Hi guys! Here's my workspace. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Snecx: Jul 23 2009, 09:26 PM
Snecx
post Jul 23 2009, 09:40 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(ujoewong @ Jul 23 2009, 09:16 PM)
17" MacBook Pro + mStand by RainDesign + Wired Keyboard and Wireless MM + WD External HDD + Apple Universal Dock with what gadget?  rclxms.gif

Perfect lighting as well. Also, the car on the background.  thumbup.gif
Wow, you definitely caught up a lot of details. On the dock is the first gen iPod Touch 32GB, my first Apple product. I started to convert to Mac 2 months after iPod purchase. It was an iMac 24" which is barely visible in the picture above, in the reflection of the sliding door. 12 months have passed since my convert and I am now 100% Mac, except for my development machines.

It's a bliss to be on Mac. smile.gif
Snecx
post Jul 25 2009, 11:08 PM

208 posts

Thanks everyone! I have only completed that workspace last month actually. The Markus swivel chair from IKEA is my first office chair. Very nice. nod.gif

@ujoewong: How's the wireless keyboard? Got miss the numpad and can the battery tahan long? It looks very neat without wires.

This post has been edited by Snecx: Jul 25 2009, 11:09 PM
Snecx
post Sep 14 2009, 06:54 AM

208 posts

That dual MBP15" is overkill. biggrin.gif

Anyway, here's my latest workspace. I'm back to dual screen setup after buying Mini DisplayPort to VGA adapter. Workspace is missing an iPhone 3G[S] booked 20 days ago from Maxis! And that's my living room by the way. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Snecx: Sep 14 2009, 08:30 AM
Snecx
post Sep 14 2009, 10:28 AM

208 posts

Thanks! The monitor is HP w2408h, more details here: http://www.anandtech.com/displays/showdoc....i=3188&p=3&cp=3

Snecx
post Sep 14 2009, 07:44 PM

208 posts

@gengstapo: Can handle a 6 speed manual or not? flex.gif

@llsphinxll:
I'm not using bluelounge's cable box ler. Almost all my furniture also from IKEA one. There's a wire organizer below the desk, near the back. Just not very visible only.

I got 6 cables plugged into my MBP all the time. Keyboard and mouse both also wired coz really tired of replacing batteries. shakehead.gif Kinda messy actually but thankfully the mStand got a hole for wire organization, which helps quite a bit.

@devabby:
I bought it at RM1.8k last year in April. Price should be cheaper now. A lot of LCD monitors nowadays can also rotate to portrait mode. And yea that's my Fairlady in the background. blush.gif
Snecx
post Sep 15 2009, 12:36 PM

208 posts

Got bigger one here: http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3423/391758...a2f5bdf34_o.jpg

I clean up once a while, weekly at best.
Snecx
post Sep 17 2009, 10:22 AM

208 posts

First time trying this... but here goes!

FOUR full HD monitors, ONE keyboard, ONE mouse.

Left to right:
24" 1920x1200
23" 1920x1080
24" 1200x1920
17" 1920x1200

Surreal!
Snecx
post Sep 17 2009, 08:48 PM

208 posts

llsphinxll, long story how I got until this setup.

If you see my previous photos, I already use iMac via Screen Sharing. I have multiple OS installed in iMac via Parallels Desktop for web development. That's how I load up IE6, IE8, Firefox, Chrome, Opera and Safari at the same time as well as simulating my web server configuration.

When I added one external display to my MBP, I used the internal MBP display to connect to the iMac via Screen Sharing. However the nature of Screen Sharing is that it is not real time and the lag kinda gets on my nerve after prolonged hours of testing.

I am unable to put the iMac on the same table as my MBP+external display due to size limitation so I tried putting the iMac table close to my main table. It was a little far but it worked because I got 2 sets of keyboard and mouse. I was controlling the iMac wirelessly via the Logitech VX Revolution mouse and wireless keyboard and switch between the set during testing. The mouse you see in the previous photo is the VX Revolution.

Then I tried putting the extra display I have on my main table, driven by the iMac. It filled the gap nicely, monitors are side by side.

Later I even got rid of the keyboard and mouse of iMac by using Teleport ( http://lifehacker.com/294909/control-multi...e-with-teleport ) and now it functions like a single entity multi-displays. My mouse pointer can just move over to the iMac displays seamlessly! One keyboard and mouse for 4 different displays! This is the surreal part for me.

Suppose I can turn off iMac's internal display coz I rarely use it and 3 is more than enough. But there isn't an option to use just the external display and not the internal one. sweat.gif So now here's my allocation of work:

Left to right:
iMac 24" - Research pages, code references, random stuff needed for work
Acer H233H 23" - Multiple browsers for development tests
HP w2408h 24" - Portrait mode, main display for coding, showing up to 160 lines of codes at once
MBP 17" - IM, emails, iTunes, personal browsing (Facebook, Twitter, Lowyat, etc.)

I must say having extra monitor makes things much more productive. There isn't a need to switch windows around. thumbup.gif
Snecx
post Sep 18 2009, 02:51 AM

208 posts

@lawl: True to that. Hopefully the efficiency contributes back to productivity and hopefully more income. smile.gif

@llsphinxll: Oh, that. Actually I only need 3 monitors for work. You can say it's only practical when work demands it. For my day to day usage I'm more comfortable with one 1920x1200 workspace.
Snecx
post Sep 18 2009, 07:05 AM

208 posts

The monitor I have has this portrait mode listed as a feature. Quite some monitors I know support it by default.
Snecx
post Dec 27 2009, 05:04 AM

208 posts

Mine still work in progress. Hoping it will be done by new year! biggrin.gif Still missing quite some stuff...

Link: http://www.flickr.com/photos/snecx/4216252165/

Snecx
post Dec 28 2009, 11:46 PM

208 posts

Yeah, there's a car seat there. Also I don't drive the 350Z anymore, sold it. Now just using an old junk. thumbup.gif Just got my Apple Wireless Keyboard and Magic Mouse today. biggrin.gif Got myself socket extension and wires too. I am only settling down now. The piano in the pic is also newly bought this month.

I will share the final result when it's done. I work as a web developer by the way and that is my home-office. smile.gif
Snecx
post Dec 30 2009, 03:40 PM

208 posts

Wow, that is nice..
Snecx
post Dec 30 2009, 11:25 PM

208 posts

Progress shot. All wires of my desk is located here.

New year is approaching quick. I'm still lacking a few things here and there. sad.gif

Snecx
post Jan 1 2010, 10:22 PM

208 posts

Happy New Year 2010 guys!!

Any updates for the new year? Mine couldn't finish tho. Darn it. Haha. Hopefully, in the next few days...
Snecx
post Jan 7 2010, 06:28 AM

208 posts

WIP:

My work in progress is done...

POV:

Overview:

This post has been edited by Snecx: Jan 7 2010, 06:29 AM
Snecx
post Jan 23 2010, 04:33 PM

208 posts

Rechargeable batteries are more advanced now. A pair of NiMH AA's can last as much as 1000 alkalines, they are recyclable and best of all you don't need to be stuck with an inbuilt battery soldered to the mouse. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Snecx: Jan 23 2010, 04:41 PM
Snecx
post Jan 27 2010, 12:58 PM

208 posts

Hi guys, I updated my workspace again. Also uploaded into the Flickr set are my workspace configurations since 2004.

Snecx
post Jan 27 2010, 01:37 PM

208 posts

Technically I'm a web developer. *hint: look at my signature*

0.0527sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled