The best cinema hall in Malaysia!

KaiHD
post Jan 23 2023, 07:38 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

Just watched Avatar: The Way of Water at IOI City Mall 2 (East)'s GSC IMAX with Laser last night

Despite the smaller screen size, I loved the picture quality! It was crisp anywhere you looked at and was super immersive to me since I could perceive so much depth between foreground elements/the characters/background elements

However, I will say that the way the movie switched between 48fps and 24fps in some sequences with dialogue was quite jarring and took me out of it. The HFR worked best during continuous underwater and action sequences when there was minimal dialogue. IMO James Cameron should've mastered even the dialogue scenes in 48fps

Also I hope that TGV will take GSC as a threat and upgrade their digital GT IMAX at Sunway Velocity to Laser soon
KaiHD
post Feb 2 2023, 10:30 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(ericling @ Feb 2 2023, 08:21 PM)
Planning to watch Titanic in GSC IMAX! Any suggestion on where best to sit?
I usually sit as centre as possible, and 3-4 rows from the back
KaiHD
post Feb 13 2023, 11:32 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(jmtstan @ Feb 13 2023, 09:17 AM)
central icity TGV got the OLED & IMAX3D.
different halls though. have to pick either led (onyx hall) or xenon projector (imax hall). if picking xenon imax, might as well go to sunway velocity since the screen is bigger
KaiHD
post Feb 13 2023, 11:35 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

also, i'm excited to be watching ant-man in gsc's laser imax hall next Saturday

KaiHD
post Jul 20 2023, 11:36 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(Katharsis @ Jul 20 2023, 06:23 PM)
I have never tried Indulge before since my purpose of going to the cinema is to watch films and not dine, but from what I have read...

Indulge is a TGV trademark luxury hall typically targeted towards couples where you not only watch a film, but also dine in a high class manner. The indulge seats are twin seats that has more cushion for extra comfort, has a flat surface in-between seats to place and dine your meals on, and apparently has built-in buttons to notify staffs to come service you with high-end meals, drinks and other items to your indulgence. Other than that perk, the hall's speakers and screen size are the same from the normal halls, so your only reason for visiting this hall is to have an exquisite movie date with your partner.

In terms of the Indulge twin seats in Sunway Velocity's IMAX hall, they are similar to the ones in the Indulge hall but minus the service buttons as there isn't catering services in the hall. They are also as you will notice, placed in the middle and to the top of the hall where that location is generally considered the best spots to watch a film at in the cinema. Again, I think the Velocity's TGV chain intended for couples to book these seats (they have an extra RM 5 mark-up per person, so the tickets (IMAX RM35 + Indulge RM5) x 2 price is oooofed), however for many of us solo or odd numbered movie-goers, this decision is ass and specifically for me, push me away from going to this IMAX hall (before IOI City Mall's IMAX opened, I had to travel twice as far to 1U just to get a normal IMAX experience).
I know you said rows H and J were better for Central i-City IMAX, but do you know if that's the same for Sunway Velocity IMAX too?

I always watch movies with one of my best friends, so we usually get the Indulge twin seats at that location since it's near our houses. I usually book around row K, but I'm open to moving one or two rows down if it's a better option hahah

This post has been edited by KaiHD: Jul 20 2023, 11:38 PM
KaiHD
post Aug 3 2023, 11:43 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Aug 3 2023, 10:10 AM)
Ok wow!
Dolby Atmos is really amazing.
Just watched Meg 2: The Trench at TGV Cinemas Pavilion Bukit Jalil and the surround sound seems more powerful than IMAX With Laser surround sound.
Which is really impressive for me.
And the halls is just so beautiful and really comfy.
The seats is a glide which is really comfortable to sit vs GSC IMAX With Laser halls.
😅😅😅
After thinking about this, why should I waste money for IMAX but I can get a better all around experience with TGV Dolby Atmos halls at TGV Pavilion BJ.
Maybe next I will try GSC BIG at Lalaport BBCC to give an overall review.
What row did you sit at? Heard row D is best because got full immersion and plenty of legroom (with row F as second choice) but scared it won’t be comfortable because I’ll have to keep looking up at screen

This post has been edited by KaiHD: Aug 3 2023, 11:44 AM
KaiHD
post Sep 27 2023, 12:01 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

TGV will be launching an IMAX with Laser and 12-channel surround sound (like Dolby Atmos) at TGV Pavilion Bukit Jalil. Screenings begin on 5 October 2023. Source: @TGVCinemas tweet on Twitter
KaiHD
post Sep 28 2023, 06:31 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(ericling @ Sep 28 2023, 02:54 PM)
https://twitter.com/preethamdnl/status/1706859571145527484

Very interesting!

