4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V10, 5 million sold already!!

joytest
post Nov 27 2012, 06:59 AM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(luvjim @ Nov 27 2012, 05:33 AM)
Just wondering if do software update will it affect flashing in the future. Long time never flash.  sweat.gif
Halo ah Na! wave.gif
Haha, actually didn't plan to get this so soon. But someone went to buy it already for my early birthday present. lol.
I long time never flash liow, still need to check back those guidelines.  sweat.gif
Not programmer also can do la. You also done it liow.  laugh.gif

Okok. Thanks all, will update it. smile.gif
Flashing has become a lot easier compared to way back, with lots of toolkits and almost one-click flashing on xda. Execution takes only 5 minutes or so.

Have fun.

Added on November 27, 2012, 7:01 am
QUOTE(merchant9 @ Nov 27 2012, 05:59 AM)
I'm using maxis. All the while Ok. Since yesterday it only detect edge or G. Seems like it stop detecting H or H+.

I restarted the phone. Took out sim card. Off mobile data and turn on again. I even choose my provider to Maxis. Set to Gsm/cdma. Everything.

Problem still the same. Please help urgently.
Could be some network upgrade?

Some guy from TM knocked on my door earlier and asked if I experienced any network issues as they had been upgrading the fiber...

Could be Maxis doing the same on their radio network.

Haha....I recall you haven't been around for quite some time.

This post has been edited by joytest: Nov 27 2012, 07:01 AM
joytest
post Nov 27 2012, 07:54 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Nov 27 2012, 07:44 AM)
Yoz peeps!, thinking getting APset which comes with 2yrs warranty for rm1798 comes with 5 gifts from Brandstar.

Didn't follow AP phone lately, other than warranty differences, how about in terms of upgrading it's firmware etc., does it differs to SME ones?

The last APset phone i bought about 5years back have positive impression as they fixed my phone on the same day i sent.

Anyone have APset here care to share their thoughts on it?

Thanks in advanced for those who replied smile.gif
So far no one here seems to have complained about bad AP phones.....yet.
In terms of software, there is NO DIFFERENCE. You can install any firmware from any region to your phone. Obviously only GN2 firmware will work.

For approx RM300 difference, you can get SME. Choice is yours.
joytest
post Nov 27 2012, 08:35 AM

13,188 posts

I know this has been posted before, but I think this headline is way funnier:

http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/11/26/wh...omatic-ass-bot/

What Hath Science Wrought: Behold Samsung's Phone-Crushing Automatic Ass-Bot

It seems to be a growing trend among manufacturers to show off the process behind creating their products. Today, Samsung joined the ranks, bringing us an inside look of the stress test process that the company's moneymaker undergoes. To ensure that every Galaxy S III can stand up to all the punishment you can throw at it, there are a number of machines that attempt to scratch, crack, or soak the handset to see how well it can hold up. Oh, yeah, and there's an automated ass that sits on the phone over and over again.

If you've ever seen a stress test video, there won't be much here that's entirely shocking, though this clip is in Korean. Just switch on Closed Captioning and enable English translations for some happiness malfunction speech if to translations. Though, no matter how bad the subtitles may be, the robo-butt is understandable across all language derrières / barriers.

joytest
post Nov 27 2012, 08:55 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Nov 27 2012, 08:49 AM)
Hai Guys.

Just to check, what's the best battery saver app available now?

Thanks in advance guys =`)
No need to use any battery saver app. This phone kills everything else out there.
25h+ with 3.5h screen on time. Should be able to hit up to 5 hours on browsing.

No tweaks, Omega v4.0 with default kernel.

Added on November 27, 2012, 8:56 am
QUOTE(antt00 @ Nov 27 2012, 08:54 AM)
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif

whistling.gif

Yessss best app ever.

This post has been edited by joytest: Nov 27 2012, 08:56 AM
joytest
post Nov 27 2012, 05:24 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(aremeerul81 @ Nov 27 2012, 04:35 PM)
sure get promote to be ass. manager  rclxm9.gif    rclxm9.gif

Correct abbreviation will be ASST.

You can look up what your abbreviation means.
joytest
post Nov 27 2012, 07:13 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Nov 27 2012, 07:09 PM)
Wow...a developer who actually replies!
I think many do. I corresponded with the dev of Handy Note and they also kindly replied. I mailed them some feature suggestions.

joytest
post Nov 28 2012, 04:51 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(maru @ Nov 28 2012, 03:19 AM)
i saw ads bout note 2, it wont easily scratch

it tested in the ads

gorilla glass some more

my question is.....do i need screen protector? since it show how great it is...

i dowan use cover anymore...feel nicer without any cover

Added on November 28, 2012, 3:19 amin case anyone need the link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dc9c5YFyovU&feature=share
In this thread, several posts back, at least 2 people reported dropping and breaking the glass. So if you are butterfingers, get a nice case that covers all sides.
SP seems to be largely personal preference, but Gorilla Glass can be scratched by sand.

