BAC Thread, The Nation's No.1 Law School :)

TSTheCagedBird
post Dec 16 2012, 11:34 PM, updated 10y ago

558 posts

This thread welcomes all current BAC students, prospective students, as well as alumni

(68-2, Jalan Tun Sambanthan, 50470 Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur Malaysia)

All courses available

PRE-UNIVERSITY
‘A’ Levels [KPT/JPS(SM5512)/11/09]
Cambridge International Examinations

UNDERGRADUATE
Law

LLB(Hons.) University of London (External) [KP(JPS)5195/IPTS/1318 A5517]
LLB(Hons.) Aberystwyth University
LLB(Hons.) Cardiff University
LLB(Hons.) University of Hertfordshire
LLB(Hons.) University of Hull
LLB(Hons.) University of Liverpool
LLB(Hons.) Northumbria University
LLB(Hons.) University of Reading
LLB(Hons.) University of Sheffield
LLB(Hons.) Business Law Aberystwyth University
LLB(Hons.) Commercial Law University of Hertfordshire

New Business Program
De Monfort University
• BA (Hons) Business and Management
• BA (Hons) Business Management and Human Resource Management
• BA (Hons) Business and Marketing
• BA (Hons) Business Management and Enterprise
• BA (Hons) Business Management Administration

Glyndwr University
• BA (Hons) Business Accounting
• BA (Hons) Business Management
• BA (Hons) Business Marketing
• BA (Hons) Festival and Events Management

KEELE University
• BA (Hons) Business Management and Marketing
• BA (Hons) Business Management and Finance
• BA (Hons) Business Management and Law

Northumbria University
• BA (Hons) Business with Economics
• BA (Hons) Business with Financial Management
• BA (Hons) Business with Human Resource Management
• BA (Hons) Business with International Management
• BA (Hons) Business with Logistics and Supply Chain Management
• BA (Hons) Business with Marketing Management
• BA (Hons) Mass Communication and Business

Southampton Solent University
• BA (Hons) Business and Finance

Prembrokshire College International

and more....
Via Uk Law Transfer Degree Programme [Kpt(Jps)600-03 /1318(9)-A6933]

PROFESSIONAL
ILEX Diploma for Legal Secretaries
Malaysian Corporate and Commercial Law Programme
Professional Development Programmes
Corporate Counsel Diploma

POSTGRADUATE & PROFESSIONAL
Certificate in Legal Practice (CLP) [KP(JPS)5195/IPTS/1318 SM5513]
Legal Profession Qualifying Board

ICSA-Fast Track Graduate Route

Diploma in International Arbitration

Masters in Professional Studies (MPS)
Aventis School of Management

LLM (Masters of Laws)
- LLM Advanced Legal Practice
- LLM International Commercial Law
- LLM International Trade Law
- LLM Medical Law
- LLM Commercial Law

This post has been edited by TheCagedBird: Dec 16 2012, 11:55 PM
TSTheCagedBird
post Dec 16 2012, 11:44 PM

558 posts

The City Campus

The Admissions and Administrative Centre (aka BAC1)

The Examination and Learning Centre (aka Koponas Building)

The Student Resource Centre (aka BAC2)

And pssss, the upcoming PJ campus thumbup.gif

Added on December 16, 2012, 11:57 pmAm a current student at BAC, anyone has question I'll try my best helping you out, Cheers

This post has been edited by TheCagedBird: Dec 16 2012, 11:57 PM
maguro
post Dec 17 2012, 01:08 AM

381 posts

When is the PJ campus launching?
TSTheCagedBird
post Dec 17 2012, 03:04 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(maguro @ Dec 17 2012, 01:08 AM)
When is the PJ campus launching?
Not sure when's its launching, rumor has it's next year rclxms.gif

The location
maguro
post Dec 17 2012, 11:23 PM

381 posts

Wow convenient location. Good!
TSTheCagedBird
post Dec 17 2012, 11:25 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(maguro @ Dec 17 2012, 11:23 PM)
Wow convenient location. Good!
I think they'll have shuttle bus too rclxms.gif
reconnaissance
post Dec 17 2012, 11:28 PM

Hero Prodigy
1,253 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Dec 17 2012, 11:25 PM)
I think they'll have shuttle bus too rclxms.gif
PMed
TSTheCagedBird
post Dec 17 2012, 11:40 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(reconnaissance @ Dec 17 2012, 11:28 PM)
PMed
Replied blush.gif
herjoanjett93
post Dec 20 2012, 03:59 PM

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Dec 16 2012, 11:34 PM)

Are these partner universities by twinning or credit transfer??

And what is the minimum entry requirement for Alevels??
TSTheCagedBird
post Dec 20 2012, 05:07 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(herjoanjett93 @ Dec 20 2012, 03:59 PM)
Are these partner universities by twinning or credit transfer??

And what is the minimum entry requirement for Alevels??
Those are UK Transfer programme, so literally BAC will transfer you to one of the partnered uni

Minimum requirement for A Levels is 5 credits for SPM

Added on December 24, 2012, 3:31 pmuser posted image

Join BAC A levels and finish it in 11 months rclxms.gif
Enquire within

This post has been edited by TheCagedBird: Dec 24 2012, 04:14 PM
Starlight.
post Dec 29 2012, 11:04 PM

I can't seem to find any information about the PJ campus online. So I have some questions. Will the PJ campus be a huge campus on a piece of land like Taylor's Lakeside or will BAC be renting space from a building?

This post has been edited by Starlight.: Dec 29 2012, 11:17 PM
TSTheCagedBird
post Dec 29 2012, 11:52 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(Yew Chuen @ Dec 29 2012, 05:55 PM)
Hey guys,

The Petaling Jaya campus will be launched in April according to the Programme Director.

And I'm an A-Levels 2013 January intake student smile.gif
A levels 2012 here smile.gif

I'm doing A2 now

Added on December 29, 2012, 11:56 pm
QUOTE(Starlight. @ Dec 29 2012, 11:04 PM)
I can't seem to find any information about the PJ campus online. So I have some questions. Will the PJ campus be a huge campus on a piece of land like Taylor's Lakeside or will BAC be renting space from a building?
BAC will be renting space from an office tower, not sure how big/ how many floor

the location

This post has been edited by TheCagedBird: Dec 29 2012, 11:56 PM
rexus
post Dec 30 2012, 01:19 PM

Bruh
614 posts

Is the office open today?
TSTheCagedBird
post Dec 30 2012, 11:30 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(rexus @ Dec 30 2012, 01:19 PM)
Is the office open today?
Yes, but its night right now, so its closed tongue.gif

Added on December 30, 2012, 11:31 pm
QUOTE(Yew Chuen @ Dec 30 2012, 08:46 PM)
Cool right rclxms.gif

I'm planning go for PJ campus for my LLB

This post has been edited by TheCagedBird: Dec 30 2012, 11:31 PM
HfzIsml
post Jan 23 2013, 02:02 PM

34 posts

Hi all! Planning to start my LLB dream in September! Just wanted to know whether or not the PJ campus will be open by then since I live in Damansara and commuting to and from Brickfields everyday is gonna be hard on my wallet (2.0 engine sucks fuel like a thirsty elephant).
TSTheCagedBird
post Jan 28 2013, 01:11 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(HfzIsml @ Jan 23 2013, 02:02 PM)
Hi all! Planning to start my LLB dream in September! Just wanted to know whether or not the PJ campus will be open by then since I live in Damansara and commuting to and from Brickfields everyday is gonna be hard on my wallet (2.0 engine sucks fuel like a thirsty elephant).
Hi there, sorry for the late reply, latest news from my lecturer the PJ campus will be fully in force in April & May. And there are many new programs to come rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
HfzIsml
post Jan 28 2013, 02:27 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Jan 28 2013, 01:11 AM)
Hi there, sorry for the late reply, latest news from my lecturer the PJ campus will be fully in force in April & May. And there are many new programs to come  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Awesome! rclxms.gif Really wasn't looking forward to driving all the way to Brickfields haha.
TSTheCagedBird
post Jan 28 2013, 07:37 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(HfzIsml @ Jan 28 2013, 02:27 PM)
Awesome!  rclxms.gif  Really wasn't looking forward to driving all the way to Brickfields haha.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Welcome to the BAC family mate
nickerlas
post Nov 29 2013, 04:51 PM

(:
931 posts

ehhh good. Was looking for a BAC thread. TS, go ask the thread starter on the pinned threads to add yours to his list, it's hard to find a BAC thread which is strange for such a popular school.
TSTheCagedBird
post Dec 2 2013, 01:45 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(nickerlas @ Nov 29 2013, 04:51 PM)
ehhh good. Was looking for a BAC thread. TS, go ask the thread starter on the pinned threads to add yours to his list, it's hard to find a BAC thread which is strange for such a popular school.
Hey, just found out ur reply, I guess law students are not big fan of forum, nor they have time for it
chiahau
post Dec 2 2013, 04:30 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

More like they are not as free as me and you to look here tongue.gif
TSTheCagedBird
post Dec 3 2013, 07:31 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Dec 2 2013, 04:30 PM)
More like they are not as free as me and you to look here tongue.gif
I've got tons of assignments to do ohmy.gif
but I never feel like do it
Jim1212
post Feb 18 2014, 11:20 PM

17 posts

Just wanna request of further information, If i were to do the UKT programme and I wish to transfer elsewhere after my year 1 or year 2, take for instance, University of Ottawa/University of Auckland/Murdoch University. Would it be possible? Im aware that the Malaysian Bar allows graduates from these universities to practice the CLP in Malaysia. Correct me if I'm wrong.

