[ worklog ] mini casing for my gf, update : check out the pics on page 5 !!

SUSAllnGap
post Apr 11 2006, 12:24 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(kingkongmonkey @ Apr 11 2006, 12:09 PM)
where to get acrylic??
you can get it from advertising shops

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Apr 11 2006, 12:17 PM)
YOU must be having a very beautiful gf dat worth so much effort, stamina, time to devote for her..haha. U r dat cool.. don't u feel it?!

Btw, why the picture frame got so many screws surround it. it destroy the beauty of Keep it simple & neat.

try to remove tos "unnecessary screws".  The casing will looks much better~

Admire ur caring to ur Gf & enthusiats spirits into casing modded hobby!

Keep it up.

Errr.. why dun buy smaller motherboard? Is this smallest type?.. biggrin.gif
it will be really nice if there were no screws.
the screws are giving it the masculine looks laugh.gif
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 13 2006, 10:51 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(lmfai @ Apr 11 2006, 12:58 PM)
GOOD ........ VERY GOOD JOBS ......... RESPECT
thanks bro rclxms.gif

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Apr 11 2006, 01:40 PM)
just beutifull......... wow man.......... ur gf must be dam proud of u.. i bet shes half thinking ur a cheapo for not buying the mac mini but the other half thinking wow my bf MADE this for me,......... lol...... if u thinking of marrying her why dont u make ur own ring case out of acrilic like dis.. lol... just a thought
havent planned that far yet......but i'm planning to make another casing for myself thumbup.gif

QUOTE(n1chola1 @ Apr 11 2006, 08:02 PM)
wow all i can say is that you really love modding man

NICE JOB

keep up the good work
have passion in what u like, that's the most important thing in life!!! rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(toch3 @ Apr 13 2006, 03:59 PM)
can be ur 2nd GF or not...hahahahaha
dont want ler shocking.gif

SUSAllnGap
post Apr 20 2006, 07:53 PM

4,561 posts

will update the pics soon
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 23 2006, 02:20 PM

4,561 posts

this is the back of the casing, with the 2x USB slots on the left side of the casing,
the 4 screws are for the PSU PCB mounts screws. smile.gif

another rear shot, used 80-92mm converter, 80mm NMB low speed fan as exhaust.

we went to the lifestyle shop and found something nice to cover those rounded allan key screw heads, it's love shape with double sided tape behind. rclxm9.gif
so she did this mod herself tongue.gif

this shot is taken from the top.
the 4x screws are used to hold the bracket for the CDROM and the HDD......
as i said earlier, due to the weight and the pressure from the screws, the acrylic had a small crack and i had to use this way to cover the damage.
thus i stick on layer on the casing, and then used another layer to cover the pics..... rclxms.gif

the corner with the LED and 2x switches is actually the HDD activity light, ON/OFF switch and RESET

this shot is taken from the right of the casing with flash......

this shot is taken from the right of the casing without flash......

basically, this is how it looks like after some " modding " done by my gf......kinda pimpin' now laugh.gif

as u can see the dual 60mm fan setup with LEDs in it and the CDROM bay which i stealthed it with a white acrylic faceplate

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Apr 23 2006, 02:35 PM
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 23 2006, 02:21 PM

4,561 posts

this is the pic for the switch on the top right hand corner of the casing which i used to cover another defect as well.

the DVDROM ejected....

this is the extended part of the DVDROM bracket that i've done so that it can shut nicely wink.gif

shots from the right side of the casing

perspective shots

comments are welcomed laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
glad i've finally finished everything

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Apr 23 2006, 02:40 PM
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 23 2006, 04:36 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(ALIAS.JG @ Apr 23 2006, 02:51 PM)
this is like building the taj mahal

hmm too many dogs ?? tongue.gif tongue.gif
this is Taj Low Budget........i intended to put one only.
but couldnt find high quality pics

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Apr 23 2006, 03:56 PM)
Wouldn't you?
he would rather make a " love " machine for a male laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 24 2006, 02:19 AM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(sherren @ Apr 23 2006, 04:52 PM)
Final Product looks great  rclxms.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  thumbup.gif
looks like factory job whistling.gif
thanks bro.....

QUOTE(easternC @ Apr 23 2006, 09:37 PM)
blink.gif wowowowoowow~ ~ i want it too... make me ur gf please~  tongue.gif wow so good looking.. bet you, your gf gonna luv u more....

