°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V6 °°, Support Green | Support Hybrid

alexei
post Nov 7 2024, 10:49 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Nov 7 2024, 10:46 AM)
thanks for the shopee tips, ill check that.

yeah so far *touch wood* there hasnt been major issues with the insight which is honestly why i have such high expectations on it to last quite long. but ultimately as wear and tear comes in.. things change and mindsets has too, no cars lasts forever without good maintenance and support

IMA battery is another concern as now its basically on 2nd battery with almost 7yrs in operation, i thought back then where if the IMA battery fails, i can operate the car like petrol car. but sadly hybrid cars are not that simple as i thought

correct on the bolded part, not to mention i feel like it would be a downgrade if i went A segment cars just because affordable. B segments like Vios/City/S70 nowadays are great but easily reaching 100k range

but ultimately la, my mum already set her mind on new car. just the issue of trading the insight together or pass/sell it to me.
battery fail is ok, it becomes fully petrol
IMA board fail is not ok

the engine, easily a 200k~300k mileage is possible

for the car value, if you can afford the new car without trading in, it's a win for sure
just maintain it well, 8k oil change vs the 5k Honda recommendation should be ok, but stick to 5k if you can do it

This post has been edited by alexei: Nov 7 2024, 10:50 AM
alexei
post Nov 7 2024, 11:05 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Nov 7 2024, 10:56 AM)
right? granted at times i feel like there are some knocking during gear change and obvious feel of underpower being hybrid engine, but thats considered quite minimal in experience. plus the lack of rattling is quite good

most of my other family car like myvi by 5th year rattle like mad already sweat.gif

thanks for the tips on the oil change too
it's a CBU, think Japan quality

if you going to keep it:
- you gotta try the S-mode: hybrid + CVT comes alive with the instantaneous throttle response, let me know what you think
- gear jerk - possible engine mounting
- make plans to get the IMA battery packs refreshed
alexei
post Nov 7 2024, 01:58 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Nov 7 2024, 11:39 AM)
i do use S mode occasionally, but mostly to climb uphill like in Genting or when need to overtake people on highway, the instant rev up increase and sound can be quite shocking since always been quiet operation laugh.gif

abit related to gear jerking, sometimes can feel the engine lose RPM when cold start. like in this case where;

>start car, set to D, release handbrake and foot brake
>normally car will self accelerate slowly
>but if cold started, the car will lose RPM to almost 0, then i pump abit pedal then all good ed though

one serious case back then was car lose RPM when i was on slope with traffic light, when green had to step on pedal hard so can rev engine back uphill otherwise hit the car behind me
mine had similar issue, I don't remember much, but I think it has to do with AC
- does yours happen with the AC switched off

maybe you gotta service the car first, the usual, air filter, spark plugs, aircon flush, power steering, brake fluids, CVT oil etc
alexei
post Nov 8 2024, 03:10 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 8 2024, 02:42 PM)
it is a good car, i have been driving it since april 2011 to now..

it does not give me any major prob except.. aircon/headlamps
aircon i paid to exchange the original one (costly but it works)

headlamps recently they are replaced with brand new one too so my nite time driving is ok now.
yes, it is
alexei
post Nov 10 2024, 08:31 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 9 2024, 04:22 PM)
i am still planning to use this car until it really retires itself.... tongue.gif

a reliable car overall for sure... tongue.gif
it's just a bit too small, but I like the interior
meanwhile some modern cars with lesser features have steering rack issues
alexei
post Nov 11 2024, 09:20 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 10 2024, 09:57 PM)
It is a typical b segment car rite? I am driving alone with one passenger only. So to me I never feel it is too small for me. 🤪
yeah, driving alone is fine good car
second row is not... hahaha
alexei
post Nov 14 2024, 03:01 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

thanks for sharing, I know you did the right thing
yeah, Insight cooling system is not the usual, sometimes the right side duct will blow hot air where the others don't

headlamp, get it done right, pasti puas

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 13 2024, 09:19 AM)
The biggest amount I ever spent on this car was the aircon.

As most of u who owned a 2011 Honda insight might have also encountered the same which the compressor was not running thus the aircon was blowing hot air.

Due to this prob, there was one time I purposely drove up to KL to fix at a price of rm3xx if I remembered correctly. But in less than 2 years after the fix, same prob happened again.

Then ended I decided to go for the extreme solution below in march 2019. It is real expensive. However, luckily it really lasts, until now the aircon is still working strong.

since i plan to drive this car for the next many years still, it is still worthy. I do know that i might be able to fix at the workshop outside for the previous price i paid like rm3xx only...

Recently I had my headlamps fixed too. Again if anyone drives 2011 insight should know that dimming prob.

Exclude labour and painting.

alexei
post Nov 14 2024, 08:46 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 14 2024, 05:39 PM)
yes, u are right. i noticed this issue also... sometimes rightmost side near to driver side, it is blowing hot air instead of cold air indeed.. i noticed this prob only happens depending on the setting of the temperature vs outside weather.

e.g. if outside temperature is 25 degree as per indicated at the speedometer there... and I set 25 degree also for the aircon... it will blow hot air.

but if i set 24 degree (which is lower than the detected outside temperature), then it will work as per normal (blowing cold air)..

i suspect it is trying to adjust the inside temperature to match the set temperature becos outside temperature is lower or same..
or this could be purely a bug....
same observation... so I guess it's normal flex.gif
alexei
post Nov 14 2024, 10:12 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 14 2024, 08:49 PM)
yes, same... so just need to tackle this by the trick...

besides, are u driving insight also?
used to, it's been good, 2nd row too small, so sold it
alexei
post Jan 23 2025, 08:49 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jan 23 2025, 05:16 PM)
anyone knows which type of absorber is suitable for honda insight 2011 model?

i heard we can use the same one used in honda city absorbers?

whats the estimated cost as well for labour and parts? SC quoted me almost RM12k plus other parts replacement zzz
shopee will give some clues
I remember last time, certain year model Honda City ngam

alexei
post Jan 24 2025, 02:25 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jan 23 2025, 10:21 PM)
thanks, any expected labour cost should i go to those outside workshops to fit?
not done it before...
alexei
post Mar 5 2025, 09:17 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 22 2025, 06:56 PM)

apa macam?
alexei
post Mar 8 2025, 07:13 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts