Cycling V4, General talks on Racing/road bikes
stacker99
Dec 11 2012, 11:37 AM
Dear Sifus...
I'm looking to upgrade to Mavic Ksyrium Elite Wheelset for my road bike. Have heard many good reviews on it. Due to limited budget, am scouting around lelong and found an auction for it but am a bit skeptical if they are ori or worth the price.
I would like to seek advise if there's fake Ksyrium wheels out in the market and how to differentiate them with the oris?
Also would appreciate if any advise can be given on the pricing would be great!
stacker99
Dec 11 2012, 01:48 PM
QUOTE(butthead @ Dec 11 2012, 11:49 AM) heard of fakes... never actually seen one before...it could be possible that it is that good that you can't tell the difference and mavis has no authenticity checcker using the wheel serial number still it is better not to get 2nd hand as it is hard to know what the wheel went through? preferably you save up a bit more and get a totally new one... kh lists the elite at rm2.6k msrp... maybe a bit lower after reduction... bbs sells roughly around rm2k if i am not wrong... and you have warranty with new wheels... Hi ButtHead, Thanks for the advise. It claimed to be a new unit which is up for auction. Thanks for the pricing guide as well. Will give it a try if I'm lucky to get it below 2 grand..
stacker99
Dec 11 2012, 01:54 PM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 11 2012, 01:43 PM) it's not that hard to differentiate between fake ksyrium and oris. fake ksyrium would look like this  and oris would look like this  Great info miaopurr...thanks! The pic u posted also shows no CNC milling on the RIM body & printing on the RIM is different. My friend told me the CNC milling is one of the indication of fake or real but of course there is nothing that can be imitated. Thanks again, I will watch out for the fakes.
stacker99
Dec 11 2012, 02:00 PM
That is scary...any drawback on the fakes? Less reliable? Or heavier/lighter? If equivalent, may consider if can save some $....
I knowla, I'm a stingy b******.....
Added on December 11, 2012, 2:01 pmOh...sorry...antenna broken and CPU slow...Heeee....
This post has been edited by stacker99: Dec 11 2012, 02:01 PM
stacker99
Dec 11 2012, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(mrjgx @ Dec 11 2012, 02:31 PM) For 2.5k, top up a bit you can get fulcrum racing zero..it's a bomb proof wheel  Carbon hubs and ceramic bearing bro Ya...Fulcrum has better Hubs but out of budget ler... Haven't add rim tape, tube & Tyres...all add up can exceed 3K... The one I'm eying on, everything in hopefully can get it at 2k or less..
stacker99
Dec 11 2012, 06:08 PM
Thanks for the advise ButtHead...
stacker99
Dec 11 2012, 09:19 PM
Thanks for recommending the site.. Decided to stick with Ksyrium Elite... Offer still looks better on lelong as it comes with Michelin Pro 3 light and accepts return if not satisfy. If found to be fake, I believe can return.
stacker99
Dec 11 2012, 11:10 PM
Okie...wish me luck then... Btw, how often do u guys change your chain? I just got the chain measurement gauge & found my chain has elongated more than 1% after 6 mth of use. Is this normal?
Planning to change it to KMC titanium chain. Is it any good? Anyone used it before?
stacker99
Dec 12 2012, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(butthead @ Dec 12 2012, 12:01 AM) what chain gauge is that? usually chain gauge like pro gold tells by how far it drops in between the links... if it goes all the way in, time to change... if it is still halfway, it is just a warning to tell you it's coming... that simple... anything with lightweight chains is a reduction in durabilty in exchange for performance... you can pick 1 of either two... you weigh your options... Yes...it's the same type of drop in gauge. It says on the gauge if the gauge drop in fully, it's more than 1% elongated. I think I will go for durability..there's not much weight difference on the super light version. Looking at it, they should be same material only that they cut some material out from center of each link to make it lighter. Thus reducing rigidity and durability compare to the standard chain.