127 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V22, Has Been Sold 30 Million !!!

mscw88
post Nov 3 2012, 01:49 PM

Absolutely Fabulous
974 posts

QUOTE(VeilSidex @ Nov 3 2012, 01:23 PM)
upgraded to JB, overall i feel very fast and smooth  smile.gif
i think the JB 'performance' r vary on different S3 lar ! because some said its good.....some said its less 'ideal' ! blush.gif
AC_ryan94
post Nov 3 2012, 02:07 PM

banned!
1,000 posts

QUOTE(mscw88 @ Nov 3 2012, 01:49 PM)
i think the JB 'performance' r vary on different S3 lar ! because some said its good.....some said its less 'ideal' !  blush.gif
nah .... quite smooth la its depend ur usage nia doh.gif
mavezai1984
post Nov 3 2012, 02:15 PM

1,610 posts

i think the JB 'performance' r vary on different S3 lar ! because some said its good.....some said its less 'ideal' !  blush.gif
JB is great esp with Nova, battery drain is abit fast compared to ICS, ram management is clumsy, rubbish apps running wild which is very annoying.
waveweaver
post Nov 3 2012, 02:23 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

If you've done all the necessary steps without cutting slacks or shortcuts (just because you feel lazy to do it)..you will have a smooth and very pleasant JB experience. rclxms.gif
Otherwise..be prepared to battling annoying lags..frequent freeze and force closed apps or any other problematic issue.
Good luck to all of you thumbup.gif
~cheers~
5zigen
post Nov 3 2012, 02:25 PM

1,075 posts

so, that means just update OTA is wrong steps?
cHiLdHo0drEaMz
post Nov 3 2012, 02:28 PM

#DBAP
1,030 posts

QUOTE(5zigen @ Nov 3 2012, 02:25 PM)
what is defined as "If you've done all the necessary steps without cutting slacks or shortcuts" hmm.gif
5zigen
post Nov 3 2012, 02:30 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(cHiLdHo0drEaMz @ Nov 3 2012, 02:28 PM)
what is defined as "If you've done all the necessary steps without cutting slacks or shortcuts"  hmm.gif
I wonder too....
ken_zie
post Nov 3 2012, 02:37 PM

830 posts

so far... my phone is still doing ok except for the battery draining issue. a bit regret after doing the update. didn't know it's JB.
screwedpeep
post Nov 3 2012, 02:39 PM

908 posts

after almost one week i update the firmware, what i can observe are:

1. the temperature can easily go up even with light usage.
2. battery drains damn fast. When idling for less than 8 hours also can cost about 15% battery. As a comparison, with ICS, batt dropped around 2-3% after idling for around 10 hours, both with 3G on.
3. charging takes longer time. I did mention before that sometimes even with ICS, the phone even took 2 hours to be charged up to 40%. But that problem can be overcame if you replug the charger again.

But for normal charging, with ICS it usually took maximum 2h15m to fully charge from 20%. With JB, can took up to 30m extra.

4. On screen time, on JB, average i get is less than 2h30m. Very hard to even reach that time. Usage, checked Twitter and Instagram once in an hour, very few texting, one or two short calls, and checked in at one or two places on 4sq.

5. After upgrade, some profile pics in Whatsapp contacts did disappear. But they were reinstalled automatically after a few days.

p/s: i did check if i got install any app that might drink batt juice after i upgraded to JB but got none. Usage after and before upgrade is the same.

Nonetheless, this is what i experienced. I asked my friend he said battery performance so far is slightly better. No high temperature issue also. If the way we do firmware upgrade is also one contributing factor, well, we both did thru KIES.

Just some update to share here. It's quite wrong to advice the users to hold and not upgrade because not all are having the same problems and bugs. But if you ask me, i would say just stay with your ICS as long as you could. wink.gif
mscw88
post Nov 3 2012, 02:42 PM

Absolutely Fabulous
974 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Nov 3 2012, 02:23 PM)
If you've done all the necessary steps without cutting slacks or shortcuts (just because you feel lazy to do it)..you will have a smooth and very pleasant JB experience. rclxms.gif
Otherwise..be prepared to battling annoying lags..frequent freeze and force closed apps or any other problematic issue.
Good luck to all of you thumbup.gif
~cheers~
biggrin.gif ......what u mean by necessary step ?? i did all the upgrade accordingly liao...... blink.gif got some more to do meh ??

Added on November 3, 2012, 2:46 pm
QUOTE(screwedpeep @ Nov 3 2012, 02:39 PM)
after almost one week i update the firmware, what i can observe are:

1. the temperature can easily go up even with light usage.
2. battery drains damn fast. When idling for less than 8 hours also can cost about 15% battery. As a comparison, with ICS, batt dropped around 2-3% after idling for around 10 hours, both with 3G on.
3. charging takes longer time. I did mention before that sometimes even with ICS, the phone even took 2 hours to be charged up to 40%. But that problem can be overcame if you replug the charger again.

