°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V6 °°, Support Green | Support Hybrid

RickRock
post Feb 18 2013, 08:50 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(kerelbort @ Feb 18 2013, 11:16 AM)
anybody install front parking sensor on their insight? sometimes I failed to assume the distance between my car and the wall at the parking lot.. tongue.gif..

any recommended accessories shop to install above in balakong/cheras area?
Same here, sometime even kena the auto-stop coz cruise too slow. A bit tension to release break leh
RickRock
post Mar 5 2013, 04:07 PM

151 posts

Hi guys, been driving my insight for 3 month, reaching 7K soon. Over all am enjoying my ride.

Only dissatisfy is during CNY fetch my family, Ipoh to KL. On highway, middle of a long incline, the battery level running low half way, instead of assist, direct turn to charging mode.

This is a bit annoying, since the engine working hard to drive the car, the motor should not be charge at the same time.

Do you guys encounter the same scenario?

Also the battery level drop immediately from level 3 to 1, almost within 10 second. Is this normal?

RickRock
post Mar 11 2013, 09:24 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(cbinn @ Mar 11 2013, 01:00 AM)
One year drop 20 to 25k is about 20 to 25% drop, I thought that's quite normal for imported car?

Hybrid car will have slightly lower resale value due to:

1) There are not a lot of hybrid on the road (as compared to other non-hybrid models). People have perception that when you do not see that car much, means to find a place for repair and spare parts would be difficult, so people tend to shy away from buy that car in second hand market.
2) Honda Insight is CBU from Japan, means any major parts need to be imported. On second hand market, easy availability of parts is one important consideration.
3) When you buy a second hand Insight, you do not know how the previous owner had been driving it. There are too many electronics and complex system in Insight (of course, Prius HSD is even more complex). That create higher chance and more points of failure when the car gets older or second hand.
4) A lot of talk about the IMA battery in the car does not last long, and a lot of people discussing about how their 1 year old car started to develop funny IMA behavior e.g. sudden lost of assist and keep on regen when uphill etc. This is shying away a lot of potential buyer in second hand market (actually this news is also shying away potential new Insight buyer too).
5) The IMA battery cannot be left unused for too long. Second hand car dealer usually keep their cars for months before can find a new buyer. Buyer will consider twice because they do not know the condition of the IMA battery. Buyer can bring an expert mechanic to check the engine and car body, but no way we can check the condition of the IMA battery.

Basically, I think Insight is not a bad choice to own if:

1) You drive a lot, the more mileage you have, the more saving you will get. Typical owner here in Klang Valley is getting around 550 to 600km for RM 62 of RON95 fuel. You do your math on how much km you travelling on a non hybrid in a month, then you can estimate how much you can safe and whether the saving is enough to compensate the slightly more expensive maintenance charge by Honda Malaysia every 5000km.
2) You plan to keep the car for a while. You will lost a lot if you sell off the car in a year or two.
3) You love technology and you love to be environment friendly, so you get to be different by owning a hybrid car.
4) The look of the car is actually very sporty, even if you compared to some non-hybrid at the similar price range, but anyway, the look thing can be different from person to person, so this point is up to you.
Item 4, sadly this is what many owner encounter, including myself. So far this is the only thing I not happy about my car. Can this be resolve? Reset ECU????
RickRock
post Mar 12 2013, 09:13 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(n00b123 @ Mar 5 2013, 05:15 PM)
I have encountered this problem before..just get back to the SC and ask them to reset the ECU settings...then it will fix this problem
Just ask them to reset the ECU? FOC?
RickRock
post Mar 12 2013, 02:51 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(iTrump @ Mar 12 2013, 01:20 PM)
- sudden lost of assist and keep on regen when uphill
http://www.insightcentral.net/forums/honda...are-update.html

With the update of IMA software, they claim will solve the uphill problem. But prior to requesting update, i went to genting during cny, no issue at all.
Have requested the update of IMA software 2 weeks ago, the update is so fast that i didn't even notice! hmm.gif The sc guy told me they pull a cable in front to connect for the update.

Do insist for an update of IMA if you are driving 2011 insight, no harm rite. If the front desk SC guy dun know what update you are talking about, do request to meet the technical head.
My insight is 3 months old. Can I assume that the version is already the latest? Anyway to check the version?
RickRock
post Sep 6 2013, 10:51 AM

151 posts

Anyone encounter alarm problem?

My insight recently alarm on and off gila.

Normal park car, shut down engine, enable alarm, after awhile(less than 1 minutes) will suddenly siren.

1. Try unlock, lock again. After awhile(less than 1min) siren.
2. Unlock, without open car door. Timeout, will automatic lock. Wait for a while will siren again.
3. Unlock, open and close all door including hatch and bonnet. Lock alarm. Same thing happen.
4. End up need to use key to lock. **Faint**
5. If start engine and drive a short distance, the alarm back to normal.
6. Send to SC, check everything normal. Can only reset the alarm setting. The SC say must simulate the same alarm faulty in the service center only can claim for new unit replacement.
7. After reset, not so frequent happen but still occurred.
8. The SC also mention maybe is I DIY set the alarm volumn which cause the faulty. I do not agree with him. (Anyone face the similar problem)???
RickRock
post Sep 6 2013, 11:20 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 6 2013, 11:07 AM)
from reading other threads, they say maybe your 12v battery weak, nak mati already
But if is 12v battery causing the problem, will have other problem as well, but mine other all work fine just the alarm issue. Some more mine just 6months old.
RickRock
post Sep 6 2013, 12:09 PM

151 posts

Seem like 3 of us having similar problem. Even after reset the alarm setting also not solving the problem right? So what else can we do next??

idoblu : I have no problem with reverse sensor beside the 1st week I drove my insight, accidently kiss a tiong when doing reverse parking, due to not familiar with hatch back car and the reverse sensor is a bit slow response for me. My heart was broken at that instant...
RickRock
post Nov 6 2013, 08:21 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Oct 21 2013, 10:40 AM)
RickRock

i get my cobra system installed back on my last service. The problem still could not be identify. SC say the cobra has check the control unit and it working fine.

yesterday i decide to disconnect the alarm myself to have peace of mind so that it wont trigger the alarm itself. Out of my surprise, the siren still working when ppl open the door when the car is armed.

the functions that is not available as below:
- when lock the car, indicator wont notice if there is door not close properly
- in car volumetric sensor no longer function
- no more security code by pass in case ur remote is out of batt (i think need to disconnect the alarm if this happen)

i think basically what left is just the siren still functioning.
eh... how do you disarm your alarm? So izzit safe to do so?
RickRock
post Nov 8 2013, 02:00 PM

151 posts

Guys,

Going to renew car insurance. How much should we cover for windscreen? RM5000?

0.0799sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:26 PM