I'm not entirely sure this is the correct place to post it, But can i ask for everyone's opinion:
WHICH IS RECOMMENDED AS THE BEST FIRST PEDAL I SHOULD BUY?
The Best First Pedal to Purchase, Recommend your opinion
Mar 10 2006, 11:33 PM, updated 20y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,516 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Silinde Faelivrin |
I'm not entirely sure this is the correct place to post it, But can i ask for everyone's opinion:
WHICH IS RECOMMENDED AS THE BEST FIRST PEDAL I SHOULD BUY? |
Mar 10 2006, 11:53 PM
975 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Perth, Oz |
hey... u gotta tell us ur budget.. what kind of music u play.. help us.. help you =)
Mar 11 2006, 12:23 AM
13,063 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Toronto |
Preapre to get Whackerized man...... you should post it on the Pedal Board.....
Mar 11 2006, 01:03 AM
1,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
first depend on ur budget, second on ur musical style, and finally what's ur expectation from this pedal...
generally i would recommend Boss Super OverDrive (SD1) as a beginner/first pedal (coz i'm using one let's see what other got to say ... |
Mar 11 2006, 01:12 AM
sorrie, sorrie...
but anywayz, lets say budget under rm500. what is the best for beginner? OVerdrive, effects, anything. What is your recommendation? |
Mar 11 2006, 01:45 AM
70 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
It sounds as though you're buying a pedal because you need it to qualify for something! What I'm trying to say is that you don't buy a pedal just to have a pedal, you buy a pedal to help your tone. The best first pedal for you is one that does what you want it to. If you want a distortion pedal, go get one. Booster? Can also. Noise Gate? Yep. Chorus? Wah? Reverb? Flanger? They all do different things - you need to decide which one you want before you buy your first one.
Mar 11 2006, 07:04 AM
2,918 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Deliciously Pointless To: Jaw-Dropping Absurd |
anyway, here is the rule of thumb : the more pedal you'll have, the more talented you are, as a guitarist.
steve vai as 57 fx pedals, so he's the best player so far. jimi used barely 23 pedals, not even simultaneously : that was the stone age of good guitarists. angus young uses 0 pedal, and clearly, he sucks big time. |
Mar 11 2006, 08:07 AM
QUOTE(Reload @ Mar 11 2006, 01:45 AM) It sounds as though you're buying a pedal because you need it to qualify for something! What I'm trying to say is that you don't buy a pedal just to have a pedal, you buy a pedal to help your tone. The best first pedal for you is one that does what you want it to. If you want a distortion pedal, go get one. Booster? Can also. Noise Gate? Yep. Chorus? Wah? Reverb? Flanger? They all do different things - you need to decide which one you want before you buy your first one. wow.. thanks.Well, i'd say that i'm going for distortion for now. So wat model/brand do u guys recommend as a first one? |
Mar 11 2006, 08:30 AM
2,234 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
a talent boost pedal would be great for a 1st
Mar 11 2006, 08:49 AM
How about multi-FX pedals Pix??? One of those thing holds about 30 different kinds of effects.... does that count??
Mar 11 2006, 10:32 AM
3,914 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
[Wah-Wah] Effects Pedals, Opinions/Advice
I think all of us have answered this kind of question like 10 times already .... |
Mar 11 2006, 12:25 PM
2,918 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Deliciously Pointless To: Jaw-Dropping Absurd |
multifx ??? it's like you're saying you're a great car pilot and all, you're the best in rally, in go-kart, etc... but you're actually driving a truck in everyday's life.
how lame is that. and yes, thewhacker is right, as usual |
Mar 11 2006, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(Pix @ Mar 11 2006, 12:25 PM) multifx ??? it's like you're saying you're a great car pilot and all, you're the best in rally, in go-kart, etc... but you're actually driving a truck in everyday's life. That's insulting...how lame is that. and yes, thewhacker is right, as usual I only wanted to ask for opinions, because i really want to buy a pedal to try out some new sounds. I've been using my guitar and the amp's regular distortion for a long while already, so wanna improve. Since people don't know much, at least i asked so i can learn. Weren't you a newbie once, and how would you feel if people flamed your question? Simple question, give a simple answer. |
Mar 11 2006, 04:40 PM
learn from ur mistakes.. thewhacker told me off many times before too.. close this thread and just post up in the other existing thread
This post has been edited by XCcude: Mar 11 2006, 04:40 PM |
Mar 11 2006, 04:46 PM
1,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(hydrogen @ Mar 11 2006, 03:54 PM) That's insulting... hey hey, no hard feeling dude I only wanted to ask for opinions, because i really want to buy a pedal to try out some new sounds. I've been using my guitar and the amp's regular distortion for a long while already, so wanna improve. Since people don't know much, at least i asked so i can learn. Weren't you a newbie once, and how would you feel if people flamed your question? Simple question, give a simple answer. |
Mar 11 2006, 05:53 PM
no worries. so wat u recommend
Mar 11 2006, 05:56 PM
I recommend that you close this thread and post your question on the thread that Whacker recommends.....
