Credit Cards Standard Chartered Bank Credit Cards V2, Let's talk about SCB's credit card here

solsekuin44
post Nov 20 2012, 04:50 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

I'm currently deciding to apply for a Citibank or Standard Chartered card. Which one is better? ^^
solsekuin44
post Dec 10 2012, 12:05 AM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

I just received my card, applied last 2 weeks. But I was thinking, is it still beneficial to have SC card? If I want to send back the card and cancel it, any fees to pay?

What is the procedure?
solsekuin44
post Dec 11 2012, 05:40 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

When newly received the card, when will I get the cash back? Do I need to spend on something first to get it?
solsekuin44
post Dec 11 2012, 06:14 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Dec 11 2012, 05:58 PM)
You get the full cash back upon card approval...
I haven't make a call to activate the card.. Will check later. smile.gif
solsekuin44
post Dec 11 2012, 07:57 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(codeiki @ Dec 11 2012, 07:50 PM)
I applied 2 SCB platinum cards (Business Plat Visa + Plat Master) on 17/11, Approved on 4/12 and get the cards 11/12 today. My account only has cash back RM 55 per cards before minus GST 50/cards. I called CS, they replied saying have to swipe 3 times/card in 45 days and only get back the remaining cash-back RM250 after that. Is it true?
Really? Hm, BTW do you know what it means by combine credit limit?
I got 1 Maybank Visa card. So, let's just say 5k combine CL, I can only use 5k from this Stanchart card or what? hmm.gif
solsekuin44
post Dec 11 2012, 08:20 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(hiansitt @ Dec 11 2012, 08:09 PM)
because it's petrol + tng/smartag + rm55
combine credit limit is, at any one time, sum of your total card outstanding is less or equal to maximum credit limit.  (or else, you will face charge for overlimit)
Maybank + Stanchart outstanding = combined CL = overcharge if I exceed it? rclxub.gif
What's my credit limit for Stanchart card?
solsekuin44
post Dec 11 2012, 08:46 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Dec 11 2012, 08:28 PM)
SCB usually give High Credit Limit to Customer....maybe 6-8k & above brows.gif
Thanks.. I will call them tomorrow to activate the card.

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 11 2012, 08:30 PM)
CC from bank A will not share credit limit with bank B. Independent.

If you have 2 cards from SCB, they will share the credit limit (combined).

You can check the credit limit for your SCB card from online banking system or the letter that your CC was delivered with (the one where your CC is 'glued' to).
I have only 1 SC card.. This is my first.
On the letter, it shows only Combined CL. Not CL.
solsekuin44
post Dec 11 2012, 09:37 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 11 2012, 09:16 PM)
well, SCB is like that  biggrin.gif they are very optimistic that you will get your second SCb card soon  laugh.gif
Haha.. Ok, so to check my credit limit must give them a call eh?
2 cards are more than enough.

Got Maybank and this SC. smile.gif So, what are the benefits of SC card?
Good for foreign transactions? Online purchase? I use Maybank Visa for the EZpay and Treats Points.
solsekuin44
post Dec 11 2012, 10:22 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 11 2012, 09:56 PM)
yes, apart from what i have liste, you can call CS to ask too.

Stick to maybank visa for foreign transactions..imo, SCB is only good for discounts at selected dining outlets for now.
Really? Just got my Maybank Visa CL increased like last month.
Intend to keep it..
solsekuin44
post Dec 11 2012, 11:03 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 11 2012, 10:53 PM)
just received my Business platinum card yesterday, surprisingly they provide 4x more credit limit than my PBB Credit card
Have you activated your card? How to check credit limit?
solsekuin44
post Dec 11 2012, 11:33 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 11 2012, 11:11 PM)
call up the service center to activate the card, and i've done the e-banking for the statement as well

Credit limit is attached with the card, written in a letter
Mine showed Combined Credit Limit though I only have 1 SC card. This is my first. hmm.gif
solsekuin44
post Dec 13 2012, 02:56 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

I've activated my card.. Got RM300 cashback.
RM250 usable after minus the govt. tax wink.gif And the combined credit limit is my CL though I only have 1 Stanchart CC.
solsekuin44
post Dec 13 2012, 04:34 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(bodybuilder @ Dec 13 2012, 04:28 PM)
guys if we apply and we use the rm250 cash back then cancel it after 6months ntg 1 rite?

btw so many type to choose...whc 1 shd i choose?
I got Business Gold Visa. Planning to cancel it too after 6 months. Just got to know about Maybank2 Cards with more benefits.

BTW guys, annual fee is free for first 2 years right?
solsekuin44
post Dec 13 2012, 04:34 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(alantoi @ Dec 13 2012, 04:33 PM)
Why so difficult to found 0% instalment plan for SCB credit card? Flexi pay charge to high 4.99% for 12month
Maybank is the best for installment wink.gif
solsekuin44
post Dec 13 2012, 05:00 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Dec 13 2012, 04:53 PM)
I got billed RM200 for annual fee  doh.gif It should be waived right? I haven't call up CS
I don't know.. Will check my statement later.
solsekuin44
post Dec 13 2012, 06:25 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Dec 13 2012, 05:53 PM)
pump fuel 15% cash back wor
y cut?
Coz not using CC to pay for fuel.. I thought they'll give me higher CL. Maybank's higher smile.gif
So, I'm keeping my Maybank card, and will cancel Stanchart.

Do I have to pay for annual fee if I cancel my card say next week? I still have RM250 cashback untouched.
solsekuin44
post Dec 13 2012, 11:20 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 13 2012, 10:21 PM)
just use the rm250 and terminate it after several months.
annual fee is waived for the first 2 years for new cc aplications, this is stated at the website.
Is this ok? Feels like a bad consumer. Makan free icon_idea.gif
solsekuin44
post Dec 14 2012, 01:33 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Dec 13 2012, 11:21 PM)
If you feel bad, don't use and cancel it immediately.... Better yet, buy vouchers and give it TO ME.....
sweat.gif

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Dec 14 2012, 01:09 AM)
They dumb enough to use this strategy to attract new applicant, its their own fault.
But still.. If I cancel this card, how long should I wait to apply for another new card?
Not from Stanchart of course. smile.gif
solsekuin44
post Dec 14 2012, 01:53 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Dec 14 2012, 01:47 PM)
i think this only apply to within the same bank. u can still apply to other bank.
So, I should just cancel the card straight away?
CS said she's going to send me SMS with temporary PIN for online banking. But i receive none till today.

solsekuin44
post Dec 14 2012, 02:13 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 14 2012, 02:09 PM)
I was so free that I visited SCB website and was shocked to learn that one now needs 67,000 points to redeem RM100 Giant Cash Voucher. Back in August when when I published my article on Standared Chartered Bank Business Credit Card, one only needed 32,000 points for the same voucher!!!

So my question is - Is the above correct and is the latest, i.e. need 67,000 points for RM100 cash voucher or is there a newer revised catalogue?
That's the recent one.. Somebody wants to cancel the card now because of reduced benefits.

0.0491sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:19 AM