Google NEXUS 7 Official Thread @V4, Welcome to 2013!!Now with Android 4.2.1

mtxx
post Jan 21 2013, 11:52 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(youliang @ Jan 21 2013, 10:55 PM)
so what rom are you guys running on? biggrin.gif
stock rom lo...best battery life, less problem and bugless.

once start use custom rom, like drugs, keep check for updates.
but if you interested, try official aokp, so many neat new features

mtxx
post Jan 22 2013, 10:29 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(BlackWoods @ Jan 22 2013, 10:06 AM)
So Nexus 7 has international warranty?  drool.gif
yes lo, just bring in. they help me change my speaker for free.
working fine till now.
mtxx
post Jan 22 2013, 11:01 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Jemi @ Jan 22 2013, 10:57 AM)
Where you send to change the speaker?
lowyat plaza, there got a asus service center
mtxx
post Jan 22 2013, 11:03 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(MikeX @ Jan 22 2013, 10:36 AM)
I noticed that some users here have problem on the speakers. Seems the build quality of the speaker is not as good.
its soft, so many people tend to open max volume and hear long long.
ya its a common issue.

just keep the volume below 80% and should be fine.
during my first few weeks with it i on max volume and watch alot youtube until it spoil.
mtxx
post Jan 22 2013, 11:56 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(yeelong @ Jan 22 2013, 11:35 AM)
Hi, I just sent my N7 to warranty for my speaker yesterday. Based on your experience of the new speaker after warranty, is the quality better than the original one or we still need to take care of it for now up the volume to the max?
its the exact same speaker.
no better no worst, exactly same speaker.

but i never on full volume ever again. abit sked tongue.gif
mtxx
post Jan 22 2013, 11:49 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(im_not_stupid @ Jan 22 2013, 11:33 PM)
i got adobe flash from gnex, use titanium backup to put into nexus 7, and stock browser do support that flash smile.gif no any third party apps needed at all icon_rolleyes.gif
nod.gif that reply was for someone comparing nexus7 and ipad mini.
saying nexus 7 have flash out of the box is not true, it needs some workaround.
similar to ipad mini, need install compatible browser like puffin browser or skyfire browser.
flash works on both device, but both also nowhere near as smooth as a real laptop.

the stock aosp browser from gnex, is not included in nexus7. default browser in n7 is chrome.
which wont support flash no matter what.
mtxx
post Jan 23 2013, 09:26 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Jan 23 2013, 08:44 AM)
I'm not using the mskip one,I'm using the wugfresh one
Last time use wugfresh one I also have issues with the driver.
Mskip one easier n straightforward.

mtxx
post Jan 24 2013, 10:47 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Jemi @ Jan 24 2013, 09:47 PM)
For some reason, its happened again. Speaker cracking.
Fear not, Service Center at lowyat will replace speaker for you free of charge.

Just yesterday got people say the speaker max volume see anime 9 hours a day also won't spoil.

The speaker issue is very real. Better dun use max volume to reduce risk of blown speaker.
mtxx
post Jan 24 2013, 11:17 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Jemi @ Jan 24 2013, 11:13 PM)
How long they will take to replace that speaker.

Its abit weird, when it happened for the 1st the next day it come back to normal after been using for more than a week today suddenly its happened again.
crackling noise only apparent at max volume. but it will get worst, eventually even at low volume also will crack.
mine case took 3 days. may vary depends on the workload of the technician there.
mtxx
post Jan 25 2013, 11:42 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(chaukeng @ Jan 25 2013, 11:30 AM)
I disagree in Uncle Benny claim. Nexus 7 is not a Ferrari.

In fact its more like a Proton with Mercedes engine.

Suspectable quality of door windows, doorlock is equivalent to the quality of speaker and screen of the Nexus 7.

But now the thing is, if the car is designed with a top speed of 130km/h and anything above that is considered illegal;

And at the same time im content at driving my car below the speed limit, why would i need to modify the engine to increase the top speed? Most of the road i drove in are narrow and crowded, which forbid me to basically drive more than 90km/h. (Most of the apps are not utilising the full capacity of the N7 as well) There are also the risk of being caught during a roadblock. (warranty claim

Rooting is good, and its not tough. But its risky for the beginners and unnecessary for most of the users. I said most since none of my friends actually went into rooting their phone before. Perhaps im in small town maybe. biggrin.gif
rooting is not necessary.
but since you are in this forum and looking at this thread, you must be interested in this kind of thing.

having root access doesnt make your device extra powerful or anything.
but can enjoy some very cool things.

