The best cinema hall in Malaysia!

bylkw2
post Mar 14 2019, 05:35 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(terradrgn @ Feb 10 2019, 05:36 PM)
A little feedback on the Onyx halls.
MBO Atria Onyx Hall

The hall is small but the screen sharpness is great. Though the screen is just a bit small to my liking. Like mentioned before in this thread, I agree that it is like watching it on a much larger TV. Colors are clear and crisp.
Seats are same as the couple seats at most MBO's which is smooth straight leather/pleather seats (correct me if i'm wrong). Sound system good.
Watched HTTYD 3 here. Great closure to the trilogy. Hair animation is amazing. Story wise just a bit of a letdown cause it doesn't feel as tight as the first 2.
GSC MV Onyx 3D Hall

Screen is a bit larger (vertically) than the one at MBO Atria. Yes, it includes the 3D glasses that you must put on.
Does 3D movies have the effect of low FPS when panning in scenes? or is it just me? Watched Alita here and when they pan the camera, it looks like it suffers from stuttering. Just a minor thing I noticed. Thank god the actions scenes don't suffer from that.
Seats are more comfortable (softer) than the one at MBO Atria Onyx Hall. But because it is like a sofa seat and it's been awhile since the hall opened, it looks a bit used + some minor stains here and there. Sound system here is good as well.
Alita, worth it just because of the main actress and the action scenes. Story felt a bit rushed, I heard they tried to cram 4 books into this movie. IMO, still worth the watch. Hair animation not as amazing as HTTYD 3 but the overall animation is top-notch. Especially the expressions and action. Hope it earns enough to get a sequel.
If you would like to try Onyx Halls, I suggest you choose seats in the middle or 1 row closer to the screen from the middle. Feels more immersive that way.

A tip for the GSC Onyx 3D hall, there's 9 seats in a row, the middle is actually the fourth seat from the right. Weekend morning [before 12pm] tix is RM13 only.
Overall, I would still prefer to watch movies on larger screens. For example MBO's BigScreen @ Starling Mall. It feels more like a cinema experience to me when watching on huge screens.
Is it true Malingsia only got Fakemaxx screen? Sad.

Sekian, tu je~

TL;DR I laik big things.
I just tried Atria ONYX, screen size is goddamn small, though it is sharp n crispy

So GSC ONYX is not really bigger as well? And no 2D option?

Big screen wise, has its image quality improved?

I had traumatic experience with GSC Big Screen years ago; damn though it was big, the sharpness was lacking, worst was that it had blur motions

Since that I dun dare to touch big screen til IMAX 2D, which indeed offers great immersive n big screen, but still the picture quality is not crisp n sharp enough too

Damn y dun we have an ONYX hall with IMAX size

bylkw2
post Mar 15 2019, 03:36 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(terradrgn @ Mar 14 2019, 07:19 PM)
GSC doesn't have big screen though..

Regarding the GSC Onyx hall, don't think they will do 2D for now since they advertise it as the first 3D ONYX screen in SEA.
Image quality here.. as you saw I posted, it stuttered when the camera pans. Other than that, I don't think it's that big an improvement if you like larger screens [immersive] like me. Try it out though, if you can go morning, RM13 is a pretty good deal.

TGV MAXX hall is alright if you like huge screens like me.
If you want, can try their Feel the Max that they do twice a month for RM5 [includes a drink]. first half of the movie is in normal hall, 2nd half is IMAX hall.
It was GSC Maxx if I’m not mistaken

Arghh, sad to know that they don’t provide 2D alternative, as I’m glasses, watching 3D is never really fun and enjoyable for me

Probably I can try TGV Maxx, where can I actually find it, as I can’t seem to find it on web

bylkw2
post Mar 15 2019, 03:42 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(keewah @ Mar 15 2019, 01:34 AM)
Only if TGV will bring in IMAX Laser

hnnnnnnggnggggg
hopefully others will bring in
is IMAX exclusive to TGV only in MY? as we don't see MBO n GSC having it
bylkw2
post Mar 21 2019, 02:49 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(terradrgn @ Mar 16 2019, 12:12 AM)
My bad. It's TGV IMAX. I usually go to 1 Utama's one.

Regarding the rm5 tix, it's here.
They will update what movie when it's closer to the dates. Usually about.. a week, I think.

Do note sometimes it's 3D.... the first time i went for the movie Glass, no glasses.
Alita had glasses.  rclxub.gif

It MIGHT be that 7pm ones are 3d [alita]
and 2pm ones are not [Glass] but i've only been twice so I can't draw a good conclusion.
bro ini kali la, new TGV Onyx at Central I-city
this one is 14 meter, while GSC n MBO one is 10 meter only
sure gooding this time rclxm9.gif
bylkw2
post Mar 21 2019, 03:17 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(terradrgn @ Mar 21 2019, 03:09 PM)
wow. but damn it's pretty far from me.

go try and review please!  brows.gif
damn far for me as well
wait someone to do commando n report to us biggrin.gif

0.0165sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:56 AM