iPhone 5 Malaysian Set Scuffgate Survey, Cast your vote

secondrate
post Dec 14 2012, 09:42 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

Played with the display units in Ikano's Digi. Perfect condition!
secondrate
post Dec 16 2012, 03:27 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(zamir @ Dec 16 2012, 06:57 AM)
Production year: 2012
Production week: 48 (December)
Colour: Black
Capacity: 16GB
Factory: C3 (China)

Scuff-less, perfect condition. No light leak. Faint rattling of power button but my 3GS did that too. I don't shake my phone anyway, why would anyone?

This post has been edited by secondrate: Dec 16 2012, 04:46 PM
secondrate
post Dec 16 2012, 10:27 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(SolId SnaKe @ Dec 16 2012, 09:14 PM)
Although my set is perfect with no dents and scuffs, but i realize the scrren is slightly abit yellowish compared to my iphone 4...

anyone experience this? jz abit yellowish only
I realized the screen more yellow than my 3GS. But then I realized my 3GS has very washed out colours and my 5 has very nice rich vivid colours. Maybe because my 3GS is not Retina.
secondrate
post Dec 17 2012, 04:46 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(s.n.a.g @ Dec 17 2012, 11:22 AM)
phone is very vunerable. friend drop it in Cap Sq hall, carpeted floor. dented like mad...
rclxub.gif So fast drop liao.
secondrate
post Dec 17 2012, 08:44 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(Heero Yuy @ Dec 17 2012, 06:01 PM)
I actually like it yellowish. Look more natural and easier on the eyes, especially in darkness.
Same, looks more vivid to me. Nice to look at.
secondrate
post Dec 19 2012, 12:56 AM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(worawitinter @ Dec 18 2012, 04:06 PM)
huh huh huh hopfully,,,,  brows.gif  brows.gif by the way, appreciate your answer, my friend just spoil me about iphone color  shakehead.gif
I got black because my old 3gs was black laugh.gif But seriously anyway, the black one looks so sleek and when the screen is off, whole thing is black like there is no screen there. If your app doesn't support iPhone 5 resolution like Fruit Ninja at the moment, then the black borders are hard to see unlike white. To me white is too shiny but of course, harder to see scratches, scuffs and finger prints.

Btw my black one is perfect, no scuff. I hope after I put my bumper still no scuff.
secondrate
post Dec 19 2012, 05:23 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(-Teddy- @ Dec 19 2012, 02:39 PM)
One microscopic blue dot, and one microscopic scuff. Doesn't bother me.
My friend's white unit also has a blue dot on the aluminium back.
secondrate
post Dec 19 2012, 10:07 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(nas @ Dec 19 2012, 06:23 PM)
There's one YouTube video showing an owner of a black iphone 5 with the scuffing problem right out of the box and his solution is to use sand paper to polish the affected edges resulting in a shiny exposed aluminium edge.

Not suggesting everyone to do this but if you can't exchange or the paint is slowing wearing off and is a pain to your eyes, this might be an option.
Wow, got a link? I'm interested in seeing a black 5 with shiny edges!
secondrate
post Dec 19 2012, 10:23 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

Hmmm just found a little scuff on my black one. But I knocked it on so many things already, my monitor, my car, my table sweat.gif

QUOTE(nas @ Dec 19 2012, 10:14 PM)
bro, couple of posts up.
Alright, found it!

This post has been edited by secondrate: Dec 19 2012, 10:33 PM
secondrate
post Dec 19 2012, 11:28 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(bluevymoody @ Dec 19 2012, 11:20 PM)
My Black 32GB - Maxis set got scuffgate...at least 3 spots..so sad..what can i do??
Buy a case, forget about it sad.gif can't wait for my Linear EX.
secondrate
post Dec 19 2012, 11:48 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(bluevymoody @ Dec 19 2012, 11:40 PM)
When i bought it, no scuffgate..

i did put it in a case from the 1st day i have it..

when i pull it out from my case, scuffgate spotted..

that means simple pulling motion from the case will create a scuffgate to yr phone..

i think sooner or later, scuffgate will spread all over the phone..

