PC Audio HTPC, anyone doing this?

minimize
post Feb 11 2010, 05:29 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Feb 11 2010, 10:18 AM)
It "could" run without any problems .... depending on yr other items that take power from yr power supply like CPU, mobo, hard disk, fans, CDROM.. and also USB devices that draws power like USB harddisk and others..

Different systems hv different power requirements.. so not the same..

When problems happens, it could be stuff like system unstable, suddenly reboot or even hard disk corruption... or strange things not related to software bugs..

So you can try it first, if system always unstable and strange things happens, then perhaps you should upgrade to a higher rating power supply as all their sizes are the same...

I ALWAYS buy a much higher rating & quality power supply that I can afford b'cos Power Supply Unit will ALWAYS outlast your PC specs... PC specs ( CPU/GPU/MOBO/MEM) after 3-4 years or so.. becomes very "old technology" and runs very slow...
Unfortunately my pc use Flex ATX PSU which I think very hard to find in malaysia market. cry.gif
Almost all PSU in market is normal ATX.
minimize
post Feb 17 2010, 06:06 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Feb 17 2010, 12:47 PM)
My AVR also does not hv HDMI, I use SPDIF (optical) to AVR and HDMI to my Plasma TV... Plasma/LCD..same same la.. just depends on the connections and the specs..

Just buy an TOSLINK (optical cable) for the digital sound connection to the AVR..
I think TOSLINK cannot support DTS-HD/TrueHD. Must use HDMI to bitstream that HD audio.

When probably ATI HD 5450 will arrived in malaysia? Can't wait anymore.. biggrin.gif

Added on February 17, 2010, 6:15 pm
QUOTE(djlah @ Feb 17 2010, 11:00 AM)
confirm gtx260 cannot support TrueHD/DTS-HD. go ahead with 5670/5750. unless you're really nvidia fanboy, maybe wait for Fermi, still not sure about the Fermi's spec. anyhow, IMHO: 1 ATI 5xxx series are far better than 1 NVIDIA+HDAV1.3.
Agreed.. From cost perspective, HDAV1.3 only will cost u around rm600. You can get better 5 series ATI card with that price. laugh.gif
Right now, no nvidia card can bitstream DTS-HD/TrueHD. cry.gif

This post has been edited by minimize: Feb 17 2010, 06:15 PM
minimize
post Feb 18 2010, 12:28 AM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Feb 17 2010, 09:12 PM)
Opps... did not knew about that... the SPDIF bandwidth is not high enuf for HD Audio...
Limitation of bandwidth is one reason. Other reason, its cannot support 24 bit audio (DTS-HD/TrueHD).

Added on February 18, 2010, 12:35 am
QUOTE(welwitchia @ Feb 17 2010, 09:13 PM)
Why wait? The 5670 is only RM290 ;-)
Hahaha, my PC use small form factor casing. So have to get low profile GC. nod.gif
I think only HD5450 in 5 series ATI card that come with half height size.

This post has been edited by minimize: Feb 18 2010, 12:35 AM
minimize
post Feb 18 2010, 10:02 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Feb 18 2010, 09:33 AM)
If you read review and forum, 5670 is the best card for HTPC.
You might need to consider sacrificing your ideal low profile set up.
Or look for a low profile 5670 to fit in.
Unfortunately, HD5670 not come with low profile. cry.gif
minimize
post Feb 19 2010, 01:08 AM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Feb 18 2010, 10:43 PM)
Get the 5570 then....
HD5570 is also in my list. But still not arrived in malaysia yet. sad.gif
But I think HD5450 is cheaper but less performance than HD5570. If price not so much different, i will go for HD5570. biggrin.gif
minimize
post Feb 20 2010, 03:20 AM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Feb 19 2010, 07:13 AM)
Low profile GC is like beauty without substance.
Like gals wear mini skirt without good bottom  tongue.gif
I think its like gals dont wear skirt. More beauty laa laugh.gif tongue.gif
minimize
post Feb 20 2010, 12:36 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Feb 20 2010, 08:57 AM)
The excitement is always taking off piece by piece to reveal the beauty within  tongue.gif
That one is true bro.. notworthy.gif
minimize
post Feb 25 2010, 01:23 AM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Feb 24 2010, 01:32 PM)
Does my bluray movie on PC ran by Bluray ROM has to do anything with " must have a good GC" thingy?
NVIDIA GeForce 210 graphics card is quite enough to play bluray movie. But you cannot enjoy HD audio with this card. biggrin.gif

Added on February 25, 2010, 1:31 am
QUOTE(Bart-man @ Feb 24 2010, 11:48 AM)
Radeon HD 5570

Anandtech calls it the perfect HTPC card at the lowest possible budget.

http://www.anandtech.com/weblog/showpost.aspx?i=669
Yes i like this one.. but its production is quite slow.