~titanium backup: save all your apps and data. example i play temple run on my phone reach 1million high scrore and bought all power ups. then i want to play on nexus 7. oh crap i have to start from 0 with no power ups. no problem, titanium backup it on my phone, transfer to my tablet, restpre. TADA!, i have my highscore and powerups.

~add block: i dont think a single person here love to see adds. especially adds that are completely useless. click here to see sexy girls, seriously?

~rom toolbox: all in on root app, customize battery icon, boot animation, disable useless startup program,

~setCPU: i use this to underclock, less heat, and more battery, strange doesnt work on stock nexus7, but works on my phone.

~cwm backup: ultimate backup. tablet stolen/spoil/damage? no sweat, but a new tablet, and restore.

~cerberus anti theft: works even better with root access, will survive a full system wipe.

sure all this is not necessary, but good to have.
nod.gif

mtxx
post Jan 27 2013, 05:57 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Jan 27 2013, 02:24 PM)
hi MTX,
how long do you wait for speaker replacement, Iv been waiting 3 weeks , Iv also submit to asus sc in lowyat ?

2 weeks of usage
3 weeks in sc

why asus why~~~~!!  sad.gif
I'm guessing u r referring to me.
Mine took 3 days.
I went there personally to ask for the status. The girl told me ready. If I never called or went there to ask I wouldn't got it back so fast.
mtxx
post Jan 30 2013, 10:08 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(talzer @ Jan 30 2013, 09:37 AM)
actually does the HD really a gamechanger for nexus 7? considering the resolution and the screen is pretty satisfactory for a tablet right now.

just my 2 cents
i understand what you mean, human eye is more sensitive to color vibrancy compared to resolution.

nexus7 resolution quite ok already, very satisfactory, but the colors is very pale.
really need to spice it up, if only it uses amoled. or the same type of LCD like the new ipad that have very nice vibrant colors.

what i mean is, having a 1280x800 resolution with very vibrant colors is much better than
super high resolution with pale colors like what the nexus7 have now.
mtxx
post Jan 30 2013, 11:28 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(raven143 @ Jan 30 2013, 08:20 PM)
any ROMs you guys suggest? wanna have a good start.. LOL
stock rom.

benefit:
~unmodified project butter, super smooth
~no need to check xda for the custom rom you using got update or not
~no need do cwm backup, save lots of time and storage space since not changing roms or updating new version of rom
~zero bugs, no need google for bugs or check for bugs in xda thread when weird issue happen.
~peace of mind, no need deal with kernel
~excellent battery life, no need to keep chaning kernel, check which one lag, or bad battery life.

been using stock 4.2 since october i think, never once have weird issue, or visited xda for nexus 7.
purely enjoying the tablet as it is. thumbup.gif
mtxx
post Jan 31 2013, 11:24 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Jan 31 2013, 07:42 PM)
Feel kinda regret after flashing to smoothrom,don't have the features that I want  cry.gif
shocking.gif cant believe i see this kind of comment. looks so retarded.

didnt you read the features of the rom? its always written in the first post of the xda thread
if it doesnt have the feature you want then why waste time download flash it?

mtxx
post Feb 1 2013, 10:27 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(chaukeng @ Feb 1 2013, 10:24 PM)
Anyone having problems booting up their Nexus 7? Non-rooted stock rom. Each time it wil ltake me several effort for me to successfully boot up the device if i power it off. Nothing to do with battery since i've tried it even when the battery is full.

I googled around and found zero cases pertaining to this issue. However there are those which simply fail to boot up suddenly and turns out motherboard is spoilt. sad.gif

Kinda scared to turn it off now.
come to think of it, i never turn off my nexus7 even once since it was bought sometime in august last year.
just charge it every night only. the battery enough to last a whole day.
mtxx
post Feb 2 2013, 09:18 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(kahyeec @ Feb 2 2013, 03:01 AM)
I turn my Nexus 7 off every morning and then turn it on after 6pm, otherwise if 8 hours on standby the battery 100%=>76%. So better you go reproduce the problem and claim warranty.
har? i leave my tablet wifi on sync on, let it standby, whole day just drop 1-3% only.
you have something running in the background issit?
mtxx
post Feb 2 2013, 05:17 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(ckweng @ Feb 2 2013, 04:13 PM)
Just 1 simple question, are there any known issues with Jellybean 4.2. Have not updated my OS to the latest yet brows.gif
never experience any issues, nor feel any performance improve.
same same only, got some minor animation for recent apps list, and the quick settings menu.

fwhoam need new thread soon

0.0445sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:18 AM