hey blindbox....
does ur settings NEED a graphics card to work or it can work with any GC including IGP?
PC Audio HTPC, anyone doing this?
Jan 29 2009, 12:44 PM
10,530 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Petaling Jaya & Mid Valley |
hey blindbox....
does ur settings NEED a graphics card to work or it can work with any GC including IGP? |
Feb 11 2009, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(howjimmy @ Feb 11 2009, 03:14 AM) hi im thinking of creating my own htpc, im torn in between reusing my parts from my current pc to convert it into a htpc or whether to sell off the whole thing and buy all the parts from scratch, my parts are ur specs are fine actually...although im not too sure how well the processor handles 1080p movies...MSI 945GM3 Intel E2160 Winfast PX7600GS 2GB RAM Trendsonic T-450ATX powersupply i'll mostly be using it for BTing and watching HD movies, although i might be using it to play some games, although this isnt really a priority because im on a budget. Another thing is, my transfer speed is really slow, like when im transferring documents/music to my thumb drive... is this because of the power supply or something reason? im using usb 2.0. So what do u guys think? i went over to a computer shop near my place and they were like "ah! change everything!" their advice wasnt very credible id say change mobo to a G31 mobo and change processor to a minimum E5200. if u can afford to go higher then by all means do it. i use an E5200 and playing 1080p movies with MPC-HC CPU usage is around 70-80% but around 40% with BSPlayer. |
Feb 19 2009, 12:43 PM
hey guys....how do i put back the settings for MPC-HC back to default?
is there a "restore defaults" settings in the options or something? |
Mar 16 2009, 11:11 AM
QUOTE(alifbata_abc @ Mar 15 2009, 03:14 PM) bro found this solution for your tv while googling : @terencetooSet aspect ratio to "Just Scan" + turn off "Noise Reduction" under "Advanced Control". hope this helps try this...i remember someone in audiophiles section had the same issue as well....and hes solution involved something like this... but required to use HDMI2 instead of HDMI1 port or something like that... QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 16 2009, 10:51 AM) Tumpang tanya. I have this problem also. When i play some mkv files with VISTA MCE with multiple audio, how do i select the different audio? Can't find the option anywhere... when playing with VISTA MCE using wat software??? MCE's own built-in software? or 3rd party?usually i just right click on the video and select audio streams in 3rd party softwares... |
Mar 17 2009, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Mar 16 2009, 11:16 PM) Thanks mADmAN, but unfortunately...tried that...HDMI 1 and HDMI2 back of the Graphic card.... ur HDMI ports on ur GC got 2 is it?? just in case...i meant HDMI1 and HDMI2 of the LCD how come so weird.....most of the ppl hook up their CPU --> LCD also ma...it seems im the only 1 having this prob... anyway...i strongly suggest searching the audiophiles section....the thread i mentioned was there....but i cant seem to find it else i would have posted up the link long ago |
Mar 18 2009, 04:19 PM
Mar 18 2009, 05:36 PM
QUOTE(prasys @ Mar 18 2009, 04:58 PM) I've it in my blog. i take it this is the unit??http://prasys.co.cc/2008/10/my-new-genuis-mediacruiser-810/ Its Genuis Mediacruiser 810. Karhoe recommended it ! Read it and take a look for yourself I bought it for RM 279 , its not RM 99 (correction) ![]() i have to admit...it does look sexy... but at RM280 it is quite pricey... also looks kinda big...was hoping for something smaller like the one i have below...one where the "mouse" is integrated to the keyboard unit. gonna read up on a REVIEW i found after i post this anyway...how well does it work with XP Pro? coz thats what im using for my HTPC/download/surfing rig.. QUOTE(g5sim @ Mar 18 2009, 05:06 PM) thats the problem. i was rushing and didnt note the the model number or snap a photo of the damn thing. There were so many of them. I willl go there again and take down the model number thanks...hope to get the info soon... where the shop by the way??? kinda hard to find Genius product these days what with A4Tech, Logitech and Razer dominating the market.i saw a mouse, the