post Feb 20 2016, 04:47 PM

191 posts

I stopped after reaching 100K.
iphone
post Feb 22 2016, 05:41 PM

191 posts

anyone having similar feeling that our Insight headlights performance kinda poor? I checked with cars beside, generally their headlights are brighter.
iphone
post Feb 26 2016, 06:40 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(MOMOchacha @ Feb 26 2016, 07:11 AM)
[attachmentid=6057199]
I not sure can reach 1000km or not, here is the pic from they forum i have copied
haha this trick, refill full tank and drive downhill, the trip meter will show you fantastic figures!
iphone
post Mar 18 2016, 02:28 PM

191 posts

I plan to change myself but problem is I have checked with few shops, they say this NGK spark is exclusive made for Honda, all don't have it. Well I guess that is why the price so much higher compare to other cars spark plug which is commonly available.
iphone
post Mar 20 2016, 02:50 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(kerelbort @ Mar 18 2016, 04:04 PM)
www.hinganautoparts.com
Thanks bro. Will contact them for further info.
iphone
post Mar 28 2016, 03:05 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(KatanaDoom @ Mar 28 2016, 12:50 AM)

Could anyone help check whether your car has the "Auto Door Lock" setting? Mine doesn't have. It should be under "Door Setting".
Nope for safety reason.
iphone
post May 16 2016, 11:58 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(feizar @ May 16 2016, 09:56 AM)
Hi guys. I cracked my honda insight windshield. How much does it cost nowadays. Thanks.

If your car is 2011-2012, then I guess best move is to claim your insurance and lose the NCD. The extra premiums to pay on your next several insurance renewals won't be as costly as the windscreen.
iphone
post May 16 2016, 06:55 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 16 2016, 05:20 PM)
if got add in extra cover for windscreen insurance, no need void NCD.
Well I think he won't be asking if he has purchase windscreen coverage.

I dont buy windscreen coverage. Here's why..

Many years ago I went to test drive a car and got a shock its windscreen cost RM6K. Then I was advice by the honest salesperson (he actually can get more commission for selling more insurance) actually no need to buy windscreen insurance. If not mistaken the premium about RM900+. He said since the whole car already covered comprehensively. The RM900+ premium paid to cover the windscreen is not worth if 2 years there is no claim, spent EXTRA RM2k just for windscreen coverage. He then said if really unlucky the first 2 years your screen crack, then claim and lose the NCD lor. Following year renewal just pay higher premium. (But do remember you saved RM2K already for not spending EXTRA for windscreen). The following 3rd year ..car value dropped even further so as the sum insured and premium will be lower. But your windscreen premium remaind the same. He said what's the point paying so much EXTRA just to protect that NCD? I find his explanation very logical, from then onwards I never buy windscreen coverage any more.

iphone
post May 16 2016, 07:16 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ May 16 2016, 07:05 PM)
Means original spark plug can last for 160km?
mine now at 113K km ...never change yet. Stupid exclusive NGK spark plugs so costly cry.gif
iphone
post May 17 2016, 10:58 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 16 2016, 09:16 PM)

If within 5 yrs no claim, yes u saved rm3375. But if one time claim only within 5 yrs, ur savings will be lost and NCD may be gone if u claim.

Given the price that the windscreen is ex, insure can have a piece of mind or else one just need to take the risk.

If insight is like city that only cost rm1k, paying rm150 per year may not be worth it as rm1000 is an amount that one can easily afford anytime.

Losing NCD especially when I reached 55% can be very painful. It takes 5 yrs no claim just to accumulate it. The insight may drop in value along 5 yrs and premium for insurance will be lowered but the NCD will still be very useful especially if u buy a brand new expensive car.
You mention a saving of premium RM3375. If one time claim, savings will be lost?
You only lose your NCD discount in the following insurance renewal. Given the car depreciated so much, you only pay few hundreds ringgit extra. How to lose all RM3375 ?

