Ninetology Black Pearl 2, Anyone tried this hp?

JJKTP
post Dec 7 2012, 08:59 AM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(ralph_d @ Nov 30 2012, 08:39 AM)
well something have to give to keep the price below 1k.
even if they manage to make it, the price will land at those premium brand price range, which leads to the famous question: would you buy a csl or buy samsung/htc/sony/etc.?
they got to sell their stuff y'knw
Any latest info on performance and battery life?
JJKTP
post Dec 7 2012, 11:40 AM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(ralph_d @ Dec 7 2012, 11:22 AM)
used it for a while, one full charge can certainly last whole day with average usage. If minimal usage maybe 2 days.

As for gaming, no problem running Dead Trigger and Beach Buggy Blitz.

like i already said before comparing with NovaThor U8500 (as both is dual core cortex-a9 @ 1GHz, 512mb ram) The processor perform slightly better than U8500, but still, Mali-400MP is stronger than PowerVR SGX531.

any specific thing you wanna know?
I see. Thanks for the reply.

How is the performance of the SoC compared to MSM8225 Dual Core Cortex A5? On paper seems MT6577 have the edge but how about in real world?

One more thing. Any issue so far with the phone? Any other thing that you think we need to be told? Thanks again.

This post has been edited by JJKTP: Dec 7 2012, 01:06 PM
JJKTP
post Dec 7 2012, 12:14 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(ralph_d @ Dec 7 2012, 11:57 AM)
im not that familiar with the msm8225 but yes on paper mt6577 should be better, considering the cortex-A5 and cortex-A9 difference and also one is 45nm and the other is 40nm, and it's a common sense that smaller means more energy efficient, which leads to better battery life.

on real world though, not that much difference. apart from BP2 have USB-OTG function, i don't know mi501 got or not.

issues, well there's hiccups here and there, which is normal because even my sola got hiccups here and there. ICS still don't have Project Butter unlike Jelly Bean which is much much smoother. No problem with Wi-Fi so far, and GPS is a little slow (compared to my sola again) but that's normal for a new phone. It'll lock faster after starting it up at the same place several times. The A-GPS function is redundant though, not recommended to turn on, or it'll just make things worse.

I am anti Go Launcher kind of user, and i hate that BP2 comes preinstall Go Launcher with it. so i use back stock launcher, and it perform much much better. hmm... might want to test Zenonia 5 tonight, note to self tongue.gif

overall, if 5.2" is too large, this 4" alternative is not that bad at all. I bought my sola for RM999 back then, and both perform almost the same. BP2 lacks some of the functions sola have (NFC, floating touch, Sony's own s/w, which I like) but performance wise it still can keep up.

The camera was awesome too. not only still shot but also got panoramic shot and scrolling shot. even better it is an 8MP unit!
Thank you so much for a very informative reply. Feel free to share pictures of your launchers as well as your personal experience with it.

Speaking of the camera, how good is it? Is it comparable to any branded model that you could name? Do share some pics takne using BP and others for comparison. Do share your personal experience and comment in this.

Thanks a lot bro.
JJKTP
post Dec 7 2012, 01:04 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(ralph_d @ Dec 7 2012, 11:22 AM)
used it for a while, one full charge can certainly last whole day with average usage. If minimal usage maybe 2 days.

As for gaming, no problem running Dead Trigger and Beach Buggy Blitz.

like i already said before comparing with NovaThor U8500 (as both is dual core cortex-a9 @ 1GHz, 512mb ram) The processor perform slightly better than U8500, but still, Mali-400MP is stronger than PowerVR SGX531.

any specific thing you wanna know?
How is the screen compared to other 4 inchers like Xperia J (which has a very nice screen for the price)
JJKTP
post Dec 7 2012, 03:30 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Dec 7 2012, 12:14 PM)
Thank you so much for a very informative reply. Feel free to share pictures of your launchers as well as your personal experience with it.

Speaking of the camera, how good is it? Is it comparable to any branded model that you could name? Do share some pics takne using BP and others for comparison. Do share your personal experience and comment in this.

Thanks a lot bro.
QUOTE(ralph_d @ Dec 7 2012, 01:57 PM)
the screen cannot match with sony's no air gap screen
the only good thing about BP2's screen is it got IPS, other than that it's just another 4" WVGA screen.
Thanks bro.

How about the camera as my question above?

