6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

> BAR: Young Msian Lawyers are Low Quality

Beth79
post Oct 23 2012, 04:32 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(Balaclava @ Oct 23 2012, 04:29 PM)
it depends one la. best starting pay as chambee i saw is RM 3.1k
not bad. biggrin.gif rm3.1k for W&P?

good luck with the chambering!!! rclxms.gif
illidanvosse
post Oct 23 2012, 04:46 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Oct 21 2012, 04:56 PM)
Then y that guy wanna lower standard? If what he said is right uk would hv followed ma.

Anyway llb um can enter llm Cambridge , means standard not so bad right...
But that was gen y era...  laugh.gif
cause in UK they hv course work like 60:40 , its much much easier to pass what more getting a second upper or lower.
But in msia, its 100% based examinations. passing is not an easy task. Passing itself is hard enough alrdy and to get a 2nd lower is just plain brutal.

honestly i finish with a 3rd class. and i cant sit for CLP. sad.gif
homicidal85
post Oct 23 2012, 04:54 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Oct 21 2012, 02:48 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif
yet he still looks like ah beng
Balaclava
post Oct 23 2012, 05:18 PM

5-Star Swagger
941 posts

fun fact: oxbridge student also can fail CLP one. dont play play.
zZNekoChanZz
post Oct 23 2012, 05:21 PM

428 posts

set the law standard in uni higher
melvin93
post Oct 23 2012, 08:20 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(Balaclava @ Oct 21 2012, 02:51 PM)
this punk is really hilarious.
Foreign graduates: come back and attend CLP which all in theory and no practical exams whatsoever. Who's fault is it? LPQB. They are the one that sets the standard of examination. Why put the blame on us?

Local graduates: Churns out thousands of rubbish that doesn't go through the retarded CLP exams and straight into the working sector, no QC for them because they have apparently studied local law so the assumption is that they are good at it. Turns out maybe 1/100 is a good student. and every 1/10 good student might be a good lawyer.
this.
IMHO the profession should be kept expensive, like someone said so.

And CLP be kept the standard it is, barristers are supposed to be the people's champion, if every tom's d*** can qualify, then where is the expected quality? wink.gif

Macam your local U lah..

This post has been edited by melvin93: Oct 23 2012, 08:57 PM
arsenwagon
post Oct 24 2012, 01:21 AM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

QUOTE(Balaclava @ Oct 23 2012, 05:18 PM)
fun fact: oxbridge student also can fail CLP one. dont play play.
So they ain't god la? I for ppl say they're head and shoulders above the rest, clp must be their first year exam standard... blink.gif
hirano
post Oct 24 2012, 01:32 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

walao... news complain fresh grad lawyers salary 2k, you guys sokong.

But if news say fresh grad <insert different courses here> salary 2k, you guys complain, say 2k is enough for them, dont be picky.

doh.gif such unfairness.
Balaclava
post Oct 24 2012, 02:17 AM

5-Star Swagger
941 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Oct 24 2012, 01:21 AM)
So they ain't god la? I for ppl say they're head and shoulders above the rest, clp must be their first year exam standard...  blink.gif
this girl got balls come back do CLP instead of doing BAR here. I just knew two of my coursemates who flunk already flew off to UK to do the UK BAR hahahahaha.

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 24 2012, 01:32 AM)
walao... news complain fresh grad lawyers salary 2k, you guys sokong.

But if news say fresh grad <insert different courses here> salary 2k, you guys complain, say 2k is enough for them, dont be picky.

doh.gif such unfairness.
standard loh, everybody hates lawyer.
hirano
post Oct 24 2012, 02:37 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(Balaclava @ Oct 24 2012, 02:17 AM)

standard loh, everybody hates lawyer.
In this forum, the opposite one lah.
Band Aid
post Oct 24 2012, 02:46 AM

30 posts

Thiru and other senior lawyers however, said young lawyers did not deserve the raise.

If they meet their KPI or watsoever why not deny the raise?
Beth79
post Oct 24 2012, 09:44 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(Band Aid @ Oct 24 2012, 02:46 AM)
Thiru and other senior lawyers however, said young lawyers did not deserve the raise.

If they meet their KPI or watsoever why not deny the raise?
]

do you mean "why deny the raise?"

Beth79
post Oct 24 2012, 09:49 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(melvin93 @ Oct 23 2012, 08:20 PM)
this.
IMHO the profession should be kept expensive, like someone said so.

And CLP be kept the standard it is, barristers are supposed to be the people's champion, if every tom's d*** can qualify, then where is the expected quality?  wink.gif

Macam your local U lah..
have to disagree. it is not about expensive VS cheap. education should never be expensive imho.

as for your point on standard. CLP is only one battle. the profession has many filters, chambering & retention will be the 3rd & 4th filter. however, it doesnt stop some not too bright heros who believe that opening up a law firm straight after chambering is the most brilliant thing to do.
jonn zee
post Oct 24 2012, 09:50 AM

602 posts

QUOTE(tat3179 @ Oct 21 2012, 12:23 PM)
Sounds like the complaint of every employer in every field nowadays so can offer low salaries to freshies.
applies to practically every line 1. all bosses claimed tht all staffs, the newer the worse lah they said, even my boss oso same, but i dont think so. i think of course la junior pipu need to be guided and oso will make mistakes. silly mistakes, noobs mistakes.. biasalah..