Mar 11 2006, 07:06 PM
3,914 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(hydrogen @ Mar 11 2006, 03:54 PM) That's insulting... Newbie or not ... even if you go to a shop and telling them "I want pedal, very cun pedal" ... you think you're going to get an answer ? I only wanted to ask for opinions, because i really want to buy a pedal to try out some new sounds. I've been using my guitar and the amp's regular distortion for a long while already, so wanna improve. Since people don't know much, at least i asked so i can learn. Weren't you a newbie once, and how would you feel if people flamed your question? Simple question, give a simple answer. You said you have a budget of Rm500 .... that's a good amount to start with. Now the question at hand. What kind of music are you playing ? Bluez ? Jazz ? Hip-Hop ? Rock ? Metal ? Ska ? Punk ? classical ? Soul ? Rap ? or you dunno ? This post has been edited by TheWhacker: Mar 11 2006, 07:06 PM |
Mar 11 2006, 07:29 PM
3,373 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: My House |
QUOTE(Pix @ Mar 11 2006, 07:04 AM) anyway, here is the rule of thumb : the more pedal you'll have, the more talented you are, as a guitarist. heh, this is blardy insulting for a person with an empty wallet and an empty pedal board... like me steve vai as 57 fx pedals, so he's the best player so far. jimi used barely 23 pedals, not even simultaneously : that was the stone age of good guitarists. angus young uses 0 pedal, and clearly, he sucks big time. QUOTE(TheWhacker @ Mar 11 2006, 07:06 PM) Newbie or not ... even if you go to a shop and telling them "I want pedal, very cun pedal" ... you think you're going to get an answer ? shhh shhh shhhh! don't say it whacker! let me say it...You said you have a budget of Rm500 .... that's a good amount to start with. Now the question at hand. What kind of music are you playing ? Bluez ? Jazz ? Hip-Hop ? Rock ? Metal ? Ska ? Punk ? classical ? Soul ? Rap ? or you dunno ? help us, help you IMO, i won't rush to get any sort of pedal first, and instead focus on my skills. after all skills are what that reflects a guitarist, not equipment. This post has been edited by nerd: Mar 11 2006, 07:31 PM |
Mar 11 2006, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(TheWhacker @ Mar 11 2006, 07:06 PM) Newbie or not ... even if you go to a shop and telling them "I want pedal, very cun pedal" ... you think you're going to get an answer ? okok... i get your point. You said you have a budget of Rm500 .... that's a good amount to start with. Now the question at hand. What kind of music are you playing ? Bluez ? Jazz ? Hip-Hop ? Rock ? Metal ? Ska ? Punk ? classical ? Soul ? Rap ? or you dunno ? thanks. Ermm.. mostly metal and rock, and some punk, i guess. definitely not jazz/classical/soul/rap. And umm.. sorrie for not being specific. I don wan a 'cun' pedal, just something for me to start out with more sounds within metal/rock/punk genre. thanks- |
Mar 11 2006, 08:34 PM
87 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
just buy those cheap behringers for starters...cheap and sounds ok...so when u think u wanna go further, invest in some better names...
or go for all those cheap zoom multifx...i'm sure those have all the basic necessary effects you'd ever need all boxed in one...the new model should be just around rm300+...i forgot... |
Mar 11 2006, 09:01 PM
6,339 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Mar 11 2006, 09:23 PM
a great starter is to see what ur fav band plays.. like if u like blink 182.. see wat tom delonge has.. then maybe work ur way up for the single pedal... and i bet u will like it.. if not.. then other pedal lor.. can test in shops rite
Mar 11 2006, 10:13 PM
icic.. thats very practical.. That would definitely be the correct pedal i want (based on my fav band, but i doubt i can afford wat they are using.
Cheap Behringers? can giv me some model numbers? so i can research. |
Mar 11 2006, 10:15 PM
To Me, I think a first pedal should ALWAYS be a multi-FX pedal.... that way, they can experiment with different sounds before they can finally affoard to buy a single effect setup.
I bought a Zoom 505 (Which I still think is a great first Mutli-FX pedal) as my first pedal, and haven't regret it since. Maybe, if I had a bit more budget last time, I would get one with an expression pedal, which I would recommend now.... My a ToneWorks or the new Zoom with the expression pedal.... Then, once you get to know your setup better..... start investing in single pedals and build your own sound.. |
Mar 11 2006, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 11 2006, 10:15 PM) To Me, I think a first pedal should ALWAYS be a multi-FX pedal.... that way, they can experiment with different sounds before they can finally affoard to buy a single effect setup. I bought a Zoom 505 (Which I still think is a great first Mutli-FX pedal) as my first pedal, and haven't regret it since. Maybe, if I had a bit more budget last time, I would get one with an expression pedal, which I would recommend now.... My a ToneWorks or the new Zoom with the expression pedal.... Then, once you get to know your setup better..... start investing in single pedals and build your own sound.. |
Mar 11 2006, 10:51 PM
I think it's called the Zoom G2.1u now.......... Not sure how much it costs... I think Zeroelite bought a Zoom 2.1u recently also.... Find out from him...
