Fund Investment Corner v3, Funds101

eastmeetswest
post Feb 19 2018, 11:54 AM

95 posts

Hi guys. Im pretty new into investment, but I would love to diversify. Let me explain on my current portfolio.

- Invested in 2 properties up to 1.2 Mil
- Purchased ASB Gemilang Kesihatan up to 100k
- Some seating in FD at 4% rate.

Now I would like to further diversify some of the FD into UT or stocks.

In terms of UT, I have read many blogs, case studies, visited FSM and I still cant get a clear picture.

For an example, I checked out CIMB funds, some started at 0.54 sen/unit and currently standing at 0.9+ sen/u. The fund started somewhere in 2013.

Question 1: Will it continue to grow or funds may get stagnant?

So far, from the experience of the gurus' that might answer me in this forum

Question 2: Which fund houses are more reliable, cause there is CIMB, Manulife and so on.

Question 3: What is the deciding factor to purchase an UT? How should I evaluate a UT?

For an example, if I look at the attached diagram, there are funds from couple of % right up to 40% return.

Question 4: How do I evaluate all these?

Please guide me through.

eastmeetswest
post Feb 19 2018, 02:18 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(kswee @ Feb 19 2018, 02:03 PM)
Follow the crowd, don't be the last.
Hi Kswee, thanks but that didnt help at all...
eastmeetswest
post Feb 20 2018, 08:35 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Feb 19 2018, 02:39 PM)
I'm no expert, just trying to understand & structure the Qs/Goals ya, coz the best answer to the "not so good" questions are near useless tongue.gif

1. Since one is looking to diversify out of properties (in particular MY properties?), FD, etc., maybe the biggest Q should be revolving around:
a. "Asset Allocation", asset categories (eg. Fixed Income, Equities, Alternates), sub-asset categories (eg. Developed Market Equities, Emerging Market Equities, REITs, etc.)

b. and its related stuff like "what allocation % fits my needs/risk appetite", "when to re-balance", "how to re-balance", "how to build.."
2. With (1.) in mind, one can then visualize one's total assets/investments as a holistic team, eg. a soccer team with forwards/strikers to score, midfielders to move the ball forward & help defenders as well, defenders to minimize goals against us + final defence, the goal keeper.

Thus, then perhaps one should then look for appropriate investment vehicles like stocks, mutual funds, etc. that fits the role to fill?

3. The above is just me trying to clarify & structure ya. Again, i may be wrong & U already know about all these. If so, perhaps this may help: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169
Thx Wong
eastmeetswest
post Feb 20 2018, 08:38 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 19 2018, 06:06 PM)
Q1 Depend on market condition and fund manager. A rising tide will lift all boats,  only when the tide goes down,  my outlook will see who's swimming naked. If they change fund manager, fund performance can drop.

Q2 None. Never ever let a fund house brand con/tempt  you into buying. Always look at individual fund. 

Q3 Consistent winners, not one time juara kampung. For me personally, able to beat the index. If it can't beat the index,  might as well I invest in the index itself. High returns,  low volatility,  Sharpe ratio > 1

Q4 See answer Q3. Also see region of investment.
Hi Ramjade,

Noted on Q1, how do I even narrow down among all those funds, there should be like a key metric that I shud look into right.

Q2, Noted

Q3, I dont get the term index here.

Noted on the region.

Thx again

0.0383sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:51 PM