The SONY NEX Discussion Thread ver. 3N

vyruzj
post Nov 8 2012, 09:04 AM

216 posts

Anyone interested in some parts and accessories?

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2551056&hl=
vyruzj
post Nov 8 2012, 09:13 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Nov 8 2012, 09:07 AM)
Does the NEX-6 come with the ADP-MAA adapter, to mount Sony iISO flashes (F20-F58)?
I don't see any adapter for the hotshoe. I just got my nex-6 yesterday... Cheers!
vyruzj
post Nov 8 2012, 01:29 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(Hudd @ Nov 8 2012, 12:55 PM)
this Nex5r really killing me...Midvalley's Sony offer me for 2440 for the single lens. Is this a good deal?
Mebbe call Studio Zaloon? Uncle Chin is a great person to talk to...
vyruzj
post Nov 9 2012, 12:15 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(neo_lam @ Nov 9 2012, 10:29 AM)
guys....my NEX 6 got a weird problem....i shoot RAW and when i enlarge the picture in my camera there are glitches and problem on the picture...can anyone tell me is there anyone experience this b4??
What kind of glitches bro? I currently snap in JPG coz no lens profile for the pancake zoom yet in Lightroom 4.2. Might try later tonight after work...
vyruzj
post Nov 9 2012, 05:02 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(loon1983 @ Nov 9 2012, 04:53 PM)
first day using nex, test shoot...  biggrin.gif

Added on November 9, 2012, 4:55 pm

but my friend using hard screen protector said cant use the touch screen after apply...
then i go for b+w, u know where can get? thank u...  tongue.gif
Wah bro.. u bought in Hong Kong ur NEX? What are those? mailboxes?
vyruzj
post Nov 10 2012, 12:16 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(neo_lam @ Nov 9 2012, 11:55 PM)
here it is...shot on 16mm...i think like the other bro said...pancake problem with the current firmware...

Any particular setting being used? like in auto, manual or aperture mode? How about white balance? Let me see if i can replicate the issue on my NEX-6...

vyruzj
post Nov 10 2012, 12:42 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(neo_lam @ Nov 10 2012, 12:28 AM)
I have been doing a factory reset on the camera...the issue gone....very weird..
i have been using A mode, AWB and almost all default setting...
Good to hear that ur issue has been resolved. Maybe some issues with the firmware and needs to be reset?
vyruzj
post Nov 10 2012, 01:00 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(loon1983 @ Nov 10 2012, 12:45 AM)
anyone here got take the 30mm macro lens offer?
how the lens? worth to get?
I think if you're into macro photography should be worth it. But bear in mind the focal length is just 30mm, u need to get nearer to the object for maximum impact. The macro lens also can doubles as a normal prime lens, but a bit slower due to its maximum aperture f3.5.
vyruzj
post Nov 10 2012, 10:38 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(nlik @ Nov 10 2012, 01:11 PM)
Hmm.. looks like the 16-50 is not listed as compatible with the first gen Nex-3, C3 and NEX-5 and 5N?  Maybe someone can try it? Maybe it should work but have to live with the image distortions.

e-mount 1650 compatibility

Err.. how is NEX-6 video capturing?? is it good if you want to record for more than 1/2 hour??
I have tried putting the new 16-50mm pancake zoom into the original NEX-5. The zoom trigger/button won't work, manual zoom and focus with the ring also won't work. No choice but to leave it at 16mm and tried to snap photo - AF wont work as well... i think the original NEX-5 and NEX-3 might need a firmware upgrade first before it can work with the new pancake zoom.
vyruzj
post Nov 11 2012, 10:04 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(gsJackMin @ Nov 11 2012, 02:26 AM)
hi guys, I just bought a nex-6 from studio zaloon as well ... im trying to download the apps but when I register the sony entertainment network account it says the service is not available for our region? anyone can teach me how to do it?
Try too register under US region instead. I have a PSN account with US address, so login in to PlayMemories is no issue.
vyruzj
post Nov 11 2012, 04:40 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Nov 11 2012, 10:32 AM)
The PlayMemories Mobile app doesn't work for me. I'm using an Android 4.04 phone (which should be compatible), but it gets stuck in "Connecting" after I tap on the camera.
hmmm... no issues for me. Did u install the direct upload and the remote application in ur camera as well?
vyruzj
post Nov 11 2012, 07:53 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Nov 11 2012, 06:06 PM)
Ya, I installed those. The phone can see the camera in the wifi list, but it gets stuck when connecting.

What phone and OS are you using?
I am running on Android 4.0.4, HTC One X. Hmmm that's weird... Anyone else with this issue?
vyruzj
post Nov 13 2012, 12:02 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(loon1983 @ Nov 12 2012, 10:32 PM)

Added on November 12, 2012, 10:38 pmbtw, how come even i off the review funstion the camera also takes time for next shoot....
it slow down the whole process... anyway to make it can keep shooting?
What is the speed of ur memory card? If you are using SD card, it denoted by the number on the SD card itself.
vyruzj
post Nov 13 2012, 11:58 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(Anly @ Nov 13 2012, 11:29 AM)
may i know is the sigma lens able to AF or only MF?
If not mistaken is AF and without image stabilization... Works great with perfectly lit places or else u need to crank up the ISO, use higher shutter speed or use a tripod. That's just me coz I have dun have very stable hands tongue.gif
vyruzj
post Nov 13 2012, 09:06 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(geek8585 @ Nov 13 2012, 12:08 PM)
Some said this lens provide quality pictures rather than the sel16f28 and the sel30m35... But this lens is build by plastic except is lens mount to the camera..

