6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V7, RM2299 It's here!! Woohoo!!!!!

joytest
post Nov 7 2012, 12:57 PM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(fghvbn @ Nov 7 2012, 12:56 PM)
=.= all ur phones? why need so many?
Pronounce in Cantonese:
Kau Kei
joytest
post Nov 7 2012, 01:03 PM

13,188 posts

Woohoo....

Titanium Backup can create your apps flashable zips

http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/11/06/ne...-apps-and-data/
joytest
post Nov 7 2012, 04:31 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Nov 7 2012, 04:02 PM)
ya, so much so that seems like everyone not getting an s3 is getting a note 2. and i seriously wonder how many people actually utilise or appreciate the functions specific to note 2... like s pen, etc...

haiz... now looks like getting s3 or note 2 is no more unique experience... hahaha... feels like a sheep kinda thingy now...

but yes, seeing how s2 and note turned into s3 and note 2, i have to say... samsung is on the right direction. just hope they dun get cocky with all the news abt them planning to do their own OS (other than that Bada thingy)...
For me, S-pen was a major selling feature for me coz I hated carrying all those A5 notepads to take notes and then storing them. I use S-pen daily for note taking now, and perform backup to email and my cloud.

FYI I use HandyNote by appbody. Don't want to be tied down to Samsung proprietary framework. It's usable on any Android, and gives S-note features on CM10 roms.

HandyNote is damn good, even has palm rejection on Note2. I was surprised at how well it worked.

joytest
post Nov 7 2012, 05:53 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Nov 7 2012, 05:48 PM)
Duhh..why make comparison when the battery still got 60% left. Let it rundown till 1% left la to know which kernel is better.
But then again..saving battery maybe one of the main feature with certain kernel while others maybe looking for speed and tweaking features.
Well..win some..lose some    lolz
IMHO, the note2's battery performance has redeemed all complaints about smartphone battery runtimes. When screens were 3" or so, everyone complained they only got thru half day.

Now, with a 5.5" screen, it lasts for 8 f'ing hours of SCREEN ON TIME. So wad to complain laaaaaaaaaaa

Anyway, my pet peeve is also about people complaining about battery dying midway in office. Dude, you are IN OFFICE. Use a charger or carry a damn cable and plug to your notebook !!! Problem solved.
joytest
post Nov 7 2012, 06:23 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(ebackbone @ Nov 7 2012, 06:14 PM)
actually. NFC development is quite straight forward especially with new devices nowadays. i can see most if not all 2011 NFC enabled phones being supported once this starts to roll out.

but in malaysia, we are hindered by a few factors:
1. it is a new baby tech to malaysia hence first adopters incur the highest cost (afraid to lose too much money so some groups are playing a watch and see attitude)
2. discussion on how much to milk from the customers/clients and who pays for the cost of transactions is a lengthy process in this type of country tongue.gif
I think, for NFC, since the chip is in the cover, to handle NEW PROTOCOL....just buy backcover v2.0, then update the NFC authentication libs in the ROM, that should be it.

+1000 for point no.2

This post has been edited by joytest: Nov 7 2012, 06:24 PM
joytest
post Nov 7 2012, 08:14 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(gouken @ Nov 7 2012, 08:10 PM)

Kekeke tongue.gif
Some professor will start to write:

The Fall and Rise, and Fall of Apple

This post has been edited by joytest: Nov 7 2012, 08:15 PM
joytest
post Nov 7 2012, 08:27 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Xabrius @ Nov 7 2012, 08:23 PM)
Sifus, please help. I'm sending my Note II back for an exchange, so how do I remove all traces of root and flash counter?

N7105, rooted, stock ROM

I had enough...

My S3 had H+ while my Note 2 LTE gets G
My friend's S3 LTE had H+ while my Note 2 LTE gets G
My iPhone 4 shows 3G while my Note 2 LTE gets G

All with the same SIM card at the same location...