I asking this question because my parents wouldn't want me to go to the UK and prefer places in OZ and NZ as its much nearer to our country. And its much convenient for them to come over. Thanks for listening me up. Hope to be enlightened.
TSTheCagedBird
post Feb 19 2014, 02:15 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(Jim1212 @ Feb 18 2014, 11:20 PM)
Just wanna request of further information, If i were to do the UKT programme and I wish to transfer elsewhere after my year 1 or year 2, take for instance, University of Ottawa/University of Auckland/Murdoch University. Would it be possible? Im aware that the Malaysian Bar allows graduates from these universities to practice the CLP in Malaysia. Correct me if I'm wrong.

I asking this question because my parents wouldn't want me to go to the UK and prefer places in OZ and NZ as its much nearer to our country. And its much convenient for them to come over. Thanks for listening me up. Hope to be enlightened.
Highly unlikely, when you are doing your UKT programme, you are doing UK law, albeit Canada and Australia are Common Law countries, the curriculum is really different, it's only possible when you are transferring to a university with similar syllabus.
You can decide, 4 years LLB in Perth, or 2 years in Malaysia one year in the UK.
Ottawa is not on the list, Morduch and Auckland yes, but they do not practise the CLP, it's a Bar exam, which they sit for it.
Jim1212
post Feb 19 2014, 02:41 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Feb 19 2014, 02:15 AM)
Highly unlikely, when you are doing your UKT programme, you are doing UK law, albeit Canada and Australia are Common Law countries, the curriculum is really different, it's only possible when you are transferring to a university with similar syllabus.
You can decide, 4 years LLB in Perth, or 2 years in Malaysia one year in the UK.
Ottawa is not on the list, Morduch and Auckland yes, but they do not practise the CLP, it's a Bar exam, which they sit for it.
Wow, Thanks for the fruitful information. biggrin.gif I got what you mean. So even if by any chance there might be certain universities that might be able to offer similar syllabus, it'll would highly likely not be in the shortlisted Australians law degree recognised by the Malaysian Legal Qualifying Board right? Sorry to ask questions that might not be related to the thread but any idea of any college or universities offering for an Australian transfer degree programme, cause i don't come from a wealthy family. Transfers such as 2+2 are my only option as for now. smile.gif Hope to hear from you.
TSTheCagedBird
post Feb 19 2014, 03:10 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(Jim1212 @ Feb 19 2014, 02:41 AM)
Wow, Thanks for the fruitful information. biggrin.gif I got what you mean. So even if by any chance there might be certain universities that might be able to offer similar syllabus, it'll would highly likely not be in the shortlisted Australians law degree recognised by the Malaysian Legal Qualifying Board right? Sorry to ask questions that might not be related to the thread but any idea of any college or universities offering for an Australian transfer degree programme, cause i don't come from a wealthy family. Transfers such as 2+2  are my only option as for now. smile.gif Hope to hear from you.
Actually, I wanted to say, Nil, but you know the law student thingy blush.gif

Unfortunately there's no university in Malaysia is doing the said transfer programme (KDU used to provide 1+3 twinning with U of Tasmania, but eventually terminated the programme)
There is Australian degree transfer programme in Malaysia, BUT not for Law

If your parents can afford 2 years for you in Australia, they certainly can afford one year in UK, tuition fees in UK universities are around 9,000GBP, tuition in Aussies unis can reach to AUD30,000 per annum
Jim1212
post Feb 19 2014, 03:19 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Feb 19 2014, 03:10 AM)

Unfortunately there's no university in Malaysia is doing the said transfer programme (KDU used to provide 1+3 twinning with U of Tasmania, but eventually terminated the programme)

If your parents can afford 2 years for you in Australia, they certainly can afford one year in UK, tuition fees in UK universities are around 9,000GBP, tuition in Aussies unis can reach to AUD30,000 per annum
Wow, you are much more informative than google. And I'm serious about it.
That's one very depressing news for my parents. haha..
They are just afraid that I'm too far away from home. hmm.gif
Anyway thank you once again smile.gif
SUScute_miao
post Feb 19 2014, 08:35 AM

Look at MY STARS!!!!!!!!!
1,438 posts

BAC is growing, but i wonder...why they are still opposite KL sentral.

bhind BAC, all prostitute there...dangerous as so many pimps there.
TSTheCagedBird
post Feb 19 2014, 04:27 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(Jim1212 @ Feb 19 2014, 03:19 AM)
Wow, you are much more informative than google. And I'm serious about it.
That's one very depressing news for my parents. haha..
They are just afraid that I'm too far away from home.  hmm.gif
Anyway thank you once again smile.gif
Why would they be afraid they you are too far away from home blink.gif, Australia also far what.
TSTheCagedBird
post Feb 19 2014, 04:31 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Feb 19 2014, 08:35 AM)
BAC is growing, but i wonder...why they are still opposite KL sentral.

bhind BAC, all prostitute there...dangerous as so many pimps there.
Why'd you think that prostitutes are dangerous?
Drug addicts maybe, but prostitutes?

SUScute_miao
post Feb 19 2014, 04:45 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Feb 19 2014, 04:31 PM)
Why'd you think that prostitutes are dangerous?
Drug addicts maybe, but prostitutes?
those CUSTOMERS will look and glanced at you even you walk just passby. some itchy hands will touch you n say h..ishhhh
chiahau
post Feb 19 2014, 06:36 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Feb 19 2014, 04:45 PM)
those CUSTOMERS will look and glanced at you even you walk just passby. some itchy hands will touch you n say h..ishhhh
Prostitutes won't bug you except if you are a dude.

True story, walk there quite often already tongue.gif
SUScute_miao
post Feb 19 2014, 07:00 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Feb 19 2014, 06:36 PM)

Keyword; often

those chicks normally upstairs. Can identify easily cz got GUARDS downstairs.hahahaha
chiahau
post Feb 19 2014, 07:03 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Feb 19 2014, 07:00 PM)
Keyword; often

those chicks normally upstairs. Can identify easily cz got GUARDS downstairs.hahahaha
There's the only place to find a parking that does not cost too much for 2~3 hours ma....

If you dun go near or kepoh, they won't kacau students one.

Or at least, if you dun look like a potential customer.
Seb_back2back
post Feb 19 2014, 07:08 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Feb 19 2014, 03:10 AM)

The University of Reading's website says that the tuition fees for international students pursuing an undergraduate degree is 13,750 pounds. Only new students from the UK/EU pay 9000 pounds.

Just clarifying.