Mar 12 2006, 12:08 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() the g-serie are modellers, so they might be more expensive and not really suited to what you need. if you want expression pedal, the 606 or 707II is the way to go. please visit www.zoom.co.jp, you have detailed info about all the products listed above. |
Mar 12 2006, 12:51 AM
2,269 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cheras |
Mar 12 2006, 01:51 AM
4,765 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
505II are still around in some small shops. no expression pedal but its good enough. heck, i used a 505II for few gigs before i got picked up to play for other better well known bands(and with that had better excuses to upgrade). point is, even with a 505II u can still get some decent effects and impress people(but you wont hide ur playing). since theyre so outdated u could probably find them for over rm100 or so. drop by jamtank and ask. 2nd hand one would probably be below rm100 by now.
my advice, get a multi efx as your first pedal. u'll learn alot from it. |
Mar 12 2006, 07:39 AM
waaa! 505II cost less than 100? serious? how come so cheap? Anyway, the G2.1u looks pretty sweet.
I'll check the prices, and definitely test them before making a decision |
Mar 12 2006, 08:14 AM
The reason why the 505II is cheap, is because I think it's 2 models old already.... infact.... you can probably find a 505 for a cheaper price!!
Mar 12 2006, 08:42 AM
348 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Kepong |
QUOTE(silbi @ Mar 11 2006, 08:34 PM) just buy those cheap behringers for starters...cheap and sounds ok...so when u think u wanna go further, invest in some better names... behringer retails for about RM100++ and u hav a wide variety of them... overdrive, tube overdrive, chorus, etc..or go for all those cheap zoom multifx...i'm sure those have all the basic necessary effects you'd ever need all boxed in one...the new model should be just around rm300+...i forgot... |
Mar 12 2006, 02:05 PM
Mar 12 2006, 04:05 PM
348 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Kepong |
I'm not sure, but i think behringer is analogue. they reverse engineer pedals from boss, ibanez and dunno who else, and present it as BEHRINGER. Hopefully the vets can offer more info.
BOSS is good (and expensive), can always get them... common knowledge i think, so no one recommend rmbr, u get what u pay for.. |
Mar 12 2006, 04:20 PM
Not really..... Boss are actually pretty resonable for pro quality sounds.....
But since we still don't know WHAT KIND OF SOUND/MUSIC THAT YOU WANT TO PLAY... it's hard to recommend single effect pedals......... you get the picture?? Not trying to be mean or anything..... but up until now.... you still haven't said what kind of tone you want, or what kind of band/artist you want to emulate.... you said you want a distortion/overdrive... but didn't say for what kind of music.... There are distortions for Heavy Metal (Boss Metal Zone, Digitech's The Weapon), Metal (Boss SD-1/DS-1, Digitech's Hot Rod), Punk Rock (Digitech's Hot Rod comes to mind)..... and don't forget.. distortions usually is amp dependent as well...... so there are a MILLION combinations for "Distortion"..... So please, again.... help us, help you..... read some previous posts and the rules before making comments like that again!!! *BlackTriX is on a rampage because his deadline is coming up and he still haven't figured out how to properly implement a Power() script into a lingo-based Scientific Calculator* This post has been edited by blacktrix: Mar 12 2006, 04:23 PM |
Mar 12 2006, 05:26 PM
hahahaha okok.... relax.
umm... i guess i want a more bassy, heavy, and deep sound that sounds like Sum41 (think Crazy Amanda Bunkface) & Blink182 & NewFound glory. something like that.... more rough kind of sound lor |
Mar 12 2006, 05:35 PM
If you're amp has distortion that you like, but not hard enough, I suggest you get the SD-1 for an overdrive.... remember..... SD-1 is NOT to be used on it's own..... you need to put it infront of your exsisting distortion for some major ball breaker....
If you want something with a bit more crunch or your amp is crap and can be used on it's own.... get the DS-1 instead... All these are BOSS pedals and should be about 180 a pedal. Honestly.... punk players are mostly direct from Amp to Guitar and that's it.... only a handful really uses a overdrive pedal in the front.... But like I said..... if you're a Noob.... forget about getting single pedals and get a multi-FX unit first..... |
Mar 12 2006, 07:06 PM
809 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
yup.. recommend a multifx . later when u know what u want, then only go for the stomp box.
Mar 12 2006, 07:10 PM
6,339 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 12 2006, 05:35 PM) If you're amp has distortion that you like, but not hard enough, I suggest you get the SD-1 for an overdrive.... remember..... SD-1 is NOT to be used on it's own..... you need to put it infront of your exsisting distortion for some major ball breaker.... better get a bad monkeyIf you want something with a bit more crunch or your amp is crap and can be used on it's own.... get the DS-1 instead... All these are BOSS pedals and should be about 180 a pedal. Honestly.... punk players are mostly direct from Amp to Guitar and that's it.... only a handful really uses a overdrive pedal in the front.... But like I said..... if you're a Noob.... forget about getting single pedals and get a multi-FX unit first..... SD-1 kinda sux the low end out from the tone |
Mar 12 2006, 07:43 PM
2,792 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
what will u choose between the boss mt-2 or distortion pedal.....?