Note 2 gets the fastest speed when tested using speedtest despite showing G, a 50% chance to really get a 2G while showing 'G' where even LYN struggles to load..

add:

ODIN MODE
Product Name: GT-N7105
Custom Binary Download: Yes (2 Counts)
Current Binary: Custom
System Status: Custom
I think you need to load up TriangleAway and clear the counter first, then Odin flash back to stock.

joytest
post Nov 7 2012, 08:33 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Xabrius @ Nov 7 2012, 08:31 PM)
Thanks for the speedy reply.

Sigh, time for me to backup
I think your phone has seen one too many faps.....be a good boy now....
whistling.gif whistling.gif
joytest
post Nov 7 2012, 08:49 PM

13,188 posts

Actually, this whole concern about rooting and all.....the modern smartphone in all respects IS a full blown computer. Personally I feel the lockdowns and all only serve to enrich the manufacturers and not empower the users.

The US Librarian of Congress has approved for jailbreaking and rooting of smartphones as legal.

I suppose in this part of the world, we don't have a watchdog like that to speak on behalf of users to corporations, so we are all living in fear and getting shafted all the time. I wonder if we can petition MCMC/SKMM to legislate on this? I mean, in your standard warranty T&C, your statutory rights are not diminished....sooo......legalized rooting becomes a statutory right....
joytest
post Nov 7 2012, 09:02 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(ebackbone @ Nov 7 2012, 08:56 PM)
try to think of it from their perspective and consider this one sample situation:

user buys your product. roots it and gains access. runs a cpu overclocker to attempt to gain cred and bragging rights. blows the CPU from overheating. user then attempts to unroot and restore to stock. returns the lemon product and claim that it is faulty from the manufacturer.

now imagine that same type of user x100 x1,000 x10,000 x100,000 and so on. would you rather wish to continue running the same business practise to allow rooting to your product then? understand that each claim will eat into your profits.
Absolutely get that. That's why Intel sells you so called "unlocked" cpus for higher margin.....you want to play you pay....but they'll still honor warranty coz they make obscene profits....

Likewise, as the analysis of the Nexus 4 shows, the estimate margin for your general high end smartphone seems to be about USD400...so there....

And then again, people like you and I are not your normal user. We know the risks and are prepared for it. Your mom/dad/uncle most likely doesnt care nor want to do such things with their phone. So, it will not be in the x1000000.

And Samsung still makes $7b+ last quarter.....so, greed vs empowerment.....money talks louder....

Vox populi vox dei?????
joytest
post Nov 7 2012, 09:17 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Nov 7 2012, 09:11 PM)
The number is still minimal tongue.gif. Phone manufacturers are just greedy wanna sapu all profit wherever possible.  rolleyes.gif
Yes. If you take a very casual sum of the numbers on XDA and the downloaded ROMs, lets assume in total 20m devices are rooted and custom rom'd.

Out of the hundreds of thousands of posts (from 20m devices), I'm pretty sure we only read several thousand that said they bricked their device.

So, the rationale is, open up the platform, take the M$ model, install whatever you want, but charge for support calls.....so this forces user to fix their own sh*t, but ultimately if hardware failure, go look for warranty la.

Then again, out of all the people who overclock CPUs, there don't seem to be many who fry the CPU either. Since there's no heatsink on the Exynos, a burn is easy to identify. Just classify a cpu with burn mark as non-warranty-able, and take in everything else.

Added on November 7, 2012, 9:19 pm
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 7 2012, 09:13 PM)
That's because rooting = access to system files so the damage of the phone could be cause by you. Then they will be busy fixing the mess u cause.

Then if particular person keep sending their unit in because of the mess he did they will be so busy wasting resources and parts
So, become Android Certified System Engineer and fix other people's mess and charge for it.....that's a useful application of the M$ model.
Open platform, do what you want, mess up, call and pay someone to fix.....

