°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V6 °°, Support Green | Support Hybrid

alexei
post Mar 28 2022, 10:03 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(jimmythw @ Mar 25 2022, 09:18 PM)
Hi, may i know anyone know is the 12v battery are not charging and is the cause by the alternator (dc to dc charge) problem? I took the car to check and say need to change and it cost $3800 for a recon one. =.=""
See if this guy can help: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2537796
alexei
post Mar 28 2022, 10:09 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(toos99 @ Jan 14 2022, 02:41 AM)
Done that twice actually. Original cheap Bosch and pretty exp Philips night vision. Both didn’t fix the prob.
The projector bowl is dead or dying. Example of repairs/retrofits below:
https://www.facebook.com/356197801210711/po...01799416650537/

Note: I am not owner of the facebook post
alexei
post Apr 1 2022, 02:52 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Mar 31 2022, 03:35 PM)
Yesterday my car came out 2 orange error

Check charging system
Check IMA battery

Today sent to Honda service center in Glenmarie and they said need change whole motherboard.

Cost more than 10k.

Honda Insight 2011 model
108k mileage
Erm, what error code? Maybe just the fan die. The fan draws air from the left side rear seat grille.

QUOTE(toos99 @ Apr 1 2022, 12:07 AM)
To bro. Most helpful answer thus far.

Was thinking of doing that too but oem headlights for a pair is 200 less. Not sure if I should be spending that much.

In fact, thought of letting the entire car go as it’s sitting there doing nothing much really.

Not sure when some motherboard will be doing like below
Can do DIY replacement geh... see if this suits you or not.
Else, sell the car many ppl also want hybrid now fuel price or subsidy anytime can explode.

alexei
post Apr 11 2022, 11:51 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Apr 8 2022, 11:04 PM)
For me, he charged 3800 everything.

Fan and inverter replaced.

Honda just the inverter was 11000 with 15% discount
So about 9000+ also
thanks for sharing. lucky.

the inverter got warranty ah not? brand new or recon?
did he say is the fan die cause inverter to burn?

any quotation for refreshing the hybrid battery or not?
alexei
post Apr 12 2022, 09:39 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Thanks a lot. I always scared ppl sit back row there block the fan input on the left side, got fan grill to receive cold air to cool the IMA board one, also wanna find time to service the fan before anything...

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Apr 11 2022, 08:03 PM)
Day 1
actually, I went to Honda and they said 1 problem only. Inverter Unit which they said its the mobo that allows charging for IMA
I asked about 12V batt and they said that would be fine
Im guessing this was their tactic to get me to change for RM9800) in their quotation.
So I said I cant even swipe that much on my credit card, and I will come back when I have enough money

Day 2
I got a hold of a cigarette battery checker, that can detect internal 12V battery voltage.
here is the scary part

When the car can start, it will drop rapidly from 12v to 10v and then at 9v shit happens
Below 9v
Power Steering
ABS
Brakes
Airbag

All these systems fail. After I saw 9v, I never could start the car again and I needed to jump start

Day 3
I tow the car to Tee & Tee Auto after doing some research.
When I get to the shop, Tee and Tee opened up the diagnostic tools and with a nice "Ipad"like screen to show me the details
He told me the FAN BLOWER & INVERTER are both dead.

The Fan blower might be the cause of the Inverter dying, and he said these are the 2 common problems of a Hybrid Insight (our model here).
Whats worse is other HYBRID models have these 2 issues, and more other issues than Insight.

commonly happens 6-10 years into the cars lifespan.

