The newbie guide to power supply units, Questions and comments are welcomed

llk
post Jul 28 2017, 10:16 AM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(yuka @ Jul 28 2017, 12:26 AM)
Seems like my Seasonic S12II has given up, noticed that it giving out 8V at 12V ports. And I stumbled upon Super Flower PSU, never heard of it is it reliable? Should I spend towards well known brand as EVGA, FSP instead?
Super flower is reliable brand, most of the evga psu also manufactured by super flower. However i suggest u may consider buy those brand or model which have the longest warranty period, eg evga supernova g3 750w & above is having 10years warranty, same for certain model for corsair like HX & ax series.
llk
post Jan 30 2021, 11:45 PM

4,157 posts

Corsair recall certain batches of HX1200 & HX1200i psu
https://www.tomshardware.com/news/corsair-i...m_medium=social
llk
post Mar 28 2022, 12:01 PM

4,157 posts

Hi all, i RMA my Corsair AX1200i PSU 3 months ago, this morning i received a call from Convergent Distribution that my PSU is ready for collection, after further checking was told it is a refurbished PSU, is it normal Corsair will RMA refurbished PSU?
llk
post Mar 28 2022, 10:19 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 28 2022, 07:54 PM)
i always thought it's very common to have refurbished unit as replacement. it's also normally mentioned in the TnC of rma.
I know there is TnC there but i'm not sure it is common or not, based on my previous experience, i RMA my previous unit same model few years ago, they returned with a brand new sealed unit.
llk
post May 11 2025, 05:22 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ May 11 2025, 03:33 PM)
Guys if buy a 1000W PSU, what will happen to the TNB bill ? Sky high or sky rocket ? Anyone with 1000W PSU can share experience?
A 1000w psu doesn’t mean the PC will always consume 1000 watts. It simply means the power supply can provide up to 1000 watts if needed. The actual power consumption depends on the hardware components and how much power they draw during use. For instance, a GPU like the RTX 5090 might use up to 600 watts under full load, but it will use much less when idle or under light use. So your system’s total power draw could vary a lot depending on what you’re doing.
llk
post May 18 2025, 04:45 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ May 18 2025, 04:31 PM)
Yeah. Been thinking about 5090 for quite awhile but worry TNB Bill sky-high
If you're worried about your TNB bill, then the RTX 5090 probably isn't for you. I did a general test by undervolting my RTX 5090 (0.875V @ 2.6GHz) and running it with my 9950X3D using a PBO setting of -30. The purpose of the test is to see if I need to upgrade my 1000W PSU to a higher wattage. Using 3DMark for the test, the system's maximum power draw from the wall was around 700W.

This post has been edited by llk: May 18 2025, 05:15 PM

0.0514sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:23 AM