Kia Optima K5 Nexen Tyre Blew at 130kmph, Is this a common problem?

TScybermaster98
post Dec 6 2012, 04:29 PM, updated 13y ago

4,440 posts

I was driving from KL to Ipoh travelling at about 130 kmph only when suddenly my rear right Nexen tyre blew just before Gopeng at about 6.45am. It wasn’t a gradual loss of pressure from a normal puncture but a complete immediate blowout. 90% of the tire along the rims was torn to shreads. Despite having the radio on quite loud, I could hear the ‘explosion’ so you can imagine how loud it was.

I was in the midst of overtaking a trailer when it happened (2 lane stretch). The car immediately started swerving towards the guardrail and I didn’t dare counter steer because the trailer was too close. But within a split second the stability control system engaged. I could feel the brakes being automatically applied to the rear side of the car while the system throttled down the engine and i was able to maneuver without incident.

My tyres are stock Nexen CP643a 225-45-R18 95V. Purchased my car end April 2012 so the tyres are fairly new. All tyres were rotated, balanced and alligned just the week before this.

Heard from some others that there have been cases of Nexen tyres experiencing a blow out. Any verified stories? Is this a real concern?

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Dec 6 2012, 04:58 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Thrust
post Dec 6 2012, 04:34 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Did you ever patched your tyre before?
TScybermaster98
post Dec 6 2012, 04:56 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Dec 6 2012, 04:34 PM)
Did you ever patched your tyre before?
No patch. Its a new tyre about 7 months old.
6UE5T
post Dec 6 2012, 08:49 PM

1,704 posts

Phew scary! Good to hear you & your car is ok.
That's why I never trust tire brands which are still very new like Nexen. Better trade off your tires with more trusted brands. And you should claim for your blown tire too.
yngwie
post Dec 6 2012, 09:08 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

well, my only set of nexen n5000 lasted less than 5k km. the inner sidewall on 2 of the tires badly worn out. driving on cold pressure out of garage, regardless of turning left or right, the car will swerve much more than usual, which is very dangerous on open road.
coming from someone which emphasize much more on tires, wrong pressure / worn out bushes or out of sort alignment is definitely out of question.

btw, looking at the damage, it was more or less same case as mine. lucky i noticed the damage much earlier. observing 'steering feel' is a good way to identify / notice the tires / suspension problem.
and to be safe, get 'em change at once. life is worth more than those 4 pieces of donut.
TScybermaster98
post Dec 6 2012, 10:45 PM

4,440 posts

My tire had a puncture as well. BUt i dont think that would have caused 90% of the side wall to blow out so suddenly rite?
Quazacolt
post Dec 7 2012, 01:24 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 6 2012, 10:45 PM)
My tire had a puncture as well. BUt i dont think that would have caused 90% of the side wall to blow out so suddenly rite?
this could be a cause.

assuming on higher speed, higher air pressure/heat and what not, on badly made tires (again assumptions here), a blow out is not surprising at all.
TScybermaster98
post Dec 7 2012, 08:03 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 7 2012, 01:24 AM)
this could be a cause.
assuming on higher speed, higher air pressure/heat and what not, on badly made tires (again assumptions here), a blow out is not surprising at all.
Yup. I doubt this would have happened with a Michelin or any of those premium brands. Tyres are designed to withstand a certain degree of 'impact' but i guess Nexen's arent the best of brands and surely no where close to Michelin standards.

NelsonBoy
post Dec 12 2012, 08:23 PM

l Audio Paradise l
1,120 posts

lucky ur driving K5.

imagine if ur driving cheaper car.....without those electronic safety..scary
kamikazecommando
post Dec 13 2012, 06:48 AM

90 posts

Had a rear blowout in a kancil before.

Nothing to do with stability control as rear blowout are usually manageable.

Don't blowout with front wheels then jialat.

Recommend Michelin to you from official Michelin shop. Got warranty against any defects like this.

TScybermaster98
post Dec 13 2012, 08:25 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kamikazecommando @ Dec 13 2012, 06:48 AM)
Had a rear blowout in a kancil before.

Nothing to do with stability control as rear blowout are usually manageable.