Source: http://www.reading.ac.uk/study/study-ug-fees.aspx
Jim1212
post Feb 19 2014, 07:55 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Feb 19 2014, 04:27 PM)
Why would they be afraid they you are too far away from home  blink.gif, Australia also far what.
Cause they want to like visit me often. Thats the thing. But its okay la.. guess i'll just have to settle with the fact that my parents financials aren't capable of providing me with a 4 years education in Australia. But still i felt fortunate to be able to do the UKT. Its nearer compare to london smile.gif Cause Perth is just 5 hours by flight and Melbourne 8 Hours. London is like 13 Hours away ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by Jim1212: Feb 19 2014, 07:56 PM
TSTheCagedBird
post Feb 19 2014, 07:59 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Feb 19 2014, 06:36 PM)

*Cough tongue.gif
chiahau
post Feb 19 2014, 08:00 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Feb 19 2014, 07:59 PM)
*Cough tongue.gif
Only place that allows me to park 2~3 hour without costing a fortune tongue.gif

If i can avoid that place, also will try to avoid la.
TSTheCagedBird
post Feb 19 2014, 08:03 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(Jim1212 @ Feb 19 2014, 07:55 PM)
Cause they want to like visit me often. Thats the thing. But its okay la.. guess i'll just have to settle with the fact that my parents financials aren't capable of providing me with a 4 years education in Australia. But still i felt fortunate to be able to do the UKT. Its nearer compare to london  smile.gif  Cause Perth is just 5 hours by flight and Melbourne 8 Hours. London is like 13 Hours away  ohmy.gif
Just come to BAC already laugh.gif
TSTheCagedBird
post Feb 19 2014, 08:04 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Feb 19 2014, 08:00 PM)
Only place that allows me to park 2~3 hour without costing a fortune tongue.gif

If i can avoid that place, also will try to avoid la.
Park where? the road side?
chiahau
post Feb 19 2014, 08:15 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Feb 19 2014, 08:04 PM)
Park where? the road side?
Yeah.

Road side there can park ma laugh.gif
TSTheCagedBird
post Feb 19 2014, 08:18 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Feb 19 2014, 08:15 PM)
Yeah.

Road side there can park ma laugh.gif
Can ah? Won't get saman one?
chiahau
post Feb 19 2014, 08:19 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Feb 19 2014, 08:18 PM)
Can ah? Won't get saman one?
Got the coupon thingy one.

Dun park where's yellow line lo....

Berakfields damn hard to find parking one nowadays.... If got lubang and not yellow line, fast fast park d....
SUScute_miao
post Feb 19 2014, 08:30 PM

1,438 posts

Run out of topic dy.haaha
Starlight.
post Feb 24 2014, 05:12 PM

Hey BACians! Just a few questions that I need some clarification on:-

1. If I were to register to BAC UKT 2+1 or 1+2, and let's say I were to achieve above average grades (enough to get a scholarship), would I be able to apply and/or get a scholarship to top universities not listed as partners? Top law schools as in London School of Economics (LSE), King's College (KCL), University College London (UCL), Cambridge and the likes.

2. Would there be a difference between BAC's April intake and BAC's September intake? I'm currently undecided which intake to go to this year.

3. Any comments or reviews about the newly established PJ Campus? smile.gif

That's all for now. Thanks in advance guys! biggrin.gif
TSTheCagedBird
post Feb 25 2014, 12:37 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(Starlight. @ Feb 24 2014, 05:12 PM)
Hey BACians! Just a few questions that I need some clarification on:-

1. If I were to register to BAC UKT 2+1 or 1+2, and let's say I were to achieve above average grades (enough to get a scholarship), would I be able to apply and/or get a scholarship to top universities not listed as partners? Top law schools as in London School of Economics (LSE), King's College (KCL), University College London (UCL), Cambridge and the likes.

2. Would there be a difference between BAC's April intake and BAC's September intake? I'm currently undecided which intake to go to this year.

3. Any comments or reviews about the newly established PJ Campus? smile.gif

That's all for now. Thanks in advance guys! biggrin.gif
1. I'm not really familiar with UKT application system, but AFAIK, the application to transfer is done by the student to the university, you have to send the results and transcript to the university for them to consider. You can try sending it to them, even if you've done well in you UKT year and A levels, the question is, will there any space available?
The only way I know can transfer to KCL, is that get really good result, and being offered the Malaysian Law Scholarship, ATC got one student getting that almost every year.

2. If you want to finish it faster, January is the best, because you'll be sitting your exams August, and transfer to UK this September. April and September to me don't make too much difference since they're all going to the UK next year.

3. The PJ campus is very decent, unlike KL campus scattering all around Brickfields, PJ campus has everything in the same building. The only drawback is that closest place to makan may be Jaya33.
Starlight.
post Feb 25 2014, 03:31 PM

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Feb 25 2014, 01:37 PM)
1. I'm not really familiar with UKT application system, but AFAIK, the application to transfer is done by the student to the university, you have to send the results and transcript to the university for them to consider. You can try sending it to them, even if you've done well in you UKT year and A levels, the question is, will there any space available?
The only way I know can transfer to KCL, is that get really good result, and being offered the Malaysian Law Scholarship, ATC got one student getting that almost every year.

2. If you want to finish it faster, January is the best, because you'll be sitting your exams August, and transfer to UK this September. April and September to me don't make too much difference since they're all going to the UK next year.

3. The PJ campus is very decent, unlike KL campus scattering all around Brickfields, PJ campus has everything in the same building. The only drawback is that closest place to makan may be Jaya33.
1. Excuse me if I'm not too clear with what you're trying to say, but "The only way I know can transfer to KCL, is that get really good result, and being offered the Malaysian Law Scholarship, ATC got one student getting that almost every year." So, ATC has one student that is being offered the Malaysian Law Scholarship almost every year? And that particular student has yet to accept the offer? I'm not trying to be a smart-aleck, just trying to understand that sentence better! biggrin.gif Or were you trying to mean that there's at least one student getting offered the Malaysian Law Scholarship almost every year from ATC?Which would make more sense.. hmm.gif

2. Thank you for your advice! But I guess I can't go for January intake anymore since it's already February now. sad.gif

3. I've been to the PJ campus last year before it was officially launched. It isn't particularly big nor outstanding compared to my college that had acres of land but it's safe to say that I'm pretty darn excited to start my life as a Law student! Has the Jaya Mall or something opened yet? smile.gif

By the way, seeing that you're an experienced student and my future senior, do you have any advice for me? smile.gif I would truly appreciate it a lot! Study life & skills, co-curricular activities, social life and the like. As you can see from my numerous questions, I'm anxious yet excited to start my LL.B! I hope you don't mind. smile.gif
TSTheCagedBird
post Feb 25 2014, 05:27 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(Starlight. @ Feb 25 2014, 03:31 PM)
1. Excuse me if I'm not too clear with what you're trying to say, but "The only way I know can transfer to KCL, is that get really good result, and being offered the Malaysian Law Scholarship, ATC got one student getting that almost every year." So, ATC has one student that is being offered the Malaysian Law Scholarship almost every year? And that particular student has yet to accept the offer? I'm not trying to be a smart-aleck, just trying to understand that sentence better! biggrin.gif Or were you trying to mean that there's at least one student getting offered the Malaysian Law Scholarship almost every year from ATC?Which would make more sense..  hmm.gif

2. Thank you for your advice! But I guess I can't go for January intake anymore since it's already February now. sad.gif

3. I've been to the PJ campus last year before it was officially launched. It isn't particularly big nor outstanding compared to my college that had acres of land but it's safe to say that I'm pretty darn excited to start my life as a Law student! Has the Jaya Mall or something opened yet? smile.gif

By the way, seeing that you're an experienced student and my future senior, do you have any advice for me? smile.gif I would truly appreciate it a lot! Study life & skills, co-curricular activities, social life and the like. As you can see from my numerous questions, I'm anxious yet excited to start my LL.B! I hope you don't mind. smile.gif
LOL, pardon my English tongue.gif, I don't even know why I would write that.

2. You CAN still join Febuary, though there's a lot to catch up, but you can, one of my friend just joined too.

3. Jaya33 is like kind of far away, so having a car is better.

Don't be too excited just yet whistling.gif

Sadly, BAC is very money minded, they don't put too much emphasis on co-curriculum, and most clubs are at idle. icon_idea.gif Just attend all classes, brows.gif cuz I've been missing like hell.
smile56
post Apr 14 2014, 02:40 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Feb 25 2014, 05:27 PM)
LOL, pardon my English tongue.gif, I don't even know why I would write that.

