[WTAsk] Switching courses after Diploma, How will it be?
TSsmoochiesayn
Mar 13 2006, 02:31 AM, updated 20y ago
well...
say if, i'm doing my diploma rite now. majoring in science.
but i dun feel like continue doing science for degree...
if i wanna switch to business/management course for my degree,
do i have to go thru diploma for business/management all over again?
or i skip the diploma thingy but have to start from Degree Year 1?
or it depends on which uni i wanna do my degree?
anyone?
TSsmoochiesayn
Mar 13 2006, 03:00 AM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 13 2006, 02:51 AM) generally, u wont have to sit for matrics/STPM, that's for sure. if u're talking about going from diploma in science into degree in science, u should be able to start in 2nd year, given that the diploma is recognized and accredited. however, in changing fields, i dont think u will be able to transfer credits that much so that u could skip one semester/term, much less a whole year. so u were saying, i might have to start from Degree 1st Year? anyway, 10s for ur explaination.
TSsmoochiesayn
Mar 13 2006, 08:40 AM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 13 2006, 08:19 AM) sorry, after reading ur post again, i'd have to ask this question: are u thinking of switching to a degree programme BEFORE u have ur diploma, or after? After. I'm already in my final sem now. Might as well finish my diploma then switch to the new course.
TSsmoochiesayn
Mar 13 2006, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(Demon_Eyes_Kyo @ Mar 13 2006, 11:17 PM) If you do that, then you will start 2nd year in degree already lo. Then with credit transfers, that certainly can help a lot  . Anyway, I feel that taking up a degree is good. All the best  r u sure? altho i dun have much basic in business/management (i'm doing science), i still can proceed to 2nd year Degree of business/management wit my diploma in science?
TSsmoochiesayn
Mar 14 2006, 01:48 AM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 14 2006, 01:06 AM) as i've said before, it depends on how many subjects u share or similar to the new field u'r changing into. usually u could transfer credits for subjects like "kenegaraan/sejarah malaysia" or "basic research writing" or whatever which is common in most courses. the more u have in common with the new field, the more u can transfer. but specific/specialty subjects such as "application of synthetics" or "introduction to theoretical physics" would definitely be a no. so lets assume following standard credit intake per semester in local universities is 16credits. and from ur diploma, u've managed to transfer 32 credits. that's equivalent of 2 semesters. hence, u will start ur studies in degree hopefully in 2nd year. if u only manage to transfer 8 credits, then u'll have to start 1st year, although u dont have to retake the subjects that u've transferred the credits to. thanks for the explaination... i got a better understanding now... 10s...