Any guess on the location?

My guess:
New: Pavillion Bukit Jalil
Upgrade: 1 Utama, Sunway Pyramid, Sunway Velocity
Probably Central i-City instead of 1U or Sunway Pyramid. That and Sunway Velocity are their biggest screens, can fully display IMAX's tall 1.43:1 format

If Sunway Velocity gets dual-Laser, habislah GSC for me (unless they upgrade MyTown from BIG to IMAX Laser hall). I won't wanna watch movies anywhere else hahaha

This post has been edited by KaiHD: Sep 28 2023, 06:32 PM
KaiHD
post Sep 30 2023, 01:38 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

@Katharsis thank you for the great review! Macam proud pulak that the closest IMAX hall to my house is also one of the best, despite being Xenon haha. Couple seating I don't have an issue with, since I just bring my best friend or cousin to watch with me haha (they cover their half of the ticket lol)

If IMAX Laser at TGV Pavilion BJ gets a bigger screen size than the one at GSC IOI City Mall East, that might be my new go to hall until TGV decides to upgrade Velocity to Laser as well.

QUOTE(ericling @ Sep 29 2023, 11:10 PM)
Oppenheimer round 8 at Pavillion Bukit Jalil - what do you think? We could do a gathering!
I agree with this idea!! haha

This post has been edited by KaiHD: Sep 30 2023, 01:40 AM
KaiHD
post Sep 30 2023, 01:40 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

I am also planning on watching The Creator, but not sure if I want to go watch in IMAX Xenon (TGV Velocity), or BIG Laser (GSC MyTown). Someone please do comparison of GSC BIG Halls between MyTown/LalaPort/Starling/Pavilion BJ haha
KaiHD
post Oct 2 2023, 01:57 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(anip94 @ Oct 2 2023, 11:36 AM)
theyve officially released the dimensions for tgv bukit jalil imax screen size. 20m x 11m https://twitter.com/TGVCinemas/status/17086...3688172/photo/1 for comparison the biggest is 19.4m x 25.9m for sunway velocity. so the old one with crappy xenon projector is more than twice taller than the new laser
Okay, considering The Creator is shot in 2.76:1 (so wide lol), definitely better to watch it at IMAX @ TGV Pavilion BJ or BIG @ GSC MyTown (21.6m x 11.9m) since those are wider 1.81:1 screens - not to mention they're slightly wider than IMAX @ TGV Velocity by 1m hahah. I'm gonna book it for this weekend then, thanks!
KaiHD
post Oct 2 2023, 11:28 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Oct 2 2023, 07:58 PM)
So whats the hype of Creator

Haha

October really dead month for cinema after Dune 2 got pulled out

Arghhh doh.gif rclxub.gif
Basically if you love spaceships, spacestations, robots, machines, all that stuff... it looks gorgeous haha. Plot is pretty good too apparently
KaiHD
post Oct 4 2023, 05:18 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(Katharsis @ Oct 4 2023, 01:20 PM)
TGV Twitter said that the screen is 1.9:1 so expected to be that size, but man that is quite small lol, I think it's similar to IOI City Mall's IMAX Laser in size given the SEA IMAX VP said IOI's is roughly 11m tall. This makes Bukit Jalil's IMAX to be smaller than 1U. Only thing going for it is the IMAX Laser projection and 12 audio channels. Kinda bumped out no cap.
No since the hall uses Xenon 2k IMAX projection, max at 1.9:1 aspect ratio. There are rumours that this hall will be renovated for IMAX Laser GT (dual lasers), so it could eventually display 1.43:1 IMAX films.

@KaiHD @skylinelover The Creator's aspect ratio is very wide and IMO not worth it for IMAX. I recommend Big Atmos mainly due to price. I watched the film recently in Lalaport Big (post soon) and the audio was surreal, definitely worth it there. You will get a similar experience in IMAX, definitely better image quality ala IMAX Laser, but just pure value wise, Big is great while costing less.

Side note, the movie is visually stunning, apparently cost USD 80 million to make, and the CG rivals films that cost more than 500m. Story however is a bit mixed bag imo, a lot of themes showcased but not properly explored leaving mixed messages, pacing is off as the events that transpire don't properly have time to shine and transitions awkwardly to the next. It's still an okay story but go in for the spectacles and audio presentation.
Thanks for the tip!