For the warranty, after he fixed he provided 1 year
Honda usually provide less than 1 year, he said.
Recon unit

For the IMA battery, his diagnostic tools he showed me mine left 75% after 108k km. He said less than 3k he can replace for me a recon one, which will last many years again so dont have 2 worry.

alexei
post Feb 7 2023, 09:21 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Feb 6 2023, 02:49 PM)
Need to replace tyres soon, but i see the thread got so many models I kelam kabut trying to choose one, im using CC6 now I think, stop-go on wet always slide

Also anyone else have aircon issues? sometimes my aircon will stop working, fan still spinning but slowly will start blowing hot air. Send to mechanic they said compressor everything no issue. I have to turn off the aircon while driving for a few random minutes and then turn it back on for it to work again.
Certain aircon ducts, esp right one, macam can heat up than the others.
Need honda check and they do something inside the dashboard.
alexei
post Feb 28 2023, 10:49 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 27 2023, 05:27 PM)
anyone is facing the prob that the front headlamps are too dark at night but hight beam is ok.
is common problem
high chance the reflector inside the projector headlamp is bad, so no point change bulb unless you fix the reflector
high beam is normal reflector, so is very tahan

Few options:
- retrofit projector
- fix the reflective coating for the original headlamp
- buy OE from shopee
alexei
post Feb 28 2023, 12:21 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 28 2023, 11:04 AM)
I see i see. Thanks a lot for the sharing.

So did u fix it? How much does it cost for u?
No, decided to live with it.

Shopee got sell OE Japan with original HID (with ballast) around 600.
I have some spare projector from half cut last time, thought to DIY but didn't do.
alexei
post Feb 28 2023, 04:40 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 28 2023, 02:58 PM)
icic. so u are living with the dark headlamps at night as well?

sometimes i have no choice but to on the high beams in order to see clearly.  tongue.gif
yup

some retrofit I asked, got price ranging from 1k+ to 3k+
but, the retrofit are bi-xenon, meaning I'll end up with 2 high beams, including one with stock

alexei
post Apr 6 2023, 09:00 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Dweller @ Mar 5 2023, 08:56 AM)
What is the current reasonable selling price for 2011 Insight? Thanks
QUOTE(toos99 @ Apr 3 2023, 07:14 PM)
Would like to know too
How much are you expecting?

Depends your area, some shops don't accept trade in for this car.
If direct buyer, you can survey mudah now between 16~33k.

Get yours evaluated by carsome or something and decide.
alexei
post Aug 24 2023, 09:45 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jun 23 2023, 06:51 PM)
Anyone knows the current price for hybrid battery replacement? I'm driving a 2011 model. I should be around 109km. Wondering if I should start worrying about the hybrid battery.
I think about 3k.
Worry about the IMA module better, there's a cooling fan that gets dusty.
alexei
post Oct 4 2023, 10:24 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Reflector bowl inside the projector is gone

alexei
post Oct 4 2023, 05:29 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 4 2023, 03:32 PM)
i think it is casing prob and not projector etc...
casing can polish and put new clear coat
alexei
post May 1 2024, 09:58 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(neorackle @ Apr 7 2024, 07:06 PM)
This is the price quoted by Headlights Projector Retrofit Malaysia. Anyone has other shop to recommend?

you can try search in facebook "LED projector retrofit", and then after a while you will get marketing posts feed to you
I've seen one ad using Osram kit...
alexei
post May 2 2024, 08:49 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 1 2024, 10:18 AM)
This can solve the 2011 insight dim headlamp issue? How much does it cost?
the dim headlamp because I think the reflective coating is gone
doing a full retrofit will solve the issue

bear in mind a few things, Insight uses single low beam, and single high beam
so, we would only need a simple retrofit without the bi-xenon feature

having said that, having the bi-xenon feature is nice, meaning we will have both lamps shooting out high beams when we do that

another thing, Insight has the motorized headlamp level adjuster, make sure to ask first, and then check that it still works after the retrofit
alexei
post May 21 2024, 08:14 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ May 6 2024, 10:05 PM)
i kena Check IMA System

But its not persistent.. like after a long drive, 40-50 minutes then will kena

Next start and go, never kena.

