coz currently my htpc is just running on XP.
PC Audio HTPC, anyone doing this?
Jul 17 2008, 12:33 PM
10,530 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Petaling Jaya & Mid Valley |
coz currently my htpc is just running on XP. |
Aug 1 2008, 09:12 PM
Aug 7 2008, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(vey99 @ Aug 1 2008, 09:33 PM) http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/478059?author=vey99 upgrade??? upgrade wat??? the HTPC?? its not upgraded man... my htpc is even LOWER specs than urs.. A64 2800+ s754 1mb, ddr400 etc etci can see u upgrade ur rig to quite a good spec ... i also using HP2207, love it... the one in my siggy is my main gaming rig. been around for quite awhile. |
Aug 7 2008, 09:25 PM
QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Aug 7 2008, 06:46 PM) Guys, I need your help. I connected my lappie to the TV via S-Video. Video no problem, yet. right click on desktop and go to properties... u need to set ur TV as primary monitor. then ur video will be there and not on ur lappie.But, the resolution on the TV is 1280x800 (!). How to set to 640x480? Whenever I try, both screens turn to that resolution. And then the video playback. It plays on the lappie, but not on the TV, and the audio keep hissing. also at the display properties... choose the TV, and set to the reso u want.. it SHOULD only set the TV and not the lappie. audio... check soundcard or watever else...me no sure. |
Sep 16 2008, 02:48 PM
DG45FC @ RM445?
y didnt u get the Gigabyte GA-EG45M-DS2H instead? its about 490 and also m-atx... or were u specifically looking for a mini-itx board? anyway...does anyone know how much the Asus P5Q-EM costs? This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 16 2008, 02:51 PM |
Sep 19 2008, 05:54 PM
gentlemen (and ladies if theres any)
whats a good player to play HD files?? both 720 and 1080p? my current favourite player is BS Player. is it good enough for HD content? or do i need a different player for HD content? Added on September 19, 2008, 6:09 pmoh yeah.... hope others can comment on my future HTPC/torrent rig setup as well...wan to play HD content as well as save powah... E5200 Asus P5Q-EM 2GBx1 DDR2-800 RAM SATA DVDRW FSP SAGA 400w WD500GB Green Power HDD. rig will be on 24/7 for torrenting This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 19 2008, 06:09 PM |
Sep 19 2008, 06:08 PM
@adamismadi
tested with any 720p or 1080p files yet??? hows the playback with the system?? im thinking of getting a similar system with urs..... hope others can comment on my future HTPC/torrent rig setup as well...wan to play HD content as well as save powah... E5200 Asus P5Q-EM 2GBx1 DDR2-800 RAM SATA DVDRW FSP SAGA 400w WD500GB Green Power HDD. Added on September 19, 2008, 6:18 pmalso.... whats a good player to play HD files?? both 720 and 1080p? my current favourite player is BS Player. is it good enough for HD content? or do i need a different player for HD content? This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 19 2008, 06:18 PM |
Sep 19 2008, 07:24 PM
@djlah
wats ur rig specs man? |
Sep 19 2008, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(Xeon7222 @ Sep 19 2008, 08:33 PM) Unless your computer casing is small, avoid mATX motherboard at all cost. its the microfly....so m-ATX is the max it can go.. i also wanna use integrated everything....trying to save as much power as possible.... coz the HTPC will also be a torrent rig. hence the reason why i plan to get only 1 stick of ram...logic is..1 less item to consume power |
Sep 22 2008, 01:30 AM
QUOTE(djlah @ Sep 21 2008, 08:47 PM) If you try to minimal the power consume, beside you can choose 1 stick of ram, there is a more important component to consider also. yeah i know....today already bought all the stuff...is processor and graphics card which are consume much more power if compare to ram. the option wide is depend on your requirement to select. not using GC....bought the G45 Gigabyte mobo...so will be using onboard HDMI output. (if GC is needed i have an 8600GT with HDMI output to use just in case) proc bought the E5200 for the 45nm. HDD bought 1TB WD Green Power HDD also bought just 1 stick of ram |
Sep 28 2008, 01:50 PM
theres alot of choices for m-atx boards with PCIe slot for under 400
guess u should be looking at the G33 chipset mobos..... mostly the onboard video doesnt have HDMI. |
Dec 23 2008, 07:32 PM
actually ah....i wanna try this hardware decode thingamajiggie that uses the GC to process the video....
