Cycling V4, General talks on Racing/road bikes
hycl90
Nov 27 2012, 10:14 PM

hi all... im quite fresh to cycling.. would like to start do some cycling... for starting...is it ok to get a bike that cost around RM300~RM500? =) cycle from home to LRT station... what shall i consider? please advice... thnx
hycl90
Nov 27 2012, 11:07 PM

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Nov 27 2012, 11:05 PM) Buying a bicycle for commuting to LRT station daily, any bicycle will do as long as it is within your budget, especially if you are going to park it at your own risk. You need a sturdy lock and big chain to secured it from getting stolen. Still, there are chances that your baby will not be waiting for you when you come to fletch her on your return. We will never leave our bike unattended to, not even for a second esp. the expansive ones, as many will testify to it that it will dent our pockets. Our residential sifu here may recommends something for you. Cheers!  seriously i dunno the market...is a bike RM300~RM500 consider exp?lol.. between..there is a parking space in the LRT station... just not sure whether it is safe or not
hycl90
Nov 28 2012, 12:27 AM

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Nov 27 2012, 11:10 PM) bikepro, pedalspot, rodalink, ghspeedbike, anywhere Added on November 27, 2012, 11:11 pmnot sure la the price. but the cycling version is rm8xx. the boa dial kinda weak Added on November 27, 2012, 11:12 pmfolding bike? normal one is good enough... it is useless for me to get a folding bike..because i cant take into the train during peak hour...
hycl90
Nov 28 2012, 12:35 AM

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Nov 28 2012, 12:34 AM) cannot ah? they don't allow foldie on train during peak hours? yea..not allow..only allow during off peak hour http://www.myrapid.com.my/feeds/2011/09/12...only-ie-between
hycl90
Nov 28 2012, 12:44 AM

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Nov 28 2012, 12:41 AM) it beats the sole purpose of foldie. apa punya policy laaaa Added on November 28, 2012, 12:41 amergo 3. size 43. y? http://www.myrapid.com.my/news-events/medi...r-free-campaignKhairani said: “We at Prasarana are all for efforts to promote programmes to encourage to have less cars in the city and reduce carbon emission; hence minimizing air pollution. One way is by encouraging more people in the city to cycle and use our LRT to commute,” said Khairani, adding that folding bikes are permitted to board the LRT. The current ruling, however, only allows owners of folding bikes to use the LRT outside the peak hours; from 9am to 4pm on working days; and after 7.30pm onwards. “The ruling is in the interest of the other commuters during the peak hours when the trains are packed. The sharp ends of the bike parts can cause injury to the other commuters in case the train makes emergency stops. We also don’t want the dirt on the tyres to smear on our other passengers. That’s why we have implemented the rules,” Khairani said, normal bicycles can be parked at the LRT stations at the bicycle racks.
hycl90
Nov 28 2012, 12:45 AM

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Nov 27 2012, 11:05 PM) Buying a bicycle for commuting to LRT station daily, any bicycle will do as long as it is within your budget, especially if you are going to park it at your own risk. You need a sturdy lock and big chain to secured it from getting stolen. Still, there are chances that your baby will not be waiting for you when you come to fletch her on your return. We will never leave our bike unattended to, not even for a second esp. the expansive ones, as many will testify to it that it will dent our pockets. Our residential sifu here may recommends something for you. Cheers!  btw..iim new here..who is residential sifu ar?haha
hycl90
Nov 28 2012, 12:49 PM

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 28 2012, 10:21 AM) everyone is... we learn new things from each other everyday... cycling related or not... Added on November 28, 2012, 11:07 amnow for sure you can't sell it... i will re-quote this everytime you try to sell it... muahahaha wat is normal... hypermarket normal, normal normal, or expensive normal? sked the train emergency brek because kena potong line and the bikes lunge in front and decapitate 20 passengers lar.. you know lar... lala jai train drivers... sure tailgate each other to death on the track one... makes sense... you don't want to see some youtube videos about a cyclist brawling with an 80 year old lady because the cyclist got some chain lube on her LV bag right? hmm..just for normal use? hike on place where a bit hilly? the gradient is about 5%~
hycl90
Nov 28 2012, 09:49 PM

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 28 2012, 01:12 PM) photobucket lar... only got 100MB per day traffic limit limit i think... Added on November 28, 2012, 1:15 pmget those raleigh mountain bikes ... the diablo or something like that...i think outside can get for around RM800... it's over RM500 but i think it is the middle ground between super cheap and expensive.. the super cheap ones are like oscar or something like that... i think you can fish them out in mudah.my... okok...will go and look for it~ :
hycl90
Nov 29 2012, 05:04 PM

between...i assume every day i will cycle 1KM to my hostel.. should i get myself a helmet or others equipment? please advice..haha
hycl90
Nov 29 2012, 05:43 PM

thanks for the words......yea i think i should get one...is it possible to get one under RM100?
hycl90
Nov 29 2012, 06:03 PM

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 29 2012, 05:54 PM) under RM100 i think is very hard unless you wear kids helmets... i saw a merida one for RM100 or RM140... not fancy... but provides basic protection.. what is the recommended budget to get a helmet? =)
hycl90
Nov 29 2012, 06:34 PM

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Nov 29 2012, 06:31 PM) Chinese made helmet, most below RM100 but have to order online and no way of knowing it is stronger than your head. Sorry to potong your "Jalan"  will ride to LRT station every day...which about 1km i think i better get a good one..
hycl90
Dec 4 2012, 11:32 AM

wan to get a bicycle and cycle to LRT station..and just realize...recently is monsoon season...