Any ideas?
suspect IMA overheat... try service the fan

QUOTE(soul_star @ May 7 2024, 07:49 PM)
I will do mine next Tuesday at BratherV : https://vt.tiktok.com/ZSFwcvweK/

Leveling will also be working. Rm1.1k, 1y warranty. Just need to bear in mind if projector fails, it is Rm500 each. Longest customer had no issue for 3y already

Cheapest from my survey is from https://www.facebook.com/starscaracc/ , Rm980 WST SUPER. Asked about warranty, they didn't reply my fb chat lol

Another alternative is to refurbish the projector, cheapest is Rm450 from https://www.facebook.com/willpower.brian/. This will retain the H11 bulb usage
looks good
alexei
post May 23 2024, 03:25 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 21 2024, 08:24 AM)
This one is due to ur starter battery is getting weak time to change.

Nothing to do with ur IMA battery.
I thought this one will kena dashboard christmas light? ABS and all those light up
alexei
post May 24 2024, 09:01 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 23 2024, 05:15 PM)
what does it mean? so far this prob is linked to the starter battery as said.
afaik, the IMA battery starts the engine
only if IMA battery flat, the 12V one will act as starter engine

the 12V, if flat, will cause ABS and TC lights to turn on when engine is started. these systems need to be initiated again, using a wire hack and following some engine starting sequence
alexei
post Nov 7 2024, 09:37 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Nov 6 2024, 08:19 PM)
huh means they really lowballing la for the trade in via the other brand seller. but its to be expected however, where would be so nice give so much

yeah i changed the bulbs few times and even with strong bright ones the headlamp is just too cloudy to properly lit the road. luckily i dont drive late nights nor at dark roads

but worth to overhaul? or should i aim for new car instead?
I think you have a good idea yourself, so I'll just validate some points:

try different shops when evaluating used Insight value
- no way you're getting above 15k
- at 15k, there are more sensible used cars to get
- only you know how good condition the car is, and worth keeping and using it to the point of failure

suspensions about few hundred to 3k depending on quality of parts and the amount of bushings you want to change... it's 12yo car after all

the projector headlamp has no cure, but to either re-coat the reflective bowls, or retrofit new projectors, with the retrofit being more economical (the installer must put back the level adjustments for you)

generally speaking, the car is not common, so it can be a ticking *thing* - the IMA system, the batteries, engine is rare, if not unique, body panels, lamps etc are harder and harder to buy new, unless imported from foreign or happen to come across local sellers doing that

it's a good car, and if you have good reasons to keep it, and use it, so be it

alexei
post Nov 7 2024, 10:38 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Nov 7 2024, 10:15 AM)
thanks for the feedback and pointers, its a good start for me to reconsider in overall. last i rmb seeing before prices for entire change of the headlamps case, i think was RM700-800 for both excl workmanship?

so far my mum is very on this side while i feel i can still squeeze a good 3yrs out of it at min if i overhaul some parts. not to mention Insight compared to Prius is no longer in production. so my mum is very keen to "offload" it before drop to the point of almost no value

cause right now due to new house loan and reno not sure if i want to buy new car even if its entry level (like a saga)
recon headlamp with original HID is ~600 on shopee, I would consider this
pricing for aftermarket retrofit is up there (this thread, scroll up)

for peace of mind (priceless), just sell the car for something 'basic', a basic petrol car will have higher repairability score. depends where you are, IMA battery change can make or break the decision, this one maybe lower now since battery prices reduced much in last 2 years, but the IMA board is another issue... if this one fails, the car won't even start IINM

do consider looking up youtube guides on servicing the IMA fan in the boot
beware not to spin the fan with a vacuum, that can spoil it

it's really your decision. honestly speaking, I really liked the car, especially driving around with S-mode made it come alive, instead of the normal D-mode that made it feel like a sick puppy, even the steering feel is better than many cars today

and personally, I wouldn't trade it for anything less, as an equal replacement in terms of driving satisfaction is easily another 100k car today. Class wise, it's a "compact" car, so you can say it's like an "Civic" today, since the "City" is considered a "subcompact".

so, either you own it, drive it and maintain it like a 100k car, or sell it and compromise for a 20~30k car

0.0299sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:28 AM