This post has been edited by joytest: Nov 7 2012, 09:19 PM
joytest
post Nov 7 2012, 09:24 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(ebackbone @ Nov 7 2012, 09:21 PM)
well. pros and cons of having different systems. if all the countries operate the same way, i think nobody is interested to travel already. same building design, same road, same type of car, same language etc etc LOL

but seriously, it's the way of the current world and there are benefits for us that we don't emulate american system 100% exactly. for example, america have a strong and enforced digital proprietary rights law compared to us. how would you feel waking up in the morning to receive a letter that you are being sued for piracy? if by having the 1 to 1 exchange within 30 days entails having the strong digital proprietary rights, would you still want to ask for it?

Well, you also get strong civic consciousness and civic action. And keeps everyone on their toes since it's a highly competitive society.
On the flip side you get bread and circuses, but that applies here as well.....

In general, the advancement of society tends to offer more pros than cons, until the people at the top go crazy with political correctness...which has happened in the UK.
joytest
post Nov 7 2012, 10:04 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 7 2012, 09:32 PM)
Thinking from a customer poi yes u are right

But from business poi of view its not right

Just imagine if they have 100 units if 50 ppl complaint they must take that 50 to samsung for warranty and always restock more just for 1 to 1 exchange  the cost of holding this stock who gonna bare?  Are u gonna bare their up front cost?

Then this will be also big issue for samsung to repair those units just imagine if 10 outlets 50 complaints to 1 to 1 exchange that's like 500 units that's like rm2299 x 500 = 1, 149, 500

Then samsung must hire lots of technician to just fix that 500 units and the phone value it self already more than 1 million excluding their technician salary, electricity and parts
Was on the road just now. I think fruity co can also....so isn;t that a problem that manufacturers have learned to deal with effectively?

This post has been edited by joytest: Nov 7 2012, 10:04 PM
joytest
post Nov 7 2012, 10:40 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(fghvbn @ Nov 7 2012, 10:32 PM)
I threw everything at my note 2 today and the battery is still at 36% ...
Did you try the kitchen sink as well?
joytest
post Nov 7 2012, 10:54 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Xabrius @ Nov 7 2012, 10:52 PM)
Guys, do I need to do wipe when I flash stock ROM?

Which is recommended, ODIN or CWM?
Odin la...CWM is itself a custom kernel.
joytest
post Nov 7 2012, 11:35 PM

13,188 posts

Latest innovation from the fruit company !!!!!!

joytest
post Nov 8 2012, 12:14 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(unnamed_kalkulus @ Nov 8 2012, 12:11 AM)
but y i used the 3rd party 1 slower de..haih..really cant understand y..when i put back the the original cable is ok..lol
Yes, since V=IR if you recall cool2.gif

So, low quality cables have higher internal resistance, so your nett charging voltage or amperage is reduced.

You can run some kalkulus on this I suppose.... whistling.gif
joytest
post Nov 8 2012, 12:18 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 8 2012, 12:16 AM)
Yea my nokia lumia 900 cable  longer than samsung alot.
For all of nokia's current faults, they do make good quality hi-spec hardware. I still have my 1m long micro USB cable...works well on my Note2.
joytest
post Nov 8 2012, 12:22 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Xabrius @ Nov 8 2012, 12:20 AM)
Nokia cable with a clip? aka Type CA-101?
I = V^2/R
2A = 5v/R
R = 2.5 ohm (perfect conditions)
Yes cable with clip. I think its CA-101. Horribly expensive last time.

In addition to faps, strong in mathematics this one is......heheh... notworthy.gif
joytest
post Nov 8 2012, 12:31 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Xabrius @ Nov 8 2012, 12:23 AM)
Yea... I have 4 of them, given 3 of them away, now I kinda regret.... I love the clip very much...

Hehe, it's my profession, I repeat that equation on a daily basis smile.gif
What about (34-24-36) + (38-26-42) ?

Does that make sense?
sweat.gif

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0489sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:11 AM