2. You CAN still join Febuary, though there's a lot to catch up, but you can, one of my friend just joined too.

3. Jaya33 is like kind of far away, so having a car is better.

Don't be too excited just yet whistling.gif 

Sadly, BAC is very money minded, they don't put too much emphasis on co-curriculum, and most clubs are at idle.  icon_idea.gif Just attend all classes, brows.gif  cuz I've been missing like hell.
H, may I ask before you are A-Level student?
TSTheCagedBird
post Apr 14 2014, 02:47 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(smile56 @ Apr 14 2014, 02:40 PM)
H, may I ask before you are A-Level student?
I was a A levels student
smile56
post Apr 14 2014, 02:56 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Apr 14 2014, 02:47 PM)
I was a A levels student
U now studying Law Degree?
TSTheCagedBird
post Apr 14 2014, 03:09 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(smile56 @ Apr 14 2014, 02:56 PM)
U now studying Law Degree?
UoL LLB first year at BAC
chiahau
post Apr 14 2014, 05:39 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Apr 14 2014, 03:09 PM)
UoL LLB first year at BAC
You must treat me coffee on behalf of BAC for promoting them here tongue.gif

TSTheCagedBird
post Apr 14 2014, 07:38 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 14 2014, 05:39 PM)
You must treat me coffee on behalf of BAC for promoting them here tongue.gif
I thought you're doing Inter too? eh?
Jom let's go out, I need help for my Inter icon_question.gif
chiahau
post Apr 14 2014, 07:47 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Apr 14 2014, 07:38 PM)
I thought you're doing Inter too? eh?
Jom let's go out, I need help for my Inter  icon_question.gif
No la. Me just settle my 1st dickree. Now only officially BAC student laugh.gif

1st year student saje sini tongue.gif
TSTheCagedBird
post Apr 14 2014, 08:04 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 14 2014, 07:47 PM)
No la. Me just settle my 1st dickree. Now only officially BAC student  laugh.gif

1st year student saje sini  tongue.gif
Meaning you'll only be sitting your exam next year May?
chiahau
post Apr 14 2014, 08:10 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Apr 14 2014, 08:04 PM)
Meaning you'll only be sitting your exam next year May?
Yea.

Was a little busy clearing up my professional papers and degree.

Took longer than I expect laugh.gif
TSTheCagedBird
post May 2 2014, 01:11 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 14 2014, 08:10 PM)
Yea.

Was a little busy clearing up my professional papers and degree.

Took longer than I expect laugh.gif
BPP ACCA at BAC rclxms.gif
http://bac.edu.my/index.php/why-bac/bac-me...actice-workshop
chiahau
post May 2 2014, 11:53 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ May 2 2014, 01:11 AM)
Seminar saje, pigi buat penat laugh.gif
.BEAST
post May 18 2014, 12:18 AM

Hi guys, is the foundation in arts available at BAC PJ Campus?
TSTheCagedBird
post May 19 2014, 07:40 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(.BEAST @ May 18 2014, 12:18 AM)
Hi guys, is the foundation in arts available at BAC PJ Campus?
I think they've just started first batch of Foundation in Art in PJ, should ask BAC for clarification.
chiahau
post May 19 2014, 11:25 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ May 19 2014, 07:40 AM)
I think they've just started first batch of Foundation in Art in PJ, should ask BAC for clarification.
I think it should be renamed into ==> Foundation of Short skirts and Skimpy Dresses whistling.gif
wanna be hi-tech
post May 24 2014, 04:38 PM

Any self respecting GEEK, certainly owns more than a single rig
1,598 posts

Guys, any UOL (LLB) year 2 students here ?
TSTheCagedBird
post May 24 2014, 10:15 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ May 24 2014, 04:38 PM)
Guys, any UOL (LLB) year 2 students here ?
Me year 2 to-be
TSTheCagedBird
post May 24 2014, 10:19 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ May 19 2014, 11:25 AM)
I think it should be renamed into ==> Foundation of Short skirts and Skimpy Dresses  whistling.gif
How do you differentiate Foundation and A levels students o.O
they're like the same, class size?
chiahau
post May 24 2014, 10:25 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ May 24 2014, 10:19 PM)
How do you differentiate Foundation and A levels students o.O
they're like the same, class size?
I think you can't.

Just ask them what they are studying.
TSTheCagedBird
post May 24 2014, 11:05 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ May 24 2014, 10:25 PM)
I think you can't.

Just ask them what they are studying.
I'm a freeman until September rclxm9.gif
wanna be hi-tech
post May 24 2014, 11:50 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ May 24 2014, 11:05 PM)
I'm a freeman until September  rclxm9.gif
Hey... Thx for ur reply...

I am a free soul until sept too...... If all goes well, I should b in year 2 too. Do you any guys in year 2? I just want to have a peek at year 2... Maybe just get a copy of the subject guide...

Happy holidays !
chiahau
post May 25 2014, 01:04 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ May 24 2014, 11:05 PM)
I'm a freeman until September  rclxm9.gif
I'm a freeman till September too? laugh.gif
Gamer Kay
post May 25 2014, 11:18 AM

24 posts

Guys need some help here is there an information counter in pj branch or my only option is to go down to Brickfield branch?
chiahau
post May 25 2014, 03:24 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Gamer Kay @ May 25 2014, 11:18 AM)
Guys need some help here is there an information counter in pj branch or my only option is to go down to Brickfield branch?
What do you want to ask 1st?

If nothing urgent, use the phone.

If something that you need to know in person, head to KL Sentral.
Gamer Kay
post May 26 2014, 12:17 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ May 25 2014, 03:24 PM)
What do you want to ask 1st?

If nothing urgent, use the phone.

If something that you need to know in person, head to KL Sentral.
Thanks Ill head to kl sentral, need to know the fee and the next intake
chiahau
post May 26 2014, 12:22 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Gamer Kay @ May 26 2014, 12:17 AM)
Thanks Ill head to kl sentral, need to know the fee and the next intake
22k for UKT per annum, roughly 15k for UOL.

Next intake is September 2014
Gamer Kay
post May 26 2014, 01:15 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ May 26 2014, 12:22 AM)

Not qualify for both but I won't be choosing UKT thou oversea fees is killer for me. Need information on a level or foundation and ptptn load / epf withdraw

Thanks a lot man
chiahau
post May 26 2014, 02:00 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Gamer Kay @ May 26 2014, 01:15 AM)
Not qualify for both but I won't be choosing UKT thou oversea fees is killer for me. Need information on a level or foundation and ptptn load / epf withdraw

Thanks a lot man
A-level is around 15~18k depending on subject combo.

And i doubt there's any PTPTN loan for foundations program and A-levels.
Gamer Kay
post May 26 2014, 02:51 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ May 26 2014, 02:00 AM)
A-level is around 15~18k depending on subject combo.

And i doubt there's any PTPTN loan for foundations program and A-levels.
Alright thanks for the heads up. If I ended up in bac, will buy u a drink wink.gif
TSTheCagedBird
post May 26 2014, 01:53 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ May 24 2014, 11:50 PM)
Hey... Thx for ur reply...

I am a free soul until sept too...... If all goes well, I should b in year 2 too. Do you any guys in year 2? I just want to have a peek at year 2... Maybe just get a copy of the subject guide...

Happy holidays !
You're from another college?
You should take some rest until the class commence, internship maybe?
TSTheCagedBird
post May 26 2014, 01:54 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ May 25 2014, 01:04 AM)
I'm a freeman till September too?  laugh.gif
My friend told me the class resume at 5th July, so UoL batches not joining back the class anymore?
wanna be hi-tech
post May 26 2014, 05:32 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ May 26 2014, 01:53 PM)
You're from another college?
You should take some rest until the class commence, internship maybe?
Nah.... bAc. Part time. That is why I am trying to race with time..... Do u know any year 2 guys ?
BlueNet
post Jul 14 2014, 12:30 AM

Umm hello, I have few questions :

1) How to apply in BAC ?

2) How much is the fees ? (thinking to take LLB)

3) Do I need to pay anything when applying ? eg : like HELP university you have to pay like RM 250 first

TSTheCagedBird
post Jul 14 2014, 12:58 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(BlueNet @ Jul 14 2014, 12:30 AM)
Umm hello, I have few questions :

1) How to apply in BAC ?

2) How much is the fees ? (thinking to take LLB)

3) Do I need to pay anything when applying ? eg : like HELP university you have to pay like RM 250 first

1) Fill up the form, bring your SPM and/or STPM result, pay the fees and viola.

2) Refer BAC website.

3) Pay the tuition fee during registration, you can choose lump sum or installment, this too can be found on BAC website.
lexiqa
post Jul 18 2014, 05:58 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ May 26 2014, 12:22 AM)

RM15k|year?

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ May 26 2014, 05:32 PM)
Nah.... bAc. Part time. That is why I am trying to race with time..... Do u know any year 2 guys ?
got part time UOL LLB at BAC?

how many subjects per semester, per year?
chiahau
post Jul 18 2014, 07:14 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jul 18 2014, 05:58 PM)
RM15k|year?