In fact you got it wrong for cheaper windscreen. For cheaper windscreen, you should buy coverage. Your example of RM1000 windscreen, premium only RM150. If one try to save this RM150, when windscreen breaks, losing NCD is not worthy compare to just paying extra RM150 to get it covered. Your 55% NCD value is much higher than RM150.

As for changing to new car, yes this one I agree with you. For those planning to change new car when the sum insured much higher amount, the 55% NCD you enjoying is worth to be protected by getting additional windscreen coverage.

Anwway the above discussion solely on windscreen coverage premium, car insurance premium is not added in yet. Also the risk of losing NCD is not only from windscreen breakage claim, there are many other incidents where you still have to claim for accidents or other party claim against you.

By the way with the La Nina kickin in, shall we buy additional flood insurance coverage now? sweat.gif

iphone
post May 17 2016, 11:00 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ May 17 2016, 10:41 AM)
but the problem to get the windsceen cover for almost 5k, you will need to pay 5000x15% = RM750 per year. with the value of the car now + max discount from the NCD, this rm750 is almost near to the insurance premium d..

it like a gamble...either u pay it n peace in mind or just pray hard nothing happen smile.gif
Bingo bro you got it right there. High 5. thumbsup.gif

He is paying 2 years premium for 1 year coverage.
iphone
post May 17 2016, 02:43 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 17 2016, 12:52 PM)
i am referring to the value of NCD, if u are only at the year 1 or year 2 NCD, of course it makes no difference as the loss is limited.
or if u simply keep this insight for 10-20 years which will have value eventually of course again no issue.

to get 55% NCD, u need to ensure no claim within 5 yrs, it may not be an easy task to accumulate it. that's why it is the time that spent for this matters as well.

but most ppl will change cars eventually, and the NCD will become very important.

in the end like i said, if u happen to claim one time within one year, the loss of 5 yrs NCD does it worth rm3k++ premium spent for 5 yrs, it is up to debate.

my point of cheap windscreen no need cover becos in the event that u need to really change a rm1k windscreen, no one will claim their insurance for this, because it is a small amount that ppl can simply come out from their pocket. not because one will claim insurance.
Yes changing new car, the NCD amount is quite a big value. But have you forgotten you had paid quiet a huge sum of windscreen premium all these years and then feel good saving that 55% discount on your new car insurance premium? I find it funny, people can afford to change brand new car but worry about losing NCD? laugh.gif

For cheap windscreen, you choose to save RM150 premium and pay from your own pocket to repair the RM1,000 windscreen?? You can't afford RM150 premium? But for RM700 windscreen premium you agree to pay and not claim your car insurance to repair your RM5,000 windscreen just to protect that NCD. thumbsup.gif

iphone
post May 17 2016, 11:40 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 17 2016, 07:46 PM)
What I comment is only applicable to ppl who change new car and much higher value car within 5 yrs.
OK sounds right there. Usually rich people can afford paying extra premium to protect their discount. notworthy.gif

Sometime "discount" has different way of looking at it. For eg, an item RM1,000, during sale they offer 25% discount. For me, I did not save RM250, I spent RM750. Is still money going out from my pocket. And to continue enjoy this 25% discount, I need to pay a fee to protect my discount. Again money coming out from my pocket. sweat.gif

iphone
post May 18 2016, 10:24 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 18 2016, 07:05 AM)
NCD is totally different as the promo discount during sales u mentioned.

NCD is entitlement/award that is given to drivers that have not made a single claim up to a maximum of 5 yrs time that offset 55% it is applicable all time to a driver's premium that need to pay anytime and it is transferable. It may sound simple but it may not be so easy to accumulate the 55% NCD as one need to 'ensure' nothing happen on the road for 5 yrs, as in real life road is always unpredictable, even u are not at fault, u can barely ensure others do.

No matter new or old cars, drivers are to pay the premium for insurance and this NCD applies always.
If u just simply treat the NCD as a 'discount' to ur premium while ur premium is low because ur car value is little for a 10, 20 or 30 yrs car, of course u will not value NCD. As the 'discount' that u refer to is little because the 'discount' u saved is little simply because ur car has no value. Or simply because ur current NCD is low for example 15% only or so.