Mar 12 2006, 09:53 PM
What distortion pedal are you talking about??
Mar 12 2006, 09:56 PM
basically turbo distortion ds-2 or ds-1...
Mar 12 2006, 09:58 PM
sigh.... here we go again..... of all persons, Angeling..... you should know that you MUST state what kind of sound or artist you want to emulate!!!!!
Mar 12 2006, 10:01 PM
5,231 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Pea Jay |
Mar 12 2006, 11:39 PM
QUOTE Hey guys, this is my friends' gear. Check it out and please give some comments. I'm really interested to hear.. (Clockwise from left) BOSS Flanger BF-2 BOSS Chorus CE-2(Made in Japan) BOSS Chromatic Tuner TU-2 Proco RAT 2 Distortion Pedal Ibanez Tubescreamer TS-9 Overdrive Pedal BOSS Phaser PH-1r (Made in Japan) Electroc Harmonix The Worm Modulator Pedal Digitech Digidelay X-Series Delay Pedal I have to bring that up... you have a friend which has some many pedals, since he is your friend, why don't you go to his place and try out his pedals (especially TS9 and Proco Rat) and start from there ? that should give you a good overview of all kinds of sound. Then you can always get a day-tour in the main music shops of KL and try out the pedals in there... Sum41 rig is this one: -Here- ![]() so he's going for MXR distortion pedals |
Mar 13 2006, 07:33 AM
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 12 2006, 05:35 PM) If you're amp has distortion that you like, but not hard enough, I suggest you get the SD-1 for an overdrive.... remember..... SD-1 is NOT to be used on it's own..... you need to put it infront of your exsisting distortion for some major ball breaker.... yeah.. Thanks. Looks like im headed to buy a multi-fx pedal. Maybe one of the Zooms. Get a general concept of the different kinds of sounds first. Then maybe much later i'll get single pedals. But i've tried the DS-1 and kinda liked it, so... If you want something with a bit more crunch or your amp is crap and can be used on it's own.... get the DS-1 instead... All these are BOSS pedals and should be about 180 a pedal. Honestly.... punk players are mostly direct from Amp to Guitar and that's it.... only a handful really uses a overdrive pedal in the front.... But like I said..... if you're a Noob.... forget about getting single pedals and get a multi-FX unit first..... Pix: yup. I played with him only once, for a Youth Rally Concert, and that time he was using mostly BOSS single pedals and the PROCO rat2, and Digital Delay. I tried only ONE of his pedals, namely the BOSS Distortion (the orange one). Haven't met up with him recently.. so hard to do that. But i think i'm gona take your advice and go on a lil' trip down to the stores to try out some multi-fx pedals in KL. hopefully can get something to help me kick-start. |
Mar 13 2006, 09:16 AM
sorry...what's the diffrences btw the multi-fx and multi-effect?
isn't that if i buy pod xt live it'll be a part useless for me bcoz i doesn't gig? thanks.. |
Mar 13 2006, 11:08 AM
useless ? no, the pod xt live will never be useless
now, i agree, the "live" thing (layout as a pedal board) is especially designed for live use. So the pod xt itself is always useful, but the "live" part of it is only beneficial if you need easy access to all effects/models at once.. it looks better than the "bean" though multi fx = multi effect... fx is an abbreviation for effect, my friend. |
Mar 13 2006, 11:49 AM
like i said, a multi fx would be a good choice if u dont know which sound u really want
later when u buy those stomp boxes u want, u can still use the effects that u dont have in the multifx. plus most multifx's have drum machines |
Mar 13 2006, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(plankton @ Mar 13 2006, 11:49 AM) like i said, a multi fx would be a good choice if u dont know which sound u really want Multi-fx with drum machines? wow Which ones? Can you give me some models, so i can research a bit? These sound like some pretty good ones to help me start off. oh ya, and if possible give me some prices too. thanks-later when u buy those stomp boxes u want, u can still use the effects that u dont have in the multifx. plus most multifx's have drum machines |
Mar 13 2006, 01:38 PM
This is my other friend's pedal. its a KORG Toneworks AX1500g Any opinions on this pedal? He considering selling to me second hand for RM400. This post has been edited by hydrogen: Mar 13 2006, 01:47 PM |
Mar 13 2006, 02:05 PM
thats a good price.. dunno how much it is new now, maybe other forumers know?? for 400 that would be a really good buy. id say get it but maybe the other guys here think different?
Mar 13 2006, 02:07 PM
wonderful ! hydrogen, go for it... really good price, and it's way higher range than zoom 505 or zoom 707. Check it's working fine though.