But for normal charging, with ICS it usually took maximum 2h15m to fully charge from 20%. With JB, can took up to 30m extra.

4. On screen time, on JB, average i get is less than 2h30m. Very hard to even reach that time. Usage, checked Twitter and Instagram once in an hour, very few texting, one or two short calls, and checked in at one or two places on 4sq.

5. After upgrade, some profile pics in Whatsapp contacts did disappear. But they were reinstalled automatically after a few days.

p/s: i did check if i got install any app that might drink batt juice after i upgraded to JB but got none. Usage after and before upgrade is the same.

Nonetheless, this is what i experienced. I asked my friend he said battery performance so far is slightly better. No high temperature issue also. If the way we do firmware upgrade is also one contributing factor, well, we both did thru KIES.

Just some update to share here. It's quite wrong to advice the users to hold and not upgrade because not all are having the same problems and bugs. But if you ask me, i would say just stay with your ICS as long as you could.  wink.gif
Thats y, i said the performance 'could be' vary on different S3 !! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mscw88: Nov 3 2012, 02:46 PM
waveweaver
post Nov 3 2012, 02:47 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(5zigen @ Nov 3 2012, 02:25 PM)
QUOTE(cHiLdHo0drEaMz @ Nov 3 2012, 02:28 PM)
what is defined as "If you've done all the necessary steps without cutting slacks or shortcuts"  hmm.gif
QUOTE(5zigen @ Nov 3 2012, 02:30 PM)
I wonder too....
Here is ONE of many cutting slacks that most user do..
* Please do FACTORY RESET after every MAJOR firmware upgrade. (Example : from GB > ICS > JB)
Reason : mostly lazy..feel not necessary..burden..etc..etc

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=33490839

Enuff said.. Read then decide for yourself tongue.gif

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Nov 3 2012, 02:55 PM
5zigen
post Nov 3 2012, 03:03 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Nov 3 2012, 02:47 PM)
Here is ONE of many cutting slacks that most user do..
* Please do FACTORY RESET after every MAJOR firmware upgrade. (Example : from GB > ICS > JB)
Reason : mostly lazy..feel not necessary..burden..etc..etc

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=33490839

Enuff said.. Read then decide for yourself tongue.gif
I think most probably ppl reluctant to do it is due to no idea how to backup and restore
everything back to the original state (non root user) after factory reset.
waveweaver
post Nov 3 2012, 03:10 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(5zigen @ Nov 3 2012, 03:03 PM)
I think most probably ppl reluctant to do it is due to no idea how to backup and restore
everything back to the original state (non root user) after factory reset.
Like i said..decide yourself what you should do.
Dont blame anybody if your JB meet some problematic issue. Most common are lags..freeze..force close..and certain apps not working properly.
If everything works fine..then it's good for you.
If not working fine..then you already knows how to solve it.
~cheers~
cHiLdHo0drEaMz
post Nov 3 2012, 03:14 PM

#DBAP
1,030 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Nov 3 2012, 03:10 PM)
Like i said..decide yourself what you should do.
Dont blame anybody if your JB meet some problematic issue. Most common are lags..freeze..force close..and certain apps not working properly.
If everything works fine..then it's good for you.
If not working fine..then you already knows how to solve it.
~cheers~
Well said thumbup.gif
5zigen
post Nov 3 2012, 03:17 PM

1,075 posts

then probably TS can put a note at Main page ^^
nicregi
post Nov 3 2012, 03:31 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(AC_ryan94 @ Nov 3 2012, 02:07 PM)
nah .... quite smooth la its depend ur usage nia doh.gif
Got to agree. Personally it really depends on the user themselves. If you are not that 'jaga' type, seriously you will feel laggy etc.

Only way to really check is when you are a heavy user. At least, thats what i think...
normeck
post Nov 3 2012, 03:33 PM

3,158 posts

when i want to delete one of the homescreen, touchwiz force close!..haiishhhh!!!
5zigen
post Nov 3 2012, 03:47 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Nov 3 2012, 03:33 PM)
when i want to delete one of the homescreen, touchwiz force close!..haiishhhh!!!
As suggested, factory reset
kopiPeng
post Nov 3 2012, 03:48 PM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

Guys~~Sorry noob question here~ Is S3 Mini coming to Malaysia??
normeck
post Nov 3 2012, 03:52 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(5zigen @ Nov 3 2012, 03:47 PM)
As suggested, factory reset
i have done it before, now have to do it again? hmm.gif

and why my titanium backup cant upload big file to dropbox ? hmm.gif

127 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top