My tyre seems botak, 20k km

6UE5T
post Nov 20 2012, 09:38 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(ToyotaKaki @ Nov 20 2012, 09:21 PM)
Tyre not enough air
Correct, the tire is under inflated hence it wears more on the edges. Normally tires can last at least 40-50k km if your pressure and alignment are proper and you drive normally, not whacking the corners all the time.
6UE5T
post Nov 20 2012, 09:57 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Nov 20 2012, 09:41 PM)
But i don't feel the alignment is off, camber can you feel?

But the tyre is 3 years old. Does driving style affect? I don't jam brakes but usually go 60 around turns.

I think tyre pressure maybe low, but why the rear ok?

BTW i forgot the tyre pressure for Persona can someone tell me what is the front/rear tyre pressure?
Going around turns at 60 is depending on the turns la. If sweepers, 60 is very slow. If U-turn then 60 will make your tire screeching already. smile.gif
Age does not play a part in tire wear, more on the elasticity of the rubber.

If camber is too negative, then usually it will wear on the inner side of the tire. If too positive then will wear the outer side.
If too much toe out, also will wear inner side more. If too much toe in, then usually will wear more outer side of the tire.
If wear out both inner and outer side, usually tire under inflated.

Why rear still ok? Because front does a lot more work for FWD cars (putting the power down and steering the car at the same time). Weight distribution of FWD cars are also more at the front, hence more pressure put on the front tires. On top of that braking also is much harder task on the front tires.
So normally front tires for FWD cars would need a few more psi of air/tire pressure. If you put the same as the rear then the front will tend to wear out much faster. Even if you give more pressure to the front, it will still wear out faster, hence you still need to do tire rotation to even out the wear all around.
6UE5T
post Nov 20 2012, 10:08 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Nov 20 2012, 10:00 PM)
But the wear between front & rear is very big difference.

Usually 20k baru rotate mine 20k already both sides botak.

I don't know many people put worn out tyre at rear coz they say front wheel drive front tyre more important, but rear is equally important so that the rear won't turn loose due to less grip.

In my case you think better change out all 4 tyres or just change the front 2?

If i put Michelin PS3 at front while using stock conti at rear will give grip imbalance?
You're supposed to rotate every 10K. It's possible for the front to be worn out much faster if you under inflate and you don't rotate, then do a lot u-turn at 60kph. smile.gif

You can just buy 2 tires and use them at the front since the rear are still good as you said. Different brand is still ok as long as the same for each axle. Might not be ideal but still very much acceptable.

Added on November 20, 2012, 10:13 pm
QUOTE(advocado @ Nov 20 2012, 10:02 PM)
stock is 15 195 60R right? Too long cannot remember right now

Added on November 20, 2012, 10:03 pmSo how you judge whether need more air or too much air? Do you pump until the bottom of tire to as flat as other areas or "bump out" a bit, coz usually the weight load is at the bottom of the tyre.
The booklet or sticker is a good starting point. Heck it's already as per manufacturer suggestion since they are the ones who build your car so they should know better lah. I personally like to increase by about 3psi from the sticker suggestion. If I feel still a bit to soft and not as sharp response, then I increase further. If I feel it's already to harsh in therms of ride comfort, then I reduce a bit. I keep doing that until I find the pressure I like. Btw the car dictates more in terms of the ideal tire pressure, not so much the tires it self.

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Nov 20 2012, 10:13 PM
6UE5T
post Nov 20 2012, 10:15 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(ToyotaKaki @ Nov 20 2012, 10:01 PM)
Booklet is just a guide. check your tyre every 5000 km then you will know what to do with it.
Check tire pressure every month. I normally do this every 2-3 weeks during fill up at fuel stations.
6UE5T
post Nov 20 2012, 10:20 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Nov 20 2012, 10:13 PM)
Usually rotate cost you how much, last time wanna rotate but forgot, also i hear need to balance camber alignment this and that probably cost rm50...

I don't U-turn at 60 la.

So if cornering tayar no screech means all is good? i only do 60 at those turn like U shape turns but not U-Turn la. Tyre no screech.
Rotation does not necessarily need alignment if all your tires are more or less the same condition. That's just the workshops trying to make more money out of you! The rotation it self should be cheap la, only jack up the car and open bolts what? smile.gif Heck I used to do it myself few years ago!