Don't blowout with front wheels then jialat.

Recommend Michelin to you from official Michelin shop. Got warranty against any defects like this.
Bro, just because u could control a blow out doesnt mean ull be able to do so all the time. Ive had friends who are experienced drivers and yet lost control due to a rear blowout. There are alot of other factors that might determine if u lose control or not.

1) Tyre & rim profile
2) Weight of the car
3) Load
4) Speed
5) Allignment of the car (blowout on straight stretch or on a bend)
6) Road condition - wet? dry? rain?

And yes am planning to change to either Michelin Pilot Super Sport or Goodyear Eagle F1 Assy 2. The Assy 2 is a better tyre actually. Only size doesnt quite match mine. Hoping for a new performance tyre from Michelin or Goodyear next year.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Dec 13 2012, 08:27 AM
sleepwalker
post Dec 13 2012, 10:27 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

This looks more like a carcass failure than a blowout since the sidewall separated from the thread. The separation is definitely a failure of some kind on the manufacturing process as driving on a flat tyre will never separate the sidewall from the thread as cleanly as yours did.
TScybermaster98
post Dec 13 2012, 10:36 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Dec 13 2012, 10:27 AM)
This looks more like a carcass failure than a blowout since the sidewall separated from the thread. The separation is definitely a failure of some kind on the manufacturing process as driving on a flat tyre will never separate the sidewall from the thread as cleanly as yours did.
Can you give me more info please? Im trying to make a case against Naza Kia but difficult.
sleepwalker
post Dec 13 2012, 12:42 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 13 2012, 10:36 AM)
Can you give me more info please? Im trying to make a case against Naza Kia but difficult.
That would be the difficult part. We all know that the structure of the tyre is held together by the inner metal mesh and when that fails, the carcass would fail as the rubber can't hold itself together without the mesh. From your pics you can see that the sidewall is separated rather neatly from the tread. A single point of failure like a puncture will not cause that kind of damage. If you search for carcass / sidewall separation you will find quite of number of cases that looks like yours.

As you have posted that you heard a blowout, that would mean the entire sidewall separated at the same time. Unlike Hollywood, a single puncture or point of failure will not cause a tyre to 'explode' like in the movies.
boyz
post Dec 13 2012, 10:35 PM

Your Humble Vaudevillian
1,523 posts

I had my NEXEN N8000 205/45/16 running for 38K now, served me well, well yesterday found out that my frnt walls are cracked and deemed to change this few days and are rather threadless less than 5mm on the threads.

Few factors to consider, tyre pressure and road condition, for your stock car.
TScybermaster98
post Dec 14 2012, 12:18 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(boyz @ Dec 13 2012, 10:35 PM)
I had  my NEXEN N8000 205/45/16 running for 38K now, served me well, well yesterday found out that my frnt walls are cracked and deemed to change this few days and are rather threadless less than 5mm on the threads.

Few factors to consider, tyre pressure and road condition, for your stock car.
Pressure was fine. Tyres is good condition. Incident happened on the NSE at 6.45am near Gopeng.
yorkhan
post Sep 26 2013, 02:22 PM

598 posts

In the end did u manage to claim?
efaceninja
post Sep 26 2013, 07:47 PM

woahhh scarrryyyy
good that your car got the ESC system. Nexen huh? Its a korean brand, but for your particular tyre, where is it manufactured?? the "Made In xxx" printed on your blown Nexen and the other 3 Nexen.

because sometimes ppl said is the brand's problem, but some ppl said its actually Made in where problem. Since sometimes a few brand would practically share a same tyre factory, no?
tanjs87
post Sep 27 2013, 01:21 AM

62 posts

Nexen is shit. I experienced it myself. Tire blew on highway. Lucky i was doing around 100kmh. Was using Nexen N6000, done less than 10k KM.

No more Nexen for me nor my family despite how great the review for N8000 yada yada. I rather spend a few hundred more on good branded tyres than losing my life.
yorkhan
post Sep 27 2013, 09:58 AM

598 posts

Double post

This post has been edited by yorkhan: Sep 27 2013, 09:59 AM

0.0231sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:41 AM