Yea, per year.

And part time = full time, just with more flexible time table.

Same subjects, same thing with full time students.
wanna be hi-tech
post Jul 18 2014, 07:16 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jul 18 2014, 05:58 PM)
RM15k|year?

Of course it does. One of the largest in PT I guess . Mine started with 80.
U decide, either 3 or 4 subjects per sem.
lexiqa
post Jul 19 2014, 12:47 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Jul 18 2014, 07:14 PM)
Yea, per year.

And part time = full time, just with more flexible time table.

Same subjects, same thing with full time students.
noted. thanks. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Jul 18 2014, 07:16 PM)
Of course it does. One of the largest in PT I guess . Mine started with 80.
U decide, either 3 or 4 subjects per sem.
hmm.. seems like a good option for working bees.
got 80 subjects in BAC to choose from meh? sweat.gif
wanna be hi-tech
post Jul 19 2014, 12:21 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jul 19 2014, 12:47 AM)
Dude.....80 subjects ? Dats the number of students..... U dnt have 80 subjects for law ,,,,
lexiqa
post Jul 19 2014, 07:17 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Jul 19 2014, 12:21 PM)
Dude.....80 subjects ? Dats the number of students..... U dnt have 80 subjects for law ,,,,
your reply so ambiguous le.
wanna be hi-tech
post Jul 19 2014, 08:19 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jul 19 2014, 07:17 PM)
your reply so ambiguous le.
ha ha,,,, you call that ambiguous !! when u start law, then u will see the real ambiguity ... smile.gif
lexiqa
post Jul 19 2014, 09:03 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Jul 19 2014, 08:19 PM)
ha ha,,,, you call that ambiguous !!  when u start law, then u will see the real ambiguity ... smile.gif
i don't think your answer can be equated to how law is ambiguous la.
wow1wow2
post Jul 20 2014, 02:02 AM

283 posts

Studying law at Malaysia quite sad huh, not much choice to choose from, have to go bac even though their facilities so teruk. hmm.gif
TSTheCagedBird
post Jul 20 2014, 11:43 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jul 19 2014, 12:47 AM)
I think he meant 80 students
TSTheCagedBird
post Jul 20 2014, 11:49 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(wow1wow2 @ Jul 20 2014, 02:02 AM)
Studying law at Malaysia quite sad huh, not much choice to choose from, have to go bac even though their facilities so teruk. hmm.gif
There are so many options out there, facilities wise, still improving.
lexiqa
post Jul 21 2014, 12:21 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Jul 20 2014, 11:43 PM)
he already answered earlier la.
TSTheCagedBird
post Jul 21 2014, 01:16 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jul 21 2014, 12:21 AM)
he already answered earlier la.
Oh, I just saw that, cuz the way he writes doh.gif
wanna be hi-tech
post Jul 21 2014, 02:08 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jul 19 2014, 09:03 PM)
i don't think your answer can be equated to how law is ambiguous la.
.....have u done law before this.. Or do you work in a law firm, or any basis for your statement ? If can't figure out a simple post in a forum ...how u goin to figure out the Judgments of the law lords ?

Simple.... I mentioned that I started with 80, further mentioned that 3 or 4 subjects per sem.

Does the perception of 80 subjects make any common sense at all..... Certainly any adult would realise that there can't be 80 subjects to choose from any professional course... Let me guess....u just finished SPM !
wanna be hi-tech
post Jul 21 2014, 02:09 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Jul 20 2014, 11:43 PM)
Now that is common sense !
KuzumiTaiga
post Aug 5 2014, 10:05 PM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,313 posts

um.. hi guys, UOL's August intake and Sept intake, do the students graduate at the same time assuming that they finish their courses within the 3 years' time?
digitalz
post Aug 5 2014, 10:15 PM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 5 2014, 10:05 PM)
um.. hi guys, UOL's August intake and Sept intake, do the students graduate at the same time assuming that they finish their courses within the 3 years' time?
No difference actually. All exams will be in May. Also, if you are comparing BAC and ATC, BAC starts later compared to ATC. Some colleges start Sept, some Aug. smile.gif
KuzumiTaiga
post Aug 5 2014, 10:18 PM

3,313 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Aug 5 2014, 10:15 PM)
No difference actually. All exams will be in May. Also, if you are comparing BAC and ATC, BAC starts later compared to ATC. Some colleges start Sept, some Aug. smile.gif
Hey, thanks!

now then..

is it worth saving the 100k instead of going for UKT? and can a UOL external graduate be eligible for BPTC?
digitalz
post Aug 5 2014, 10:24 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 5 2014, 10:18 PM)
Hey, thanks!

now then..

is it worth saving the 100k instead of going for UKT? and can a UOL external graduate be eligible for BPTC?
Actually you can. But you'd need to take EU law. Still, it'd be better if you can double confirm with BAC themselves.

Also, to be honest, UOL isn't as easy as one expects. It's one of the hardest law programs. That's why BAC offers UKT to students from UOL.

This post has been edited by digitalz: Aug 5 2014, 10:25 PM
KuzumiTaiga
post Aug 5 2014, 10:29 PM

3,313 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Aug 5 2014, 10:24 PM)
Actually you can. But you'd need to take EU law. Still, it'd be better if you can double confirm with BAC themselves.

Also, to be honest, UOL isn't as easy as one expects. It's one of the hardest law programs. That's why BAC offers UKT to students from UOL.
could you please explain more on that? I thought UOL must be completed totally within UOL's external programme by itself?
digitalz
post Aug 5 2014, 10:32 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 5 2014, 10:29 PM)
could you please explain more on that? I thought UOL must be completed totally within UOL's external programme by itself?
What I mean is, some people find UOL too tough to handle, so they transferred to UKT program. Due to UOL's strict standards, they can be transferred to the UKT program but not the other way round.
KuzumiTaiga
post Aug 5 2014, 10:41 PM

3,313 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Aug 5 2014, 10:32 PM)
What I mean is, some people find UOL too tough to handle, so they transferred to UKT program. Due to UOL's strict standards, they can be transferred to the UKT program but not the other way round.
so we could do two years of UOL and opt for UKT on third?
digitalz
post Aug 5 2014, 10:44 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 5 2014, 10:41 PM)
so we could do two years of UOL and opt for UKT on third?
That. I've never seen. there might be but then those I saw was that they failed year 2 miserably and they moved on to UKT.
marczeman2
post Aug 29 2014, 08:28 PM

177 posts

Is it possible to do UKT and get PTPTN to pay for the 2 local years then fund the third year yourself? Or PTPTN won't approve?
TSTheCagedBird
post Aug 30 2014, 02:44 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(marczeman2 @ Aug 29 2014, 08:28 PM)
Is it possible to do UKT and get PTPTN to pay for the 2 local years then fund the third year yourself? Or PTPTN won't approve?
Yes, you may apply PTPTN for UKT first and second year, however the amount is maximum 16K a year, whist UKT fees are about 20+k
TSTheCagedBird
post Aug 30 2014, 02:54 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 5 2014, 10:18 PM)
Hey, thanks!

now then..

1. It's worthy, if you value experience more.

2. In order to become eligible for BPTC, students are required to take EU law and one more module(I forgot the name but it involves thesis and viva).
KuzumiTaiga
post Aug 30 2014, 11:55 AM

3,313 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Aug 30 2014, 02:54 AM)
1. It's worthy, if you value experience more.

2. In order to become eligible for BPTC,  students are required to take EU law and one more module(I forgot the name but it involves thesis and viva).
thanks! That other module being also an elective subject?
digitalz
post Aug 30 2014, 12:46 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 30 2014, 11:55 AM)
As per the latest details on the bsb website.

