iPhone 5 Malaysian Set Scuffgate Survey, Cast your vote
ftan
Dec 17 2012, 10:29 PM
Mine got scuff. Returning to apple online store. They will exchange for me. Not happy with such defects coming from a high end and high priced item. Not to mention it's produced by a world renown company. I'm not buying pasar malam item, ok?
Paul Schiller's remark seems arrogant and indifferent. Keep having this attitude and you find other companies soon taking over. It's already competitive as it is.
ftan
Dec 17 2012, 10:53 PM
Well, I don't think we should be complacent about it either.
ftan
Dec 17 2012, 11:09 PM
I didn't need a microscope. In fact, I thought I saw wrongly at first. Thought it was some small triangle recycle symbol. My 2nd thought "wah, apple using recycled products". Lol.
Overdoing would be shouting and screaming at the cs. Which I didn't do. In fact, I thanked her and said she helped me a lot. Can sense she was happy to hear that.
ftan
Dec 18 2012, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(worawitinter @ Dec 18 2012, 01:51 PM) how about i can get a replacement, can i exchange black-slate to white-silver color? Where did you buy from?
ftan
Dec 18 2012, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(worawitinter @ Dec 18 2012, 04:02 PM) online store,, actually, my iphone 5 is still progressing at subang airport but i just wanna ask in case of i found those issues  All the best. But I think it should be ok. Most of the ppl who bought online didn't have issues. Only very few handful.  Oh, forgot to answer your question. After returning the phone, Apple would initiate another order which should be displayed online as well. I haven't gone through that process yet. I guess that would be the best time to call them up and change your phone color. This post has been edited by ftan: Dec 18 2012, 04:05 PM
ftan
Dec 20 2012, 09:43 AM
Will the white have less scuff? Thinking to change color. Just that I really liked the black.
ftan
Dec 20 2012, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(xproc @ Dec 20 2012, 01:54 PM) white is better... black is not bad too.. Thank you. Will decide when I can see my order online again. Btw, soyacincau is mentioning you n this thread.
ftan
Dec 20 2012, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(dtdw @ Dec 20 2012, 02:22 PM) even with the case on, the 5 will stil get scratched. all they can say is "Any aluminum product may scratch or chip with use, exposing its natural silver color. That is normal" Well, that sucks, coz i dont see that much of hurt when samsung or htc got scratched, part plastic stil rocks. And not to mention, the degrade should be over time, not the instant it is produced and shipped. I ordered from senheng, and bought the RM165 warranty (4 years in total), hope it covers those defects which is rejected by local resellers. Did you ask seng heng if those defects are covered? Hmm, they might reject as those resellers. Better check. Added on December 20, 2012, 2:36 pmQUOTE(jin_akira @ Dec 20 2012, 02:32 PM) what i don't get is if they knew that the aluminium will easily and eventually get scratched off, why did they proceed with the idea? why not find an alternative coat or another sort of housing? what's the point of having something to look nice if it is only going to last for a week? +1 This post has been edited by ftan: Dec 20 2012, 02:36 PM
ftan
Dec 20 2012, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(xphossis @ Dec 20 2012, 10:06 PM) I have a few minor scratch on my white unit. Bought through my apple store. How should I go about changing another unit? Call apple cs. They will prepare an exchange for you.
ftan
Dec 20 2012, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(xphossis @ Dec 20 2012, 10:09 PM) How long would it take? Any forumner here did an exchange yet? Me. I checked online and apple received my phone. Waiting on them to give me another Hp. About slightly more than a week.
ftan
Dec 20 2012, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(xphossis @ Dec 20 2012, 10:17 PM) Oh ya I shake the phone and there's some rattling sound as well  Added on December 20, 2012, 10:18 pmHow do u send back the phone to them? Any additional charges? Getting a replacement was the easy part for me. Just talked to them nicely and they offered replacement immediately. Kudos to them for being very professional. But trying to call in was a pain. Took more than half hour coz line always busy. Apple arrange dhl to pick up from my home. Foc. This post has been edited by ftan: Dec 20 2012, 10:23 PM
ftan
Dec 20 2012, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(xphossis @ Dec 20 2012, 10:25 PM) Thanks for the feedback  No problem. Don't forget to get a return number from cs. You need to give the return number n package to dhl. So the cs told me.
ftan
Dec 23 2012, 04:22 PM
Got my replacement set. No scuffs detected. Just did a normal glance through and it looks good.
ftan
Jan 1 2013, 07:06 AM
QUOTE(xproc @ Dec 31 2012, 09:12 PM) number is rough estimate since everyone can vote lo... give it benefit of doubt... say 70% ok 30% got issues... wtf QC is this... anyway i happy with my phone now, still perfect iphone , anyway, 6 months later, here comes iphone 5S or 6...  Will the 5s arrive so fast? I think in MY will be late as usual. Hope the QC is better then but kinda doubt it.