Mar 13 2006, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(Pix @ Mar 13 2006, 11:08 AM) useless ? no, the pod xt live will never be useless thanks!!now, i agree, the "live" thing (layout as a pedal board) is especially designed for live use. So the pod xt itself is always useful, but the "live" part of it is only beneficial if you need easy access to all effects/models at once.. it looks better than the "bean" though multi fx = multi effect... fx is an abbreviation for effect, my friend. afterall i can learn more from u all...what u all think about ths pod xt live? among the zoom gfx-8, boss gt-8 and pod xt live.....pod get the highest rating and almost good comment from user..... |
Mar 13 2006, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(Pix @ Mar 13 2006, 02:07 PM) wonderful ! hydrogen, go for it... really good price, and it's way higher range than zoom 505 or zoom 707. Check it's working fine though. phwoar... serious? its better than zoom 707 too? wow then i must seriously consider getting it. I'll tell my friend to hold it for me. Its working fine, i just saw him using it. |
Mar 13 2006, 02:44 PM
its on about the same level as the gfx8 i think.. buy buy! >:)
Mar 13 2006, 02:53 PM
hahahaha... most probably will. The only problem is that got another buyer also... wat if that fella want to outbid me by raising the price.
cilakak la... |
Mar 14 2006, 12:49 AM
hydrogen... if you're ready to put 500rm in the Zoom, consider putting at least 500rm for this Korg, if you have too. and a bit more to win the bid
Mar 14 2006, 03:51 AM
326 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
lolx...
Just straight go for GT-8 !!! |
Mar 14 2006, 07:30 AM
QUOTE(Pix @ Mar 14 2006, 12:49 AM) hydrogen... if you're ready to put 500rm in the Zoom, consider putting at least 500rm for this Korg, if you have too. and a bit more to win the bid hmmm.... ok. I think i trust your judgement. I'll tell my friend to hold it for me. Good thing i know him better than the other seller. And i just heard the KORG's wahwah, and it sounds quite decent! But that was through a 30watt amp. I'm wondering what the sound will be like through my pathetic little Marshall 10w..... |
Mar 14 2006, 09:18 AM
1,220 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Slavestate |
QUOTE(hydrogen @ Mar 13 2006, 12:23 PM) Multi-fx with drum machines? wow Which ones? Can you give me some models, so i can research a bit? These sound like some pretty good ones to help me start off. oh ya, and if possible give me some prices too. thanks- try this:![]() these are the details: QUOTE What's different from AdrenaLinn I? AdrenaLinn II gives you everything the original AdrenaLinn does-beat synched filter effects, amp modeling and drum machine-plus lots more, using a more powerful internal computer and expanded memory: * Redesigned for simplified operation-quickly and easily get the sounds you want * 12 new superb amp models for a total of 24 * New filter types for cool and strange new sounds * Delay time nearly tripled to 2.8 seconds for simple looping-like sounds * Foot selection of presets and tap tempo * Improved drum sounds, presets and drumbeats, and lots of new features all around! New to AdrenaLinn? Don't know what it is? AdrenaLinn II is an award-winning effects processor for guitar, keyboard or bass that combines 3 products in one: 1. A beat-synched multi-effects processor Tremolo, flanging, rotary, delay, random filtering and other modulation effects-including programmed sequences of filtered tones or note arpeggios-in perfect synch to the internal drumbeat or MIDI. Also included are classic filter effects like auto-wah, guitar synth and talk box! 2. A superb amp modeler 24 superb models of classic guitar amps over the past 40 years, distortion boxes, a clean preamp, and a few original amp models of our own. 3. A programmable drum machine A great-sounding beat box with 200 drumbeats and over 40 sounds. Beat-Synched Filter Effects What are beat-synched filter effects? Examples include tremolo, auto-pan, filter tremolo, flanger, chorus, rotary, vibrato and more, all in perfect synch to the internal drumbeats or to MIDI clock. (That out-of-synch tremolo on your guitar amp won't seem as useful anymore.) Plus all new effects including: * Random filtering-like a new random wah pedal position on every 1/8 or 1/16 note. Very cool solo sound when used with our amp models. * Random flanging-a new random flanger tone on every 1/8 or 1/16 note. Great for twangy arpeggios or held chords. * Tremolo sequences-how about reggae tremolo? Or swing tremolo? * Filter sequences-like a 2 measure rhythmic sequence of wah pedal movements. An incredible idea generator. * Pitched arpeggio sequences-infuses your playing with a sequence of pitched musical notes. Very weird/cool. Listen to these superb samples from from Craig Anderton's "AdrenaLinn Guitars" CD: "Hot" (1.7MB) or "Cool" (2.4MB). These consist of nothing but an AdrenaLinn and a ReDrum drum track. Click here to learn more about this CD and how to buy it. Classic Note-Triggered Filter Effects Did we mention filters? AdrenaLinn II contains emulations of various audio filters including wah pedal and classic Moog and Oberheim synth filters. You'll get plenty of