°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V6 °°, Support Green | Support Hybrid

iTrump
post Nov 27 2012, 11:34 AM

Is 1 years 8 months plus with this thread, glad that we have reached V6. Hope you guys have fun and enjoy your ride with your Insight! Is so attractive that nowadays honda give away such huge discounts.. envy! lol.
iTrump
post Dec 28 2012, 07:10 PM

QUOTE(babysmile @ Dec 24 2012, 06:21 AM)
@all insighters

Wish everyone have a great Christmas in Year 2012.

Check it out on the Mega TT re-cap that everyone have joined on 8th Dec 2012. Thank to all the sponsors and hope to get more awesome lucky draws to the owners.

Please view this in HD mode.

For those not able to take part, next year we shall have it bigger, better and wilder.

All credits to the Insight Penang Group which have done this awesome movie clip. I feel I want to  cry.gif  cause I am not able to meet up Lowyat Member here. Hopefully next Mega TT we shall gather again and introduce ourselves.  notworthy.gif
It is really nice!
iTrump
post Dec 31 2012, 05:18 PM

Happy New Year to all Honda Insight Owners. Hitting my 60k service next week. But this time round will opt to install the aircon filter myself to save some. After claimed and changed the back left hand side absorber, there has been "tik" sound when ever slow speed accelerate. Hope will get it resolve and continue the amazing ride with honda insight. And ya.. Heard that there is software update for IMA??anyone from JB has done so with JB SC?

This post has been edited by iTrump: Dec 31 2012, 05:19 PM
iTrump
post Jan 2 2013, 01:59 PM

QUOTE(kerelbort @ Jan 2 2013, 09:30 AM)
anyone change to XM2? The stock tire is quite noisy....  when do test drive, the noise is not as much as when owning it.. huhu
Can consider Goodyear Assurance Fuel Max.
http://www.hybridcars.com/choosing-low-rol...ce-tires-26214/
iTrump
post Jan 11 2013, 06:22 PM

I got my 60km service done. The service adviser told me that SM 0W-20(Fully-Synthetic) is ONLY suitable for city driving and not for long distance travel. There are cases that hybrid with 0W-20 engine oil used up more quickly as oil is "thinner". As festive season coming, not advisable to get 0W-20 for balik kampung. Anyway, I did try 0W-20 previously and found no difference.

I check with the SA, is there any IMA software update? Instead he told me he will check for IMA battery health and every thing is ok. Really dun know if IMA software is the latest! hmm.gif

Anyone experience knocking sound at the rear at low speed < 50 km/h when accelerate ? Fixing an appointment next week to look into this problem.
iTrump
post Jan 21 2013, 03:43 PM

Anyone with Mugen PU bodykit fitted? My recent encounter with knocking noise when accelerate at < 50km/h was caused by the mugen bumper at the rear. The SC confirmed this finding after 2 days of troubleshooting. The knocking noise only came after 6 months ride with mugen kits. Anyway I not having the original mugen and is from the local supplier.

This post has been edited by iTrump: Jan 21 2013, 03:44 PM
iTrump
post Jan 22 2013, 06:58 PM

http://www.insightcentral.net/forums/honda...are-update.html

Anyone with the 2011 model (pre facelift) have requested update to the IMA software?
iTrump
post Jan 22 2013, 07:04 PM

QUOTE(chris_tco @ Jan 22 2013, 03:20 PM)
the PU material isn't that solid n light if compared with ABS material. btw, pls check the the plastic cover under the skirting, maybe the installer forget to screw back the plastic nuts with the rear skirting.
Thanks for the advice. The SC took the bumper of the test unit to fit onto my car to confirm the mugen skirt problem. Will look for my bodykit friend for troubleshooting.

iTrump
post Feb 1 2013, 04:15 PM

Chines New Year is around the corner. All insight owner must be busy planning to gloom their insight shiny shiny and usher to the CNY! I am one of them! icon_rolleyes.gif
iTrump
post Feb 4 2013, 11:53 AM

QUOTE(2piece @ Feb 2 2013, 10:01 AM)
what is ur priority 1st...fuel consumption or performance...u should consider hybrid if concern about the fuel...
insight maintenance rather high...to me civic hybrid maintenance schedule every 10K instead 5K(insight) should ok.
OR jazz..but no bonetlah... smile.gif
I'm not sure if preve performance is much better cos I have not test drive one. But I can tell you that Insight performance is much better than my previous Honda City 06 vtec.
iTrump
post Mar 11 2013, 12:35 PM

QUOTE(iphone @ Mar 9 2013, 05:16 PM)
Gulp..just done the 40K service, gosh the fuel filter cost RM300+  cry.gif
Have previously done my 40k service. One of the reason our insight is more expensive when compared to Jazz hybrid is Jazz only need change fuel filter at 80K while insight need change at both 40k n 80k!

