Is it egg white and egg yolk must eat together?

TSjohntay1989
post Nov 25 2012, 12:26 AM, updated 14y ago

19 posts

Just out of curious. My friends told me this when i intend to separate the egg yolk and just having the egg white due to the fact that egg yolk has high cholesterol blink.gif is it true that egg white and egg yolk must eat together?and why?
SUSslimey
post Nov 25 2012, 12:39 AM

6,914 posts

google not working?
forum search function not working?
rlky
post Nov 25 2012, 12:41 AM

186 posts

No. What justification he gave?
TSjohntay1989
post Nov 25 2012, 10:49 AM

19 posts

google not working? forum search function not working?

Wow, i fail to do so. I am a newbie to internet world blush.gif

Added on November 25, 2012, 10:53 am
QUOTE(rlky @ Nov 25 2012, 12:41 AM)
No. What justification he gave?
Lol, my friend said the egg yolk has something and by having it with egg white together can avoid any unpleasant illness such as headache...

This post has been edited by johntay1989: Nov 25 2012, 10:53 AM
NicoRobinz
post Nov 25 2012, 10:53 AM

458 posts

As far as I know, you don't have to eat them together. However, I heard it from radio that egg yolk has high cholesterol is a misconception. You can always have egg yolk and egg white together but must not be more than 3 eggs in a week. I'm not sure how reliable it is but I probably eat more than 3 eggs in a week.

This post has been edited by NicoRobinz: Nov 25 2012, 10:56 AM
shadowz
post Nov 25 2012, 10:56 AM

510 posts

Eat the egg yolk. It contains alot of good nutrients the egg white lacks and provides you with good fats.

High cholesterol foods don't contribute to high cholesterol as much as people believe. It is your lifestyle that makes you sick - a combination of lousy diet (lots of bad fats, fried foods, sugar, too much sodium, alcohol, processed foods), being over weight, smoking, lack of fiber in diet as well as genetics affect your cholesterol more than egg yolk.

Unless you don't like egg yolk - eat them, no need to separate.

Anyway - GOOGLE is your friend.

Added on November 25, 2012, 10:59 am
QUOTE(NicoRobinz @ Nov 25 2012, 10:53 AM)
As far as I know, you don't have to eat them together. However, I heard it from radio that egg yolk has high cholesterol is a misconception. You can always have egg yolk and egg white together but must not be more than 3 eggs in a week. I'm not sure how reliable it is but I probably eat more than 3 eggs in a week.
blink.gif I easily eat 10-15 eggs a week. There is no scientific or proven concern with eating more than XXX amount of eggs if it fits in your diet. Calculate calories, fats, proteins, etc and if it all fits then its fine. Tsk people spread rubbish based on nothing-enjoy your eggs, they are an excellent food.

This post has been edited by shadowz: Nov 25 2012, 10:59 AM
SYAMiLLiON
post Nov 25 2012, 12:25 PM

459 posts

workout and u don't have to worry about it...
naznaz95
post Nov 25 2012, 01:03 PM

62 posts

egg york is not good for smoker thats what I learned from biology
high cholestrol in egg york can cause your ateries or vein somthing become narrow if u are the smoker because the smoke is the factor of it

alien9
post Nov 25 2012, 04:38 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

egg do have high cholesterol but you have to know that there are good cholesterol and bad one. What is inside the eggs are the goods one and Omega-3 is good to reduce the amount of cholesterol in the body which is a lot in the eggs,

This post has been edited by alien9: Nov 25 2012, 04:52 PM
rlky
post Nov 25 2012, 04:43 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Nov 25 2012, 04:38 PM)
egg do have high cholesterol but you have to know that there are good cholesterol and bad one. What is inside the eggs are the goods one; if not, egg suppliers won't make eggs that is high with omega-3 etc that can reach up to 50 cent per eggs.

Omega-3 is good cholesterol so eat all them yolks.
You're misleading people. Omega-3 is not cholesterol.
alien9
post Nov 25 2012, 04:49 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(rlky @ Nov 25 2012, 04:43 PM)
You're misleading people. Omega-3 is not cholesterol.
fatty acid, my bad

cempedaklife
post Nov 25 2012, 05:08 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

i dunno about u, but i've always only eat egg white, and leave out the yolk, coz i dun like yolk, unless it's scrambled egg, or those goreng egg, if those sunny side up or boiled egg, sure leave out the yolk..

but i heard ppl said, most of the nutrients in an egg is inside the yolk..
jamc
post Nov 25 2012, 05:10 PM

109 posts

if you are cooking your eggs then nothing to be worried about. if you are eating the egg white raw (in large quantity), you might suffer from biotin deficiency in a long run. this is because egg white has a glycopeptide called avidin which when consumed binds with biotin in your body. hence the solution is to cook the egg white before consuming. better still, just eat the whole egg raw (egg yolk has tons of biotin and it binds and inactivate the avidin in egg white).
Imanarcissist
post Nov 25 2012, 05:18 PM

My nutritionist told me that I can eat up to 7 yolks a week since I don't have any cholesterol problem. blink.gif It's up to you, egg yolk contains more cholesterol than egg white (egg white contains none) but egg yolk has a higher amount of nutrients in it. But, egg white has higher amount of sodium and protein in it, so its always recommended to eat both together. biggrin.gif

achilleus
post Nov 25 2012, 05:47 PM

247 posts

Main concern is not cholesterol you consume but amount of saturated fat one take. One or two whole egg is fine.
yeezai
post Nov 25 2012, 06:13 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

go find mythbuster la....egg yolk doesnt contribute to high cholesterol ....im still fascinated that most doctor ive met ask me to reduce the egg yolk intake..i mean come on why doctor no update ?
catherinessc
post Nov 25 2012, 10:33 PM

541 posts

My nutritionist said not more than 2 eggs per week and avoid egg yolk as it does contributes in increment of cholesterol in blood...
SUSslimey
post Nov 25 2012, 10:52 PM

6,914 posts

2 seconds of google : http://www.bhf.org.uk/default.aspx?page=12920

how hard can it be?
-Dan
post Nov 25 2012, 11:36 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(catherinessc @ Nov 25 2012, 02:33 PM)
My nutritionist said not more than 2 eggs per week and avoid egg yolk as it does contributes in increment of cholesterol in blood...
I would start looking for a different nutritionist.
WaCKy-Angel
post Nov 25 2012, 11:39 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(Imanarcissist @ Nov 25 2012, 05:18 PM)
My nutritionist told me that I can eat up to 7 yolks a week since I don't have any cholesterol problem.  blink.gif  It's up to you, egg yolk contains more cholesterol than egg white (egg white contains none) but egg yolk has a higher amount of nutrients in it. But, egg white has higher amount of sodium and protein in it, so its always recommended to eat both together.  biggrin.gif
egg white also got cholesterol ?

0.0200sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:48 AM