auto-wah effects, guitar synthesizer sounds, volume swells, and even a talk box emulation without having to stick that damn plastic tube in your mouth. Superb Amp Modeling AdrenaLinn II also includes 24 superb modeled simulations of classic amps, distortion boxes, a clean preamp and even a few new amps or our design (click to hear each): Fender Bassman Fender Twin Reverb Marshall JTM-800 Vox AC-15 Roland Jazz Chorus JC-120 Soldano SLO-100 Roger Linn Design Deep Fuzz tone Fender Blackface Deluxe Marshall JTM-45 Hiwatt DR103 Budda Twinmaster Boogie Mark IV Roger Linn Design Thin Roger Linn Design Bright Octave fuzz Fender Early Deluxe Classic Marshall JTM-50 Vox AC-30 Top Boost Matchless Chieftain Boogie Dual Rectifier Roger Linn Design Blues Roger Linn Design Rectified Clean Preamp For distortion lovers, AdrenaLinn's models don't stop at the original amp's maximum gain. They don't even stop at 11. They go to over 1600 times overdrive! Go scramble some eggs and your note will still be sustaining when you get back. Beat-Synched Delay with simple looping The audio delay is always synched to the drumbeat or to MIDI. Just select a note value-1/4 note, 1/2 note, or any other-and the delay stays with you. With longer delays like a full measure, you get simple looping features: play a chord, then solo over it when it plays back perfectly in synch on the next bar. Programmable Drum Machine The internal drum machine has 100 factory and 100 user drumbeats from hard rock to lo-fi to dance to soft, and over 40 excellent drum sounds. Run the drums through the amps and beat-synched filter processing for some truly rude processed beats. Easy to use. Really. To play one of the 100 factory presets, simply find a preset in the list printed on the back of the manual, turn the PRESET knob to select the preset number and play. You can also press START to hear the drumbeat as you play. To adjust any of the effect, amp or delay settings that make up a preset, simply find the setting in the Edit Preset section in the center of the front panel, press the UP or DOWN arrow buttons to light the light next to it, then turn the knob above it. That's it. Selecting and tweaking effects has been greatly simplified from the original AdrenaLinn. Simply set the Effect parameter (in the Edit Preset section) to one of the 14 effect types shown at the left side of the panel, and then select one of the effect variations using the Variation parameter. Fine-tune the effect with the other 6 settings, or deep-edit with 4 additional hidden parameters. Upgradeable from the original AdrenaLinn Own an original AdrenaLinn? Purchase our AdrenaLinn II Upgrade Kit online to convert your unit to an AdrenaLinn II. for sound sample and promotional videos, click here. and it's available here!!! |
Mar 14 2006, 11:14 AM
Mar 14 2006, 11:21 AM
if uve got a fren coming back from japan, ask them to buy a multifx for u there
Mar 14 2006, 02:34 PM
Mar 14 2006, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(plankton @ Mar 14 2006, 11:21 AM) if uve got a fren coming back from japan, ask them to buy a multifx for u there err... no friends coming from Japan. But its ok lar. I'll just buy my friends wan.. now all i have to do is stinge a bit on my expenses and the KORG toneworks is mine.. muahahahahahaa |
Mar 14 2006, 03:33 PM
referring to your previous concern : plugging any kind of things within a marshall 10W won't produce anything good. So of course, in the future, you'll have to upgrade your amp. However, since you're more attracted to effects than "good" sound AND there is such a good deal on the Korg, you'll have to live with it
Interesting fact : One day led_zep plugs his 'noodle' into the input a marshall 10W, and it happens that some sound came out of it. It wasn't so clear (it's just a 10W) but the amplified sound says : "hey, thanks man, there's a hole, finally !!" hoooooo... just kidding !! |
Mar 14 2006, 10:48 PM
actually i know that nothing sounds good on a 10w amp lar, but the amp is just my practice only..
usually i play on a 30 watt one. But means that practice time wont be much fun, unless i use good earphones or something..? |
Jun 8 2006, 11:22 AM
73 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Shah Alam Selangor |
Got RM600 now...
any good multieffects in your list... play heavy metal stuff... its my fwen la... donno what to do... |
Jun 8 2006, 12:16 PM
78 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(hydrogen @ Mar 14 2006, 11:48 PM) actually i know that nothing sounds good on a 10w amp lar, but the amp is just my practice only.. save up some cash.. get a pure tube amp.. 15Watt at least.. no need any effectsusually i play on a 30 watt one. But means that practice time wont be much fun, unless i use good earphones or something..? juz my 2 cents =) |
Jun 9 2006, 10:00 PM
13 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
line 6 pod xt live
everthing in one 36 amps- fender twin reverb, marshall jcm 800, mesa boogie and more lot of effects- chorus, delay, reverbs and more whammy pedal , wah pedal and volume pedal sound the same as your guitar heroes for information e mail me at randy@ckmusic.com.my |
Jun 9 2006, 10:48 PM
Jun 9 2006, 11:01 PM
Wow....... isn't that Blatant advertising???
