Malaysia 3G/4G Internet discussion, Basic tips and tricks

TSblacktubi
post Jan 18 2013, 09:49 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(./Hack-Fusion @ Jan 18 2013, 08:23 PM)
hi blacktubi, you video for set APN for your Huawei modem using Mobile Partner is privated, can i watch how to do the setting?? thanks
Will get it fixed soon, something happened to that old Youtube account
TSblacktubi
post Jan 27 2013, 03:59 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(gskow @ Jan 27 2013, 03:56 PM)
I am using ZTE MF680, this suppose to fully support by the MDMA rite?
but still cannot see QoS
ZTE MF680 is not supported for QoS reading on mdma smile.gif
TSblacktubi
post Mar 17 2013, 05:32 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(apek1989 @ Mar 17 2013, 05:29 PM)
why my MF680 show only 2G sometimes??

but when im using my maxis bb it shown 3G..any idea? hmm.gif
Because there's no 3G signal

or maybe the infamous 900/2100 issue

Refer QNA
TSblacktubi
post Mar 22 2013, 09:49 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(DoomGuard @ Mar 22 2013, 07:19 PM)
is there anyway for me to change sierra 320u dash board? i dun like the waatcher..
No solution bro sad.gif
TSblacktubi
post Mar 28 2013, 04:27 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(bongah @ Mar 28 2013, 04:26 PM)
do u guys hv problem like this? I even reinstall the driver and new dashboard sad.gif  . any help would be appreciated...
You didn't setup APN
TSblacktubi
post Mar 28 2013, 04:38 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(bongah @ Mar 28 2013, 04:35 PM)
I did set up my apn just like in first post...still a no go. nvr happen before until I reset my modem using mdma.

Anyway, can it connect last time using Windows 8.
TSblacktubi
post Mar 31 2013, 01:26 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(bosouman @ Mar 31 2013, 01:00 PM)
i remembered doing that.. and theres a guide here somewhere....
been looking for it. since my college area speed really suck ass.
mdma work with E398 but not band config

You want to force it to UMTS 900 or 2100
TSblacktubi
post Mar 31 2013, 03:29 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(bosouman @ Mar 31 2013, 03:16 PM)
usually i pushed it to 2100.. since thats the fastest band..
but idk atm which is the fastest.
anyways lets try with 2100
To play with frequency on LTE modem QPST is required

Let me play play how to do it, I forgotten the m
TSblacktubi
post Apr 13 2013, 10:47 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Apr 13 2013, 10:44 PM)
My maxis signal at my house at nilai:
RSSI = -97dBm

Is -97 a lousy/poor value?
Sometimes my e367 modem can disconnect by itself. Wondering if it's related to maxis line? The golden contacts of the USB got dots of oxidation (since i first receive it from fruitie).
-97 is very very very poor smile.gif

Disconnect by itself is a famous E367 issue. No people know why

Not all are affected
TSblacktubi
post Apr 13 2013, 11:31 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Apr 13 2013, 11:07 PM)
very poor  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif it fluctuate between -93 to -97 (that's what I saw at mobile partner>diagnostics>network status>RSSI)
normally what's the value for good?

why fruitie never mentioned about this before when selling it? i bought it from her last time when it was selling like hot cake. now i got heart attack when u say it's famous issue. now i'm sad. always thought fruitie is 3g modem expert. sigh.  cry.gif

but sometimes it can run for hours without disconnect..running good. sometimes it can disconnect in just a few minutes  rclxub.gif

i just cleaned up the oxidation using rubber. now it's shiny now.
The issue only arise after a while, that's why initially no people understand bro, can't fully seller fault sweat.gif

But I saw last time many people fixed it by blowing it with a fan smile.gif
Guess it is related with overheat wink.gif

Right now I dont think there's still many using E367 sad.gif
TSblacktubi
post Apr 14 2013, 05:43 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Apr 14 2013, 11:16 AM)
My speedtest at -95dBm RSSI

My speedtest at -87dBm RSSI

U Mobile as test server.
Try using Chuah famous reflecting method biggrin.gif

I think can find some photos on those first page posts
TSblacktubi
post Apr 21 2013, 08:45 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(FireRider @ Apr 21 2013, 08:40 PM)
bro... can tell me the different between RAS and NDIS setting?
and which one is batter...
No significant difference wink.gif
TSblacktubi
post Apr 24 2013, 04:43 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(lui @ Apr 24 2013, 04:23 PM)
Hi Blacktubi, thanks for the effort for sharing this mini WiKi. I research a lot and found this is the best thread to find what i wana know.

