Health Health Screening - Blood test, Tumour Market, ECG, Which hospital is better? Selangor

TSiceanise
post Oct 25 2012, 10:05 AM, updated 14y ago

94 posts

Hi forumers,

I am thinking to do a health screening. After doing some research on most of the hospital and lab...i couldnt decide which one is better in terms of service and also professionalism....i am scare of needle...i hope they don't poke few time in order to draw my blood...

I am actually experiencing chest pain, would like to do the ECG to detect any abnormalities (i am worry that i might get stroke)..

Anyone doing health screening recently and have good experience in some of the hospital? How about the pricing? any promotional packages available?

Thanks alot.
SUSMatrix
post Oct 25 2012, 10:12 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(iceanise @ Oct 25 2012, 10:05 AM)
Hi forumers,

I am thinking to do a health screening. After doing some research on most of the hospital and lab...i couldnt decide which one is better in terms of service and also professionalism....i am scare of needle...i hope they don't poke few time in order to draw my blood...

I am actually experiencing chest pain, would like to do the ECG to detect any abnormalities (i am worry that i might get stroke)..

Anyone doing health screening recently and have good experience in some of the hospital? How about the pricing? any promotional packages available?

Thanks alot.
Want cheap...go gov hospital.....Done my ECG for RM 200++ only at UH. If you rich, pay at least RM1K for the same thing at private hospital.

And if you want full health screen, of course must test blood... doh.gif ...you think what...they test your sperm???
Size big as buffalo also scare needles?? My son when he was 4 years old poke needle for injection also no cry.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Oct 25 2012, 10:15 AM
TSiceanise
post Oct 25 2012, 10:16 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Oct 25 2012, 10:12 AM)
Want cheap...go gov hospital.....Done my ECG for RM 200++ only at UH. If you rich, pay at least RM1K for the same thing at private hospital.

And if you want full health screen, of course must test blood... doh.gif ...you think what...they test your sperm???
Size big as buffalo also scare needles?? My son when he was 4 years old poke needle for injection also no cry.
Hi Matrix,

I check with BP Diagnostic, they told me ECG is only RM40, how come UH charge you RM200? is it another test?

Added on October 25, 2012, 10:18 am
QUOTE(Matrix @ Oct 25 2012, 10:12 AM)

Hi Matrix,

Definitely must test blood, by the way, i am a lady....no offence but to let you know, different people have different phobia on certain things, it has nothing to do whether your size is like a buffalo or small ant.

This post has been edited by iceanise: Oct 25 2012, 10:18 AM
SUSMatrix
post Oct 25 2012, 10:18 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(iceanise @ Oct 25 2012, 10:16 AM)
Hi Matrix,

I check with BP Diagnostic, they told me ECG is only RM40, how come UH charge you RM200? is it another test?
i believe that is normal ECG you lie down and take some readings....clinic also can do. What i have done is run thread mill tests and ultra sonar to check the heart. This is full ECG test.

TSiceanise
post Oct 25 2012, 10:26 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Oct 25 2012, 10:18 AM)
i believe that is normal ECG you lie down and take some readings....clinic also can do. What i have done is run thread mill tests and ultra sonar to check the heart. This is full ECG test.
Oh...you might have mistaken.

An ECG test is a short form of "electrocardiogram". That's what you have mentioned, lie down and take some readings. BP Diagnostic charge RM40

For the running on the treadmill, it's called a Stresstest, BP Diagnostic also charge RM40 for this test. For the ultrasound, i believe you did the upper abdominal ultrasound, BP Diagnostic charge RM80

All in all, it's still cheaper in BP Diagnostic compared to UH....the only thing is i have yet to visit them to get more info, i merely called them.

Added on October 25, 2012, 10:27 am
QUOTE(iceanise @ Oct 25 2012, 10:26 AM)
Oh...you might have mistaken.

An ECG test is a short form of "electrocardiogram". That's what you have mentioned, lie down and take some readings. BP Diagnostic charge RM40

For the running on the treadmill, it's called a Stresstest, BP Diagnostic also charge RM40 for this test. For the ultrasound, i believe you did the upper abdominal ultrasound, BP Diagnostic charge RM80

All in all, it's still cheaper in BP Diagnostic compared to UH....the only thing is i have yet to visit them to get more info, i merely called them.
Is there anybody else have check any other packages in other hospital? I would really like to know more.

This post has been edited by iceanise: Oct 25 2012, 10:27 AM
SUSTham
post Oct 27 2012, 01:08 PM

1,576 posts

How old are you ?

If you are experiencing chest pain , which might mean angina, shouldn't you
see a cardiologist immediately , or at least a physician, rather than trying tests
out yourself blindly ?

How much, can you save, really, shopping around for these tests, if the next moment
you get a heart attack, which may be your first and last in many cases, as is typical
with men in their 40s to 50s, and even commonly 20s to 30s these days ? They were,
in several of my friends' cases.

Go and see my friend, Dr Yap Boon Hung, a physician at Tung Shin, or any doctor
you may wish.

