129 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Bottom

DOTA2 V8, Dont look her into the eyes (Medusa)

5p3ak
post Nov 28 2012, 10:44 AM

CPE, FIG Certified Gymnastics Coach
5,648 posts

Match making with friends only song...solo queue...abit boring laugh.gif
v1n0d
post Nov 28 2012, 11:09 AM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Nov 28 2012, 10:35 AM)
went into Dota 2 yest (had access after completing survey)

i am actually quite dissapointed, compared to HoN it was lacking a good matchmaking/point system, anti leaver system, and some other interface features like built-in guides within game, buying items feels different too (dont find it as user friendly).

suddenly i felt i miss HoN after winning one game 3-3 due to 2 leavers each on mine and enemy's team. Didn't felt that satisfied playing it.
If I may:
- The matchmaking system is still in it's early stages, but you can expect it to better that of HoN's as it's based on the TrueSkill algorithm
- HoN's anti-leaver system only got better once the game began imposing the verified/unverified player rule. I'm guessing once the game goes F2P, Valve will have to step up and deal with this problem just as S2 did.
- Guides/tutorials and mentoring support is not ready yet. After all, this game is still in it's beta stage. As opposed to HoN, the immediate priority here is getting the game on par with the latest DotA 1 map in terms of hero pool etc. If you notice, none of the features that provide easy access to new players is up and running.
- Buying items is a personal affair. I find the DotA 2 shop much easier to use, especially with the quickbuy and recommended items customization. Maybe the difficulty in shopping is because you've spent a lot more time playing HoN than most of us here.

I'm sorry about the leavers etc., but HoN does the same thing too - newly created accounts only have the option of playing with other unverified accounts. Play a few games and you'll see this change. If you're looking for a buddy to play with, add me up, account name is in my siggy.
Davidtcf
post Nov 28 2012, 11:47 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

icic... the leaver system sounds good biggrin.gif

yeah miss having guides telling me some hints for what items to buy... i wont follow 100% la will still think and customize if need to. Just that easier for me dont have to crack brain so much when the action is so intense out there slow by few secs means alot sometimes. i at work adi crack brain so much come back brain sure abit slow dyy.. prefer if buying items dont have to look at all of it.

using numpads to cast item spells oso weird la.. in HoN just use shift +q,w,e,r etc so much quicker. i know dota 1 use that method oso but it's actually slower unless you have like a logitech game keyboard whr u can customize numpad keys to your G keys.

thanks for all the replies. i feel i definitely cant escape from Dota 2 coz friends are gettin crazy over it just tht some dont have access yet due to Valve choosing players from the survey. I'll test out more and see what can be improved/what's better in Dota 2. Hmm planning to set the graphics lower to see if that can make it less laggy (notice it's abit when action are intense).
ray148
post Nov 28 2012, 11:49 AM

451 posts

Just play Random Draft if you q solo.

Better than AP mode where ppl just try to outpick each other.
v1n0d
post Nov 28 2012, 01:00 PM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Nov 28 2012, 11:47 AM)

yeah miss having guides telling me some hints for what items to buy... i wont follow 100% la will still think and customize if need to. Just that easier for me dont have to crack brain so much when the action is so intense out there slow by few secs means alot sometimes. i at work adi crack brain so much come back brain sure abit slow dyy.. prefer if buying items dont have to look at all of it.

using numpads to cast item spells oso weird la.. in HoN just use shift +q,w,e,r etc so much quicker. i know dota 1 use that method oso but it's actually slower unless you have like a logitech game keyboard whr u can customize numpad keys to your G keys.

thanks for all the replies. i feel i definitely cant escape from Dota 2 coz friends are gettin crazy over it just tht some dont have access yet due to Valve choosing players from the survey. I'll test out more and see what can be improved/what's better in Dota 2. Hmm planning to set the graphics lower to see if that can make it less laggy (notice it's abit when action are intense).
This IMHO is the biggest downfall for DotA 2 - the lack of a casual play option. Most of my working friends find the games too stressful to play on weekdays. At least with HoN they have MidWars.

P.S. You can still customize to CTRL+QWER, Google up how to do it.
Davidtcf
post Nov 28 2012, 01:22 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Nov 28 2012, 01:00 PM)
This IMHO is the biggest downfall for DotA 2 - the lack of a casual play option. Most of my working friends find the games too stressful to play on weekdays. At least with HoN they have MidWars.

P.S. You can still customize to CTRL+QWER, Google up how to do it.
true, there's no casual mode = die means lose gold. In HoN casual mode is like LoL die you wont lose gold and creep denies wont deny you XP. Dota 2 no casual mode means these 2 will make u lose out esp early on. Means alot when enemies denies often or kills your team mates often!

