4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

PC Audio HTPC, anyone doing this?

terencey
post Nov 28 2006, 12:02 PM

119 posts

Confirmed PVR-150MCE got IR Blaster coz I'm using it rite now with my XP MCE.

EDIT: From the comparison page, maybe I'm using the MCE kit version because my 1 comes with a IR Blaster and MCE Remote.

This post has been edited by terencey: Nov 28 2006, 12:04 PM
terencey
post Nov 28 2006, 01:27 PM

119 posts

I bought it from LYP Vertex Dist. S/B RM499.

The shop that sells alot of XFX Graphics card.

www.vertex.com.my
terencey
post Nov 28 2006, 07:13 PM

119 posts

There seems to be 2 variants of PVR-150MCE. Just make sure get the 1 with IR blaster and MCE remote.

Digital output is what type of connection? Component? Means have to change decoder? But any upgrade is welcomed bcoz if I stand rite in front of my LCD TV i see pixelation on Astro image.

How nice if we have HDTV like the americans. thumbup.gif ***dreaming***
terencey
post Dec 4 2006, 06:38 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 4 2006, 05:27 PM)
Hi ya!!!

Just got myself the PVR-150MCE with the blaster kit. Thanks to terence excellent ASTRO guide, i've managed to download all the EPG data into my Windows MCE.
(Eat cow dung, ASTRO MAX!!!!)
You're welcome. Astro MAX still have killer feature which is watch 1 channel and record another. tongue.gif

2) I need to split my ASTRO signal to both my TV and PC at the same time using either composite or preferably S-video. What kind of splitter do i need in this case? I'm not sure what to look for. Any description of the adapter and splitter would be helpful.
You need 3 splitter to split each RCA output from Astro decoder to 2 output. I take a picture post it here later.

EDIT: Here's the pic.

PS: Terenece: ur guide is excellent. However, since i'm uisng TVXB v1009 there's some minor difference in the folder where the ini file is stored. It is now stored in Mydocument\Application Data\tvbx\ini
I think that is because you downloaded the windows installer version. I used the linux version which is a zip file. I prefer to keep all the TVxb files in a single folder/location instead of in Documents and Settings. Anyway as long it works, who cares. laugh.gif

I also think you should contribute ur TVBX.INI file to TVBX if you haven't already done so. I'm sure there'll be thousands more people find you ini file extremely useful!!  thumbup.gif
Though of doing that, but forgot about it tongue.gif If you don't mind can you help me update them. I'm dam super bz with work nowadays no time for my HTPC at all. Luckily all US TV series that I watch stopped airing until JAN.

[b]UPDATED[cool.gif: discovered another quirk...recorded movies are in strange DVR-MS format...not even AVI format. Thus, my hope of easily converting to DIVX is now dashed...looking for more info to convert this crap now... doh.gif
I read somewhere (maybe in HTPC-gears.com or HTPCnews.com) that the recorded TV shows format are a wrapper for AVI. So there might b ways to "take it out" from the wrapper and you can then proceed to encode it to Divx.

This post has been edited by terencey: Dec 4 2006, 10:26 PM
terencey
post Dec 5 2006, 10:12 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 5 2006, 09:23 AM)
found a tool to convert DVR-MS...called Deskshare Digital Media Converter...but the problem is, converting to AVI/DIVX is a freaking long time. My half hour show has run for 1.5 hours and still not finish converting!!!

This is definitely not an ideal solution....*sigh*
UPGRADE!!!! rclxms.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(ccschua @ Dec 5 2006, 09:34 AM)
I just wonder if you do a splitter like that, do you get signal loss. I mean picture quality drops.
rgds
Astro quality already not that good. Losing abit of signal didn't hurt me that much. I use those with gold connectors. Hopefully it minimize the signal loss.
terencey
post Dec 5 2006, 12:42 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 5 2006, 11:11 AM)
The DMC don't work. After running over 2 hours, it fails to convert. doh.gif Btw, i'm running this on my AMD 64 rig, not the Athlon XP. Heck, even converting DVD-5 with DD51 only takes about 3 to 4 hours complete...this crap 1/2 hour ASTRO show also takes that long??? Maybe the software sucks kua...gotta find another way to do it....

btw, my sound problem comes back. After changing the latency thingy, it's good for maybe 10 minutes and all the cracks and hiss comes back again....bah...
Maybe try to find other software to do it. Please update here if you found something good. I will try to find as well.

I notice cracks and hiss sound as well on my sound system. I'm using a yamaha RX-393 amp and yamaha speakers. Sound card is onboard card. The cracks and hiss sound only appear on certain downloaded TV shows. Music no problem. Maybe for mine is just the downloaded video is not encoded properly. This issue doesn't bother me that much.
terencey
post Dec 28 2006, 03:44 PM

119 posts

Matrix, thanks for your effort. From what I see, you missed out certain channels like 13-16 and the 4 new channels (20,22...)

While i'm in the midst of updating the ini file I notice that 1 or 2 channels code used for retrieving the programme guide has changed. That means it will be better if I do a full audit to make sure each channel in TVxb is using the right channel code (eg. M001, M038...)

All these comparing is a strain to the eye. What I gonna do is to write a program to read astro's program list and generate the tvxb.ini file automatically. So each time when there's a change, can always run it again to get the latest ini file.

