XBox Kinect versus Playstation Move, Which one is better?

TSerymanthus
post Nov 19 2012, 07:40 AM, updated 14y ago

1,279 posts

Hi guys,

Between XBox kinect versus Playstation Move, which one is better?

Usage preference : First person shooter games with gun controller and also games for kids around 3-4 years old.

GamersFamilia
post Nov 19 2012, 08:45 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,865 posts

Playstation Move
BlueDigit
post Nov 19 2012, 10:06 AM

33 posts

For FPS = PSMove
For family= Kinect
For budget = Wii
TSerymanthus
post Nov 19 2012, 11:04 AM

1,279 posts

Thanks for the feedback.
XBox also has gun controller for shooting games, right?
y3ivan
post Nov 19 2012, 12:25 PM

502 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Nov 19 2012, 11:04 AM)
Thanks for the feedback.
XBox also has gun controller for shooting games, right?
yes. its called the lightgun and its only existed in 2002 for xbox.
another thing i wanted to point out is that x360 doesnt not have any arcade shooters until the existance of kinect. and from what i gathered theres only 2 games of that category

infact if your really into motion controls, the largest library and probably the best would be the wii. Also currently ps3 is getting a lot of wii ports, something worth checking out.

also if your targetting for kids 4yrs old its best suited for kinect, just by the shear amount of kids games. At least u dont have to worry about kids stuffing the controller into their mouths or hurting themselves

This post has been edited by y3ivan: Nov 19 2012, 12:35 PM
paige.pc
post Nov 19 2012, 02:16 PM

120 posts

But if u looking at Dancing in priority , then it is Dance Central 3 =D which is exclusive only to xbox kinect
TSerymanthus
post Nov 19 2012, 02:27 PM

1,279 posts

Quite difficult to decide. I guess there is no perfect games console out there.

Playstation Move has shooting games with gun controller (for myself) but XBox Kinect games sounds easier for kids because they don't have to hold controller and press the buttons on the controller.

But not sure if XBox Kinect have other sport games like tennis, bowling, golf and car racing games?

From the feedback above, sounds like Kinect has no shooter games... Sigh.

Difficult decision.
y3ivan
post Nov 19 2012, 06:52 PM

502 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Nov 19 2012, 02:27 PM)
Quite difficult to decide. I guess there is no perfect games console out there.

Playstation Move has shooting games with gun controller (for myself) but XBox Kinect games sounds easier for kids because they don't have to hold controller and press the buttons on the controller.

But not sure if XBox Kinect have other sport games like tennis, bowling, golf and car racing games?

From the feedback above, sounds like Kinect has no shooter games... Sigh.

Difficult decision.
sports games are common and are readily available for both consoles, and the wii getting most of the motion control sport games aka golf.

arcade shooters are pretty much a dying breed. even with both wii and ps3 combine <20 titles. Most of these titles are usually in the indie section/ mini section
deepan84
post Nov 19 2012, 10:07 PM

White Rider
2,200 posts

get the wii for kids motion games. the best at the a very cheap price.
TSerymanthus
post Nov 20 2012, 12:19 PM

1,279 posts

Hi guys, is it recommended to buy modded Xbox with Kinect at higher price. Any disadvantages? Once modded, the games are cheaper at around RM 10 each.

How much are the original games if I buy unmodded Xbox?

y3ivan
post Nov 21 2012, 10:28 AM

502 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Nov 20 2012, 12:19 PM)
Hi guys, is it recommended to buy modded Xbox with Kinect at higher price. Any disadvantages? Once modded, the games are cheaper at around RM 10 each.

How much are the original games if I buy unmodded Xbox?

xbox 4gb = SGD 250 ~ RM625
Kinect = SGD 170 ~ Rm425 or its much cheaper in garagesales

xbox 4gb + kinect bundle = RM 1150

all kinect games retail at $40 ~ Rm125

modded units for xbox 4gb RM 850~RM1000

disavdvantage
- needs to be reflashed manually by hardmod to update its firmware to able to run games
- not all RM10 games works
- unable to connect to internet or use any other network related functions. 80% of the dashboard is crippled
- unable to purchase XBLA titles which is currently the largest library

This post has been edited by y3ivan: Nov 21 2012, 10:39 AM
razr_sped
post Nov 21 2012, 10:36 AM

393 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Nov 19 2012, 02:27 PM)
when u mean shooting game with gun accessory, do u mean arcade shooting like time crisis or COD/Battlefield type...Xbox does have the support for latter too..jus a little slow/laggy in respone to Move as there is no light sensor to be "seen" by the camera.

I would suggest getting ori, personal opinion that is
TSerymanthus
post Nov 21 2012, 10:43 AM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(y3ivan @ Nov 21 2012, 10:28 AM)
xbox 4gb = SGD 250 ~ RM625
Kinect = SGD 170 ~ Rm425 or its much cheaper in garagesales

xbox 4gb + kinect bundle = RM 1150

all kinect games retail at $40 ~ Rm125

modded units for xbox 4gb RM 850~RM1000

disavdvantage
- needs to be reflashed manually by hardmod to update its firmware to able to run games
- not all RM10 games works
- unable to connect to internet or use any other network related functions. 80% of the dashboard is crippled
- unable to purchase XBLA titles which is currently the largest library
Thanks for the feedback.

What is XBLA titles? Okay, I'll google it.

Update: Okay got it. It's XBox Live Arcade....meaning playing online with other people, right?

