Technical support, What is the career path of this job...

TScanny
post Feb 27 2006, 11:37 PM, updated 20y ago

39 posts

I am a final year degree student in computer science. I am getting an offer from this average company(not MNC) who offer me this position. Actually wat is this job all about...

this is the job description

Able to attend to customers' queries, provide configurations & problem-solving for Point of Sales Software & Hardware.

Perform 1st & 2nd level helpdesk support to diagnose and resolve problem remotely.

Respond to customers within the agreed-upon response time and ensure that all problems escalated are resolved within the stated Service Level Agreement.

Provide excellent customer services and problem management over the Phone/Email.

Provide assistance to customers & dealers.

Applicants must be willing to travel & provide own transport.

May i know what is my career path after one year working there?

mushr00m
post Feb 28 2006, 04:27 AM

809 posts

Hi..

Looking into the above statements, probably after 2 years of service, you could proceed to become Product Specialist or Product Consultant.. also depends on which company is this or how the company is setup..
Some company maybe you could proceed as Engineer (Post Sales or Service)

Maybe it can be done in 1 year but it entirely depends on your work performance.
WildChai
post Feb 28 2006, 09:27 AM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

Canny, basically you're the tech support. sounds like you'll be handling calls or queries for a list of companies that has a contract wif your employer. AND you'll be doing technical runaround.

That's sounds like an all rounder job. Your employer is a tech-support service provider?

One year in this job will give u experience most about hardware and software troubleshooting. Not bad a start. some people prefer tech-support because they give them chance to move about.

Unless you would prefer to sit in front of a monitor 9-10hrs a day doing programming.

Just take the job...if you can learn alot of new things to give your career a head start...why not. no harm in gaining experience. Better to have a job than none at all.
SUSspanker
post Feb 28 2006, 09:56 AM

Custom Made e-Penis
7,606 posts

QUOTE(canny @ Feb 27 2006, 11:37 PM)
All I can say is, it depends on your boss/employer.
dreamer101
post Feb 28 2006, 10:19 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(canny @ Feb 27 2006, 11:37 PM)
I am a final year degree student in computer science. I am getting an offer from this average company(not MNC) who offer me this position. Actually wat is this job all about...

this is the job description

Able to attend to customers' queries, provide configurations & problem-solving for Point of Sales Software & Hardware.

Perform 1st & 2nd level helpdesk support to diagnose and resolve problem remotely.

Respond to customers within the agreed-upon response time and ensure that all problems escalated are resolved within the stated Service Level Agreement.

Provide excellent customer services and problem management over the Phone/Email.

Provide assistance to customers & dealers.

Applicants must be willing to travel & provide own transport.

!) I do not think one year is enough to learn the job completely. You need about 2 years.

2) Unless your company provide very good increment after two years, you will probably join some other companies for your new job since they will offer you a lot more money. There is a significant difference in market salary level between a fresh grad and a person with two years of experience. Check the salary survey..

3) Depending on whether you want to stay on technical side or sales side. On the technical side, you will move on to support larger system. On the sale side, you will become salesperson selling technical products.

Dreamer
TScanny
post Feb 28 2006, 12:43 PM

39 posts

i hope the job is not about the sales...i agree as a fresh graduate like me, if i can start on the technical side...is a good experience for me. Maybe 1-2 years, i can jump company to look for better salary.

Really thanks for u all opinion...i really appreciate it...Thanks...hehee
Intrigue
post Feb 28 2006, 01:30 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

the work path is u work, work and work... and get a senior in front of ur current position.. and work, work till u die
terencetoo
post Mar 13 2006, 12:12 PM

3,246 posts

tech support...??

Umm...IMOH i work quite in a short period in this postion.

Seriously IMO, i feel very boring n no challenge for me.

What my daily job was:

--> Quating tender sheets
-->Replying Enquiries by Fax/Call/Email
-->Customer Front desk
--> Facing monitor to search products for 5~9hours. (really tired n boring)
-->verification on products. (seldom do it)

Basically tat's all for my co.
I dont learn anything from it. Is wasting my time, even a diploma holder in related field can handle it. IMO off course.

strynch
post Aug 13 2006, 11:34 PM

254 posts

So now you moved on? How long did you stick with the job and what's your current job right now?
keane04
post Aug 14 2006, 04:26 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Mar 13 2006, 12:12 PM)
tech support...??

What my daily job was:

-->Customer Front desk

I dont learn anything from it. Is wasting my time, even a diploma holder in related field can handle it. IMO off course.
so, wat r u doin' now ?
iluvena
post Aug 14 2006, 05:01 PM

425 posts

its a good job.. later if you experienced enough.. maybe you can apply to support in infrastructure area.. as what i did before..

1st: tech support (1year)
2nd: network exec (current - but mostly doing system admins work, delegated to me)
3rd: hope for system admin opportunity either in current company or somewhere else
Assassin
post Aug 14 2006, 11:51 PM

772 posts

i myself as a tech support find that we are actually solving our own problem rather than users problem.
jimbet1337
post Nov 1 2006, 10:37 AM

meh
2,672 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Mar 13 2006, 12:12 PM)
tech support...??

What my daily job was:

-->Customer Front desk

So bro.. where are you working right now?
khsj
post Nov 2 2006, 05:02 PM

Smiley
1,085 posts

Looking for tech support job now in Penang? anybody
broken_string
post Nov 2 2006, 05:23 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

this job is actually quite good but the bad thing is the damm shift

family gathering or going out wif ur gf will be harder coz if ur company need u to work at weekends and if the support is 24 hours, the shift will really make u feel damm frustrated.

the good thing is u can spam all day and do nothing if no ppl call in tongue.gif

and there are sukers out there and they will call in and fark u laugh.gif
how much they are paying u and which company?

0.0180sec    0.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:08 PM