post Jan 2 2013, 08:45 PM

-
8,415 posts

MTU 101

Latency vs. packet size

If MTU = 1500, then: (1460+40) * 8 / 1,544,000 = 7.772 ms delay per hop
1 MByte / MSS = 1,048,576 bytes / 1460 = 718.2, or effectively 719 packets to transfer 1 MByte.
Then, to transfer 1Mbyte: 719 packets * 7.772 ms delay per hop = 5588.068 ms, or 5.588 seconds per hop.
If we are transferring our 1 MByte ovfile er 10 hops, it will ideally take us:
(1st packet * 10 hops * 7.772ms delay) + 718 * 7.772 = 5.658 seconds.

If MTU = 576, then: (536+40) * 8 / 1,544,000 = 2.924 ms delay per hop.
1 MByte / MSS = 1,048,576 bytes / 536 = 1956.3, or effectively 1957 packets to transfer 1 MByte.
Then, to transfer 1 MByte: 1957 packets * 2.924 ms delay per hop = 5722.268 ms, or 5.722 seconds per hop.
If we are transferring our 1 MByte file over the same 10 hops:
(1st packet *10 hops * 2.924ms delay) + 1956 * 2.924 = 5.748 sec.

It is obvious then that smaller packets will be transmitted faster

The difference comes from the fact that when using larger packets the overhead is smaller.

For a 10-hop transfer, the additional overhead accounts for just a fraction of a second, however it makes a difference if you consider large transfers over long periods of time.

This difference is a also higher in practice, considering TCP options and the fact that modern TCP/IP implementations tend to use larger headers (additional 12 bytes header space for Timestamps for example).

Also, the above example uses best case scenario, not considering higher latency and congestion.

One has to realize the fact that larger packets will still transit more useful data than smaller packets, and that there is no single "best" solution for all applications.

Therefore, try your own MTU, it may works for you, it may not smile.gif

Reference

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Jan 2 2013, 08:52 PM
TSblacktubi
post Jan 2 2013, 08:57 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Jan 2 2013, 08:53 PM)
well that 576 mtu works for me,.  notworthy.gif

guess my area i am the only one occupied the cell tower ka  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Technically, you notice ping is faster when MTU size is smaller

If you was a gamer TIPS : Use a small MTU tongue.gif

In real time condition, although a larger MTU transmit data at a shorter period but it depends, since Wireless can be affected by endless possibility laugh.gif

Use this to see it's difference
CODE

ping 8.8.8.8 -f -l <put your MTU here>

ping 8.8.8.8 -f -l 576
ping 8.8.8.8 -f -l 1420

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Jan 2 2013, 09:00 PM
TSblacktubi
post Jan 2 2013, 09:06 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Jan 2 2013, 09:04 PM)
try already just now,

nothing works,

it written bad command  sad.gif
Use this command

The above one is an example for sure don't works sweat.gif

ping 8.8.8.8 -f -l 576
ping 8.8.8.8 -f -l 1420
TSblacktubi
post Jan 3 2013, 05:43 PM

-
8,415 posts

Don't tweak MF680

As you know this device already a heat beast,

More heat will make it reach the max temp threshold faster

When modem reach the value it will clock down the TX PWR

Therfore, for hot device, high TX may cause reverse effect
TSblacktubi
post Jan 4 2013, 09:53 PM

-
8,415 posts

TX 33 is not for all modem nod.gif

Not all modem max TX is 33

I mentioned 33 is for Huawei E372 actually

Don't tweak E398, after tweaked performance degraded.

Don't tweak MF680 too unless you got a fan 24/7
TSblacktubi
post Jan 5 2013, 03:26 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(d3v073d_50uL @ Jan 5 2013, 02:49 PM)
Nope.. it's still the same as before I uninstall it.. (COM 5)
COM5 is not the diagnostics port. It is the communication port

QPST using diagnostics port

QUOTE(V-Zero @ Jan 5 2013, 03:22 PM)
Got the MR3420 V2, flashed with latest firmware and works fine with my E398.
But why is the signal % shown at 0%?  hmm.gif
Common bug with MR3420 V2.

A few Huawei model is affected
TSblacktubi
post Jan 6 2013, 03:14 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jan 6 2013, 03:11 PM)
as long we dun take up this new offering ~ maxis will soften come Q2 due to slow take up , by that time DG,Celcom,Umobile would have roll out their 4G, hence the price war to capture customer  will begin.