IMHO the case back so nice finnish... er except the fan... it would be more into the case if in white color tongue.gif and the button... shouldnt u replace it with sumting that got more aesthetic look buttons... however for overall, that case look great~ even no blingbling, it still have girl look... hhaha yeah its for ur gf tongue.gif .. lucky her~  icon_rolleyes.gif
love me more ??? i spent so much time on modding than her rclxub.gif

QUOTE(radioactive @ Apr 24 2006, 12:29 AM)
Aiya..why censor both....at least let us see ur face..if next time bump into this great modder oso dunno.
board of cencorship in action rclxm9.gif

what is so great ?? it's just a design, not like it's design is being purchased by IMAC or something...... whistling.gif

anyway, i'd wish there's a modding competition where i can beat those " chauvinist-like " casings laugh.gif laugh.gif

i will change my tag into this one :

QUOTE(batousai @ Apr 24 2006, 12:41 AM)
Nice casing AllnGap.... Wah, how much the White Acrylic cost? (if you want to sell lah....)
And with all the hole cover up, can the fan work as it intended to be?
it's clear acrylic + paint = white acrylic.
there are those clear acrylic for signboards, but you'll need the clear and crystal clear layer on the white layer in order to get the nice finishing

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Apr 24 2006, 02:24 AM
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 24 2006, 02:35 AM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(ycinator @ Apr 24 2006, 02:24 AM)
nice one..... how abt ur cooling system thingy ? must be really good rite ?
crap....i dint have the chance to snapshot the interior....

basically the dual 60mm fan is just beside the heatsink.......
u can hear the CPU fan spinning from the side also.....

the whole cooling management is good except the HDD area only, where it's sandwich between the DVDROM and the top panel......
but it should be fine coz the i could feel hot air coming out from the rear 80mm fan wink.gif

QUOTE(kurikuraX @ Apr 24 2006, 02:30 AM)
Wow..very smooth touch-up. Hows the noise level?
Would you do the same thing to ur momma? brows.gif
the noise level is really really low, as i can only hear noise from the air cond and some minor HDD noise only......

FYI : my mum doesnt know how to use PC ler.......... doh.gif

SUSAllnGap
post Apr 24 2006, 10:05 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(atzn @ Apr 24 2006, 03:10 AM)
Nice mod man, well done. rclxms.gif

And I like the way you censor the faces on the screenshots. laugh.gif laugh.gif

Anyway good stuff you got there for your gf.
maybe i should tap into the ladies market...... rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(xetajones @ Apr 24 2006, 09:23 PM)
Nice Mod. May I suggest the colour pink since she's a she. Like the photo thingy. I photo frame in a case. Not bad idea too. Why not some compartments for her to put her jewelery?
pink ???? well, cant find the right colour actually.........white is like pure and clean.....
i seriously dint look into compartments for here jewelery because i seriously dont know how a female's brain functions laugh.gif

SUSAllnGap
post Apr 27 2006, 12:22 AM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(xetajones @ Apr 26 2006, 09:21 PM)
Sometimes it just need an extr effort to understand the needs and wants of the fairer sex. smile.gif Ask them what they like? What they expect? Be creative. A casing with tool box is so cool for guys. When you want to fix the comp just open the compartment. This goes gor the gals too. It may be a secret compartment too !
erm, put secret things inside for *emergency use kar tongue.gif

QUOTE(batousai @ Apr 26 2006, 09:33 PM)
anyway, with totally about 100% acrylic usage for the casing, is there any vibration problem from the fan? It sure irritating when the fan vibration vibrated the plastic (acrylic). Any dampening layer?
the fan is a pretty stable fan, anyway, i've used stickers to cover the inner acrylic, perhaps it's acting like a dampener ???

well, just the CPU fan is a bit annoying at the moment......the 60mm fan is thermal controlled, but never runs more than the minimum coz the air temperature will never reach that kind of temperature.

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Apr 26 2006, 09:46 PM)
HAHAHA
VERY strange you ask this question.

Plastic+vibration isn't as noisy and annoying as Metal+Vibration
Thus I don't think it's so much of a problem.
Furthermore, that damn acrylic is NOT light. They're pretty heavy.

So no worries.
actually, the casing is damn light, but with all the stuff inside it isnt.....
it's kinda annoying when the DVDROM starts running as the vibration is not-so-quiet at all....