EU law is a must.
KuzumiTaiga
post Aug 30 2014, 01:02 PM

3,313 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Aug 30 2014, 12:46 PM)

EU law is a must.
If I were to say take the required modules during my LLB, and decide to take CLP to practice in Malaysia for the first 10 years. Will I still be eligible to go for the BPTC in UK after that?
digitalz
post Aug 30 2014, 01:05 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 30 2014, 01:02 PM)
If I were to say take the required modules during my LLB, and decide to take CLP to practice in Malaysia for the first 10 years. Will I still be eligible to go for the BPTC in UK after that?
Laws change. Therefore, I can't answer you on that until at least 8 years later to be honest with you. Also, obtaining BPTC doesn't mean that you can practice there. Without a working permit or a PR, you cannot do it there too. BPTC is just like a shortcut just like the Australian Bar where some students skip CLP for the sake of it. Some international companies/banks don't really care if you are called or not, but it would be easier for you if you wanna practice later after getting BPTC/CLP/Australian Bar.
KuzumiTaiga
post Aug 30 2014, 03:00 PM

3,313 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Aug 30 2014, 01:05 PM)
Laws change. Therefore, I can't answer you on that until at least 8 years later to be honest with you. Also, obtaining BPTC doesn't mean that you can practice there. Without a working permit or a PR, you cannot do it there too. BPTC is just like a shortcut just like the Australian Bar where some students skip CLP for the sake of it. Some international companies/banks don't really care if you are called or not, but it would be easier for you if you wanna practice later after getting BPTC/CLP/Australian Bar.
So in a way, students who go for UKT or BPTC are merely trying to avoid CLP in order to practice law in Malaysia? blink.gif
marczeman2
post Aug 30 2014, 04:00 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Aug 30 2014, 02:44 AM)
Yes, you may apply PTPTN for UKT first and second year, however the amount is maximum 16K a year, whist UKT fees are about 20+k
THanks bro. How abobut for the third year in UK, including living expenses how much do you think one would need?
digitalz
post Aug 30 2014, 09:27 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 30 2014, 03:00 PM)
So in a way, students who go for UKT or BPTC are merely trying to avoid CLP in order to practice law in Malaysia?  blink.gif
Not really. UKT doesn't mean that you can avoid taking CLP unless you take up BPTC. I have friends that came back to take CLP after a year or two there.
KuzumiTaiga
post Aug 30 2014, 09:29 PM

3,313 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Aug 30 2014, 09:27 PM)
Not really. UKT doesn't mean that you can avoid taking CLP unless you take up BPTC. I have friends that came back to take CLP after a year or two there.
any advice for someone who is starting classes next week into UOL? smile.gif
digitalz
post Aug 30 2014, 09:34 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 30 2014, 09:29 PM)
any advice for someone who is starting classes next week into UOL?  smile.gif
1st year? Enjoy it. Pass it all at least with higher marks. Year 2 and Year 3 will be seriously tougher. But then, if you can afford it, UKT is good for those that can enjoy it.
digitalz
post Aug 30 2014, 09:36 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(marczeman2 @ Aug 30 2014, 04:00 PM)
THanks bro. How abobut for the third year in UK, including living expenses how much do you think one would need?
Expenses wise - Depending on where you go but including fees and all it'll be safe to say approx 120k. It might be lower unless fees increase/exchange rates increase.
KuzumiTaiga
post Aug 30 2014, 10:05 PM

3,313 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Aug 30 2014, 09:34 PM)
1st year? Enjoy it. Pass it all at least with higher marks. Year 2 and Year 3 will be seriously tougher. But then, if you can afford it, UKT is good for those that can enjoy it.
Well, as it turns out my family can pay for it, but I feel that we just can't afford it, nor would I be comfortable spending my parents' retirement money when either of the two options get me from point A to point B. I find the reason of "just going there for the experience" or "the exams are easier (in the case of studying the first x years here in BAC or ATC) not extremely completely justifiable to spend off 90~120k in a matter of 11 to 12 months. I apologize if I am offending any fellow UKT students here, I'm probably just jealous and lightly upset that many of my friends are flying off to UK (be it for law, business, other studies) this coming September. sweat.gif

Anyway, I am being led to believe by other UOL course takers (although they're not taking LL.B, they're from other fields) that all papers, not caring if they're for intermediate, part 1 or part 2 of the whole degree course have almost the same difficulty level, is this not true?
BravoZeroTwo
post Aug 30 2014, 10:32 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 30 2014, 10:29 PM)
Thought u are in UTAR ?
KuzumiTaiga
post Aug 30 2014, 10:36 PM

3,313 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Aug 30 2014, 10:32 PM)
Thought u are in UTAR ?
shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
I.. don't think I'm in UTAR?
TSTheCagedBird
post Aug 31 2014, 03:53 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 30 2014, 10:36 PM)
shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
I.. don't think I'm in UTAR?
You did A levels at UCSI right?
TSTheCagedBird
post Aug 31 2014, 03:56 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 30 2014, 11:55 AM)
QUOTE(digiatalz @ Aug 30 2014, 12:46 PM)

EU law is a must.
The "module" is an elective subject, there are two said modules, so it must be a combination of EU Law and one of the said module. (I think it's called professional law skill pathway)

TSTheCagedBird
post Aug 31 2014, 04:07 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 30 2014, 09:29 PM)
QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 30 2014, 10:05 PM)
Well, as it turns out my family can pay for it, but I feel that we just can't afford it, nor would I be comfortable spending my parents' retirement money when either of the two options get me from point A to point B. I find the reason of "just going there for the experience" or "the exams are easier (in the case of studying the first x years here in BAC or ATC) not extremely completely justifiable to spend off 90~120k in a matter of 11 to 12 months. I apologize if I am offending any fellow UKT students here, I'm probably just jealous and lightly upset that many of my friends are flying off to UK (be it for law, business, other studies) this coming September.  sweat.gif 

Anyway, I am being led to believe by other UOL course takers (although they're not taking LL.B, they're from other fields) that all papers, not caring if they're for intermediate, part 1 or part 2 of the whole degree course have almost the same difficulty level, is this not true?
Intermediate is not as hard, I passed Common law and Contract without going to any lecture, Part 1 and Part 2 will get more hectic and bulky, like really hectic.

There are about 200 students each intake, so come early, and get a seat in front.
digitalz
post Aug 31 2014, 12:23 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 30 2014, 10:05 PM)
Well, as it turns out my family can pay for it, but I feel that we just can't afford it, nor would I be comfortable spending my parents' retirement money when either of the two options get me from point A to point B. I find the reason of "just going there for the experience" or "the exams are easier (in the case of studying the first x years here in BAC or ATC) not extremely completely justifiable to spend off 90~120k in a matter of 11 to 12 months. I apologize if I am offending any fellow UKT students here, I'm probably just jealous and lightly upset that many of my friends are flying off to UK (be it for law, business, other studies) this coming September.  sweat.gif 

It is true. But then, some in the legal field told me that it's from the intermediate levels that you can begin to gauge your levels. If for the 1st year, you barely scrap through it, it will be harder and harder if one don't "up" their own levels.

Although some people might tell you to take it easy for the 1st year since you'd only need a pass but then, in order to see where you stand in UOL's exams, don't aim for only a pass, aim higher.
KuzumiTaiga
post Aug 31 2014, 02:05 PM

3,313 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Aug 31 2014, 04:07 AM)
Intermediate is not as hard, I passed Common law and Contract without going to any lecture, Part 1 and Part 2 will get more hectic and bulky, like really hectic.

There are about 200 students each intake, so come early, and get a seat in front.
Duly noted on the coming earlier thingy, thanks! Won't take year 1 easily!

QUOTE(digitalz @ Aug 31 2014, 12:23 PM)
It is true. But then, some in the legal field told me that it's from the intermediate levels that you can begin to gauge your levels. If for the 1st year, you barely scrap through it, it will be harder and harder if one don't "up" their own levels.

Although some people might tell you to take it easy for the 1st year since you'd only need a pass but then, in order to see where you stand in UOL's exams, don't aim for only a pass, aim higher.
so wait a minute, do the marks of our first year count into the aggregate of our total marks which in the end defines whether we'd get 1.1, 2.1, 2.2 etc?
digitalz
post Aug 31 2014, 02:27 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 31 2014, 02:05 PM)
so wait a minute, do the marks of our first year count into the aggregate of our total marks which in the end defines whether we'd get 1.1, 2.1, 2.2 etc?
No. Like what you know, it is not included. It's just that Year 1 is the part where you can see where you stand or how your "hard work" worked out for you through your results.