right now im using E5200 with G45 mobo. running the few 1080p that i have perfectly with cpu usage @ around 45%.... but im just itchy to try.... so HOW do i go about setting it for the hardware graphic card thingy? EDIT: forgot to mention....my preferred player is BS Player... but i do have MPC HC installed as well.. This post has been edited by mADmAN: Dec 23 2008, 07:34 PM |
Dec 31 2008, 06:42 PM
imho a low power consuming HTPC better... then can watch every single format. can play any type of music files like flac etc.
and can also double up as a file server/ downloads PC. |
Jan 1 2009, 11:35 PM
eh??? VLC doesnt utilize dual cores ah?? didnt know that lol...but makes nod difference to me oso la since i use BS Player and it does utilize both cores
anyway, would still like an answer to my question below.... mobo is Gigabyte EG45M-DS2H... BS player with K-Lite Mega Codec Pack. QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 23 2008, 07:32 PM) actually ah....i wanna try this hardware decode thingamajiggie that uses the GC to process the video.... right now im using E5200 with G45 mobo. running the few 1080p that i have perfectly with cpu usage @ around 45%.... but im just itchy to try.... so HOW do i go about setting it for the hardware graphic card thingy? EDIT: forgot to mention....my preferred player is BS Player... but i do have MPC HC installed as well.. |
Jan 2 2009, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(ue_smsc @ Jan 2 2009, 04:10 PM) 1 more thing, not exactly a HTPC case....more of an SFF but definitely suits ur budget and with good features....htpc case.. is there any cheap case can be found/sale at lowyat? most important can use standard atx power supply.. any recommendation?? my budget below rm300 if posible.. thx go to the bulk orders section or garage sales and look for XQBOX. |
Jan 17 2009, 05:19 AM
just though id share something....i was trying out the DXVA thingamajiggie as posted by blindbox (in the spoiler) earlier in the thread....
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « its supposed to drastically reduce CPU usage and get the GC to do the rendering for 1080p files right? well i did everything in the screenshot and the link....and it didnt work.....mebbe i did something wrong or wat... BUT i did discover something interesting... first the specs... E5200 Gigabyte EG45M-DS2H mobo (using onboard video to HD Ready Plasma via HDMI) 2GB RAM Creative Audigy 4 K-Lite mega codec pack file played... Die Hard 4 mkv 12.1GB Single File 1920*800 reso (1080p file) AFTER putting in those settings...i tested for CPU usage during playback....tested with a few different scenes.... cpu usage for playback using.... MPC HC (came with K-Lite) with DXVA settings applied as per screenshot CPU Usage was around 70-80% BS Player Pro 2.22 Build 952 with stock settings...nuttin touched CPU Usage was around 40-50% so...my conclusion is... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Jan 22 2009, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(RacingTech @ Jan 17 2009, 08:58 AM) maybe u can try to uninstall all the video player n extra codec just to make sure it didnt interrupt with the MPC-HC...... now why in the world would i wanna do THAT?waste my time and effort to go through all that hassle just to get my proceesor usage @ around 40% for MPC-HC??? when i already have another software which ive been using for years n years thats already giving me around 40% without touching anything? a software that ive always preferred over MPC, VLC, winamp, n watever other video player... MPC-HC just isnt worth the hassle.... so again i repeat... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Jan 28 2009, 02:42 AM
if under clone mode....
set the monitor/lcd u want to play the video on as the primary display. |
Jan 28 2009, 01:37 PM
not mad....just stating the obvious
BS Player been around for quite awhile... i first heard of it when streamyx first came out. it used to be free then.... have to pay for it now... |
Jan 28 2009, 02:17 PM
free version no longer available..... (except for trials i think)
me using Pro (aka paid version) not sure wat its like now...im using an old version... can go to BSplayer.org to check it out Added on January 28, 2009, 2:19 pmoops...i just checked the site... looks like theres a free version too.. but somewhat limited.... This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jan 28 2009, 02:19 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0458sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:24 PM |