Google NEXUS 7 Official Thread @V3, Now with Android 4.2.1

CyberKewl
post Oct 23 2012, 11:05 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(BlackHyppo @ Oct 23 2012, 11:03 PM)
32gb seems going to be sold with the price of 16gb for sure. What do you feel as a nexus user that pay for same amount but get just half of the memory?

And share anything that you feel bad or good about nexus 7.

I know we cannot blame that cause technology is changing so fast, but just a question for you all yo discuss and share about your feeling.
you doing interview?
CyberKewl
post Oct 26 2012, 06:13 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(mingwei1992 @ Oct 26 2012, 05:27 PM)
May i ask is there any gestures app that doesnt require root as well as can be used with default launcher. i tried nova launcher but i still prefer the interface of the stock launcher just that i wan those gestures any idea?
stock launcher and nova launcher can be made to look the same..which part not same?
CyberKewl
post Oct 26 2012, 06:41 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(mingwei1992 @ Oct 26 2012, 06:35 PM)
nova launcher have a bigger icon i guess.. still exploring the launcher... if no choice then i guess ill stick with nova launcher..  thx
same icons size la from what i noticed..i prefer nova, got more options and its the best launcher i've used so far. worth the price to pay when it was on sale about 2-3 weeks ago.
CyberKewl
post Oct 27 2012, 01:38 PM

2,900 posts

just got back my n7 after one week..they replaced a whole new LCD even though i told them its just a screen lift problem..speaker also they replace new one..pretty good smile.gif
CyberKewl
post Oct 27 2012, 02:29 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ Oct 27 2012, 02:26 PM)
Well good news then.
yeah smile.gif
CyberKewl
post Oct 27 2012, 07:09 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Oct 27 2012, 06:41 PM)
How serious was your screen lift issue?  Mind does have some but not very serious. I afraid I'll be having a hard time to tell the service center that my unit suffers from slight screen lift issue haha
mine is minor, like 1-2mm screen lift..they should actually just tighten the screws or something, but end up they go replace the whole LCD..i'm fine with that as long as it is solved..now the tablets feels more solid on the screen side, no more creaking when i press it tongue.gif
CyberKewl
post Oct 27 2012, 07:22 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Oct 27 2012, 07:11 PM)
Like I said, I have the issue but still very minor now. Can't really see it .  If can see easily of course no need to explain LA.

However its obvious if you hold the tablet at the lifted area, its spongy due to the movements of the screen .

Added on October 27, 2012, 7:16 pm

Don't think tightening the screws helps cuz many open up the back cover to try fix it only to have the problem coming back after a while.

Yes the spongy feel and creak is more obvious, mine maybe 1mm or less lift. Thanks for your info. Maybe only send in when I cannot tahan anymore haha
you can try send it in anyway, no worries. but mine was more like "trying my luck" since my main problem was the speaker busted rather than screen lift, since I'm sending it in i might as well kill 2 birds with one stone (which was successful of course). I'm happy now smile.gif
CyberKewl
post Oct 27 2012, 09:19 PM

2,900 posts

I have a dead pixel in my Asus TF101 - didn't bother me at all, i didnt even notice it anymore unless i purposely go and look for it..haha
CyberKewl
post Nov 3 2012, 10:47 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(vickyrao @ Nov 3 2012, 10:45 PM)
guys... any idea how many hours it takes to fully charge the device once its goes down to 0% or completely depleted? mine surprisingly took like more than 6hours to full charge. its kinda odd. im using the original charger.
try turning wifi off for faster charging from 0%..mine took around 3-4 hours with wifi turned off.
CyberKewl
post Nov 4 2012, 11:14 AM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(mingwei1992 @ Nov 4 2012, 10:44 AM)
Just wondering connecting to different type of wifi networks will have different impact on the device battery drainage? at home overnight will drain my battery about 30% but using my university wifi will only drain 5% o.0
perhaps @ your uni the connection more stable while @ home not so stable so the OS keep searching for the wireless access point -> hence use more battery?
CyberKewl
post Nov 4 2012, 11:35 AM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(mingwei1992 @ Nov 4 2012, 11:27 AM)
possible but at home i always have full bar connection while in uni is 1 bar. mostly at home when leave it idle android os takes a lot of the battery juice
Weird then...if usage is the same, the battery drain should not be that significantly different...guess u have to investigate what might be causing it, could be some app causing it
CyberKewl
post Nov 5 2012, 09:35 PM

2,900 posts

BTW guys, if you don't know already, LG is doing the same thing (or something similar) like what ASUS did - sell @ a premium price compared to what Google is selling. Why you ask? Simple. Again, Google is subsidising the device..LG and ASUS are NOT.

So don't flame ASUS only..every other manufacturer (or company) would do the same..in fact, its within their rights to do so. There are other ways to buy it, if you want to buy it officially from ASUS, then you have to pay the full price. Just thank ASUS they have international warranty.
CyberKewl
post Nov 5 2012, 10:03 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(weixuan @ Nov 5 2012, 09:58 PM)
that's the point i'm trying to make - they subsidise because of Google Play...So Google is selling @ close to cost price. ASUS is selling to MAKE PROFIT.
CyberKewl
post Nov 10 2012, 11:05 AM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(fwhoam @ Nov 10 2012, 11:01 AM)
nice.
but not sure whether malaysia will have this.
those buy outside from unofficial shops wont get this i guess..too bad
CyberKewl
post Nov 10 2012, 11:10 AM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(fwhoam @ Nov 10 2012, 11:08 AM)
dont think those who bought this from official shop will get this as well.
my rrp price is already high, dont think asus my will give reduction.
but u never know.
agreed..we shall wait and see..i hope google does something about it tho..maybe free credit ? tongue.gif
CyberKewl
post Nov 11 2012, 04:25 PM

2,900 posts

for those with screen lift problem can just send in to SC, they will replace it for free, for mine, they replaced whole LCD! Took them < 1 week for my case and i had two problems - busted speaker and screen lift..both fix took < 1 week only...after fix the LCD no more screen lift problem, very satisfied smile.gif
CyberKewl
post Nov 11 2012, 11:05 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(hussain @ Nov 11 2012, 11:03 PM)
Speaker pecah again cry.gif
har? 2nd time??
CyberKewl
post Nov 13 2012, 08:11 AM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(-r|E'|quad- @ Nov 13 2012, 07:52 AM)
its tempting . but when i see this 16gb with performance issue. it makes me think twice whether should i really get 16gb.

http://www.gottabemobile.com/2012/09/17/ne...ormance-issues/
for all the 16gb owners, can you guys feedback whether is there a performance issue when the storage is low ?
i dont have this problem but you can solve it by getting the "forever gone" app that wipes your free disk space, heard it helps...
CyberKewl
post Nov 14 2012, 11:35 AM

2,900 posts

I'm already on 4.2, did a little writeup on what I noticed :
http://www.androidsupernova.com/2012/11/wh...android-42.html
CyberKewl
post Nov 14 2012, 03:51 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Nov 14 2012, 03:47 PM)
Hi guys, just update my nexus 7 through ota, improve performance alot
stock jelly bean already fast..i didnt see any performance jump in android 4.2...

0.0220sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:08 AM