i hv abt >15 staffs under me, from fresh grad to AM level... the level of maturity n experience increases lah over time. of course there bound to be bad apples n super polished ones, once in a while.. but generally all is still the same, same since when i joined the industry in late 90's
Balaclava
post Oct 24 2012, 10:15 AM

5-Star Swagger
941 posts

QUOTE(Beth79 @ Oct 24 2012, 09:49 AM)
have to disagree. it is not about expensive VS cheap. education should never be expensive imho.

as for your point on standard. CLP is only one battle. the profession has many filters, chambering & retention will be the 3rd & 4th filter. however, it doesnt stop some not too bright heros who believe that opening up a law firm straight after chambering is the most brilliant thing to do.
btw, I heard they are going to compel pro bono work for all lawyers regardless of age and you need to hit like 3 or 4 pro bono cases a year if you want to renew your practicing license.
SUStat3179
post Oct 24 2012, 10:25 AM

1,331 posts

QUOTE(Balaclava @ Oct 24 2012, 10:15 AM)
btw, I heard they are going to compel pro bono work for all lawyers regardless of age and you need to hit like 3 or 4 pro bono cases a year if you want to renew your practicing license.
Yeah. That would get a real overwhelming support by the lawyers at the next AGM...
ray123
post Oct 24 2012, 10:31 AM

Senior Citizen
2,510 posts

All of you got trolled by The Star's "journalistic" interpretation.

Report was an unfair generalisation
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...s/12216280&sec=

WE refer to the article “Lawyers not up to par” (Sunday Star, Oct 21) regarding the Bar Council’s National Young Lawyers Committee (“NYLC”) Working Conditions Forum held at the Bar Council on Oct 20.

The same article appeared in the online version of The Star titled: “Young ones do not meet benchmark set by employers, says Bar”.

Paragraph 1: “All young Malaysian lawyers do not meet the standard international quality benchmark set by their employers, according to a Bar Council survey.”

This sweeping and untrue statement was not made by any of the speakers at the forum. Paragraph 1 is also not borne out by the Bar Council’s Employability Survey and is therefore a grave distortion of it.

While the Bar Council intends for the proposed Common Bar Course to be benchmarked against international standards (to ensure that lawyers entering the profession will have the requisite quality), it is certainly not our position that all our young lawyers are below par.

The article has made an unfair generalisation that is a stain on the many good young lawyers of the Malaysian Bar.

Paragraph 3: “It found that young lawyers practising for less than seven years do not have basic attributes like English proficiency, communication and critical thinking skills ...”

This paragraph misquotes what was said. In his presentation, the Malaysian Bar treasurer Steven Thiru emphasised that the survey targeted a sampling of “new entrants to the legal profession”, and he explained that this group consisted of law graduates, pupils in chambers, and lawyers in their first year of practice.

The survey therefore did not cover “young lawyers practising for less than seven years”.

The treasurer’s statement on the decline in quality was in respect of the results from the sampling of the new entrants to the legal profession covered by the survey, and was not directed at all “young lawyers practising for less than seven years”.

The confusion could have been due to NYLC being a committee that focuses on the welfare of, and issues affecting, lawyers of seven years’ standing and below.

However, even NYLC’s survey on working conditions was directed at first-year lawyers and not “young lawyers practising for less than seven years”.

It is also not the position of the Bar Council that all young lawyers practising for less than seven years lack the basic attributes and skills.

Paragraph 14: “Thiru and other senior lawyers, however, said young lawyers did not deserve the raise.”

This paragraph also misquotes what was said, as Wong Fook Meng and Thiru repeatedly stressed at the forum that employers (who are able to give the raise) would be willing to do so for young lawyers of quality, as it would be in the employers’ interest to do so, to retain talent.

It was also not the position of any of the speakers that a first-year lawyer, notwithstanding quality, did not deserve a raise in salary.

In all, it was emphasised the recommendations contained in the NYLC’s survey are to serve as a non-binding guide for employer-law firms.

The report also failed to highlight the call by NYLC chairperson Richard Wee Thiam Seng that young lawyers must equip themselves with better knowledge of the law and constantly improve standards.

At the same time, he also said that employers ought not to exploit young lawyers by offering sub-standard salaries.

The article gave the impression that all young lawyers are incapable, and that NYLC’s recommendations for better remuneration are baseless.

This was not the position taken by any of the speakers at the forum.

On the contrary, it was the common view that the forum was the first step towards reform in the working conditions of young lawyers, in tandem with the drive to push young lawyers to improve themselves.

RAJEN DEVARAJ
Chief Executive Officer
Bar Council

Beth79
post Oct 24 2012, 10:32 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(tat3179 @ Oct 24 2012, 10:25 AM)
Yeah. That would get a real overwhelming support by the lawyers at the next AGM...
actually it might not be a bad thing if firms recognise the pro bono work done. i know some firms take pro bono work into account when deciding bonus.
SUStat3179
post Oct 24 2012, 10:36 AM

1,331 posts

QUOTE(Beth79 @ Oct 24 2012, 10:32 AM)
actually it might not be a bad thing if firms recognise the pro bono work done. i know some firms take pro bono work into account when deciding bonus.
Yeah, for the big boys they can afford it. Small firm how? Barely can makan as it is.
Balaclava
post Oct 24 2012, 10:40 AM

5-Star Swagger
941 posts

small firms do more pro bono actually to advertise themselves. since the LP(PE)R forbids advertising of firms.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >

0.0235sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:52 AM