RM600 for a Pod XT live??!!! SIGN ME UP SCOTTY!!!! |
Dec 1 2006, 05:16 PM
15,903 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri |
What effects should I get if I want thrash/heavy metal sound... like... err.. Megadeth...
Dec 1 2006, 05:59 PM
Rocktron Prophesy II rack mount system:
http://www.rocktron.com/site/productreview...rophesy2_1.html ![]() This is now Dave Mustaine's weapon of choice when it comes to effects. Yours for only $1000.... USD..... If you can't fork out that much cash (honestly..... who here in this forum WOULD spend over RM4k on an effects system)..... Would suggest the POD Xt Live or a Digitech Workstation.... if an even lower budget.... I think a Zoom 2.1u or Korg ToneWorks 1500g should be sufficient. |
Dec 1 2006, 07:19 PM
2,515 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh/KL |
^ that is if you are going rack. there are other cheaper alternatives for rack setups, second hands or new. ie, T.C. Electronic G Major, Rocktron Replifex, Rocktron Intellifex etc. I'm still in a dilemma. Taking one step at a time.
Dec 1 2006, 07:26 PM
Whooooops. Forgot that the title of the thread is "The Best First Pedal to Purchase"...... I think a rack system would be a little far off "first"........
Dec 3 2006, 12:55 AM
87 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Boss Metalzone MT-2.
Dec 3 2006, 01:58 AM
142 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Just killed off my favourite pedal, the Boss DS-1. Will be getting a modified version (The DS-Ultra by Keeley Electronics) hopefully by year's end. Been hearing a lot of rave reviews about it, so might be worth your while.
Dec 3 2006, 01:59 AM
Boss MetalZone is quite subjective, not everybody prefer it, i would rather value DeathMetal from Digitech over Boss.
besides, I would like to reconmend ZOOM G2.1U, a very good pedal for newbies to advanced level, because it doesn't sound naturally...but more like digital sounds, not everybody like it.....so better test it before buying, but if you're playing heavy metal, get a Boss DS-1 as booster pedal, it's gain level is more than enough for me. Thanks. EDIT: Keelly Modded Boss ds-1 seems very popular at overseas...but never heard somebody owning(maybe) or selling it so far....can find it in Malaysia? This post has been edited by Criptonox89: Dec 3 2006, 02:00 AM |
Dec 3 2006, 11:13 AM
142 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(Criptonox89 @ Dec 3 2006, 01:59 AM) EDIT: Keelly Modded Boss ds-1 seems very popular at overseas...but never heard somebody owning(maybe) or selling it so far....can find it in Malaysia? |
Dec 3 2006, 12:35 PM
i have seen many setups not using any distortion pedal at all... is it because the amp already produce sufficient distorted sound through overdrive?
or should a distortion pedal like... err... Metal-Zone a must for playing metal riffs? |
Dec 3 2006, 12:54 PM
but as i told by few forummers, MetalZone is not necessary actually. If your amp had a distortion channel, just get a booster pedal like Boss DS-1, toooo high gain is really paining the head......
Dec 3 2006, 01:02 PM
What you DON'T see, is their racks and racks of effects hidden backstage.
But yes. There are guitarists who doesn't use a distortion pedal in front of their amps. Most amp heads are already powerful enough as it is..... Take for example Alexi Laiho.... He just passes his signal through a Lee Jackson Perfect Connection Tube Pre-Amp (sometimes uses a Sansamp Preamp), which is then passed to a RSP Hush system (to boost his low end) and splits it into stereo using Rocktron Intellifex system, and then into a VHT Two/Fifty/Two Power amp. |
Dec 3 2006, 02:56 PM
2,046 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: On a chair, facing the screen |
It's not a necessity, but sometime you just need them.
Many of us doesn't lug around our precious amps... Guitarer : MetalZone or DS-1 are the usual choice I guess. Basser : Pre-amp, Overdrive and Chorus. But usually, you won't find the need to use these pedals. |
Dec 3 2006, 03:01 PM
to me, always found the Metal Zone pedal to be a Noob metal guitarist pedal. When they first plug it in, they think "this is the heaviest thing ever!"
But once they start properly playing..... they'll find the gain like... "Gaaaaaahhhhh!!! Turn it down!" Would definitely recommend the DS-1 if you want better gain....... or the SD-1 to just dirty your sound. |
Dec 3 2006, 04:06 PM
2,046 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: On a chair, facing the screen |
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Dec 3 2006, 03:01 PM) to me, always found the Metal Zone pedal to be a Noob metal guitarist pedal. When they first plug it in, they think "this is the heaviest thing ever!" I believe for some people out there, they have a quest to look for "teh heaviest shit, the heavier, the better" sound. But once they start properly playing..... they'll find the gain like... "Gaaaaaahhhhh!!! Turn it down!" Would definitely recommend the DS-1 if you want better gain....... or the SD-1 to just dirty your sound. Of course, the subject of sound and tone are as subjective as beauty. This post has been edited by chapree: Dec 3 2006, 04:07 PM |
Dec 3 2006, 05:09 PM
sampled the sounds of Digitech DF7 on Digitech's website... sounds nice. are Digitech stuffs more expensive compare to Boss?