keyboard, a remote and a USB adapter. I assume the USB thingy is the infra red adapter for the keyboard/mouse/remote im currently using this ![]() its a cheap RM38 keyboard with integrated cursor control which i bought from the big shop on the 4th floor of LYP (not thundermatch..harga runtuh or something like that)... sadly..no more in stock. i did manage to buy an extra 1 just in case the cursor control on my unit has spoilt..coz its a plastic thingy beneath the rubber... so i had to fix it... by replacing the plastic thing with a screw and now it looks like this ![]() i still have another brand new unit...but would really like to have other alternatives...mainly because.... its infra red.. so line of sight is a must...but the range is impressive... 7 metres! but i really do hate the line of sight thing... n kinda need other options just in case... also this uses 2xAA Batteries one good thing about it is the PS2 connection...so i can press the "power" button on the keyboard to turn my PC on or off (after enabling the option in the BIOS)...this wont work with USB |
Mar 19 2009, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(prasys @ Mar 18 2009, 05:46 PM) It doesn't do well. It only favours Media Center 2005 or Vista MCE. Well , it would load up the driver just fine but then your media keys wouldn't even work (i.e Record , Live TV , Record TV , My Music and so on). If you're using XP Pro , then its not worth it to get this keyboard oh....mine works from cold boot Anyway , yes I can wake my PC from sleep (S3 sleep/hibernate). However it doesn't work if you're powering it from cold boot. You'll still have to press the power button in the PC manually ! but anyway...thanks for the info...have to look elsewhere.... im kinda searching more like the one im using right now..... dont really need extra features except the volume and mute button. |
Mar 19 2009, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(prasys @ Mar 19 2009, 11:10 AM) Then a simple Wireless keyboard would do anyway yup...but problem is finding a wireless keyboard with intergrated cursor control....Mine only works from S3 Sleep. It doesn't boot from Cold Boot. I think I'll have to mess with the BIOS Anyone knows any other good alternative besides crappy My Movie. Its freakin' bloated ive barely seen any around... |
Mar 19 2009, 12:44 PM
that would be me....
yeah i understand about the bouncing part...just that with my usage... sometimes the blanket on my bed gets in the way.. so if im under my blanket and typing...it gets pretty tough... but one good thing does come out of IR... if its not pointed towards the receiver... at least it wont screw things up when my cat is playing with it This post has been edited by mADmAN: Mar 19 2009, 12:46 PM |
Mar 29 2009, 01:21 PM
since u already have a mobo...just get the ATI HD4350 at RM125 only. make sure to look for ones with HDMI port...
Apr 14 2009, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Apr 11 2009, 11:47 AM) hi, wut about e5300? or i shud go for e7300 or q8200 ? btw i already have c430 proc. also its based on core proc. no the celeron d even an E5200 would do fine with 1080p....the celeron can be based on plutonium or whatever....itll still suffer on 1080p. sell it and get the E5200 as a minimum.QUOTE(cosmicmeadow @ Apr 11 2009, 01:32 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Full control with PS3 remote (no need to hookup Mouse/KB) from startup to shutdown. would also like some info on the hardware....me super n00b when it comes to playstations of any kind. QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 11 2009, 02:25 PM) cmon man...uve been here long enough to know that we cant talk about stuff like that.. QUOTE(steventsc @ Apr 11 2009, 05:10 PM) Talking about HTPC.... form ur siggy i doubt a change in hardware would help....ur processor is more than enough for 1080p.... does it happen on all 1080p files or only a few? perhaps an update in codec or a change in player would help??I have my Bravia 40V400A connected to Nvidia 8600GS (from Acer) thru DVI -> HDMI. I can play all the 1080p movies... but I can't help notice very little "stuttering". This is only noticable when the scene pans very slowly or something moves across the screen slowly. You will be able to see the moving is not smooth. My question is this caused by by not so good GC? Will a better GC help? The system specs is at my sig. BTW this only happens to 1080 files.... 