>>**LYN Perodua MYVI Owners Club v24°°<<, The New Myvi 1.3 SE (S-Series)

dares
post Nov 6 2012, 02:22 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(keewah @ Nov 6 2012, 02:14 PM)
Dear all Sifus , need some advices on my 6-7 years old Myvi.

Today i sent my car to Perodua Service Center (SC) to service due to some 'klock - klock' sound at my front left tyre there.
My friend told me it is related to drive shaft since after changing absober , it still have those sound.

So today I sent my car to SC and after service inspection, their technical inform me that both of my front drive shaft need to change cause it is leaking now.

Total cost of chaning is around RM2200 with 6 months warranty.

Shall I let SC to service or outsource to external mechanic?

Thanks all sifus in advance  notworthy.gif
Rm2200 for a pair of driveshafts is very expensive blink.gif
dares
post Nov 11 2012, 12:03 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 10 2012, 07:36 PM)
hmm..never driven a car with EPS be4...but heard alot of ppl say got delay
delay as in lag, like when u turn right, theres a slight delay be4 it actually does it
specifically grand livina
some other car doesn't seem to have this problem
me...i'd prefer hydraulic for the experience, handling
The delay only affects the transition from different level of EPS assist as F-22 explained, it should NOT affect the steering response itself has the steering is still mechanically linked to the steering rack and steering rods.

If you encounter freeplay during steering, then I suspect it's steering rack problem dy.

As for the EPS assist delay, no it is not common among EPS systems, at least not as severe as the one I experience with Myvi. The Fiesta does not experience such noticable delay hmm.gif hmm.gif
dares
post Nov 15 2012, 11:07 PM

834 posts

Just sharing. My friend booked the Myvi SE today, the offer was as following:

RM 2.1k discount
Security tint (dunno what brand) + 7" sun visor for windscreen + windows etching
Umbrella
Steering lock
Smart tag + TnG card
Full tank

This post has been edited by dares: Nov 15 2012, 11:07 PM
dares
post Nov 19 2012, 11:39 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Nov 19 2012, 11:38 PM)
lol, saya veli noob, esok baru nak g tint tongue.gif i also dunno what color to go with silver color sad.gif any1 can suggest what color?
BLACK
dares
post Nov 19 2012, 11:44 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Nov 19 2012, 11:40 PM)
TQ bro, 2moro going to tint tongue.gif TQ  notworthy.gif
Eh...so easy accept my suggestion sweat.gif down to your personal preference lor, coz I think silver Myvi is mostly grey (silver) and black, put other color tint mcm one kind laugh.gif
dares
post Nov 20 2012, 01:34 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Nov 20 2012, 08:14 AM)
LOL, need to takeopinion from those who are more pro than me  tongue.gif if nt later use other color like one kind only  biggrin.gif
I'm not pro, but I think it won't be ugly hmm.gif

Post picture pls wub.gif
dares
post Dec 1 2012, 01:28 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(agul4931 @ Dec 1 2012, 12:59 AM)
Thanks for the advice!
Yes. Noticed the LCD panel is dimmed while head light is on. & been manually adjust the [brightness] [contrast] & another one I forgot what's that already but still not helping much.
Perhaps me having serious Astigmatism. Thus it appears to be an issue for me but not most of other user out there...sigh...
Will ask SC for any recommendation other than put a card board to block it now, haha...
Is it brighter than the meter cluster at nite?
dares
post Dec 1 2012, 07:45 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Dec 1 2012, 07:09 PM)
Just wondering; how do you if the brake rotor is warped?  hmm.gif
Either skim or replace.
dares
post Dec 1 2012, 08:05 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Dec 1 2012, 08:00 PM)
Missed out one word in previous post.  sweat.gif

I mean how do you know if the brake rotor is warped?
Typically, the first clue is that your brake pedal vibrates or pulsates when you brake at speed, and the frequency of the vibration follow your vehicle speed, eg. the vibration is faster when the car is moving fast, and slows down as your car decelerates.
dares
post Dec 2 2012, 10:31 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Dec 1 2012, 08:14 PM)
Thanks. My brake pedal doesn't vibrate but my car jerks (front and back) when I apply brakes at steady pressure until the car stops. It is as though the brakes are not even. It normally happens when I apply brakes at 60kmh and below.
It could be due to warped rotors too, or warped brake drums.

Added on December 2, 2012, 10:31 am
QUOTE(agul4931 @ Dec 1 2012, 09:20 PM)
Nope... The meter cluster sure brighter... Js that, me still see a rectangular grayish LCD screen lo. Haha...
Unplug the HU's fuse laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dares: Dec 2 2012, 10:32 AM
dares
post Dec 10 2012, 06:19 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Dec 10 2012, 06:06 PM)
Why do you think Perodua is pushing the sales of Myvi SE and not the Extreme by not giving discount?

Added on December 10, 2012, 6:09 pmI guess adding another extra RM6k for Extreme is not worth it?
Adding extra RM6k for 1.5 is good.. But what about going extreme?

Added on December 10, 2012, 6:12 pmAlso was recommended Tint but it was really expensive. Around RM1k ... Not sure if it worth it. More for solar than security... Plus JPJ compliant would be good.

Added on December 10, 2012, 6:14 pmI am just not sure we should spend so much on tint for a myvi. Can use the money to do other things...

Added on December 10, 2012, 6:16 pmI want tint so the car is cool
Compared to SE, Extreme has more bling eg. Bodykit, tint and leather seats. Beyond that it is practically the same car as the SE.
dares
post Dec 10 2012, 06:54 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Dec 10 2012, 06:28 PM)
The thing is I want leather seats.. Body kit not sure...tint am hoping for cheap and good ones

Added on December 10, 2012, 6:28 pmBut not their stock leather seat covers.... Is ugly...
Then get the SE and get your seats wrapped in accesories shop.