This post has been edited by JJKTP: Dec 7 2012, 03:37 PM
JJKTP
post Dec 7 2012, 04:25 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(ralph_d @ Dec 7 2012, 04:02 PM)
if you ask me about the camera the answer would be quite subjective. (I'd say 'quite satisfied')
The phone is at home now, not with me, and gimme some time to take 'proper' photos (current photo only some macro shots in my room). I'll upload them here afterwards. You'll be the judge yourself

The camera app is the default ICS camera app, no special add on or whatsoever.
Thanks bro. Looking forward to that.
JJKTP
post Dec 9 2012, 10:47 AM

4,155 posts

Still waiting for your camera comparison, bro. smile.gif
JJKTP
post Dec 10 2012, 11:54 AM

4,155 posts

Thanks for the post bro. What is your take on that?
JJKTP
post Dec 11 2012, 12:34 AM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(Cranky guy @ Dec 10 2012, 03:48 PM)
Comparing to CSL Mi501.

[attachmentid=3198628]

When you take into account the price and other things, Black Pearl 2 is an especially awesome phone!
I can see detail score for BP2 by our bro ralph_d.

Could you post detail score for the Mercury?

JJKTP
post Dec 21 2012, 11:52 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(hokin @ Dec 21 2012, 03:55 PM)
Can the phone OS be upgraded to something newer, e.g..ice cream and jelly bean?
I thought it is already on ics.
JJKTP
post Dec 22 2012, 02:18 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(QWERTYUIOP12 @ Dec 22 2012, 07:30 AM)
It IS DIFINITELY  on ICS. LOL tongue.gif
I just use a softer word on him. smile.gif
JJKTP
post Dec 25 2012, 08:35 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(Cranky guy @ Dec 23 2012, 01:59 PM)
It's not the BP2's fault, but the MTK6577's fault. MTK6577's signal is not good outside of China.
I see. Thanks for the info. Hope MTK6588 get the issue solved.
JJKTP
post Dec 29 2012, 10:36 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(kingrareglove @ Dec 29 2012, 01:00 PM)
only BP2 is the best on the gov list. I would like to review stealth2. Still lost on the lookout for mi501
They should at least have Stealth 2 and Mi501 on the list.
JJKTP
post Dec 29 2012, 11:05 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(Cranky guy @ Dec 29 2012, 10:55 PM)
Other than BP2, everything on that list is silly. I mean come on, who would use a Galaxy Pocket in this day and age? And WTF is The Buzz Phone?
I look at it a an effing scheme to fools Malaysian youth.
JJKTP
post Dec 30 2012, 12:18 AM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(Cranky guy @ Dec 29 2012, 11:13 PM)
I seriously thought they were going to have phones like Mercury, Stealth 2, Galaxy S2, HTC One S, ZTE V970, Etc., but no, they give these already cheap phones that no one wants to use the rebate.
Exactly. Can't wait for March next year to exercise my constitutional right. wink.gif
JJKTP
post Dec 30 2012, 12:33 AM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(firefly3x @ Dec 30 2012, 12:21 AM)
That time maybe new model come out already smile.gif
Yeah. New models and a new gahmen. wink.gif
One that do not treat youth like a fool.

This post has been edited by JJKTP: Dec 30 2012, 12:34 AM
JJKTP
post Dec 30 2012, 12:57 AM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(kingrareglove @ Dec 30 2012, 12:49 AM)
Agreed. BP2 is the best on the list. They think we still use nokia. Fool ppl too much
In addition, those fuc*er want us to accept phones with S40 OS as a smartphone.
JJKTP
post Dec 30 2012, 01:17 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(firefly3x @ Dec 30 2012, 11:09 AM)
Me too. Yesterday evening i went over to Lowyat, it seems that the BP2 is sold out as they didnt bring enough stocks. However they intro the Ninetology Insight to me, it has a bigger screen (4.3) and the price is RM699.

No info on the web about this model.
Any detail spec for this insight?
JJKTP
post Dec 30 2012, 01:46 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(Cranky guy @ Dec 30 2012, 01:33 PM)
Nope, Ninetology haven't said anything about this model.
I bet they still practice draconian warranty void with digi. What is your quess?
JJKTP
post Dec 30 2012, 04:38 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(firefly3x @ Dec 30 2012, 04:31 PM)
Last Wednesday I was at Lowyat and I did ask about this matter to one of the promoter. He said warranty WILL NOT be void if DIGI sim card is removed. Dunno how true is it.
Ninetology has PUBLICLY announced that removing the DiGi sticker WILL VOID the warranty.

Some seller willing to say anything you want to hear just so you buy. Basically it is win-win for them and DiGi. They have less thing to worry about warranty (as most user will remove the sticker) and DiGi get users for some months before any of the users have any gut to remove the sticker. See! It is a win-win for them. Not for us.

This post has been edited by JJKTP: Dec 30 2012, 04:49 PM

3.5727sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:52 AM