It is not that sensitive, appearing in only about 70 per cent of heart cases, but if you are past 40
and have this ear crease, particularly on your left earlobe and it is very deep, chances are your
left anterior descending (LAD) artery, your heart's most important artery, is already clogging up.

Hopefully, the pain may be just muscular, or due to stress.

http://haydeninstitute.com/additional-reso...scular-disease/

http://www.universalreflex.com/article.php/20051027133133490

http://www.ireflexology.com/ear-crease-ear...a-heart-attack/

" It was found that ELC was strongly correlated with CAD in both men and women
but with sudden cardiac death (SCD) only in men). The sensitivity of the ELC sign
was 75% and the positive predictive value (ppv) was 68%. In individuals below 40 years,
the ppv was as high as 80%.
Using multiple logistic regression analysis, ELC was found
to be the strongest independent risk factor for CAD and SCD apart from age and BMI
(both genders)
, as well as baldness and hair in the meatus externa (in males). It is
concluded that in a patient population similar to that in the present study the ELC sign
could be especially useful in screening for premature CAD in younger individuals. "

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16738431

TSiceanise
post Oct 30 2012, 03:14 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(Tham @ Oct 27 2012, 01:08 PM)
How old are you ?

If you are experiencing chest pain , which might mean angina, shouldn't you
see a cardiologist immediately , or at least a physician, rather than trying tests
out yourself blindly ?

How much, can you save, really, shopping around for these tests, if the next moment
you get a heart attack, which may be your first and last in many cases, as is typical
with men in their 40s to 50s, and even commonly 20s to 30s these days ?  They were,
in several of my friends' cases.
Go and see my friend, Dr Yap Boon Hung, a physician at Tung Shin, or any doctor
you may wish.
It is not that sensitive, appearing in only about 70 per cent of heart cases, but if you are past 40
and have this ear crease, particularly on your left earlobe and it is very deep, chances are your
left anterior descending (LAD) artery, your heart's most important artery, is already clogging up.

Hopefully, the pain may be just muscular, or due to stress.
http://haydeninstitute.com/additional-reso...scular-disease/

http://www.universalreflex.com/article.php/20051027133133490

http://www.ireflexology.com/ear-crease-ear...a-heart-attack/
" It was found that ELC was strongly correlated with CAD in both men and women
but with sudden cardiac death (SCD) only in men). The sensitivity of the ELC sign
was 75% and the positive predictive value (ppv) was 68%. In individuals below 40 years,
the ppv was as high as 80%.
Using multiple logistic regression analysis, ELC was found
to be the strongest independent risk factor for CAD and SCD apart from age and BMI
(both genders)
, as well as baldness and hair in the meatus externa (in males). It is
concluded that in a patient population similar to that in the present study the ELC sign
could be especially useful in screening for premature CAD in younger individuals. "

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16738431
Hi Tham,

Thanks for taking the time to include all the researches, it's a good reading and i learn something new, must take note on the ELC, scary as well because the multiple regression actually shown ELC is actually the strongest independent factor which indicate the possibility of stroke smile.gif

I am early 30's....but recently experiencing chest pain, as such a bit worried because my cousin brother had stroke when he was 32....i do not want to take chance...anyhow, already decided to go for the tests next week.

Thanks alot!

jlim87
post Oct 31 2012, 12:30 PM

100 posts

Hi, sorry to 'hijack' your thread, but since it's about blood tests, I'm thinking of getting a full blood work and hormone test done because I suspect I might have a thyroid/pcos/hyperandrogenism condition. Some people have name dropped pathlab, but they have not actually gone and done such tests before. How much do I have to expect to pay and what are the alternatives? I'm a student pretty much on a budget.
KohSin
post Nov 24 2012, 11:06 AM

721 posts

QUOTE(iceanise @ Oct 30 2012, 03:14 PM)
Hi Tham,

Thanks for taking the time to include all the researches, it's a good reading and i learn something new, must take note on the ELC, scary as well because the multiple regression actually shown ELC is actually the strongest independent factor which indicate the possibility of stroke  smile.gif

I am early 30's....but recently experiencing chest pain, as such a bit worried because my cousin brother had stroke when he was 32....i do not want to take chance...anyhow, already decided to go for the tests next week.

Thanks alot!
Hi, so hv u done any test? My husband oso complaint chest pain on yesterday night..tot of asking him to go for health screening when he got leave during my confinement.. n my father in law got heart attack problem n died on end stage heart failure ,...this made me quite wry bout my husband's health... n he is 28 this yr, working in a very stressful environment cry.gif
TSiceanise
post Nov 27 2012, 01:01 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(KohSin @ Nov 24 2012, 11:06 AM)
Hi, so hv u done any test? My husband oso complaint chest pain on yesterday night..tot of asking him to go for health screening when he got leave during my confinement.. n my father in law got heart attack problem n died on end stage heart failure ,...this made me quite wry bout my husband's health... n he is 28 this yr, working in a very stressful environment  cry.gif
hi KohSin,

I am going to do the checkup in early December. Hopefully no more delay. Supposed to do it in November but due to unavoidable situation, i need to reschedule the day again....i was sick and need to take medication.