Umobile will again bundle the E392 with their new package.  icon_idea.gif

When i bought the E372 for rm480, Umobile was bundling the MF680 for rm250 in Jan 2012
I don't think anyone would spend RM400 for modem + RM150 for activation. I believe soon Maxis will provide free modem and activation to capture customer. Just like how Unifi begins laugh.gif

I wonder how fast would my Umobile be since already 30Mbps now

65Mbps maybe laugh.gif
TSblacktubi
post Jan 6 2013, 03:24 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jan 6 2013, 03:19 PM)
If UM is 2X10Mhz it will be 75Mbps Max

YES is 2X20Mhz , it will be 150Mbps
Soon Umobile do agreement with Maxis = 2*20Mhz in future

They will slowly upgrade, more chance to do marketing and more chance to sell new device and get activation fee laugh.gif

Yes = WiMax advanced + now whole Malaysia Sabah Sarawak everywhere base station, town council cannot kacau

+ Yes got agreement with TM one, TM WiFi got some is running on Yes as backhaul
TSblacktubi
post Jan 6 2013, 03:28 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Jan 6 2013, 03:26 PM)
well since Yes Opt for TDD instead of FDD like all other ISP,.

going to be a very amazing 4G LTE war soon  thumbup.gif
I prefer if there are more fiber players cry.gif

At least a promised consistent speed, Maxis is overly congested at some location doh.gif
TSblacktubi
post Jan 6 2013, 03:34 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Jan 6 2013, 03:32 PM)
move to penang island with Time Fibre 100Mbps coverages area  brows.gif
I will prefer Georgetown or Farlim if I cannot afford Georgetown tongue.gif

Don't know how Relau perform hmm.gif
TSblacktubi
post Jan 6 2013, 03:39 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Jan 6 2013, 03:35 PM)
Geogetown confirm is your First choices,. icon_idea.gif
Farlim only have half the speed Georgetown have in maxis ISP,..  sweat.gif
Those who can afford Georgetown sure afford a Fiber
Less congestion, only mobile device rclxms.gif
TSblacktubi
post Jan 6 2013, 05:06 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(jolopnik @ Jan 6 2013, 04:59 PM)
until now there isn't one fibre provider serve main georgetown area, there is "time" serving jalan kelawei area but coverage are very very limited, is that georgetown?

im waiting unifi for years now.. lose hope already.

maxis HS 3G good if ur in business area, but housing area during peak hours die! below 1mbps with full 5bar dc-hspa+ summore.

luckily celcom wasn't congested, but limited to only HSPA speed sad.gif
Georgetown area also below 1Mbps?
Wow, you should complaint immediately right now rclxub.gif
As Maxis takes a long while to solve issue

Yes, those place where I get 25Mbps and up is at those Business district
TSblacktubi
post Jan 7 2013, 02:42 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(greenlp_87 @ Jan 7 2013, 02:39 PM)
WOW...I REALLY MISSED THIS MAGIC THREAD..SO I NEED TO CHANGE THE VALUE BY INCREASING IT OR DECREASING IT??ANYONE TRY IT WITH E372 OR E398?
-2XX > -4XX

Set it like this notworthy.gif

TSblacktubi
post Jan 7 2013, 03:12 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(greenlp_87 @ Jan 7 2013, 03:01 PM)
default is 2XX??so need to set to 4XX rite?how to see the effect?i mean after change the value have to see from mdma or what? btw this value is for e372 or e398?
Any Qualcoom modem is compatible

Reboot your modem to see the effect
TSblacktubi
post Jan 8 2013, 09:14 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(tshin810 @ Jan 8 2013, 08:30 PM)
since he wanna know about meaning of quota and usage, I think that's good enough explaination for him smile.gif

It's easy to explain unlimited quota with capped speed too.
Maxis offers you an apple buffet drool.gif  rclxm9.gif , eat as many as you want (unlimited quota). But there is a catch, Maxis limit you to take only 1 apple for every 5 minutes. (capped speed) biggrin.gif
What happen at my location is

There are 10 Apples and 100 people would like to have a slice doh.gif

Hence, everyone get one but it is a small one doh.gif
TSblacktubi
post Jan 8 2013, 10:18 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jan 8 2013, 10:08 PM)
at my place is you cant even see half of an apple, so nobody is getting any biggies!
Recently I purchased a better shoe so I can run faster to get bigger apple.

But 80% still on luck, sometime other run faster then me, then I only get the seed sad.gif
TSblacktubi
post Jan 8 2013, 10:50 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(tshin810 @ Jan 8 2013, 10:23 PM)
atleast you can REQUEST apple very fast laugh.gif
They told me they will bring in more Apple to solve this issue soon

Given ETA by end of January, else told me I can complaint to SKMM laugh.gif
TSblacktubi
post Jan 8 2013, 11:12 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(raizo7 @ Jan 8 2013, 10:58 PM)
how u make complaint to maxis?
email them? using the forum?
i want to complaint too
vmad.gif  vmad.gif
I complaint 6 months ago one laugh.gif

So you still got hope on complaint then go ahead tongue.gif
TSblacktubi
post Jan 8 2013, 11:25 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(wavezard @ Jan 8 2013, 11:18 PM)
how to chat with maxis live?
Learn more powerful English. Somebody here is a very good example for this notworthy.gif
TSblacktubi
post Jan 9 2013, 12:19 AM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(raizo7 @ Jan 9 2013, 12:17 AM)
i really disappointed with maxis right now
at my kampung (hspa area) i can easily get 7mbps+ all day
but now at dc-hspa+ area, i can only get 2mbps, even at this very hour!! doh.gif

from now on i will make complaint every day to them until the improve the network
jaga la kau maxis vmad.gif  vmad.gif
My Kampung 2 bars / 3 bars signal can get 10Mbps 4Xms ping one doh.gif

DC-HSPA+ too

Kampung is always better, food and the warmth laugh.gif

10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0219sec    1.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:47 PM