Credit Cards Citibank Credit Cards V2, Discuss here

Gen-X
post Oct 11 2013, 10:08 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 11 2013, 05:02 PM)
The Citibank Platinum credit card (normal one) now sports a new look and design and it comes in matte finish.

QUOTE(hkboey @ Oct 11 2013, 05:18 PM)
Seems more banks prefer to use matte finish nowadays. Maybe it doesn't wear out so fast and thus they can issue a longer expiry card?
Black Matt for a Plat, I like it. I guess Citi wants to make their Plat a wannabe or "fake" Premier cards, hahaha.

My UOB VI (1 year +), MBB VI (2 years +) and HSBC VS (3 years +) are kind of black matte and all of them look "wear out" where the plastic coating is like kind of pealed off at the sides and corners. However my CIMB VI still looks new as I hardly ever use it.

And I just checked my HSBC VS which was given to me since it was launched, the card is good for more than 7 years!!!

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 6 2013, 03:45 PM)
Actually Citibank separated my credit card limit into two (credit limit + installment limit) more than a year ago. I noticed a huge jump in my credit limit in my Citibank credit card statement early last year, if I'm not mistaken.
Bro, you got a letter from Citi where they increase the Installment CL like I posted in my blog? See my previous comments below:

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 8 2013, 08:06 PM)
Bro I reread the letter Citi sent to me again, the increase in credit limit granted to me is temporary for about 3 months (expiring soon) and the one and only reason why Citi increased my credit limit was to entice me in signing up for their loan products. Click here to my article Avoid The Shit Hole of Debt by Getting Free Financial Tuition From Me where I posted the evidence of Citibank increasing my Credit Limit without my consent (even if it is for 3 months - it is still an increase without me requesting for it). I also posted a letter Citi sent to my wife offering increase in Credit Limit; and to accept the offer, all she has to do is sms in.
Gen-X
post Oct 11 2013, 10:42 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 11 2013, 10:28 PM)
No leh bro. It's actually silver matte and it looks so much like a silver card than ever  doh.gif  When i opened up the envelope, i actually thought it's a new credit card product as it looks so different compared to my current VISA Platinum. Besides, the Platinum wording on the card is printed in white and it is not very clear. One can easily mistakes it as a silver card  sweat.gif
OIC, from the photo, it looks black.

As for the previous Plat (which I have), without the word Platinum, one would think it is silver, haha.
Gen-X
post Oct 12 2013, 12:35 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Silver Isle @ Oct 12 2013, 11:28 AM)
Hey all, just wondering, can the reward points on 2 or more Citibank cards (under the same holder) be combined?
I believe the Principle cardholder can always combine them when redeeming stuff. Not sure for instant "cash" to pay at outlets.
Gen-X
post Oct 15 2013, 12:09 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(mamadox @ Oct 15 2013, 11:58 AM)
Got waiver for 1st & 2nd year. Call CS every year, but now request for waiver on 3rd year, they said no such promotion now for waiver.

They also dont care to lost customer. I always pay full each billing cycle & never got finance charge. Monthly usage about 2k.
Lesson learned, always go for card that offers auto annual fee waiver mechanism instead of needing to beg every year.

We should only sign up for credit cards with annual fee (without auto AF waiver) if and only if the card reward us more in monetary value over the annual fee.
Gen-X
post Oct 20 2013, 08:13 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 20 2013, 08:03 PM)
I think i did get the letter but i have no idea where did i put it already. I remember glancing it through but it wasn't a promotional letter that gives me free money, so i just tossed it aside. And now i couldn't find this letter but most likely it is in one of the boxes inside my messy room  sweat.gif

This (X) + (Y) thingy first appeared on my Citi credit card statement more than a year ago. Back then it was just RM40,000. I had a look at my credit card statement just now and i was surprised to learn that it has been increased to RM67,400  ohmy.gif
I couldn't get a clue whether my DELL PC installment eats into my normal credit card limit or installment limit. But i managed to find this out in my Citi Online and it indeed eats into my normal credit card limit, not the installment limit. My card installment loan limit is RM67,400 as of last month, but available installment limit still stands at RM67,400 (see below).