Anyhow, i actually purchased the Groupon voucher and will do the check up in Life Care. i shall update once i did the check up. Do ask your hubby to do the medical checkup. no play play ok
KohSin
post Nov 27 2012, 01:23 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(iceanise @ Nov 27 2012, 01:01 PM)
hi KohSin,

I am going to do the checkup in early December. Hopefully no more delay. Supposed to do it in November but due to unavoidable situation, i need to reschedule the day again....i was sick and need to take medication.

Anyhow, i actually purchased the Groupon voucher and will do the check up in Life Care. i shall update once i did the check up. Do ask your hubby to do the medical checkup. no play play ok
i oso got searched from groupon, but no more promotion on health screening sweat.gif

ya........i'll drag him make appointment n make payment, so he will go during my confinement.......
KohSin
post Nov 27 2012, 01:33 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(lego56 @ Nov 27 2012, 01:24 PM)
don't go for groupon la.. the last time i bought one from there, they use some chinese method to check for me.. also dont know if accurate or not onel..
serious? which one u went? i m thinking to go to bp (i forgot the name), the one in OUG, they got 50% if u r using rhb credit or debit card on one of their NP300 package.
TSiceanise
post Nov 28 2012, 09:34 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(lego56 @ Nov 27 2012, 01:24 PM)
don't go for groupon la.. the last time i bought one from there, they use some chinese method to check for me.. also dont know if accurate or not onel..
hi lego56,

which one have you purchased? I asked my friend and i make a phone call to life care before purchasing the voucher. My frined who did a screening there state that thier service is rather good. Please enlighten me.

Good day
Awesomepotato
post Dec 17 2012, 09:56 PM

13 posts

Hmm.. Does anyone went to pathlab? I need some reviews before I go for it smile.gif thanks

This post has been edited by Awesomepotato: Dec 17 2012, 09:57 PM
yeeck
post Dec 18 2012, 10:18 PM

3,578 posts

After comparing packages offered from several hospitals and labs, I took Comprehensive 1 Package costing RM705 at SDMC Ara Damansara, damn nice hospital. Plus after the tests, free Subway breakfast set provided. LOL. Yes I know it is included in the price tongue.gif

http://www.simedarbyhealthcare.com/medical...comprehensive-1

This post has been edited by yeeck: Dec 18 2012, 10:19 PM
VeeJay
post Dec 18 2012, 11:08 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(KohSin @ Nov 27 2012, 01:23 PM)
i oso got searched from groupon, but no more promotion on health screening  sweat.gif

ya........i'll drag him make appointment n make payment, so he will go during my confinement.......
if you are looking for basic checkup, check it out here

https://www.groupon.my/deals/special/pathla...349&a=715827970

4everlove
post Dec 19 2012, 07:24 AM

97 posts

Dun delay all health related checking, our body tells us what is wrong sometimes, but we tend to ignore it till it becomes serious. My late grandpa pass away due to heart attack, n all his sons (my uncles) have heart problem too. My uncle feel unwell last week n he straightly knew it (heart attack), n faster informed his family members to send him to the hospital. His quick response really save him.

My fren did a health check up b4 at Hospital Tung Shin in 2010, less than rm300 with additional test Lung Function Test. http://www.tungshin.com.my/packages/health-screening , but the price have increased d as I'm looking at their website now. N no, dun have any Subway breakfast provided, smile.gif

yeeck
post Dec 21 2012, 10:52 PM

3,578 posts

QUOTE(4everlove @ Dec 19 2012, 07:24 AM)
Dun delay all health related checking, our body tells us what is wrong sometimes, but we tend to ignore it till it becomes serious. My late grandpa pass away due to heart attack, n all his sons (my uncles) have heart problem too. My uncle feel unwell last week n he straightly knew it (heart attack), n faster informed his family members to send him to the hospital. His quick response really save him.

My fren did a health check up b4 at Hospital Tung Shin in 2010, less than rm300 with additional test Lung Function Test. http://www.tungshin.com.my/packages/health-screening  , but the price have increased d as I'm looking at their website now. N no, dun have any Subway breakfast provided, smile.gif
Yeah Tung Shin prices are pretty good when comparing the comprehensive package, but the location not so convenient for me. sad.gif
Leong Forever
post Jan 2 2018, 05:08 PM

118 posts

Plan to do some heart health check like ecg and stresstest? Anyone got recommend any economic clinic or hospital that can do the above include blood test if possible.

I dont want go hospital by cardiologist which cost might got rm1000.Limited budget. Thanks

Leong
SUSslimey
post Jan 2 2018, 07:36 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(Leong Forever @ Jan 2 2018, 05:08 PM)

Plan to do some heart health check like ecg and stresstest? Anyone got recommend any economic clinic or hospital that can do the above include blood test if possible.

I dont want go hospital by cardiologist which cost might got rm1000.Limited budget. Thanks

Leong
why?

0.0232sec    0.95    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:56 PM