[WTAsk] Switching courses after Diploma, How will it be?

TSsmoochiesayn
post Mar 13 2006, 02:31 AM, updated 20y ago

787 posts

well...

say if, i'm doing my diploma rite now. majoring in science.

but i dun feel like continue doing science for degree...

if i wanna switch to business/management course for my degree,

do i have to go thru diploma for business/management all over again?

or i skip the diploma thingy but have to start from Degree Year 1?

or it depends on which uni i wanna do my degree?

anyone?
azarimy
post Mar 13 2006, 02:51 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

generally, u wont have to sit for matrics/STPM, that's for sure.

if u're talking about going from diploma in science into degree in science, u should be able to start in 2nd year, given that the diploma is recognized and accredited. however, in changing fields, i dont think u will be able to transfer credits that much so that u could skip one semester/term, much less a whole year.
TSsmoochiesayn
post Mar 13 2006, 03:00 AM

787 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 13 2006, 02:51 AM)
generally, u wont have to sit for matrics/STPM, that's for sure.

if u're talking about going from diploma in science into degree in science, u should be able to start in 2nd year, given that the diploma is recognized and accredited. however, in changing fields, i dont think u will be able to transfer credits that much so that u could skip one semester/term, much less a whole year.
so u were saying, i might have to start from Degree 1st Year?

anyway, 10s for ur explaination.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 13 2006, 04:01 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(smoochiesayn @ Mar 13 2006, 03:00 AM)
so u were saying, i might have to start from Degree 1st Year?

anyway, 10s for ur explaination.
Yes, since you have some of the knowledge in the first year of the new degree course you wanted to change to. It might be a rough journey for you too as you don't have some fundamental knowledge as compared to others who have done their foundation or diploma on that course.

This post has been edited by David83: Mar 13 2006, 04:02 AM
Demon_Eyes_Kyo
post Mar 13 2006, 07:30 AM

682 posts

I have lots of friends that transfer from diploma to degree course. If its in the same university, that would not be a problem. Its a good move to switch to degree. I think there is a limit on how many credits you can transfer, correct me if i am wrong.
azarimy
post Mar 13 2006, 08:19 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(smoochiesayn @ Mar 13 2006, 02:31 AM)
well...

say if, i'm doing my diploma rite now. majoring in science.

but i dun feel like continue doing science for degree...

if i wanna switch to business/management course for my degree,

do i have to go thru diploma for business/management all over again?

or i skip the diploma thingy but have to start from Degree Year 1?

or it depends on which uni i wanna do my degree?

anyone?
sorry, after reading ur post again, i'd have to ask this question:

are u thinking of switching to a degree programme BEFORE u have ur diploma, or after?
TSsmoochiesayn
post Mar 13 2006, 08:40 AM

787 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 13 2006, 08:19 AM)
sorry, after reading ur post again, i'd have to ask this question:

are u thinking of switching to a degree programme BEFORE u have ur diploma, or after?
After. I'm already in my final sem now. Might as well finish my diploma then switch to

the new course.
Demon_Eyes_Kyo
post Mar 13 2006, 11:17 PM

682 posts

If you do that, then you will start 2nd year in degree already lo. Then with credit transfers, that certainly can help a lot happy.gif. Anyway, I feel that taking up a degree is good. All the best thumbup.gif
TSsmoochiesayn
post Mar 13 2006, 11:30 PM

787 posts

QUOTE(Demon_Eyes_Kyo @ Mar 13 2006, 11:17 PM)
If you do that, then you will start 2nd year in degree already lo. Then with credit transfers, that certainly can help a lot happy.gif. Anyway, I feel that taking up a degree is good. All the best thumbup.gif
r u sure?

altho i dun have much basic in business/management (i'm doing science),

i still can proceed to 2nd year Degree of business/management wit my diploma in science?
azarimy
post Mar 14 2006, 01:06 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(smoochiesayn @ Mar 13 2006, 11:30 PM)
r u sure?

altho i dun have much basic in business/management (i'm doing science),

i still can proceed to 2nd year Degree of business/management wit my diploma in science?
as i've said before, it depends on how many subjects u share or similar to the new field u'r changing into. usually u could transfer credits for subjects like "kenegaraan/sejarah malaysia" or "basic research writing" or whatever which is common in most courses. the more u have in common with the new field, the more u can transfer.

but specific/specialty subjects such as "application of synthetics" or "introduction to theoretical physics" would definitely be a no.

so lets assume following standard credit intake per semester in local universities is 16credits. and from ur diploma, u've managed to transfer 32 credits. that's equivalent of 2 semesters. hence, u will start ur studies in degree hopefully in 2nd year.

if u only manage to transfer 8 credits, then u'll have to start 1st year, although u dont have to retake the subjects that u've transferred the credits to.
TSsmoochiesayn
post Mar 14 2006, 01:48 AM

787 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 14 2006, 01:06 AM)
as i've said before, it depends on how many subjects u share or similar to the new field u'r changing into. usually u could transfer credits for subjects like "kenegaraan/sejarah malaysia" or "basic research writing" or whatever which is common in most courses. the more u have in common with the new field, the more u can transfer.

but specific/specialty subjects such as "application of synthetics" or "introduction to theoretical physics" would definitely be a no.

so lets assume following standard credit intake per semester in local universities is 16credits. and from ur diploma, u've managed to transfer 32 credits. that's equivalent of 2 semesters. hence, u will start ur studies in degree hopefully in 2nd year.

if u only manage to transfer 8 credits, then u'll have to start 1st year, although u dont have to retake the subjects that u've transferred the credits to.
thanks for the explaination...

i got a better understanding now...

10s... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

0.0134sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:46 AM