The Gorilla Glass 2 on Note2 is thinner than Gorilla Glass 1. A result of the "cheaper, faster, better' thinking. But in practice, you have to choose only 2 of the 3. Which 2 you get depends on your luck and how you drop it laugh.gif
joytest
post Nov 28 2012, 07:18 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Nov 28 2012, 04:31 PM)
Okok.. thank buddy. Im confuse with her word pay as u use... bt thanks for your explanation. Now I understand what she was trying to say.

Btw, since your mom is best fren of celcom manager, will they offer pretty much like maxis surf more? XD

Jz asking. No offence ya
QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Nov 28 2012, 05:13 PM)
Monthly commitment is RM75. So all your calls and sms will count as part of this monthly commitment until you exceed. If you call less than RM75, you'll still pay RM75. But if data > 5gb or call/sms more than >RM75, you'll have to pay extra on top of your monthly commitment.
Celcom has the mAdvance Data 68 and 88. I am using 88 for 5gb data, 60m calls and 60 sms inclusive. After that it is pay as you go.

Maxis SURFMORE 50/75 is a DATA ONLY plan. If you add up 60m and 60sms for Maxis, it comes out as slightly more expensive than Celcom's but I think Maxis has better performance.

Celcom seems to throttle PLAY STORE connection from 8pm to 3am daily.

Maxis TALKMORE is a voice/sms plan with option to add on data.

QUOTE(tot31 @ Nov 28 2012, 05:33 PM)
the bigger size is a pro for me.... biggrin.gif the only con that I can find atm is nothing I guess... laugh.gif
Bigger size is a DEFINITE PRO..... cannot ever face anything smaller......
Only con is the 1280x720 vs the Note1's 1280x800

Hopefull Note3 gets 1920x1200
joytest
post Nov 28 2012, 10:44 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Nov 28 2012, 10:10 PM)
Hi uncle. I think robin meant was it will be able to turn on and off the wifi automatically. Works for people lazy like me or people who are lazy to turn off their wifi. Haha
QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 28 2012, 10:12 PM)
No need. Wifi auto disconnect if you are out of range
These stunts only for older phones where wifi on could drain battery
Definitely not applicable for note 2. Moreover it has already great battery life
QUOTE(nicregi @ Nov 28 2012, 10:20 PM)
Wow! I didn't know that. All I remember is that the wifi will still on when I am out of the area. O.o
convenience n battery aside. there was recent research that android wifi is promiscuous n if someone spoofed yr wlan ssid u can be screwed by a man in the middle attack.
so this app is a good thing.

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Nov 28 2012, 10:23 PM)
ya it disconnects but it will never off by itself..

u may argue that having the service running background  drains more or equally as much as having the wifi always turned on..

but i believe it will drain the battery more with the wifi keep scanning for hotspots coz sometimes i will be away for 7-8 hours from a hotspot.. imagine how many hundreds of times the wifi will have scanned lol
joytest
post Nov 28 2012, 11:38 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(gensys @ Nov 28 2012, 11:34 PM)
anyone here use GPS Test Plus?
can give some feedback on note 2?
Bought it last week on sale. Well, gives some stats and has functions for tracking distance travelled and a nice compass.

Haven't really used it yet, just a fun "toy". Gets a fix very fast though. About 10s.
joytest
post Nov 28 2012, 11:45 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(gensys @ Nov 28 2012, 11:40 PM)
Does it help with all the other apps in getting the fix?
Note 2 has GPS (US) and Glonass (Russian) and AGPS. Typically a fix for any of the GPS apps is not a problem. I get my Waze fix very quickly too.
Last time on my Nokia N8, I used to run some GPS test app before running the maps app for a faster fix, but I'm not sure if running apps like GPS Test helps or not.
joytest
post Nov 28 2012, 11:47 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Nov 28 2012, 11:43 PM)
Ok, misunderstood smile.gif But seriously, not only 1 guy saying that. The shops in Sunway, most of them are saying the same thing. Looks like they are trying to push sales on 32GB card hmm.gif
Thanks nod.gif Uncle, have you tried Kingmax before?
Whatsapp
Viber
MX Player
ES File Manager
Color Note (Notepad)
RealCalculator Plus
CIMB
Maybank2U
GSC
Zombies Run

Games? A lot! brows.gif
Very often, people who SELL technology don't always know what they are selling LOL.
Maybe they get better margins on other capacity cards.
joytest
post Nov 29 2012, 12:24 AM