I staying at Puchong Wawasan 2, a Maxis area with no fiber install. I am sick with the ADSL speed and really interested to get the Maxis Wireless Broadband, since the area covered by LTE.

I have one question, the network i need is to share with my wife. Therefore, i am considering between the 21Mbps MiFi modem and 42Mbps E372 + MR3420. I know the later will give me better speed, but I would like to know do i need to do any configuration or tuning for the E372+MR3420 in order for them to work perfectly? Or it's just simply plug and play?

I read the MR3420 thread, ppl talking about V1 & V2 then sharing about fix idle connection and disconnection. Then open firmware to fix issue, which are worrying me and keeping me away...

Can you give some advice?
MiFi is for portable usage and totally not recommended for 24/7 usage wink.gif

Puchong do have LTE but not amazingly fast and antenna is required.

Just get special Maxis package and get E398 as your modem and TP-LINK MR3420 V2 as your modem. PM me if you need more info

Ignore the idle issue, its the custom firmware. Stock firmware is working well but you might need to use a pinger to make the connection on HSPA+
TSblacktubi
post May 6 2013, 05:25 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ May 3 2013, 05:07 PM)
super nice post TS thumbup.gif
anyway, not sure this is the right place to ask, is TL-MR3040 compatible with Huawei U398? I checked on their site that only v2 is compatible with 4G modems, but hope anyone here can let me know if v1 can be used with E398?
many many thanks..
MR3040 is known for some compatibility issue

Flash to OpenWRT and biggrin.gif
TSblacktubi
post May 7 2013, 06:47 AM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ May 7 2013, 01:30 AM)
What was the tweak that we did to our modem to increase the value default 222 to 444/450 ?

anyone still remembers it ?

i wanna chk my modem again, thanks  smile.gif
Search my topic and find the supercharge thread tongue.gif
TSblacktubi
post May 12 2013, 05:26 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(steven789 @ May 12 2013, 05:23 PM)
How about this one from Maxis? Good or not?
This is a 21Mbit modem laugh.gif

Not to say good or not, but for sure a 42Mbit device would be faster than a 21Mbit one due to DC-HSPA+ support

Most of us here use at least 42Mbit or up to 100Mbit LTE device wink.gif
TSblacktubi
post May 12 2013, 05:26 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(steven789 @ May 12 2013, 05:23 PM)
How about this one from Maxis? Good or not?
This is a 21Mbit modem laugh.gif

Not to say good or not, but for sure a 42Mbit device would be faster than a 21Mbit one due to DC-HSPA+ support

Most of us here use at least 42Mbit or up to 100Mbit LTE device wink.gif
TSblacktubi
post May 17 2013, 03:55 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(Turnip @ May 17 2013, 03:51 PM)
Blacktubi why is the 'how to set up your modem using mobile partner' video is private?  sweat.gif
I will reupload soon when I got time

Probably tonight nod.gif

Anyway it is not hard, you can get the latest one @ WTS E398 installation pack only
TSblacktubi
post May 17 2013, 06:28 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(therise @ May 17 2013, 06:17 PM)
I afraid MDMA haven't fully support E398 yet sad.gif
E398 series some might have issue with band config, some may totally not found on MDMA, some may can't connect to the internet wink.gif

Anyway, in this case, I suggest you play with some supercharging. I suspect celcom signal is weak at your location
TSblacktubi
post May 17 2013, 08:41 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(therise @ May 17 2013, 07:29 PM)
I guess I am unlucky batch lol.  cry.gif
Gonna dedicating this night to find that "mysterious" 3g  biggrin.gif

Btw, does high RSSI in 2G connection equal to high 3G too?
Nope, they are totally different sad.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0377sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:15 PM