Some tires will screech more than others. But yeah, no screeching means in general not too bad. I often corner until my tires are screeching loud but yet they are still in good condition after 30K km! smile.gif
6UE5T
post Nov 20 2012, 10:33 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Nov 20 2012, 10:23 PM)
I wanted to rotate myself then the forummers last time say need to rotate at shop becoz they need to balance the tyre or something. So i forgot about rotating it.

Also the tyre pressure how the tyre look is important? I mean you pump until tyre is all flat or let the bottom bump out abit due to weight on the bottom?
I prefer abit less air because too much make the tyre bumpy and less grip.
Again as I said before, it's not true that tire rotation always have to be followed by alignment. Those who said that don't know anything, or they are workshop owners who want to make more money! Anyway it's up to you if you want to believe me or not, it's your money after all so do what ever you think is right for you. smile.gif

In terms of tire pressure, well the look of it can give you some indication but not enough. Normally the tread pattern have to lie pretty flat on the road.
If you prefer less pressure then that explains why your front is worn out already on the sides.

6UE5T
post Nov 20 2012, 10:57 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Nov 20 2012, 10:38 PM)
So rotate also no need weight balancing, just new tyres need weight balancing right?

So as long as the wheels are straight there is no harm doing rotation between front & rear, but better swap left to left right to right right?

I always scare pump too much air until the tyre like wanna explode.
QUOTE(advocado @ Nov 20 2012, 10:46 PM)
No la, i just mean when i pump more air it looks like wanna explode only. But u pump more air you get good grip & smooth ride?
Yes, surely no need balancing ever if just to rotate. Balancing is needed if you experience vibration in your steering when doing certain speeds. If you dismantle tire from the rim, then you will surely need to re-balance once you install the tire back.

Yes, as long as your steering is still straight then no need alignment even when you do rotation. Tire rotation depends on what tire you use.
If non-directional then you can go criss-cross or X pattern first (rear right-front left and rear left-front right), then the next rotation is just front-rear without changing left-right. Then next rotation follow X pattern again.
If your tires are directional, then you can only do front-rear and not left-right, unless you dismantle your tires and change the assignment to the rims from left to right and vice versa.

If you pump too much then grip will be compromised and the ride will be harsh. But under inflating also may loose you grip even though seems more comfortable.
6UE5T
post Nov 21 2012, 10:44 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(lastlovesong @ Nov 21 2012, 09:53 AM)
guys, if u have a full size spare tyre, u will include them in the rotation too?
Yes I would if I'm still using the std rims though.
6UE5T
post Nov 21 2012, 02:48 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Nov 21 2012, 01:08 PM)
But won't a new spare tyre put into use means one side is off in terms of traction because i is brand new 1 is worn?
Not really significant difference if rotation every 10K km. If you rotate when tires already quite used up like you now, then it will give some impact. The reason I include the spare is so that the spare rubber will not get brittled and this prolongs life of all 5 and wear more evenly for all 5. Of course when all 5 worn out then have to change all at once. But that's just my personal preference since I prefer all my tires are the same. But if I'm using after market rims like my daily car now, then of course I leave the spare in the trunk forever. smile.gif

Added on November 21, 2012, 3:01 pm
QUOTE(sanadi @ Nov 21 2012, 09:15 AM)
Every 10,000 km I always rotate my tires, do balancing and alignment on all 4 corners. Even though you feel the car is going straight, the alignment may have been off after 10,000 km, especially if you go through potholes.

An nowadays with rainy weather, there a lot more potholes.
Me personally I don't do wheel alignment based on mileage used. I only do when I feel it doesn't feel right anymore, and it can be even up to few years or 20-30k km before I send for alignment. Because often the workshops actually misalign/don't do properly which causes the steering to be worse/not straight anymore! I'm also a bit picky on this so once I got the right feel, I'm reluctant to have it change unless it already feels not right anymore.
Same also with balancing, if it's not vibrating up to 180-200kph, then I never send for balancing. But for me normally balancing will be a bit more often than alignment cuz the balance can change sooner when you lock during braking or often whack corners hard which causes the tires to get worn out faster. Also often the balancing weights come off.

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Nov 21 2012, 03:01 PM

0.0151sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:16 AM