This post has been edited by erymanthus: Nov 21 2012, 03:10 PM
TSerymanthus
post Nov 21 2012, 10:46 AM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(razr_sped @ Nov 21 2012, 10:36 AM)
when u mean shooting game with gun accessory, do u mean arcade shooting like time crisis or COD/Battlefield type...Xbox does have the support for latter too..jus a little slow/laggy in respone to Move as there is no light sensor to be "seen" by the camera.

I would suggest getting ori, personal opinion that is
I'm thinking the simpler arcade shooting games like Time Crisis, or some shooting games on aliens and monster... Haha, kill too many people not so nice. Kill monster or aliens not too bad... Haha.

So, you'll suggest unmodded Xbox Kinect or Playstation Move?

y3ivan
post Nov 21 2012, 10:59 AM

502 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Nov 21 2012, 10:46 AM)
I'm thinking the simpler arcade shooting games like Time Crisis,  or some shooting games on aliens and monster... Haha, kill too many people not so nice. Kill monster or aliens not too bad... Haha.

who are u buying it for? yourself or your kids. Sounds like ur more interest than your kids

unsure - ps3 and allocated RM 150 -Rm 300 for the accessories

This post has been edited by y3ivan: Nov 21 2012, 11:01 AM
razr_sped
post Nov 21 2012, 11:56 AM

393 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Nov 21 2012, 10:46 AM)
I'm thinking the simpler arcade shooting games like Time Crisis,  or some shooting games on aliens and monster... Haha, kill too many people not so nice. Kill monster or aliens not too bad... Haha.

my suggestion is either also OK...but go unmoded console..though its much more expensive to buy games, but i believe it also serve as a good learning tool for kids to learn on budgeting
TSerymanthus
post Nov 21 2012, 12:43 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(y3ivan @ Nov 21 2012, 10:59 AM)
who are u buying it for? yourself or your kids. Sounds like ur more interest than your kids

unsure - ps3 and allocated RM 150 -Rm 300 for the accessories
Haha, you are spot on. Actually it'll probably be 75% for myself and 25% for kids.

For Playstation Move, do they have shooting games for Aliens or Monsters. Is the game Men in Black for Playstation Move?

TSerymanthus
post Nov 21 2012, 12:45 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(razr_sped @ Nov 21 2012, 11:56 AM)
my suggestion is either also OK...but go unmoded console..though its much more expensive to buy games, but i believe it also serve as a good learning tool for kids to learn on budgeting
For unmodded Xbox Kinect or Playstation Move, in Lowyat Plaza, which shop would you recommend to buy from?

Good price and friendly service?

y3ivan
post Nov 21 2012, 12:55 PM

502 posts

As a working adult, its much more convenient to have unmodded console. Games could be purchase online and delivered to your home. Most working adults, have the money just dont have the time.

Also i dont have the time to play all the games on release. Ended, most game i play were 1-2 yrs later and is on sale for RM60.
razr_sped
post Nov 21 2012, 01:35 PM

393 posts

erm..i dun have any fav shop in lowyat plaza..i usually get my supplies from pbbseller (aka impulse megastore in FB) which located at JB..pay b4 12, get ur stuff nx workin days..
TSerymanthus
post Nov 21 2012, 03:07 PM

1,279 posts

Hi guys,

Can I buy Playstation Move accessories like this gun controller (see link) from overseas like US? Can it work with the Playstation Move bought in Malaysia?

The price is cheap. Some shops here quoted me a gun controller at RM 150 each!

http://www.amazon.com/MOVE-Precision-Shot-...IN%3DB003UF24SI

Thanks for advice
TSerymanthus
post Nov 21 2012, 03:12 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(razr_sped @ Nov 21 2012, 01:35 PM)
erm..i dun have any fav shop in lowyat plaza..i usually get my supplies from pbbseller (aka impulse megastore in FB) which located at JB..pay b4 12, get ur stuff nx workin days..
In Lowyat Plaza, there are so many shops...pengsan, don't know which one to go to rclxub.gif
terryfu
post Nov 22 2012, 03:19 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Nov 21 2012, 03:07 PM)
Hi guys,

Can I buy Playstation Move accessories like this gun controller (see link) from overseas like US? Can it work with the Playstation Move bought in Malaysia?

The price is cheap. Some shops here quoted me a gun controller at RM 150 each!
http://www.amazon.com/MOVE-Precision-Shot-...IN%3DB003UF24SI

Thanks for advice
Yes you can.

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Nov 21 2012, 03:12 PM)
In Lowyat Plaza, there are so many shops...pengsan, don't know which one to go to  rclxub.gif
Like everyone said. Buy online in LYN from trusted sellers like PBB or Heavyarm or even some of the up & coming ones. Unless you stay within walking distance from Low Yat Plaza, suggest you just do it online.
Lifeis@mess
post Nov 27 2012, 12:47 PM

108 posts

http://qisahn.com/sony-playstation-3-acces...sort=20a&page=2

Playstation Move Sharpshooter only cost 103.74..sometimes it takes 1-2 weeks to received item from qisahn.but its more secure and cheap..

This post has been edited by Lifeis@mess: Nov 27 2012, 12:48 PM
flodder
post Dec 8 2012, 11:09 AM

6 batang ab numb addicted with 6 bintang
1,039 posts

Both XBox 360 with kinect and Playstation 3 consoles me has now
what is nice Xbox no need use Move but Playstation 3 needed Move

Kinect games look for XBox

but normal games go for Playstation 3 better

0.0248sec    1.22    5 queries    GZIP Disabled