So which BIG hall do you think I should go - MyTown, LalaPort, or Starling? (or ONYX at Tropicana Gardens?)

Which one have best experience if considering screen size and sound quality? (no budget tongue.gif)

This post has been edited by KaiHD: Oct 4 2023, 05:37 PM
KaiHD
post Oct 5 2023, 07:27 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Oct 5 2023, 05:32 PM)
Confirmed.
IMAX With Laser and 12-Channel Audio System is COMING to three existing halls within 3 month's time.
Sunway Velocity, 1U and surprisingly KLCC.
😁😁😁

I wonder which of the 4 places will be getting the new IMAX With Laser treatment?

YESSSSS Sunway Velocity is getting it!!!! Hoping it will be dual-laser!
KaiHD
post Oct 7 2023, 05:45 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(subaiku @ Oct 6 2023, 10:30 PM)
What's the best row to get for Starling's Big?  biggrin.gif
lol I just came back from there after seeing The Creator. I think Row E would be best. I sat at Row F (one row in front) just now and even though that was the center of the hall, I had to look up a tiny bit to have the screen fill the center of my vision.

This post has been edited by KaiHD: Oct 7 2023, 05:45 PM
KaiHD
post Oct 10 2023, 11:31 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(subaiku @ Oct 10 2023, 09:54 AM)
Lol! I sat at row F also! Watched it 2 days ago. Sat at row G at first but a bit too near for me. Sound was good, but did the picture look not-as-sharp to you? Don’t know if it was the projection or what.
Wrong person to ask lol - I didn't notice 'cause I'm a bit rabun also biggrin.gif
KaiHD
post Jan 18 2024, 11:17 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(Katharsis @ Dec 11 2023, 08:17 PM)
Sunway Velocity TGV IMAX Laser Update - Napoleon
What rows do you recommend for the newly renovated Sunway Velocity IMAX hall? Planning to rewatch Oppenheimer there haha

This post has been edited by KaiHD: Jan 18 2024, 11:18 PM
KaiHD
post Feb 16 2024, 12:15 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(LightKeyDarkBlade @ Feb 15 2024, 06:48 PM)
I missed the Dune rerun.  cry.gif

Both TGV and GSC only ran it for 1 week and it's also over CNY. Guess why they did that. Bloody Madame Web.

They reserved literally all of the IMAX timeslots for that bloody movie.

The best cinematic experiences available in Malaysia, reserved for a bad movie. I just cannot.
Meanwhile in Australia Madame Web only one showing a day in IMAX. Dune 1 still have two slots per day lol

but tbh, I wish TGV would do a special back to back screening for Dune 1 and 2 at Velocity IMAX

This post has been edited by KaiHD: Feb 16 2024, 12:16 AM
KaiHD
post Feb 18 2024, 03:45 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(anip94 @ Feb 17 2024, 01:13 PM)
Dune 2 on sale now and for TGV theres a marathon for 1 and 2. whos in??

Also for GSC members redeem 500points to get rm5 tickets for any format. yes including IMAX
was interested originally but decided against it since it was showing at 1Utama. If they did one at Velocity I would've snapped a ticket up so quick lol

(1Utama is pretty far from me, and the screen don't support the tall IMAX format like Velocity does. not to mention Velocity being only 15 minutes away lol)
KaiHD
post Feb 19 2024, 10:23 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(anip94 @ Feb 18 2024, 02:44 PM)
haha kamon la if velocity is only 15mins away then 1U is not that far, at least for me anyway since im used to driving from KL to PJ. can take the MRT somemore. plus youre gonna be there at least for 5 hours i think its worth it. but all this talks is useless now i think. last i check the tickets for marathon is selling very fast. almost sold out unless you like the shit seats
I live in Cheras, so that 15-minute figure is if got jam. tongue.gif also Velocity is like 5km away, but 1Utama is four times as far lmao

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 18 2024, 10:42 PM)
So I should consider either 1U or Velocity? Which one of these has bigger screen? Btw, these are all the 1.8:1 screen?
Both 1U and Velocity has laser, but Velocity has the biggest IMAX screen in Malaysia.

Basically Velocity > 1Utama. For more details on this recommendation, see this post by sifu @Katharsis

Personally, I'd say just go whichever closer since the difference in screen size not that big haha

This post has been edited by KaiHD: Feb 19 2024, 05:05 PM

0.0220sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:37 PM