But I delayed my change to 45k (cos no stock).
iTrump
post Mar 11 2013, 12:38 PM

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Mar 9 2013, 11:08 AM)
do u all aware that the car actually equip with the volumetric
sensor? or only i am the one that dont know about this.

today was reading on the cobra manual to see any way to disable the alarm (since my one sometime get mad itself n trigger alarm itself) but keep the remote lock n unlock from the key.

was inside the car n arm the alarm, then the siren n horn trigger at the same time when i moving inside the car. only then i notice there is such thing in our car.
meaning if the window screen is force broken by robber, the alarm will sound!? Will try..
iTrump
post Mar 11 2013, 05:19 PM

QUOTE(cbinn @ Mar 11 2013, 12:39 AM)
You can use Insight to jump start another car quite safely if you follow proper procedure.

The risk of damaging your own car when jumpstarting another car could happen to just any car, not only Insight. And the risk is higher if:

1) Your car have a lot of complex electronics.
2) Your 12V battery is of a smaller capacity.
3) The car your trying to jumpstart have some electrical fault e.g. a short-circuit or a very badly damaged battery.

When you link the jump start cable from your car to the target car, DC current will start to flow from your car to the target car. That's draining your 12V battery (if you had not started the engine of your car), or putting stress to the DC-DC converter (or the alternator if your car is non-hybrid).

From my point of view, a good practice to jumpstart another car (not only from Insight, this is applicable if you are jumpstarting from any hybrid or non-hybrid car):

1) Make sure all the electrical load on the target car is switched off (e.g. lights, wiper, heater, aircond, stereo). And make sure you have a proper jump start cable (some low quality jump start cable being sold cheaply at hypermarket heats up considerably when large current flows over them, make sure the insulation is not damaged, touching a 12V +ve cable to any part of car body or engine surface will means a real bad short-circuit and frying of electronics.
2) Inspect the 12V battery of the target car, make sure it does not show any physical damage e.g. leaking, swelling, terminal corroded badly or low in electrolyte in each battery cell (if wet battery) or the battery health indicator showing 'bad battery' instead of 'recharge require' (for maintenance free battery, usually they have a status window).
3) Start your car engine first, make sure all electrical load on your car is switched off whenever possible.
4) Have someone sit in your car and rev up the engine a bit. for non-hybrid, usually rev till 2k rpm should have the alternator spin up to produce enough extra current. For hybrid, you probably need to rev the engine to the point the IMA is charging (since the 12V power comes from DC-DC converter from IMA, Insight don't have alternator, remember?). By doing so, you will make sure your 12V side have enough current being generated to top up what is used for jumpstart, rather risking over-discharging your 12V battery.
5) Connect the jump-start cable. (If you do not know what I mean here, stop immediately, you are definitely not technically equipped to perform a jump start procedure).
6) Do not immediately start the engine of the target car, leave it for 30 seconds or so in order for some charge to accumulate in the target 12v battery first, so when you start the target car after 30 seconds, the stress to your car 12V would be a bit less cause some charge have built-up on the 12v battery of the target car (if the target car battery is only discharged e.g. forgotten to turn off lights, and not damaged or having internal short-circuit).
7) If the target vehicle start, then just disconnect the jumpstart cable and skip to line no. 9. If after a few crank failed to start the target vehicle, wait a while before trying again. You will notice the jump start cable will heat up due to transfer of large amount of current.
8) If a few more attempt also failed to start the target vehicle, its better to call for tow truck or go buy a new battery to put into target vehicle. There might be some other fault in target vehicle that if you keep on trying jump starting, it might also damage your car.
9) It doesn't stop here. If your car battery is not new (e.g. more than 1 1/2 or 2 years old), it is better you leave your car engine running a while even after you disconnect the jumpstart cable, cause your 12V may have been exhausted and needed to be top back up. If you just shut off your car engine with your 12V exhausted, it may cause permanent damage to your 12V battery (long story, I had explained earlier in some other post that unlike marine battery, cranking battery used in car will be permanently damaged if left in discharged state.

