> Why are gold more expensive than platinum, make not economic sense

stinger82
post Nov 11 2012, 12:48 PM

288 posts

ts, u tok so much.

u wanna tell america and great britain, those hundreds of tonnes of gold are now worthless? because u are a keyboard warrior?

it like asking, why american bill worth so much?
dr2k3
post Nov 11 2012, 12:49 PM

Speculator
3,569 posts

QUOTE(iceypain @ Nov 11 2012, 12:42 PM)
because post-meltdown, people value wealth preservation much more than pre-meltdown while industrial demand for both remained unchanged.
wealth preservation kind of demand is speculative demand...

industrial demand is more real demand

This post has been edited by dr2k3: Nov 11 2012, 12:49 PM
stinger82
post Nov 11 2012, 12:50 PM

288 posts

also, because wearing platinum wear look just like silver.
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Nov 11 2012, 12:50 PM

oro?
4,187 posts

QUOTE(stinger82 @ Nov 11 2012, 12:48 PM)
ts, u tok so much.

u wanna tell america and great britain, those hundreds of tonnes of gold are now worthless? because u are a keyboard warrior?

it like asking, why american bill worth so much?
assuming there are golds in the fort knox. *conspiracy theory hat on
dr2k3
post Nov 11 2012, 12:51 PM

Speculator
3,569 posts

QUOTE(stinger82 @ Nov 11 2012, 12:50 PM)
also, because wearing platinum wear look just like silver.
silver or platinum looks better tho

gold look like old fag
iceypain
post Nov 11 2012, 12:51 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(dr2k3 @ Nov 11 2012, 12:49 PM)
wealth preservation kind of demand is speculative demand...
it's not easy to draw the line between speculative demand and plain old demand. do you hold cash (excluding fx trading) because you're speculating that it will increase in value?

This post has been edited by iceypain: Nov 11 2012, 12:51 PM
K.I.T.T
post Nov 11 2012, 12:52 PM

673 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Nov 11 2012, 12:01 PM)
how gold is more expensive when platinum is much rarer, harder to mine, and have more utility?
people have been teach over generation until now.gold gold gold...dalam Quran pun sebut "emas emas emas"

so.................

boost demand lor.u jual pun untung.u guna pun tak rugi.u also jadi kaya.u miskin jumpa emas pun jadi kaya in flash.
dr2k3
post Nov 11 2012, 12:53 PM

Speculator
3,569 posts

QUOTE(iceypain @ Nov 11 2012, 12:51 PM)
it's not easy to draw the line between speculative demand and plain old demand. do you hold cash (ex. fx trading) because you're speculating that it will increase in value?
yes..fx trading

to me buy and sell is speculative

unlike industrial it is buy and use...therefore it is the real demand for me
iceypain
post Nov 11 2012, 12:56 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(dr2k3 @ Nov 11 2012, 12:53 PM)
yes..fx trading

to me buy and sell is speculative

unlike industrial it is buy and use...therefore it is the real demand for me
by ex. i meant except.

what is the ultimate goal of a manufacturer? to sell its product for profit right? so is the act of buying raw material and turning it into product speculative? it's used as a tool, as a means to an end. same with people who buy gold to preserve wealth, it's just that their using as a means to another end.

this is not to say the price of gold is not inflated by speculators because it definitely is right now.

This post has been edited by iceypain: Nov 11 2012, 12:57 PM
noobfc
post Nov 11 2012, 12:58 PM

Peanuts
753 posts

those puppeteers controlling the market
phunkydude
post Nov 11 2012, 12:59 PM

2,403 posts

electricity conductivity ^ = value ^

dr2k3
post Nov 11 2012, 01:00 PM

Speculator
3,569 posts

QUOTE(iceypain @ Nov 11 2012, 12:56 PM)
by ex. i meant except.

what is the ultimate goal of a manufacturer? to sell it's product for profit right? so is the act of buying raw material and turning it into product speculative? it's used as a tool, as a means to an end. same with people who buy gold to preserve wealth, it's just that their using as a means to another end.

this is not to say the price of gold is not inflated by speculators because it definitely is right now.
what i mean is that...if a person buy a gold and sell the gold out....it's speculative

manufacturer cannot sell the end product into gold market anymore unless they melt it back to pure gold..therefore manufacturer cannot be say as speculative.....they are speculative on their own product but not to gold market

This post has been edited by dr2k3: Nov 11 2012, 01:01 PM
GaretJenna
post Nov 11 2012, 01:04 PM

Everyone wants a baby
802 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Nov 11 2012, 12:07 PM)
yearly supply of mined gold is 4000+ tonnes, platinum is less than 200 tonnes. how can platinum be cheaper than gold  rclxub.gif
Because Supply and demand

sure. there are 200 tonnes of platinum. but ppl only want 50 tonnes. so what?

Gold on the other hand, only have 4000 tonne. but people want 100,000,000,000 tonnes. so how?
iceypain
post Nov 11 2012, 01:05 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(dr2k3 @ Nov 11 2012, 01:00 PM)
what i mean is that...if a person buy a gold and sell the gold out....it's speculative

manufacturer cannot sell the end product into gold market anymore unless they melt it back to pure gold..therefore manufacturer cannot be say as speculative.....they are speculative on their own product but not to gold market
another way to look at it is that gold has one use outside industry, which is as a store of value i.e. money.

for example, if the value of the metals in a coin exceeds the face value of the coin itself, then the coin is worth more than its face value (disregarding legal and smelting costs). this is because the metal has two uses.

This post has been edited by iceypain: Nov 11 2012, 01:10 PM
Shadow Kun
post Nov 11 2012, 01:08 PM

TOASTY!
621 posts

QUOTE(dr2k3 @ Nov 11 2012, 12:43 PM)
just like ipong and android popularity contest when ipong spec is lower ? whistling.gif
True. That's just how marketing works. Platinum might be the better product but it have terrible marketing hence the lesser demands. Nobody to blame for that.

This post has been edited by Shadow Kun: Nov 11 2012, 01:08 PM
kuzumikun
post Nov 11 2012, 01:09 PM

because gold is stone with golden color,dat y high price than platinum
Boldnut
post Nov 11 2012, 01:12 PM

2,209 posts

which conclude that people who buy gold @ price > platinum are retards.
dr2k3
post Nov 11 2012, 01:18 PM

Speculator
3,569 posts

QUOTE(kuzumikun @ Nov 11 2012, 01:09 PM)
because gold is stone with golden color,dat y high price than platinum
gold is metal
keelim
post Nov 11 2012, 01:19 PM

941 posts

Bretton Woods System.
soonlee33
post Nov 11 2012, 01:30 PM

2,677 posts

Aurum looks like the sun