Leftover women...like leftover food, women, career

TSfietheelf
post Oct 26 2012, 03:03 PM, updated 14y ago

So...according to this All-Women Federation of China, women with career, education and who are not married are like leftover food.

Seriously?!!

http://www.lipstiq.com/2012/10/22/educatio...-are-old-at-27/

SUSvuetnam
post Oct 26 2012, 03:18 PM

1,259 posts

yes.. its true.... all must marry in the end also.... I support it..

Unmarried women: Leftover food...

This post has been edited by vuetnam: Oct 26 2012, 09:20 PM
PalomaPalmTree
post Oct 26 2012, 03:44 PM

Marriage is a choice ...no matter what age
ace.princess
post Oct 26 2012, 03:56 PM

713 posts

Bullsh*t. Succumbing to society pressure just to get married, even though it may not be the best thing to do at the moment?

Marriage is a choice, not a social status.
SereneAshley
post Oct 26 2012, 04:28 PM

95 posts

I would not take China's view on women so seriously. They may have more money now, but a majority of them are still so backwards.

In my pov, whether women want to be mothers/a wife/career woman is entirely up to her. There is more to life than just getting married.
Geneveive
post Oct 26 2012, 08:19 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(vuetnam @ Oct 26 2012, 03:18 PM)
yes.. its true.... all must marry in the end also.... I support it..
Unmarried women: Leftover food... suck
why do u say MUST get married? what kind of sexist comment is that.. if a guy doesn't get married, why society are not calling them
leftover food too?
it is the woman's choice.. if she have a career,can support herself, and is happy, there is nothing wrong with that..
this is common in western countries..
SUSvuetnam
post Oct 26 2012, 09:19 PM

1,259 posts

but this is Asia... smile.gif we are now too much into Western culture... West culture does not really suit us..

sorry for my sexist comments but its true story...

this is asian culture... married is a must. but anyway... is a choice.....smile.gif

Marriage is not a social status but for the traditional China.... marriage is a must which is still applied till now ... so yeah. hmm.gif .

# inb4 this issue still happening in China

This post has been edited by vuetnam: Oct 26 2012, 09:29 PM
misscreamypie
post Oct 26 2012, 11:13 PM

84 posts

u adi mentioned is traditional, now is modern new world already. Women's status/life is no longer judged by her marital status. everyone has their own belief.
spunkberry
post Oct 27 2012, 12:23 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

China is running out of women because of their one-child policy and the backwards thinking of Asia that prefers boys.

Padan muka them.

Now they want to control highly educated, working women by saying they're leftovers if they're not married? Well so what? Not like these women need you puny men in their lives anyway right?

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Oct 27 2012, 12:23 AM
Geneveive
post Oct 27 2012, 01:18 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(vuetnam @ Oct 26 2012, 09:19 PM)
but this is Asia... smile.gif we are now too much into Western culture... West culture does not  really suit us..
sorry for my sexist comments but its true story...
this is asian culture... married  is a must. but anyway... is a choice.....smile.gif
Marriage is not a social status but for the traditional China.... marriage is a must which is still applied till now ... so yeah. hmm.gif .
# inb4 this issue still happening in China
Indeed we are an Asian country, as u mentioned it is one of the Asian culture.. there were several other culture that was practiced during 50's like girls have to get married at such a young age, killing baby girls when they were born because they were just labeled as
burden etc.. why are all these not being practice anymore? because it doesn't make sense in this era..
Yes, some of the western culture doesn't suits us, but their positive values should be taken as lessons.. western women have their own stand..
They are bold enough to stand by their own decisions.. But some Asian women are not bold enough.. all their life, they just followed someone else(family,husband) decisions despite being unhappy.. Even career oriented women before marriage, have to leave everything after getting married just because it is husband's choice.. it is really wrong..

Another thing that surprised me in that article is that, it says women cannot be choosy.. Then what rights do men have to be choosy?
why all of them are running after beautiful girls,with good values etc to be as their wife? Women have the rights to choose a guy from a good
background too and from a well educated background, if she is well educated too..

But heck, it depends on one's belief..
World are much more advanced now,but some of the mind sets are really still shallow.. What spunkberry mentioned is absolutely true..
Anyways vuetnam, appreciate ur insights..
cheers.. icon_rolleyes.gif

amalthea
post Oct 27 2012, 09:06 AM

383 posts

are you from china? please grow up
yeezai
post Oct 27 2012, 12:08 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

marriage is just a stage in life....not compulsary tho...
SUSvuetnam
post Oct 27 2012, 01:10 PM

1,259 posts

QUOTE(Geneveive @ Oct 27 2012, 01:18 AM)
Indeed we are an Asian country, as u mentioned it is one of the Asian culture.. there were several other culture that was practiced during 50's like girls have to get married at such a young age, killing baby girls when they were born because they were just labeled as
burden etc.. why are all these not being practice anymore? because it doesn't make sense in this era..
Yes, some of the western culture doesn't suits us, but their positive values should be taken as lessons.. western women have their own stand..
They are bold enough to stand by their own decisions.. But some Asian women are not bold enough.. all their life, they just followed someone else(family,husband) decisions despite being unhappy.. Even career oriented women before marriage, have to leave everything after getting married just because it is husband's choice.. it is really wrong..

Another thing that surprised me in that article is that, it says women cannot be choosy.. Then what rights do men have to be choosy?
why all of them are running after beautiful girls,with good values etc to be as their wife? Women have the rights to choose a guy from a good
background too and from a well educated background, if she is well educated too..

But heck, it depends on one's belief..
World are much more advanced now,but some of the mind sets are really still shallow.. What spunkberry mentioned is absolutely true..
Anyways vuetnam, appreciate ur insights..
cheers.. icon_rolleyes.gif
I agree with you on this thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

inb4 this issue( that u say) still existb in China where women can;t be choosy.. same to men also./ icon_rolleyes.gif

unig
post Oct 27 2012, 09:11 PM

152 posts

I stopped reading at China...
SUSkatnl
post Oct 27 2012, 09:13 PM

144 posts

Asians haven't got over this simple concept, and they want to talk about love? Heh.
SUSs2peMocls
post Oct 29 2012, 11:04 AM

672 posts

I agree somewhat, not to the points made in the article, but I am of staunch opinion that if a woman is still single after the age of 30, there must be something wrong with her.
baoz
post Oct 29 2012, 01:32 PM

963 posts

It's up to us to change this mentality. Degrading and discriminatory remarks!
[F]atalit[Y]
post Oct 30 2012, 01:43 AM

312 posts

U do notice that China lives in a completely different world than us? Everything is a competition and just weirdly funny there. An 'ugly' wife can be sued by her husband and he wins the case? Tell me that. Dun bother about 'leftover' theory. Its your choice.
lopo90
post Oct 30 2012, 06:52 AM

695 posts

Once China runs out of girls due to the one child policy + prefer boys over girls mentality, I wonder what will happen then. Heheheheheheh
penn18
post Oct 30 2012, 08:33 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(lopo90 @ Oct 30 2012, 07:52 AM)
Once China runs out of girls due to the one child policy + prefer boys over girls mentality, I wonder what will happen then. Heheheheheheh
all becoming gay...

0.0251sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:41 PM