NPV-VM too. Looks like I made the right choice.

Its a feature pack mobo that comes with a small price tag. Good value for money. Just the little memory voltage issue that bothers me initially otherwise it a great mobo.
terencey
post Nov 6 2006, 01:08 AM

119 posts

myuu,

interesting project you got there. Please do post your progress here. Really interested to see how u receive astro directly to your htpc without using the decoder.

thumbup.gif
terencey
post Nov 6 2006, 04:00 PM

119 posts

hey ryan,

quite sad lar. astro abit jerky when using ffdshow to process it. Not very watchable lor.

I followed the settings in the guide on HTPCnews. At the end I turned off all the post process and leave only the OSD and its still jerky.

Recently got distracted by xbox360 tongue.gif so no time to go dig on more info on this. Any success stories here on upscaling astro? Please share share thumbup.gif

ryansia, you manage to do post processing on astro rite? or is it matrix?? Anyway do you guys get jerky playback during post processing on astro?

For DVD, I get sharper pictures but sometimes audio goes out of sync....

Hit too many potholes now, abit discouraged so find xbox360 for comfort tongue.gif Will pick myself up to explore more on post processing later.

This post has been edited by terencey: Nov 6 2006, 04:01 PM
terencey
post Nov 10 2006, 05:22 PM

119 posts

Wah x2 4200+ .....

looks like my x2 3800+ is still not sufficient cry.gif

accs_center, did you try to upscale astro?
terencey
post Nov 22 2006, 04:28 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Nov 22 2006, 04:09 PM)
Hauppage PVR 150        = RM 388 comes with blaster ir
dun think PVR-150 comes with IR blaster.

QUOTE(ccschua @ Nov 22 2006, 04:09 PM)
From what i understand, both also can perform EPG and remote control with Astro.
only PVR-150MCE can remote control Astro

1. If you want to control astro using the MCE remote spend the 100 buck.

2. Use a splitter to output ur astro directly to TV and to your HTPC.

3. It will be easier and better if you have a LCD TV or projector to go with your HTPC. Standard CRT TV also can but your video card needs to support TV-out and the quality is not as good as LCD TV. I don't have projector so cannot comment on that.

I wrote a simple guide on PVR-150MCE HTPC setup. Check out my sig.
terencey
post Nov 22 2006, 07:08 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(ryansia @ Nov 22 2006, 06:37 PM)
to add on,
PVR 150 comes with IR Blaster as well but not the MCE ones. works with SageTV.
Sorry for the wrong info. I guess the only difference between PVR-150 and 150MCE is that 150MCE supports windows xp mce.

QUOTE(ryansia @ Nov 22 2006, 06:37 PM)
I differ that. SD source like astro is still best with CRT. if your HTPC is solely on MCE app only (cant display clear text) and dont appreciate HD for the time being, CRT is fine but limited to 34".
Ryan, thanks for pointing it out about the SD source quality, I overlooked that tongue.gif. I was referring to those downloaded HDTV series from the net. It's awesome watching them on a HDTV. Watching them on SDTV also very good as well. As for Astro, I get 2 black box on both sides when watching on my HDTV unless I do post processing to enlarge the video.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0481sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:09 PM