720p files are fine..... Thanks for any input!! try downloading BS Player....and update ur codecs as well....see if that works. QUOTE(sonyman @ Apr 14 2009, 08:51 PM) hello all the HTPC owners, can anyone recommend a nice Casing for me ? preferably a nice slim one. this case should make for a decent HTPC casing...cheap and bling im now looking at the silverstone casing, so far grandia GD02 MT looks the best so far... so what does you guys use ? i like it small and stylish... i try avoid sugo series if i can, i had something similar last time. a biostar version, so let talk abit, what do u guys buy ? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « or u could go for the CM Elite 360 for around RM130 but this is plain i use the microfly (aka xqbox) |
Apr 15 2009, 07:20 PM
QUOTE(karhoe @ Apr 15 2009, 06:52 PM) my HD Ready Plasma rawks! web browsing at a distance is fine...but up close... abit blur... QUOTE(sam240 @ Apr 15 2009, 07:11 PM) Planning to setup a HTPC but cannot find suitable 5.1 speaker with digital input..... wonder where can find Edifier S550D or S750 for my HTPC set.... me using cheapo Edifier R501....bang for buck Dear all, what's the speaker you use on your HTPC?..... any 5.1 or 7.1 users here? |
Apr 16 2009, 03:50 PM
burn in ....got..but not the permanent type.....if i play something over the burn in will disappear....even if just for a short while..
pictar » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « digital input Logitech Z5500.....although id much rather spend the money on an AV receiver and some speakers (dunno enough to get for the same price or not This post has been edited by mADmAN: Apr 16 2009, 03:56 PM |
Apr 22 2009, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(Barricade @ Apr 22 2009, 08:35 AM) Guys, I'm looking to build a passive HTPC, including the PSU. Any fanless PSU that you can recommend? dont recommend a passive HTPC... some airflow is still needed to ensure it doesnt overheat...id recommend getting a PSU with at least a 120mm silent fan....this should help provide some airflow. if not i think zalman has some fanless PSU in ALL IT. QUOTE(butter finger @ Apr 22 2009, 09:00 AM) If 60% consumption on e8400 then I would assume it will be severe on the e5200 or e5300. Will it makes the cpu lags while watching HD / BD? i use BS Player for 1080p movies and only get 40% CPU usage on my E5200 WITHOUT setting any DXVA or whateverthe same movie with MPC-HC i get around 70% sometimes it comes down to the software u use as well...not just settings. ive also posted about it long ago in this thread HERE This post has been edited by mADmAN: Apr 22 2009, 09:18 AM |
Apr 30 2009, 04:14 PM
holy mama...that is a cool keyboard... abit pricey to me though (due to the fact that im flat broke......
the multimedia one looks good too actually... Added on April 30, 2009, 4:16 pmoh yeah....anybody knows of any good cheap wireless mouse that tracks well on bedsheets with decent range? i damn sien wanna use my keyboard's joystick already....need a proper mouse This post has been edited by mADmAN: Apr 30 2009, 04:16 PM |
May 3 2009, 04:19 PM
hey megatrox ...
u planning on ordering the keyboard?? if u are i might wanna tumpang This post has been edited by mADmAN: May 3 2009, 04:20 PM |
May 5 2009, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(hsiengloong @ May 4 2009, 10:54 PM) Hi sifu, QX6700 with only a HD4670??? i take it u dont game alot.... THanks for your reply. BTW i'm not sure if mine is powerful enough as i'm runing on a Core 2 extreme Q6700 with 3g ram and HD 4670 Video Card. And, what is the optimum setting to tweak using FFD show? I'm very bad at tweaking stuff. Thanks actually ur rig is more than enough....dont even need to do tweaking for 1080p movies. most of the "tweaking" involves offloading the processing onto the GC for 1080p movies to help reduce the CPU usage. no need to worry la....ur rig no need to do any tweaking oso and it should be able to play smoothly |
Jun 14 2009, 01:09 AM
telling us ur budget would be a good start to get recommendations man...
| Change to: | 0.0509sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:26 PM |