I just bought it for 7 days only..>.<

y this phone so expensive but got this kind of problem gah?!!! haiz
Yes very very true. I agree. At least I am happy that my phone was scuff-free when I took it out of the box. I must have caused the scuff somehow. I'm planning to put it into the case and not take it out unless I change case to avoid making more scuffs. Its quite small but very shiny!
secondrate
post Dec 19 2012, 11:50 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(Boykidz93 @ Dec 19 2012, 11:38 PM)
U direct by from spygen website? no afraid of being tax? Total how much?
I bought from eBay. Korean guy selling at SGP retail price but shipping only 1.50 usd. Tax? Dunno la. Hopefully not.

STN Store

Added on December 19, 2012, 11:50 pm
QUOTE(sang_kanchil @ Dec 19 2012, 11:49 PM)
no wonder maxis doesn't want to replace. no matter what, finally it will also scuff.
so why bother?
Yeah lor but then it SHOULD be perfect out of the box. If people cause scuff its their own problem la.

This post has been edited by secondrate: Dec 19 2012, 11:50 PM
secondrate
post Dec 20 2012, 12:09 AM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(bluevymoody @ Dec 20 2012, 12:08 AM)
to avoid scuffs, put a case on it when u have it at the very first time..

Never pull it out..

coz on my case, i found the scuffs after i pull it out from my case..

IP5 black coating is super duper easy to peel off..
I ordered my bumper from US sad.gif Gonna take a few weeks. Now I decide to use another case, ordered from Korea. Maybe it will come faster. Either way they will cover up the scuff(s)!
secondrate
post Dec 20 2012, 02:42 AM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(SolId SnaKe @ Dec 20 2012, 12:28 AM)
my gawd!!!!!!! how many cases have u bought??? rclxub.gif
2 laa. Bumper and Linear Ex. Now looking to sell off the bumper for 50% what I bought it. No review for that one looks like laugh.gif
secondrate
post Dec 20 2012, 02:08 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(Boykidz93 @ Dec 20 2012, 03:39 AM)
50%? which bumper? LOL !
Dari sini

http://www.theiphonebumpers.com/

Yang orange

Added on December 20, 2012, 2:09 pm
QUOTE(kmoh4346 @ Dec 20 2012, 07:43 AM)
For sure have scuffgate in the long run hence the reason i still maintain to white.
So true. Cannot avoid unless you put case.

This post has been edited by secondrate: Dec 20 2012, 02:09 PM
secondrate
post Dec 20 2012, 02:40 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(jin_akira @ Dec 20 2012, 02:32 PM)
what i don't get is if they knew that the aluminium will easily and eventually get scratched off, why did they proceed with the idea? why not find an alternative coat or another sort of housing? what's the point of having something to look nice if it is only going to last for a week?
LOL yeah lor.
secondrate
post Dec 24 2012, 06:23 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(BlackMeow @ Dec 24 2012, 04:38 PM)
Please check your phone if you found these problems.

1) Battery drain very fast even in standby time.
2) wifi signal is very very weak compare to your tablet or other phone, the distance must be kept within 3 m to get full bar.

3) GOt sounds when u lightly shake your iphone, rattling problems.

4) Camera experienced purple glare during indoor shooting with external lighting.
Reference:
http://www.digitaltrends.com/mobile/iphone...about-the-most/
For me:

1) Battery life is excellent, normal use Whatsapp, browsing using Chrome, take pictures, use Facebook, check email, play music etc. and end of the day still > 20%.

2) My room is more than 3m from the Unifi router and I get 2-3 bars which is enough.

3) Power button rattles lightly, not an issue for me because my 3gs did the same thing even louder.

4) My brother's iPhone 4 also has purple glare, haze, whatever but not as much.

Cool link, reading it now.

0.0496sec    0.76    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:59 PM