Found the guide to change keys (looks like old interface but should be similar):
http://gaming.stackexchange.com/questions/...items-in-dota-2

Will go back and mess around with item s-keys.. thanks! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Nov 28 2012, 01:22 PM
Agito666
post Nov 28 2012, 01:34 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Nov 28 2012, 11:47 AM)

1)yeah miss having guides telling me some hints for what items to buy... i wont follow 100% la will still think and customize if need to. Just that easier for me dont have to crack brain so much when the action is so intense out there slow by few secs means alot sometimes. i at work adi crack brain so much come back brain sure abit slow dyy.. prefer if buying items dont have to look at all of it.

1)-what is the point then if you play dota2? lol
that is what's make dota2 unique from LoL and hon lol...
-thanks to this gameplay system it does make general player quality higher a bit , i mean in term of deny creep those la but not all lol in matchmaking with those ah bengs.

2)-and you can customize all of your keys in option.

3) try turn off network quality + vsync as well see, for me i actually turn off shadow quality first since shadow quality not biggie for me lol.
SUS~min~
post Nov 28 2012, 02:45 PM

SUN AND SUMMER!!
1,045 posts

hi all, want to ask, how to create team?
ventrilocks
post Nov 28 2012, 02:56 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Nov 28 2012, 01:22 PM)
true, there's no casual mode = die means lose gold. In HoN casual mode is like LoL die you wont lose gold and creep denies wont deny you XP. Dota 2 no casual mode means these 2 will make u lose out esp early on. Means alot when enemies denies often or kills your team mates often!

Found the guide to change keys (looks like old interface but should be similar):
http://gaming.stackexchange.com/questions/...items-in-dota-2

Will go back and mess around with item s-keys.. thanks!  laugh.gif
well sometimes if you come back from bad game (need teamwork and etc)..after game sure feels very satisfied and proud..thats why dota 2 is good for me/us..if casual mode, then i can feed all game...no fun..
v1n0d
post Nov 28 2012, 03:45 PM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(~min~ @ Nov 28 2012, 02:45 PM)
hi all, want to ask, how to create team?
In-game, click "Community" then click on the "My Team" tab. There's be an option to form a team. You can only invite members who are online.
TehWateva
post Nov 28 2012, 03:56 PM

Schadenfreude Beaches.
1,448 posts

There was a mode I consider casual on Halloween last month, the diretide....
Agito666
post Nov 28 2012, 04:01 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(TehWateva @ Nov 28 2012, 03:56 PM)
There was a mode I consider casual on Halloween last month, the diretide....
i consider that is item drop mode drool.gif
hyunterx
post Nov 28 2012, 04:11 PM

Forever Alone
1,052 posts

Hi guys, I would like to ask, what is the minimum internet speed requirement to play Dota 2? I'm currently using the slowest streamyx as you all can see in my siggy. Can I play with that kind if internet speed?
SUS~min~
post Nov 28 2012, 04:20 PM

SUN AND SUMMER!!
1,045 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Nov 28 2012, 03:45 PM)
In-game, click "Community" then click on the "My Team" tab. There's be an option to form a team. You can only invite members who are online.
ok, tq much
QUOTE(hyunterx @ Nov 28 2012, 04:11 PM)
Hi guys, I would like to ask, what is the minimum internet speed requirement to play Dota 2? I'm currently using the slowest streamyx as you all can see in my siggy. Can I play with that kind if internet speed?
I use 300kbps no prob. no lag if your line stable

TehWateva
post Nov 28 2012, 04:50 PM

Schadenfreude Beaches.
1,448 posts

QUOTE(hyunterx @ Nov 28 2012, 04:11 PM)
If there's a new update rollout, you're screwed until you finish updating
hyunterx
post Nov 28 2012, 05:23 PM

Forever Alone
1,052 posts

QUOTE(TehWateva @ Nov 28 2012, 04:50 PM)
If there's a new update rollout, you're screwed until you finish updating
It will take forever? doh.gif
tarvalslain87
post Nov 28 2012, 05:25 PM

(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)
5,054 posts

Depending on the size of the update. It can hit up till few hundred MBs or maybe GBs not too sure...
hyunterx
post Nov 28 2012, 05:31 PM

Forever Alone
1,052 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Nov 28 2012, 05:25 PM)
Depending on the size of the update. It can hit up till few hundred MBs or maybe GBs not too sure...
cry.gif doh.gif
Agito666
post Nov 28 2012, 05:39 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(hyunterx @ Nov 28 2012, 05:31 PM)
cry.gif doh.gif
so before you format your pc, backup first and burn into DVD or put in another drive that will be NOT format together so you can keep the current updated file and you can straight install after you install fresh window.
TShard2k
post Nov 28 2012, 06:08 PM

ლ(ಠ益ಠლ) y u no shine!!
2,681 posts

Bro dota2 is still in BETA so there are still no HOW TO PLAY guide ingame yet as they are already being done by valve jst waiting time to release

Beta and yet already have such high prize tourney + not yet released

so if u wan compare to hon/lol who already been release please dont smile.gif
wait till valve annouced it official released and lets see how

129 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:38 AM