As for tint, hunt for deals on groupon, once at the shop, top up a bit to get higher end ones.
dares
post Dec 10 2012, 07:39 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Dec 10 2012, 07:16 PM)
Yea tint needs to be good and cooling. Gonna go with raytech. That is what SA advised. Just expensive,IMO. Lazy to go scouting. Is it good?

Where can I wrap my seats with leather, dares? Thinking colored leather.
I honestly have no idea since I am not into leather seats. But here is a link to get you started

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1416826
dares
post Dec 11 2012, 01:33 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Dec 11 2012, 12:43 AM)
Security vs solar tint for myvi. Which is more important? If you can afford it, get security tint.

How many myvis is do you think get sold a month? Gonna be a commoner soon. Myvi is already the most common car on our roads. You can't spend 1 second on the road without seeing one.

If I change my lamps to LED will I void warranty? If you only change the bulbs then no. Bulbs are considered wear and tear.

Added on December 11, 2012, 12:58 amDo ppl put tint on the windscreen?  Is it different from side windows or same? Front windscreen tints usually have higher VLT than the other windows.
This post has been edited by dares: Dec 11 2012, 01:34 AM
dares
post Dec 11 2012, 12:15 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Dec 11 2012, 01:40 AM)
You're the best, dares. Thanks for replying.

Yeah, I don't understand this VLT. So higher means more light coming in so it looks like normal glass, right? Do I need to tell my SA that?

I've been reading up about tint and leather seats ALL night...

Added on December 11, 2012, 1:41 amI'm clearly not very bright 'cos I've been reading up about it and not understanding this whole tint. Do you think I can get security + solar for RM1k? I just need to make sure the car is cool and front windscreen should be tinted. I just realised my kelisa's windscreen was never tinted which means I've gotten enough radiation to last me forever. No wonder I've aged tremendously.

Added on December 11, 2012, 1:48 amI just saw some unbranded tint company offering 10 year warranty on their tint that has 5 mil, almost 90% IRR but very visible at 52% for RM500! cheap... but not sure if it'll be good.
VLT means visible light transmission, that means how dark the tint is. The lower the VLT, the darker the tint. JPJ have limitations how low your VLT can go for your windscreen and the other windows.

You can get security + solar tint for less than 1k, though some might question the quality. My friend got free security tint when she got her 1.5 SE last week. Not sure what's the spec, but it's Coolworld with 12 years warranty IINM.

PM me if you'd like the SA's contact, the showroom is in Taman Segar, Cheras.

This post has been edited by dares: Dec 11 2012, 12:15 PM
dares
post Dec 11 2012, 12:34 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Dec 11 2012, 12:28 PM)
the lower the VLT - that means, percentage wise 55% is dark, 65% is lighter?
Yep.
dares
post Dec 11 2012, 12:45 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Dec 11 2012, 12:39 PM)
thanks dares - do these tint people know not to put the 55% on the front windscreen? 'cos the quote I was given it didn't mention this...

Added on December 11, 2012, 12:40 pmgroupon's running a Llumar deal for below RM1k wink.gif SO TEMPTING.
Usually tint shops will say that their tint is JPJ compliant. Feel free to ask them if they have warranty against JPJ tearing down your tint (meaning if JPJ kacau and tear your tint out, they will replace FOC)
dares
post Dec 11 2012, 12:52 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Dec 11 2012, 12:47 PM)
But if it's from a Perodua SA should be OK? But it's probably the SA's own contact rather than Perodua's right?
This you have to ask the SA. If JPJ kacau you kacau the SA lor. Usually it's the dealership that picks the shop.

Anyway, the tint should come with warranty card.
dares
post Dec 11 2012, 03:47 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(WinterAngeLs @ Dec 11 2012, 01:35 PM)
The autolock thingy, SA said Gov wants it to be remove cuz when car got into accident, the locks wont unlock itself... sweat.gif really? I thought it will b unlock once engine dies.

Stupid excuse. Macamlah if I lock the door myself it will make any difference doh.gif
dares
post Dec 13 2012, 11:53 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Dec 13 2012, 01:14 AM)
Send an email to crd@perodua.com.my. Every email helps smile.gif

Added on December 13, 2012, 3:37 amI have created a petition here to rally our fellow drivers to rectify the EPS issue. Please show your support as every signature counts smile.gif
Interesting petition. As a driver who likes to drive spiritedly, the below post in that petition page pretty much sums up my concern. My GF's sis received her 1.5 SE last week, all the drivers in her family agree the EPS is very disturbing and unpredictable, and they are not even driving kaki that drives the car half as hard as me (eg. they all drive like aunties).

mohamad fitri SHAH ALAM, MALAYSIA

regarding my feedback, the EPS assist delay not just happen to my car only, but to other new myvi equipped. currently i'm using the 1.5, i also tested 1.3. and the delay is there. what become my concern is that eps delay is too long and unable to predict the steering assist behaviour when manoeuvring frequent turning and quick accel/decel.

situation for quick deceleration:

1. in straight road before approaching sharp corner at high speed, where steering assist is low, which extra force is needed to turn the steering,

2. upon entering the sharp corner, driver apply brake to slow and turn the steering with extra force because steering assist is still low because of the assist delay.

3. in the middle of the corner, the steering assist become high, less force needed but since the driver is still turning it with extra force before the assist transition. the driver over turn the steering when it transition to high assist.

situation for quick acceleration

1. quick acceleration to high speed from standstill/low speed, assist is still high, can wiggle the steering left and right like a toy car until it settle to low assist few seconds later.

I hope Perodua can look into this matter, study the assist behaviour and provide firmware update for the EPS ECU.

0.2952sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:21 AM