This post has been edited by minimize: Feb 25 2010, 01:31 AM
minimize
post Feb 26 2010, 03:19 AM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Feb 26 2010, 12:23 AM)
I am an ATI fanboy  tongue.gif
Either use Intel or ATI to bitstream now...
Yup. Nvidia card still don't support DTS-HD/TrueHD.
minimize
post Feb 28 2010, 10:06 PM

1,543 posts

At last ATI HD5570 already in malaysia market. Superb GC for HTPC. rclxm9.gif
minimize
post Feb 28 2010, 11:11 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(azrilyp @ Feb 28 2010, 10:34 PM)
have u consider HD5670?
My small factor casing is not support it. I need low profile GC. smile.gif
minimize
post Mar 1 2010, 02:53 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Mar 1 2010, 02:00 PM)
you're right. at least 5570 or lower only have low profile available.
you already get 5570? how much and the performance?
or u plan for 5450?
I planning to get 5670... most balance card for htpc with light gaming...
I get it already at rm320. It performance with 1080p video is very good and supported by 220W PSU. thumbup.gif
However I fail to bitstream DTS-HD/TrueHD. Already update a new driver but still same.

What should i do? icon_question.gif
minimize
post Mar 1 2010, 06:44 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Mar 1 2010, 04:18 PM)
I have TrueHD sample file. managed to bitstreams by using my 5 series ati notebook. work as expected.
but I dun have DTS-HD MA sample file. do you have?

what I did is:
ATI 9.12 hotfix driver
Realtek R242
MPC-HC
ffdshow rev3274
EDID Override

my PDVD9 failed to bitstream, I ignore it...prefer MPC-HC.
I have 7.1 TrueHD demo disc file (8GB) and DTS-HD (100MB) sample file.
It is mandatory to use EDID? How to set-up? notworthy.gif

BTW i'm using TMT3 on vista, it say trueHD pass through but no sound at all in my receiver. sad.gif

This post has been edited by minimize: Mar 1 2010, 06:53 PM
minimize
post Mar 1 2010, 07:46 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Mar 1 2010, 07:08 PM)
Depending on receiver model, you would need EDID override.
Yahama, Pioneer AVR does not require EDID override.

Tulli from AVS has modded one EDID override for my 4310. biggrin.gif
Try used EDID but still no trueHD light-up on my receiver. sad.gif
Can i use vista to bitstream hd audio?

BTW, i'm using yamaha rx-v465

This post has been edited by minimize: Mar 1 2010, 07:49 PM
minimize
post Mar 1 2010, 08:53 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(taqies @ Mar 1 2010, 08:41 PM)
You dont need EDID mod if you are using Yamaha. What is the card you are using to bitstream? If ATI, which model?
I'm using ATI HD 5570. Running on win vista ultimate
minimize
post Mar 1 2010, 10:09 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Mar 1 2010, 09:32 PM)
can you share with me where to get the DTS-HD 100mb sample file? PM me if not convenient to share....

btw, IMHO; I found that commercial player quite troublesome, free player player like MPC are more easy to configure. I had try WINDVD2010, TMT3, PDVD9 before.
by using MPC-HC, we can select any decoder, any filter, any setting or combination we like....
Original sample (100MB)
http://www.sendspace.com/file/txz7i7

Remuxed by TsMuxer (101MB)
http://www.sendspace.com/file/yx8agd

From film Wanted
minimize
post Mar 1 2010, 10:30 PM

1,543 posts

Thanks for the help guyz..

After a lot of try and error, at last i successfully can bitstream TrueHD to my receiver using TMT3. Quiet satisfied when trueHD light up on receiver. icon_idea.gif

Have to use Win 7 instead of vista. I try everything on vista but totally fail.

What i use is
1- Win 7
2- ATI HD 5570
3- TMT3 with .170 patch

Want to try using windows media center after this.
minimize
post Mar 1 2010, 10:36 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Mar 1 2010, 10:31 PM)
You can but I read in the forum you need to use MPC-HC audio filter to bitstream HD Audio. Win7 is more straight forward as it can use directsound. Suggest you upgrade to Win7 for less headache.
Yes agreed.. Win 7 is very easy to setup than vista. Anyone successfully bitstream HD audio on vista?
minimize
post Mar 2 2010, 11:51 AM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Mar 2 2010, 08:37 AM)
thx bro...
No prob.. It is DTS-HD light up on ur receiver? biggrin.gif

------------------------------------------------------------------
What best resolution for HD ready LCD TV 32" when using HDMI?
My new HD5570 seems not fully fit my tv screen. I can see a black border.
minimize
post Mar 2 2010, 04:42 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Mar 2 2010, 01:36 PM)
I haven't download it yet......
the black border are very common issue.
open the CCC, open your monitor properties, look for scaling options: adjust to 0% or whichever that can get full screen....
Thanks, i not familiar so familiar with ATI, biggrin.gif BTW, I have to adjust resolution to 1216x684 to get fit my screen.
It quiet weird because 1216x684 is lower resolution than 720p but fit to screen. Logically i should s smile.gif elect resolution more than 720p right? rclxub.gif

I try to bitstream DTS-HD sample file with TMT3 but fail. Maybe have to use MPC-MC with ffdshow.

This post has been edited by minimize: Mar 2 2010, 04:48 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0492sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:52 AM