IMO, it is worth for its price tag.. But becareful, some review around said not all copies allign to the center..

Added on November 13, 2012, 12:11 pm

In your case, wider up aperture, shoot ISO up, making shutter speed faster might help.. Hmm OIS is useful, but SEL24Z18 gives
better feel of picture even it doesn't build with OIS
Yeah, i tried the combo of wider aperture + high ISO + faster shutter speed = works great. But sometimes not all photo taken need to set open wide aperture especially landscape or group photo with too many people (center is sharp but the others at the side will become soft)

Added on November 13, 2012, 9:09 pm
QUOTE(Ah hao @ Nov 13 2012, 08:05 PM)
i am really tempted by the price (RM690 vs RM1400+-), but today i take out my old minolta 50mm 1.8 lens and try shooting indoor, its really hard to get satisfy result (for my noob skill of course) , so i guess i really need the OSS with 1.8 sad.gif
Hope this is true  biggrin.gif

http://www.sonyalpharumors.com/first-35mm-...-at-ephotozine/
Another dilemma is either to buy 35mm 1.8 OR 10-18mm f4... Only 1 lens to buy and i really love to take landscape while travelling, but 35mm is something compact and "everyday useful lens", what to do  rclxub.gif
One thing which i have tried which works pretty well with manual focus lens it to use the EVF on my NEX-6 to compose and focus. Using the EVF our eyes/spectacles will provide some support to stabilize the camera.

For me i will go for the 35mm. I have tried using 45mm & 50 mm legacy lens and found that sometimes its too tight to use indoor, outdoors should not be a problem. But i think 35mm will be a good all rounder. 24mm will be too expensive for me blush.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by vyruzj: Nov 13 2012, 09:13 PM
vyruzj
post Nov 13 2012, 09:14 PM

216 posts

I oso wanna know what 3rd party external battery charger available in our Malaysia market? Anyone that bought it can share?
vyruzj
post Nov 14 2012, 02:49 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Nov 14 2012, 01:33 PM)
An update for PlayMemories Mobile for Android was released yesterday. It's working on my phone now rclxm9.gif
Ooo... thanks for the info.. update update... hehe tongue.gif

Added on November 14, 2012, 2:53 pm
QUOTE(0168257061 @ Nov 14 2012, 01:34 PM)
Back from Singapore recently.
Just sharing. Taken with Sigma 19mm

DSC03189 by YongJK, on Flickr
Nice one... nice and SHARP! Is this OOC jpeg or after PP? I always loved architectural photos tongue.gif

This post has been edited by vyruzj: Nov 14 2012, 02:53 PM
vyruzj
post Nov 16 2012, 12:11 AM

216 posts

My first outing with my NEX-6 @ Kuantan & Cherating:

Pls comment and advice for improvement. TQVM notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by vyruzj: Nov 16 2012, 12:13 AM
vyruzj
post Nov 16 2012, 08:52 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Nov 16 2012, 01:06 AM)
Very very nice! Are these jpg straight from camera or processed?
Thanks for the compliment. I shot in RAW and processed in LR4.2. Mainly playing with contrast and default presets.

Added on November 16, 2012, 8:55 am
QUOTE(sukhri @ Nov 16 2012, 02:11 AM)
wowwwww you pict sooo nice
Thanks for the compliments! Besides compliments, anything that i can improve? BTW anyone coming for the Sony portrait event this Sunday at Kelana Jaya?

This post has been edited by vyruzj: Nov 16 2012, 08:55 AM
vyruzj
post Nov 16 2012, 09:32 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(geek8585 @ Nov 16 2012, 09:14 AM)
nice pic vyruzj... is this the 1650 lens? i still hv no chance to try out this lens... but from your photo, it is really stunning  smile.gif

I just upgrade my SEL24F18Z lens firmware to Ver.02... can feel slightly improvement with the "hybrid" focus   rclxm9.gif
the most important thing is auto focus is more accurate when aperture wide open   icon_idea.gif

to those who own lens that offered firmware upgrade v02 by sony, pls go ahead and upgrade it
I have used the 18-55mm with CPL at Teluk Cempedak beach which i have borrowed from a fren. The 16-50mm PZ i used it at Cherating beach. I can say that the 16-50mm PZ, as a kit lens it good except for the distortion and also the slight vignette when taking photo at 16mm wide open.

Wah... SEL24F18Z... Poison Poison.... share some pics!

Added on November 16, 2012, 9:34 am
QUOTE(emjay @ Nov 16 2012, 09:24 AM)
Just got my NEX-6 and feel excited that a lot about photography that I need to learn.

In trying to maximise the wifi on Nex-6, I came across this article that may be of interest to other Nex5r or Nex6 users.
http://sonyalphalab.com/2012/11/getting-st...ymemories-wifi/
Yup, downloaded it all. But no chance to use yet.. hehe... busy snapping photos... haha biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by vyruzj: Nov 16 2012, 09:34 AM

0.0226sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:49 AM