QUOTE(aaron_lwm @ Apr 26 2006, 11:51 PM)
bro, ur gf will surely be very fortunate. A very nicely done mod. but the dogs kinda scare me. too many of them, lolx
you've got dog phobia is it ?? laugh.gif laugh.gif
SUSAllnGap
post Apr 27 2006, 10:41 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(momokacak @ Apr 27 2006, 12:24 AM)
nice job and all..  but whats with the dog pic?? ohmy.gif seems too crowded.
erm, more = better ????? laugh.gif

QUOTE(aaron_lwm @ Apr 27 2006, 07:35 AM)
@allngap
nah bro, no dog phobia ler, just 2 many will really get me itching....XDXD
allergic to dogs is it rclxub.gif

QUOTE(wtm0325 @ Apr 27 2006, 08:33 AM)
really really notworthy.gif ur work notworthy.gif

can post up the whole desktop pic ar? wanna c the actual size of the cpu thingy thumbup.gif
erm, the whole thing is around the size of a standard microwave thumbup.gif

SUSAllnGap
post Apr 30 2006, 08:06 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(~\G.O.D/~ @ Apr 30 2006, 07:01 PM)
good work
how much u need to make that casing
i dint really calculate bro, actually tooling cost and experience has got more value than all the material cost laugh.gif
SUSAllnGap
post May 1 2006, 08:39 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ May 1 2006, 03:18 PM)
looks like a mini fridge...nice mod u got there...good job...
thanks bro....actually it looks more towards microwave

QUOTE(sherren @ May 1 2006, 07:35 PM)
rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif see ur work till soo nice till wanna finish mine also,but no time doh.gif
stay cool, the most important thing is the end result.....no point rushing and then not getting the results that you wanted right ??

QUOTE(jumanz @ May 1 2006, 08:33 PM)
bro very nice casing there ! tongue.gif

some question here bro
=================
can i know where can i get those acrylic and metal skrew and stuff? can i get it in ordinary hardware shop

how do you stick both acrylic together ? using silicon glue ?"the gun thingy"
sorry if i asked nood question tongue.gif
you can get acrylic from advertisement shops......

you can find normal screws from hardware shops, but not these types.....these are high grade screws.

as for the sticking thing, there are a lot of alternatives, cheapest would be chlorofoam i guess
SUSAllnGap
post May 2 2006, 06:58 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(jumanz @ May 1 2006, 11:57 PM)
thanks man . . advertisement shops do you think they will sell it to end user?
erm.....why not laugh.gif

QUOTE(kaixiang @ May 2 2006, 02:14 AM)
wou man .. nice mod you have there bro !!!
good job .. anyway .. just wonder how do you eject the dvdrom?
just press the switch below the red LED beside the DVDROM laugh.gif laugh.gif
SUSAllnGap
post May 2 2006, 10:53 PM

4,561 posts

erm....i also dont know how to quote you the price bro.....it's better for you to invest in a HTPC coz this is not that universal design yet
SUSAllnGap
post May 7 2006, 12:42 AM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(HaM7 @ May 3 2006, 07:45 PM)
wow nice ya??

QUOTE(TrutH_SeeKeR @ May 3 2006, 11:47 PM)
thumbs up for u guy!!! dats awesome..neat job as well..kewlll...
are u a gal ?? just wondering laugh.gif

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ May 3 2006, 11:59 PM)
nice BF with great modding skillzz  thumbup.gif
apa khabar, long time no see you notworthy.gif

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ May 4 2006, 03:40 PM)
Yeah, agree. And also, I wonder how much it cost you solely on the casing, inclusive of paints and such.

Thanks... Nice mod  notworthy.gif
And how do you make the arcylic? You bought a whole piece or what?  sweat.gif

Me noob in modding...  notworthy.gif
i said it de, experience costs more that the material cost....if you dont have the experince, chances are you'll screw up a lot more than you can imagine
SUSAllnGap
post May 7 2006, 06:53 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ May 7 2006, 04:32 PM)
deng, what I mean is how much it cost you for the casing, I mean the items you bought la... doh.gif
around RM 100+ i think....
i've mentioned it somewhere before, i suppose you are lazy to read everything rite ? laugh.gif
SUSAllnGap
post May 9 2006, 10:52 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(eddysam @ May 9 2006, 09:27 AM)
nice case... thumbup.gif
plan to make one, any copyright?
i had design mine.
i would be real happy if some company actually copied my design..... biggrin.gif
copyrights ?? dont make me laugh laugh.gif
SUSAllnGap
post May 28 2006, 01:45 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ May 28 2006, 04:22 AM)
farkin' awesome my man thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
thanks bro.... smile.gif

QUOTE(terryykf @ May 28 2006, 01:00 PM)
Nice job, i`m planning to get one but when i think of blowhole,bending and cutting.. it kills me ...ahhah
somemore those I/O holes.. wow...
the hardest part is the planning.......the rest are just the matter of time
SUSAllnGap
post Jun 10 2006, 10:00 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(tyrion4 @ May 30 2006, 09:46 PM)
what a wonderful mod...cheers man...it gave a lot of us an idea on how to start one of our own.

anyway  laugh.gif  where did you get those 4 ultra long motherboard stands?
you want them ?
i still got a lot to spare laugh.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0258sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:23 PM