I try to get it done by friday nite so every1 can enjoy new astro channels on their HTPC during the new year.

This post has been edited by terencey: Dec 28 2006, 03:45 PM
terencey
post Dec 30 2006, 01:32 AM

119 posts

Ok the script is done rclxm9.gif

Now I can generate tvxb.ini files on the fly whenever astro decides to add new channels or change the channel sequence.

I have posted the latest tvxb.ini file on my blog. Here's the download link:

http://www.terencey.net/downloads/TVxb-all.ini

If anybody wants to have the script can PM me. Its written in unix script so whoever wants to use it needs to have some basic knowledge of unix shell.

Matrix, need your help to test all the channels as I only has 3 mini packages. Please let me know if there's some issue with the ini file.

Enjoy and happy new year.
terencey
post Dec 30 2006, 02:46 PM

119 posts

No, the channels are added based on the ini file.
terencey
post Jan 2 2007, 04:07 PM

119 posts

Yes the media center interface will have all the channels you configured in the ini file.
terencey
post Jan 24 2007, 11:45 PM

119 posts

I also heard that vista MCE very nice. But its not even launched yet. What bladerunner does is that it updates MCE EPG database though the back door. If Vista works differently than windows xp mce then I dun think blade runner will work properly.

I will get my lazy ass to start researching on Vista MCE once its launch. At the mean time work work work and play xbox360 biggrin.gif

Matrix, Thank you so much for testing the channels notworthy.gif
terencey
post Jan 26 2007, 12:16 PM

119 posts

It depends on what function you want to use it.

Use it as a DVD player, music player or downloaded movies/tv series player then is fine. If you want to view TV from laptop then you will need an additional external TV tuner.

You can try ffdshow to do upscaling. You need a very fast system to do that.

Y do you want to use a laptop? There are alot of benefits using a desktop over laptop as a HTPC.
terencey
post Jan 26 2007, 04:46 PM

119 posts

I'm currently using the VGA cable to connect my HTPC to samsung R7 and the quality is flawless to me. Downloaded movies/series looks awesome on it. Can't comment much bout HDMI coz I don't have any equipment that uses it. Since R7 can support up till 1366x768 and VGA cable also can deliver at that resolution than i guess its not necessary to use HDMI.

U mean adjust custom resolution is to upscale playback images to 1080i? I tried to realtime upscale astro images to 1360x768 resolution but frame rate very low to the extend its not watchable. So unless you laptop is super fast stay away from it. Downloaded series like prison break, supernatural are all in HD format already. I viewed them full screen on my R7 and its super nice. DVD still have letter box bcoz they are not in 16:9 format.
terencey
post Jan 26 2007, 06:11 PM

119 posts

I'm using 1360x768 on my R7 refresh rate not very sure.

All the HD series are compressed using divx/xvid so they are not true HD resolution. Just that the size is in 16:9, when played in MCE it will full screen to the entire TV without any black bars on top and bottom.

Its the same for DVD but has black bar coz its not full 16:9 format. There is a guide on upscaling the resolution and sharpening the image of DVD playback. I followed the guide and also got quite jerky picture.

You should see the quality of blue ray and HDDVD man. I am lucky enough to witness both of them in 1080i and 1080p(blue ray) resolution on a 100in screen in KLCC. The sight makes you don't wanna watch DVD anymore. Oops off topic tongue.gif
terencey
post Jan 29 2007, 11:45 AM

119 posts

Hmmm haven't been meddling wiv my HTPC for awhile. I try to access astro site also very slow to lag. Maybe its bcoz of the website or internet line got problem.

If they did change their site then I would need to look into the webpages and make modifications for TVxb to extract the EPG data.

We'll c how 1st until their site is back up.
terencey
post Jan 30 2007, 11:45 AM

119 posts

Wow cool stuff. But what can we do with it other than displaying what is played currently? I check the website it doesn't say much about its functionality. how much does it cost?

@matrix,
Astro website back up. You can download the EPG. They didn't change anything.
terencey
post Feb 2 2007, 11:34 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Feb 2 2007, 11:32 AM)
Thx for answer all my question, so with Hauppauge PVR150MCE, i can control STB(astro), right?
Yes, you can check my guide in my sig to configure PVR150MCE for Win XP MCE.
terencey
post Feb 2 2007, 05:24 PM

119 posts

Great work myjunk. notworthy.gif I would love to use linux as well just that nowadays I don't have the time luxury to setup and configure individuals drivers for the OS.

I doubt what you watch on your HTPC is legal and free biggrin.gif tongue.gif
terencey
post Feb 4 2007, 02:25 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Feb 2 2007, 09:07 PM)
Like i ask b4, in MCE, i can link to another pc to get the video to watch, so all format of video like RMVB also can play in MCE?
Yes, as long as your MCE PC install all the necessary codecs.
terencey
post Feb 5 2007, 10:44 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Feb 4 2007, 10:30 PM)
OK.. thx Bro...  R u get urself a Hauppauge PVR-150MCE TV Tuner Card with IR Blaster and Remote from lowyat too?
Yup i got it from LYP for RM499. I heard the price went down to RM450 but I'm not sure bout this. I think its Vertex Sdn Bhd.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0190sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:08 AM