1st year "scrapped" through with all passes but Part 1 and Part 2 will be totally different compared to the Intermediate. Some students took a "break" for 1 year after Part 1. I know a few adults that did that too. They took Part 1 and decided to take a break for Part 2 due to the hectic & bulkier workload.
jian94
post Jun 8 2015, 08:33 AM

152 posts

hi, is there anyone here taking northumbria open learning?
BravoZeroTwo
post Jun 8 2015, 11:20 AM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(jian94 @ Jun 8 2015, 09:33 AM)
may be you should check with BAC what is it about ?
TSTheCagedBird
post Jun 10 2015, 09:07 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(jian94 @ Jun 8 2015, 08:33 AM)
Don't know any of my friends taking that program, what do you want to know what the program?
aysk
post Jun 28 2015, 11:45 PM

Foundation in Arts / A levels better?
TSTheCagedBird
post Jun 29 2015, 12:00 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(aysk @ Jun 28 2015, 11:45 PM)
Foundation in Arts / A levels better?
A levels
aysk
post Jun 29 2015, 10:06 PM

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Jun 29 2015, 12:00 AM)
A levels
But A levels is 1 1/2 years, and foundation is only 1 year. i can save 1/2 a year..
jitd
post Jul 2 2015, 09:03 AM

147 posts

How does BAC differ from ATC?
aysk
post Jul 11 2015, 12:10 AM

Does it go like that?

Jan 2016 - Dec 2016 (foundation / a levels)
Jan 2017 - Sept 2017 (llb year 1)
Sept 2017 - June 2018 (llb year 2)
Sept 2018 - June 2019 (llb year 3)

Im so confused. Please help me out thanks biggrin.gif
Deblois
post Jul 24 2015, 01:08 PM

20 posts

im soon applying for the uol course in september 2015 , i was wondering if i would to change my course to UKT in my 2nd year ( after UOL 1st year exam ) , how good would my result need to be? and must i apply for credit transfer later or right now?
blueyepanda
post Jan 8 2016, 01:53 AM

31 posts

Hi there
I am contemplating to sign up for UOL external program, on a part time basis. Was told there are four intakes in a year but all students will only sit for exam mid 2017. I asked the counselor if there are any term breaks in between and the answer is no. Is there a semester break or just public holidays observed? And I was also told this is a tough program to do on a part time basis, 4 subjects. Could someone kindly share experience?

Thank you

This post has been edited by blueyepanda: Jan 8 2016, 01:54 AM
Alexis Sanchez
post Jan 8 2016, 07:25 AM

590 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Dec 16 2012, 11:34 PM)
This thread welcomes all current BAC students, prospective students, as well as alumni

(68-2,  Jalan Tun Sambanthan, 50470 Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur Malaysia)

All courses available

PRE-UNIVERSITY
‘A’ Levels [KPT/JPS(SM5512)/11/09]
Cambridge International Examinations

UNDERGRADUATE
Law

New Business Program
De Monfort University
• BA (Hons) Business Management and Enterprise
• BA (Hons) Business Management Administration

Glyndwr University
• BA (Hons) Business Accounting
• BA (Hons) Business Marketing
• BA (Hons) Festival and Events Management

KEELE University
• BA (Hons) Business Management and Marketing
• BA (Hons) Business Management and Finance
• BA (Hons) Business Management and Law

Northumbria University
• BA (Hons) Business with Economics
• BA (Hons) Business with Financial Management
• BA (Hons) Business with Human Resource Management
• BA (Hons) Business with International Management
• BA (Hons) Business with Logistics and Supply Chain Management
• BA (Hons) Business with Marketing Management
• BA (Hons) Mass Communication and Business

Southampton Solent University
• BA (Hons) Business and Finance

Prembrokshire College International

and more....
Via Uk Law Transfer Degree Programme [Kpt(Jps)600-03 /1318(9)-A6933]

PROFESSIONAL
ILEX Diploma for Legal Secretaries
Malaysian Corporate and Commercial Law Programme
Professional Development Programmes
Corporate Counsel Diploma

POSTGRADUATE & PROFESSIONAL
Certificate in Legal Practice (CLP) [KP(JPS)5195/IPTS/1318 SM5513]
Legal Profession Qualifying Board

ICSA-Fast Track Graduate Route

Diploma in International Arbitration

Masters in Professional Studies (MPS)
Aventis School of Management

LLM (Masters of Laws)
  -  LLM Advanced Legal Practice
  -  LLM International Commercial Law
  - LLM International Trade Law
  -  LLM Medical Law
  -  LLM Commercial Law
Looks like quite established now
digitalz
post Jan 8 2016, 06:29 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(blueyepanda @ Jan 8 2016, 01:53 AM)
Hi there
I am contemplating to sign up for UOL external program,  on a part time basis. Was told there are four intakes in a year but all students will only sit for exam mid 2017.  I asked the counselor  if there are any term breaks in between and the answer is no.  Is there a semester break or just public holidays observed?  And I was also told this is a tough program to do on a part time basis, 4 subjects.  Could someone kindly share experience?

Thank you
Let's put it this way, I know and have seen people that worked scoring alright for it but it goes down to how you set your time. The part-timers do self-study mostly and the worst I know was only failing 1 sub. Much better than some of the full-timers themselves.

It is tough, but not unmanageable. It all boils down to how much time you have, and how you want to study. There's only 1 exam per year, and 1 resit per year. If you fail more than 2 subs, you can only choose to resit 1 paper and wait until the next year to resit the other. That's why some people take longer time to finish.
nexona88
post Jan 8 2016, 08:31 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,409 posts

QUOTE(Alexis Sanchez @ Jan 8 2016, 07:25 AM)
Looks like quite established  now
yeah.. and marketing almost major places..
wil-i-am
post Jan 9 2016, 01:07 PM

10,001 posts

My niece just signed up late last year
blueyepanda
post Jan 10 2016, 10:29 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jan 9 2016, 01:07 PM)
My niece just signed up late last year
rclxms.gif with KL or PJ branch? Any response/feedback from her?
blueyepanda
post Jan 10 2016, 10:33 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Jan 8 2016, 06:29 PM)
Let's put it this way, I know and have seen people that worked scoring alright for it but it goes down to how you set your time. The part-timers do self-study mostly and the worst I know was only failing 1 sub. Much better than some of the full-timers themselves.

It is tough, but not unmanageable. It all boils down to how much time you have, and how you want to study. There's only 1 exam per year, and 1 resit per year. If you fail more than 2 subs, you can only choose to resit 1 paper and wait until the next year to resit the other. That's why some people take longer time to finish.
Thanks bro. Your words gave me some confidence to sign up. Lecturers wise, not sure if KL or PJ better. Not sure which branch to sign up with. Any pointers? Next intake is in April. I should start preparing my mind, mentally perhaps.
digitalz
post Jan 10 2016, 10:42 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(blueyepanda @ Jan 10 2016, 10:33 PM)
Thanks bro. Your words gave me some confidence to sign up.  Lecturers wise, not sure if KL or PJ better.   Not sure which branch to sign up with. Any pointers? Next intake is in April.  I should start preparing my mind, mentally perhaps.
Their lecturers should be the same for both campuses from what I know. No difference in lecturers. You can start by reading the stuff from Internet. UOL had pdf files on the net too.

Try going through the first year subs like common law & reasoning, criminal law, public law and contract law. Get a feel of it first.

Make notes, as long as you can understand them. Principles from the cases etc.

This post has been edited by digitalz: Jan 10 2016, 10:43 PM
wil-i-am
post Jan 11 2016, 11:26 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(blueyepanda @ Jan 10 2016, 10:29 PM)
rclxms.gif  with KL or PJ branch?  Any response/feedback from her?
KL
blueyepanda
post Jan 12 2016, 08:29 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Jan 10 2016, 10:42 PM)
Their lecturers should be the same for both campuses from what I know. No difference in lecturers. You can start by reading the stuff from Internet. UOL had pdf files on the net too.

Try going through the first year subs like common law & reasoning, criminal law, public law and contract law. Get a feel of it first.