Yah, looks like your installment limit is untouched.

Wow, you can go buy a car with your installment credit limit, hahaha
Gen-X
post Oct 21 2013, 12:48 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Oct 21 2013, 12:28 AM)
Agreed. I burst my MBB2 AMEX while paying up some medical bills and airfares.  blush.gif

As you mentioned, I need to transfer funds just free up my credit.  icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(hkboey @ Oct 21 2013, 12:44 AM)
Haha, me too exactly!! Before I got my Plat, every month also hit limit. Have to keep on "reload" via m2u. Damn sien. The joy of accumulating 5x point is just so addictive. Haha! Citibank should do the same with their AMEX!
As you guys know, it is like really tough for me to get MBB to increase my CL since I got no pay slip. So do what zenquix taught me - go request temporary increase in credit limit - no need submit whatever documents. You can even request how much and long the temporary increase is good for. After it expire, go ask again smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 21 2013, 12:48 AM
Gen-X
post Oct 22 2013, 11:37 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(andyyaosmurf @ Oct 22 2013, 11:11 AM)
compare to Maybank and Citibank credit card. Somehow Citibank AMEX is more flexible, like when you really need to increase the limit, based on good records.. they will help you.. but Maybank maybe have too many client .. therefore they are very str8.
Oh yes, Citibank really generous when it comes to credit limit like many of us said they increase ours' without our consent. And if not mistaken, for Citibank credit cards, we can even use our cards above our credit limit (without requesting temporary increase in CL) but we will be imposed a fee.

The difference between Citibank and Maybank is that - Maybank is kind of in the same wave length as BNM to prevent cardholders from over spending where as Citibank is looking at their accounts bottom line only.
Gen-X
post Oct 25 2013, 09:08 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ceveori @ Oct 25 2013, 07:53 AM)
Bro help advise what card is this, wish to apply.
Tx
Bro, my card is Platinum.
Gen-X
post Jan 12 2014, 11:48 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

In my article My Bragging Rights and My Credit Cards 2014, I mentioned that I only used my Citibank Platinum Visa for movie tickets at TGV in 2013. Well, this year, I get to use my Citibank Platinum credit card to grant a FREE entry for one of my children into KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge; and best of all, when I wanted to pay for my daughters' New Balance Year of The Horse Limited Edition shoes (click here to see it at my facebook page), my Citibank credit card got me 10% discount at New Balance outlet at Scape Orchard Link. And the 10% savings for the shoes is more than enough the cover the RM50 GST for my card anniversary this year.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 12 2014, 11:50 PM
Gen-X
post Jan 14 2014, 11:02 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(whyteaz @ Jan 14 2014, 10:45 AM)
Thanks sifu.

OMG i just went to the blog and it is so messy and full load of ads~
I cant find what I want to find, I guess this Gen-X need to hire someone to redesign his blog = =''

So do you mean that to pay CC in full, on time every month when statement come? Is that the only way to skip interest?

BTW, when I apply that guy told me can waive annual fee by calling them. Why I see forumer said policy change and something?? OMG, m I kena conned?
= =''
hahaha, for your case, just go click Credit Card Tutorial Page at the top menu (or click here to the Page directly) and click on CC101 and Credit Card Interest Rates. But my articles are not for those seeking to be spoon feed tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 14 2014, 11:04 AM
Gen-X
post Jan 14 2014, 12:36 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(whyteaz @ Jan 14 2014, 12:29 PM)
Wow, it was a wall of text, but I finished reading including some article u wrote about oversea spending.
So is it advisable to use cc in overseas than to exchange cash from malaysia and bring it for overseas travel?

Btw, my feedback still the same. Get your website FIX~! biggrin.gif
Bro, on how much money (cash) one brings overseas, it is up to individual preference, and if you want to go to Casinos, yah make sure you got CASH. I always make sure I have enough cash in case I get stranded. But then again, I got many debit cards to get cash if necessary.

Don't like my blog layout, well, don't visit it tongue.gif

0.0396sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:24 PM