Dec 3 2006, 05:26 PM
depends..... Their individual stomp boxes are almost the same prices..... but their premium stuff such as their artist pedals or their expression factory.... VERY expensive. This is of course Bentley's prices.
I wonder if they will still have discount on their Whammy next year..... |
Dec 6 2006, 06:26 PM
620 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Penang, Malaysia |
For me, I think a guitarist should at least have a decent distortion box and a delay pedal. That should be quite sufficient to provide you with satisfactory sound under most circumstances. A chorus pedal would be good to have too for those clean sections.
This post has been edited by supercolossal: Dec 6 2006, 06:27 PM |
Jan 2 2007, 03:45 AM
41 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
hmm someone is selling me Zoom707ii for 250.. is it a bargain?
Jan 2 2007, 03:56 AM
1,217 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Kuching<-->KL/PJ |
QUOTE(supercolossal @ Dec 6 2006, 06:26 PM) For me, I think a guitarist should at least have a decent distortion box and a delay pedal. That should be quite sufficient to provide you with satisfactory sound under most circumstances. A chorus pedal would be good to have too for those clean sections. agree with what you say, but still it depends on what kind of music you're playing and what tone you're looking for...i personally think for simple distortion, the digitech hot head and boss ds-1 is a good place to start with...(i went for the hot head though) but for beginner, i think a distortion pedal, with the amp's built in reverb or delay will be enough for a quick start and also allow them to find the tone they want... boss metal zone can sound nice if you know how to tweek it, as i saw one of my friend did it...he can get a lot of different sound from the mt-2 alone... |
Jan 2 2007, 04:25 PM
687 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
The DS1 is not a very good distortion pedal. Granted it is cheap but the tone knob has very limited usable range, the gain is not a lot for a 'distortion' pedal and the distortion voicing is overall harsh and thin.
The better distortion pedal to get is the MD2. Despite being marketed as a nu-metal pedal, it is really just a souped up DS1 with more gain, fatter (bottom knob), and more usable tone range. It is however not an easy pedal to use and not the pedal for really super high gain tight heavy stuff. For a standard versatile distortion, the MD2 is probably the best you can buy for the money. The MT2 is good for metal and that's about it cause no matter how you tweak the gain and the settings, it still has that annoying metal hiss to the gain but then again, it is called a metal zone for a reason. Probably the easiest pedal to get a decent metal tone, however too many pedal push the gain to the max and scooped the mids too much hence making the pedal less than stellar in a band mix. With the right settings, i.e. less gain, more mids, it can sound really heavy. For a booster pedal, the OD3 is the best one BOSS has to offer. It is also one of the most expensive overdrive/distortion pedal by BOSS being the same price as a MT2. It is clearly superior to the SD1 in everyway, except for the price. The OD3 has more gain (enough for GN'R stuff), sounds a lot more fatter and warm by itself and sounds really fat when boosted (the sd1 tightens up the tone but not really fattens it by much since it cuts bass). The SD1 by itself sounds quite thin, the gain really pathetic even for an overdrive pedal and not warm at all. That said, for first distortion pedal that is versatile, go for the MD2. IF your interest is only in metal and nothing else, get the MT2. IF you have a tube amp, the OD3 is the natural choice. |
Jan 12 2007, 04:21 PM
483 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
for a starter.. what multifx should i buy... how much is 1 roughly..
Jan 12 2007, 09:11 PM
30,735 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
dont forget with pedals, its the sum of all the parts taken together that creates your sound...not just one pedal.
of cos when regular ppl, those who have no nice tube amps, look for pedals, they want something that can give them nice distortion. but for others...for example the Boss SD-1. Zakk Wylde and Richie Sambora are just two of them who use/d it as a boost for solo work, cos they already have nice tube amps to handle the main rhythm work. Zakk also uses a Wah as a boost, he's said that he hates all that wah wah wah sounds. another case, this time with a fuzz face user on another forum. he's hated it cos it was very thin sounding, guess like the Boss DS-1...until he stuck a crybaby after it...then the sound immediately fattened up even with the crybaby on bypass. of cos if the pedal is really bad, no matter what you do it cant be helped. This post has been edited by Everdying: Jan 12 2007, 09:28 PM |
Jan 12 2007, 10:13 PM
That's true....... but sometimes, a sound that's perfect for someone, might be crap to others..... it's all about personal preference really.
Even if we recommend you a kick-ass MXR/Jim Dunlop pedal board, it might not sound right to you..... |
Jan 12 2007, 11:11 PM
483 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
i'm using marshall 15 DFX ... izzit ok?? i'm planning to buy a multi fx.. with wah and everything la.. but not so expensive.. which will you all reccomand..
This post has been edited by ggoo: Jan 12 2007, 11:12 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0444sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:22 PM |