Make notes, as long as you can understand them. Principles from the cases etc.
Thanks, digitalz. I tried searching their web for pdf files you referred to, do you mean this?
http://www.londoninternational.ac.uk/commu...aws-subject-gui

Other references require login and password.

digitalz
post Jan 12 2016, 08:46 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(blueyepanda @ Jan 12 2016, 08:29 PM)
Thanks, digitalz.  I tried searching their web for pdf files you referred to, do you mean this?
http://www.londoninternational.ac.uk/commu...aws-subject-gui

Other references require login and password.
Yep. Those subject guides. You'd be given more access when you sign up with UOL.
blueyepanda
post Jan 13 2016, 07:54 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Jan 12 2016, 08:46 PM)
Yep. Those subject guides. You'd be given more access when you sign up with UOL.
Thanks bro notworthy.gif
and good luck to me! whistling.gif
digitalz
post Jan 13 2016, 08:41 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(blueyepanda @ Jan 13 2016, 07:54 PM)
Thanks bro  notworthy.gif
and good luck to me!  whistling.gif
Good luck and have fun! Do notes that you can understand yourself. Tons of scribbling etc. tongue.gif
TSTheCagedBird
post Jan 14 2016, 07:31 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(blueyepanda @ Jan 10 2016, 10:33 PM)
Thanks bro. Your words gave me some confidence to sign up.  Lecturers wise, not sure if KL or PJ better.  Not sure which branch to sign up with. Any pointers? Next intake is in April.  I should start preparing my mind, mentally perhaps.
I'd say PJ, easier to get parking and a mini campus experience.
chiahau
post Jan 14 2016, 08:17 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Jan 14 2016, 07:31 AM)
PJ got more chicks too tongue.gif

Can bring to Mekdi dating *cough*
nothomobutsuper
post Jan 14 2016, 09:45 AM

24 posts

Got part time study ka here ?
TSTheCagedBird
post Jan 14 2016, 10:56 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Jan 14 2016, 08:17 AM)
PJ got more chicks too tongue.gif

Can bring to Mekdi dating *cough*
But the cuter guys are all in KL :3
TSTheCagedBird
post Jan 14 2016, 10:56 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(nothomobutsuper @ Jan 14 2016, 09:45 AM)
Got part time study ka here ?
Yup, night classes
chiahau
post Jan 14 2016, 10:59 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Jan 14 2016, 10:56 AM)
But the cuter guys are all in KL :3
Precisely why I always visit PJ campus.

tongue.gif

The only reason why people go to PJ
nothomobutsuper
post Jan 14 2016, 11:13 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Jan 14 2016, 10:56 AM)
Yup, night classes
BA (Hons) Business and Management by De monfort
And BA (Hons) Business Management and Law by Keele .

How long will take for part-time study ?
I have stpm . working already . want to do degree part time.

And what is BA stands for ? Bachelor art ? Or admin ?
TSTheCagedBird
post Jan 14 2016, 11:15 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Jan 14 2016, 10:59 AM)
Precisely why I always visit PJ campus.

tongue.gif

The only reason why people go to PJ
Nah lah, I go to PJ sometimes the library is much spacious

In KL everywhere is crowded, library, Canteen, and the third floor.
TSTheCagedBird
post Jan 14 2016, 11:17 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(nothomobutsuper @ Jan 14 2016, 11:13 AM)

It's Bachelor of Arts, the two programmes you mentioned they're UKT programmes.

Meaning, you'd need to transfer to the UK in your second or third year.

nothomobutsuper
post Jan 14 2016, 11:21 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Jan 14 2016, 11:17 AM)
It's Bachelor of Arts, the two programmes you mentioned they're UKT programmes.

Meaning, you'd need to transfer to the UK in your second or third year.
Owaiii ... Then its a no . I can't leave my daughter here .
Bac don't have part time study fully in Malaysia kaa ..

This post has been edited by nothomobutsuper: Jan 14 2016, 11:22 AM
chiahau
post Jan 14 2016, 11:33 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(nothomobutsuper @ Jan 14 2016, 11:13 AM)

No point take Bachelor of business and management tbh.

Save up, get 3~5 years working exp, go for MBA straight.

TSTheCagedBird
post Jan 14 2016, 11:50 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(nothomobutsuper @ Jan 14 2016, 11:21 AM)
Owaiii ...  Then its a no . I can't leave my daughter here .
Bac don't have part time  study fully  in Malaysia kaa ..
Soon, or as chiahau suggested do an MBA straightaway.

Rumour has it BAC will be having MBA programme soon!
nothomobutsuper
post Jan 14 2016, 12:19 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Jan 14 2016, 11:33 AM)
No point take Bachelor of business and management tbh.

Save up, get 3~5 years working exp, go for MBA straight.
Stpm can go straight to MBA after 3- 5 years working ?
This is new to me .

How ?

My stpm subject is ekonomi( makro and mikro), pengajian am , bahasa melayu and sejarah . my muet band 4 .

finish stpm in 2007 . then go to Selangor , study mechatronic . certificate only . since 2009 I working as mechanical technician cum boilerman .

Need degree to upgrade to management level .

How do MBA without degree . I am curious .

chiahau
post Jan 14 2016, 01:05 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(nothomobutsuper @ Jan 14 2016, 12:19 PM)
Stpm can go straight to MBA after 3- 5 years working ?
This is new to me .

How ?

My stpm subject is ekonomi( makro and mikro), pengajian am , bahasa melayu and sejarah . my muet band 4 .

finish stpm in 2007 . then go to Selangor , study mechatronic . certificate only . since 2009 I working as mechanical technician cum boilerman .

Need degree  to upgrade to management level .

How do MBA without degree . I am curious .
Enter as matured student route.

Google would be your best friend in this case.
Alexis Sanchez
post Jan 18 2016, 08:06 AM

590 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 8 2016, 08:31 PM)
yeah.. and marketing almost major places..
Even GSC screen rclxms.gif
nexona88
post Jan 18 2016, 12:33 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,409 posts

QUOTE(Alexis Sanchez @ Jan 18 2016, 08:06 AM)
Even GSC screen  rclxms.gif
they seems to have unlimited bullets for ads & marketing purpose rclxms.gif I wonder if the owner is 'connected' to anyone 'big' in the country hmm.gif
Alexis Sanchez
post Jan 18 2016, 12:37 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 18 2016, 12:33 PM)
they seems to have unlimited bullets for ads & marketing purpose rclxms.gif I wonder if the owner is 'connected' to anyone 'big' in the country hmm.gif
Maybe someone strong behind
blueyepanda
post Jan 18 2016, 03:15 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(TheCagedBird @ Jan 14 2016, 07:31 AM)
KL is nearer to me. Unless lecturers in PJ are better, unlikely for me to travel the distance I guess.

blueyepanda
post Jan 25 2016, 11:24 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Jan 12 2016, 08:46 PM)
Started looking at the some of the subject guides. Lotsa references to different books. Do we really have to buy and/or read all those? shocking.gif Are the books easily found in our bookstores?

Questions to all UOL students, how did you managed your study? Care to share some tips?

Thank you

digitalz
post Jan 25 2016, 11:44 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(blueyepanda @ Jan 25 2016, 03:24 PM)
Started looking at the some of the subject guides.  Lotsa references to different books.  Do we really have to buy and/or read all those?  shocking.gif  Are the books easily found in our bookstores? 

Questions to all UOL students, how did you managed your study?  Care to share some tips?

Thank you
Lol. Depending on how you want to study. Books - depending on whether you want to get them or not too. I believe BAC has a good collection of books in the library. If you can't get them in KL, find them in the PJ campus.

Read, read, and continue reading. But then, different people will have different study methods. Makes notes, principles of the cases, facts of the cases etc etc. I know some people that can memorise well but cannot really apply the law, some can just do it easily. Study hard and smart. Not study hard only.
blueyepanda
post Jan 26 2016, 05:05 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Jan 25 2016, 11:44 PM)
Lol. Depending on how you want to study. Books - depending on whether you want to get them or not too. I believe BAC has a good collection of books in the library. If you can't get them in KL, find them in the PJ campus.

Read, read, and continue reading. But then, different people will have different study methods. Makes notes, principles of the cases, facts of the cases etc etc. I know some people that can memorise well but cannot really apply the law, some can just do it easily. Study hard and smart. Not study hard only.
I find it interesting in the sense that there would be loads of new things to learn. But I'm still in a haze, worried that I might not be able to cope with the amount of reading required. Learning about politics, an area which I do not have interest in at the moment, might be just as challenging. I shall continue to explore. Thank you again bro!
perfaketion
post Jun 14 2016, 08:35 PM

Hello!
I'm curious on the hours we spend in class for UOL LLB Intermediate (1L).

In the first month, we'll only be having classes for about 2 days (3 hours each day) a week, for the first month. Is it so?
If so, did you find the first month useful? Is it merely a warm-up or (almost) the only time we've the entire year to do advanced reading & to get familiar with the subjects?

Are classes conducted for 3 hours and tutorials 1.5 hours per week for each subject, right after the first month?

Thank you!

0.0702sec    0.17    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:10 AM