Looks very complicated rite? Well, I cannot guarantee that if you don't follow above procedure, your car battery will 100% get damaged, but if you have no choice and have to perform a jump start, then the above could somehow reduce some risk of hurting your own car for doing a favour to help another car.
Good info. Thanks.
iTrump
post Mar 12 2013, 01:20 PM

QUOTE(RickRock @ Mar 11 2013, 09:24 PM)
Item 4, sadly this is what many owner encounter, including myself. So far this is the only thing I not happy about my car. Can this be resolve? Reset ECU????
- sudden lost of assist and keep on regen when uphill
http://www.insightcentral.net/forums/honda...are-update.html

With the update of IMA software, they claim will solve the uphill problem. But prior to requesting update, i went to genting during cny, no issue at all.
Have requested the update of IMA software 2 weeks ago, the update is so fast that i didn't even notice! hmm.gif The sc guy told me they pull a cable in front to connect for the update.

Do insist for an update of IMA if you are driving 2011 insight, no harm rite. If the front desk SC guy dun know what update you are talking about, do request to meet the technical head.

This post has been edited by iTrump: Mar 12 2013, 01:21 PM
iTrump
post Mar 13 2013, 12:04 PM

QUOTE(Justice195 @ Mar 13 2013, 08:34 AM)

Nice to meet all the members here. I'm also an Insight owner. Been driving this car since 2011.

There are several issues where i need the members to assist.

1.  My IMA battery will drop to Nil during hill clim or heavy traffic jam at KL. is it normal? I went to HSC yesterday and told them about the software update, but they said none. However, they do assist me to diagnose with the HDS, no DTC code found and reset for me. Will it be fine?

2. My average mileage is around 500km for 30L petrol. Eco mode on. Ron 95. 60:40 highway:city. Any help to get higher mileage like other member who can achieve more than 600km?. Quete envy cry.gif

3. Reaching 50k  soon, going to change engine oil, fully syn oil. Should i use Red oil or Green oil?

Thank you for the assistant.
as for the IMA software update, i was rejected before, their answers varies from different SC frontdesk personnel, one cited that there is no update, and instead check for my IMA battery! Till I happen to talk to the backend technical head, he mentioned there is an update.
Most of the front desk personnel are not well versed technically.

As for the fully SM 0W-20, I did tried before. I dun feel different in fuel consumption n performance. The SC did advice if you are travelling long distance, it will not be suitable for you.

For good mileage, make sure always check your tire pressure, it REALLY make a big difference!
iTrump
post Jun 6 2013, 06:48 PM

QUOTE(n00b123 @ Jun 5 2013, 01:06 PM)
Indeed much to celebrate for this great news!!!
iTrump
post Jan 21 2014, 11:33 AM

I just replace my 4x tyre with Goodyear Assurance TripleMax.
Size: 195/50/16, RM230 per piece.
I found the price rather ok and rare to find the size of 195/50/16 from other brands.

iTrump
post May 25 2015, 12:21 PM

Hope you have enjoy ur insight so far. I'm with insight n now clocking 150KM.
The only issue I'm having is the car jerking sometimes when moving from idle... like riding a boat...haha
Not able to solve even SC claim to update software, clean throttle body ...

Anyone of you facing the same problem? Or is this the natural behavior of gearbox after period of usage?

This post has been edited by iTrump: May 25 2015, 12:21 PM
iTrump
post May 27 2015, 11:53 PM

Yes. This is the feel. doh.gif

Driven so many cars before but never encountered. You able to solve the problem?

QUOTE(n00b123 @ May 26 2015, 01:42 PM)
does it feel like the car is not moving when you shifted to Drive?
Then, it jerks a bit and then start moving?
I'm experiencing that...btw, i'm clocking towards 105k now....
iTrump
post May 27 2015, 11:57 PM

I remembered when I last changed CVT, the problem still there...
CVT flush.. you overcome the problem with it?

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ May 26 2015, 01:52 PM)
What's the cvtf replacement interval? 40k? Go for 20k. Ask SC if they can do cvt box flush. Some SC have them.

0.0254sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:31 AM