Insight windscreen is ex, no matter how many years of cars it is, it still cost that much and given the weak RM. price may change to even higher. One can definitely opt out from windscreen cover due to reasons above. Again insurance purpose is to allow one to spend little to cover the higher cost that needed to fork out during incidents. One may treat this as not buying as a saving of not spending. Again, u have forgotten that u have been bearing the 'risks' over years. Ur mentioned 'saving' on 'spending' is actually an exchange of the risks u bear and not simply nothing. U have placed ur 'valuable' NCD for example at stake. Getting things insurance one has to pay a small premium to protect higher cost that one has to fork out later, this applies to car, medical and everything too. If nothing happen, of course one can claim that his decision for not buying the insurance in the past has translated into his savings. But insurance does not work when one only wants or plans to buy when something happened, one cannot even purchase an insurance to cover him when something had happened.

Of course, again it comes back to the same thing I said, if like ur case, NCD has no value to u either u NCD is low or simply because u do not change car so the premium u paid yearly is neglectable, then yes, the windscreen coverage is definitely not relevant to u in the first place but it definitely not for everyone.
Insurance company love it when owners are so afraid to make a claim (afraid of losing their NCD). Their idea is to make owners pay extra to protect the discount. More like buying additional insurance (more sales to them). Pay extra premium so that you don't lose the discount. sweat.gif. I guess many did not even know their windscreen are already protected by their car insurance. And for those that know, well this should work to prevent them from claiming "you gonna lose your NCD" if you make a claim.
iphone
post May 18 2016, 10:29 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 18 2016, 09:27 AM)
How much is the bulb? I dunno where to buy original
go search at Mudah, Lelong, Lazada. Look for H11 55W preferably Philips or Osram.

Open the engine bonnet. Unplug the connector. Twist the bulb and pull it out. Very easy to change. Remember never touch the new bulb glass surface, your finger oil will damage the bulb at operating temperature wink.gif
iphone
post May 18 2016, 12:13 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ May 18 2016, 11:54 AM)
nope...
half lifespan...
Half means 50K at RM320. If 150K = RM960.
Then might as well buy from Honda SC ? If not mistaken RM800+ but can last 160K. hmm.gif
iphone
post May 18 2016, 01:01 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 18 2016, 11:14 AM)
Can I get something brighter than the original stock bulbs? The current ones really dim
But I don't want too powerful ones that will burn down my car though 😅
Search Philips Xtreme Vision H11 bulb
iphone
post May 18 2016, 01:02 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ May 18 2016, 12:13 PM)
i need to change my wipers

Honda said silicon ones are not good, and i should use rubber?

anyone used silicon and what are the dimensions? my previous silicon ones were superb on my previous car though

any recommendations too?
I buy the replacement at Honda SC, I remember about Rm20+ per piece. Just replace the blade.
iphone
post May 18 2016, 01:59 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 18 2016, 01:40 PM)

Take myself as an example. It is the same that Honda is the brand i own now, but i won't go for japanese brand again for the next car but continental just simply because i do not forsee myself to stuck at the same brand or same segment car always given that one's salary will grow progressively over years which the car that he can own should be always better. When car price is higher, obviously the insurance will be higher, the NCD will make more significant impact here as it is on proportion (55%) instead of fixed amount like the windscreen cover.
Now you sounded like insurance salespeople talk. Get more protection when you are better off. Remember to give them more of your salary. For eg. protect your "discount" just in case you need to claim. tongue.gif

iphone
post May 18 2016, 03:20 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 18 2016, 02:25 PM)
Insurance is meant for those who are not well to do. One may think that insurance is for those rich this is totally a silly thought. If come to think, if a poor person who in need of claim for incidents etc but he does not have protection, his hard earn cash will be wipe up straightaway while for rich they can easily fork out cash to pay for it without impact. Therefore it is actually the other way round instead, the poorer the more in need of the insurance for protection.
the poor don't even have extra to buy petrol and toll. You ask them to insure windscreen which is already protected by their car insurance.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0865sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:37 PM