13,188 posts

Hands itchy....edited my build.prop to 180dpi

Small but bearable. Can still see clearly.
joytest
post Nov 29 2012, 01:02 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(eddmecha @ Nov 29 2012, 12:57 AM)
u can try 'GPS FIX" find at Play store it really helps on locking GPS satelite more faster
Oh....this...it possibly adds new values to the gps config file for the coordinates of the world you are at, so it will scan for the nearest satellites. Just my thought, since I recall you can actually edit the gps.conf file by hand if you know the correct values.
joytest
post Nov 29 2012, 01:08 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(pkiensing @ Nov 29 2012, 01:06 AM)
who dont have dataplan for note2?
is like driving a ferrari without highway...  doh.gif
Vroom !!!! Vroom !!!! in the driveway only.... icon_idea.gif
joytest
post Nov 29 2012, 02:08 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Nov 29 2012, 01:08 PM)
Across the system jelly bean is quick and responsive. There is no delay in scrolling thru the homescreens, scrolling in system apps etc etc..in this respect we have seen a great deal of improvements frm older version of android.

Third party apps however are seriously lagging behind. Super high end phones are running on insane quadcore speed and u still find simple tasks like scrolling a list unpleasant. Office apps in android are the best example. None of them is utilizing the hardware to run the ui. Perhaps, next year we might see major updates from them since phones are now coming out with muticores cpu. The system per say is otherwise perfect. Widgets n multitasking run without any hiccups. Google apps eg youtube gmail maps are the total opposite, they are fast. Project butter is nt a global tweak. Developer themselves must make tweaks in their apps..
I haven't had reason to switch this on, but would you say the Settings>Developer options>Force GPU rendering help in this case (the bold text) ?

Well, I read some time back about the framework differences - fruit prioritizes the UI process as number 1....yet...still no widgets? Is it coz it's optimized for flat rasters ? That's why the letterboxing happened when ip5 arrived. So it might take 2 or more ios rewrites to support scalable vectors?

So I think Android should have a shootout when fruit gets widget capability....then fair comparison for "fluidity".

joytest
post Nov 29 2012, 03:33 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 29 2012, 02:18 PM)
I always say is not fair to compare IOS ui smoothness with android OS. IOS had zero Widgets n ask why Apple do not wish to put it in ? Answer is obvious - it will make it less fluid n worse of all can be even worse than android. Apple do not have such capability of enabling Widgets on homescreen - definitely not. Another reason is apple principle of restricting 3rd party  intervention in its pure proven ui interface. Allowing widgets could have a negative effect on them
Test yourself remove every widget n just put icons n see the tremendous ui smoothness improvement
Agree wholeheartedly. Yes I know that without widgets the homescreen simply flies.

I was just conjecturing that should fruit enable widgets, then that will be a valid comparison. fruit's "proven ui" is simply prioritized UI calls for redraws.

I hope Android would have gained more polish by then and both platforms will no longer have a fluidity war but a good feature war, assuming of course the completely half arsed design patents that crapple has gotten doesn't get in the way.

joytest
post Nov 29 2012, 07:00 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(sang_kanchil @ Nov 29 2012, 06:44 PM)
Dropped my note2 on the floor bcos the flip cover (ori samsung) came out while retrieving the phone from pocket.

Screen has few scratches ady although still working.

How much to fix in official Samsung svc center?
Alternatives?
QUOTE(Cynox @ Nov 29 2012, 06:47 PM)
wow.. second case today after mine.  sweat.gif  Your Note II not applied with SP?
My personal opinion is that the glossy back finish is largely to blame for this. At this size, hand grip is lacking when you have a smooth finish. The Note1 is wider by 3mm, but I think the bump-textured back makes for a better grip.

I put in the Kucipa casing within a few days of getting Note2. Full cover on all sides including buttons. Also has molded plugs for the usb port and earphone jack. More grippy.
I am pondering a generic design for a leather casing, will look for some leatherwork shops to make it. Will have belt/strap loops and lanyard holes. I don't mind the larger overall size.
joytest
post Nov 29 2012, 07:06 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(sang_kanchil @ Nov 29 2012, 07:04 PM)
It's true also. Quite hard to get a good grip when pulling out from pocket.
The worse thg is the flip cover came off.
WTF
Kalau ini macam, the cover got snagged on something in your pocket (thread?) or it wasn't clipped on properly laugh.gif
joytest
post Nov 30 2012, 12:50 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Nov 30 2012, 12:37 AM)
After getting my note 2, bought:

1 × 64gb sandisk
1 x 32gb kingmax
1 x zenus vintage
1 x seidio active
2 x cheap sp
1 x SGP Oleo

What else I spend? Haha. Now thinking if wanna get a keyboard. ...lol
Got a Rapoo 6500. Typing this reply on it. Need some getting used to its size as well but better than typing on screen.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0445sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:15 PM